Plan to buy a NEW/USED car?(V3),, ASK HERE for recommendations

MrAkA
post Jul 21 2016, 11:42 PM

45 posts

1. Brand : Any
2. Budget : Around 60k-70k
3. New/Used/Unreg : Preferably new. If used, it would be good within warranty period
4. Specs : Any
5. Transmission : Auto
6. NA or FI : Any
7. Type :4 seater
8. Remarks : Segment B / C

Occasionally highway drive, most of time city drive only. Currently owns a 13 years proton waja, quite enjoy driving especially on highway, but the wear and tear started to giving me headache.
Hence looking for a new car that provide me similar or better features .
Have gone thru most of pages of this thread, not a fan of Vios, City and Almera.

Kinda attract to Ford Fiesta Titanium, as the SC cover 3 years service and 5 years warranty. But those comments on Ford Malaysia FB have got my concerns.

Sifus please advise. Thankss biggrin.gif
MrAkA
post Jul 22 2016, 03:22 PM

45 posts

Thanks for the reply.

2016 Mazda2 Scam by using the ad to attract the customer, but introduce other units when customer in their car shop? Not really get what you mean.. Pls forgive me for little knowledge about reposes unit, what's the cons of reposes unit? Is reposes unit similar to car showroom unit?

2016 VW Vento/Polo Sedan/Polo Hatch Yea, almost missed out this. Yea, 1.6MPI engine seems fit into my budget range and preference. Would go for a test drive first, do you have any SA to introduce biggrin.gif I'm staying in PJ

2012 Suzuki Kizashi 2.4 Err, I will give a skip for this one. The insurance and roadtax would be a huge leap to me rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by MrAkA: Jul 22 2016, 03:23 PM
MrAkA
post Jul 24 2016, 03:17 PM

45 posts

Ok guys. Thanks for