Plan to buy a NEW/USED car?(V3),, ASK HERE for recommendations

ben3003
post Sep 19 2016, 02:10 PM

10,859 posts

is civic FD year around 2010-2011 worth the price of like rm60k? planning to get 1 decent 2nd hand car with no much headache. But for this price, can get newer honda city 2012 for 40-50k..

This post has been edited by ben3003: Sep 19 2016, 02:13 PM
ben3003
post Sep 20 2016, 11:04 AM

10,859 posts

but cheapest city is kosong inside.. i plan go full loan. Actually wan buy smaller car to replace my home ageing myvi, but picanto no more.. no more small car to buy, i don wan buy myvi again. Home oledi got jazz.

This post has been edited by ben3003: Sep 20 2016, 11:05 AM
ben3003
post Aug 6 2022, 04:45 PM

10,859 posts

Hi guys, need to change my ride proton preve already 10years, gonna travel frequently from Miri to Brunei for work, so better get a better car since will need to drive very frequent. dilemma between waiting for new HR-V RS need wait more than 6months or civic RS or V that can get in 2-3months. Civic is actually 1 of my target car to get after working, and now is a good chance, but then i felt like a higher ride car is more suitable for driving at Sarawak, where road condition is quite shitty. I would have chosen civic no need to think if im currently in west msia. the new HR-V accessories by honda is really letting me down. Plus i believe civic resale value is much better i believe compare to HRV RS.

I am open to other options like getting 2nd hand civic FC or CX5 2nd hand, probably can save some more just the feeling of 2nd hand car less syok.

Another choice is buying kia sportage or hyundai tuscon at Brunei, after conversion price around 120-130k top spec. Not much of a saving factoring in interest rate brunei is 4% and the resale value is like zero if bring back to malaysia later. only thing at brunei is cheap is to buy their 2nd hand car.

maybe you guys can give more recommendations. Budget wise actually not really much of a issue, but i dont want to spend 200-300k for a car, so 150k might be the limit i would spend.

ben3003
post Aug 11 2022, 08:47 AM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Aug 11 2022, 01:30 AM)

Firstly, you're going to be working in Brunei, correct?
Is this your first time working there?

Usually you'll have to get a work permit done then after that they'll give you a green color IC.
With the work permit and green IC you can go get a Bruneian Driving license.
Technically you can use a Malaysian driving license in Brunei but getting their driving license enables you to buy a car there.
Seriously cars there are dirt cheap.
I was stationed there for a few years I recall buying a car there because I didn't want to be restricted by the company car policy (they gimme a BMW).
So I looked around and found a 6 year old Mitsubishi Galant Jerung, if u dunno how it looks like click on the spoiler below, for about BND2800 nego to 2600 (at the time exchange rate roughly is x3) so it is like RM7800

Nowadays can't even buy a full spec Iphone with that kinda money.
Yeah, kinda joked with a friend then that I would trade my Iphone 7 for their used Kia Cerato  blush.gif

Get a Brunei car, get a cheap insurance or 3rd party is enough.
Cars there so cheap if it is moderate to major accident just use the insurance to cover the 3rd party.
Don't care then go hunt for another car, you can always find ads online in FB or posted in supermarkets.
Depending on how much you're being paid there, for me BND2600 isn't alot for me due to expatriate status.
For Malaysian working there they should at least be giving you between BND1800-3000, so roughly it is like save up half salary for 2 months can get a car.

Don't bother getting a new car in Brunei, just get a used one.
Like a whore just pay, use, then dump.
Remember to open up a PRS account there so you can store funds in SGD/USD.
At the rate MYR is going if you're well paid there buying a Civic full spec is just 6 months of savings.
If you're from WM no point to buy a nice car to use for travel between Miri and Brunei.
Bring back to WM is troublesome, wanna sell over there not so easy to flip unless you drive all the way to Kuching coz areas surrounding Brunei is loaded with cheap cars from Brunei and Labuan.

Do not put up too many long term commitment in Brunei.
Work permit contracts are renewable bi-yearly.
If let's say you're going to renew it next month but this month due to petrol price or economy no good the Sultan say freeze all work permit to foreigners so locals got more jobs/funds outflow reduce.
If that happens can bang balls wait until dunno when they will approve your work permit.
Your HR will hold your passport every month to go to monthly stamping for extension but only can extend for a limited time or until pages run out then they might as you to leave.
If you got bank commitments, they may ask you for settlement before leaving.

For the uninitiated Brunei IC colors
Yellow = true citizen, same like our blue ic
Red = same status like our red ic, it is either those born in brunei but not both parents bruneian (they cannot apply for passport but can get travel pass on case by case basis) or PR status
Green = all import worker use this doesn't matter you're CEO or Road sweeper
thanks for the long sharing, very much appreciated. wow that is damn cheap for a car lol. I am from Miri, so actually im thinking of getting new Civic from Miri tho, but seeing how cheap 2nd hand car can be, 2nd hand car can be considered lol. But to bring in the car to malaysia if i decided not to work in brunei anymore should be okay right? I saw government will give AP for those working or studying outside msia to bring in car from other country. My job scope is mostly offshore, so wont be driving much also, just that wan to get rid of my current proton preve lol. Even conti car can get cheap in Brunei right? but then maintenance wise maybe headache la lol.
ben3003
post Oct 31 2022, 04:17 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(yk3313 @ Oct 31 2022, 03:59 PM)
Hello Sifus!, looking for a second hand / new car along these sorta specs.
1. Brand - Continental / Japanese (Thinking second hand BMW or Brand New Mazda CX-5)
2. Budget - RM150k - RM180k
3. New / Used
4. Model - Not too fussy, but would prefer a C-Segment car for small fam)
5. Transmission - Auto
6. Preferably NA but OK with turbocharged / PHEV too
7. Type - Prefer Sedans / SUVs
8. Remarks -

I've checked around for cars in my budget, and I've shortlisted either a 2017 BMW 330e or the new CX-5. These 2 seem to hit my need of being relatively fun to drive, and also comfortable for long-ish distance drives from KL to Penang, SG, etc.

Was thinking of the new Civic PHEV, but with the price not being released yet, it's pretty much a waiting game for me right now.

Also, only planning to buy the car probably early next year...would it be more beneficial to wait to mid 2023 instead to wait for prices to drop further?
better don buy bmw/mercs hybrid car ya the battery can cost u 30k or 100k forgot already. Civic is eHEV probably launching soon november, pricing shud be 160-170k. CX-5 is like old already, don have adaptive cruising etc also. Shud be due for change maybe 1st half or 2nd half next year.

If u not in rush better wait lo, who knows later new government change sst to gst, maybe tax holiday lol. i personally booked civic eHEV already, i think it is a better hybrid system compared PHEV cos don need worry about recharging using plug. And it drive like an EV car, the engine more like generator and only use during high speed cruising. Unless u wan the "premium" brand of BMW and Mazda la. if wan buy luxury car brand like mercs and bmw, better buy new car or get their subscription based system, cos the car don need worry about maintenance and repair. got alot my ex colleague go for that route and every 5 year change new model. Altho expensive but totally no worry about anything. Just drive and pay.

ben3003
post Oct 31 2022, 06:18 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(yk3313 @ Oct 31 2022, 04:38 PM)
Ya I'm worried about the battery too, but the 330e is cheaper than the 320i too..if the battery stops I basically have a heavier 320i right?  :confused:

Good point on the CX-5 too, thanks for the input  biggrin.gif

Good point lol, I hope they move it back to GST...I'm tempted to book the Civic too, its super attractive and you're right, I love how the eHEV system works...I'm just abit kiasu, don't wanna lose my deposit if the price is too expensive lol

Not too fussy about luxury cars, just that the thought of getting a 3 series for 120k - 150k seems kinda worth it to me considering brand new 3 series is like 250k...someone took the huge hit on depreciation for me already  sweat.gif
Not really is heavy only is super heavy lol. Totally defeat the point of having battery la lol. Better don go for that, not good for environment lol.

No la u wont lose ur booking, booking fee is refundable if u wan to cancel. Just put 1k to book.

I got same thought but when i think of the headache later and further depreciation, i might as well get a practical car. If really wan luxury, the only brand worth going for is Lexus la if 2nd hand. Anything other than Lexus i wont really touch.
ben3003
post Nov 9 2022, 08:07 AM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(ragecat @ Nov 8 2022, 07:01 PM)
1. Brand : Mazda CX-30 High or Hyundai Kona N-Line
2. Budget : RM170k OTR
3. New/Used/Unreg: New
4. Specs: Fully loaded!
5. Transmission: Not a CVT smile.gif
6. NA or FI : No preference
7. Type : SUV / Compact SUV
8. Remarks.

Key things I'm looking for are reliability and safety / quality of life features which I thought the CX-30 (booked since May 2022) can provide. I've just test drove the Hyundai Kona N-Line and was quite impressed with its smooth transmission and suspension for city driving - I load in about 15k km a year or less as car is mostly for conservative city driving and the occasional trip from outstation trip from Selangor.

My question is, would the Kona be a better buy than the CX-30 or should I just stick to the CX-30? Am open to other models but I can't seem to think of anything else besides these 2 models for a relatively compact SUV with most features expected of cars today.
if me i just stick to CX-30 or wait for the CKD if u wan to save some bucks.

0.2049sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 02:51 PM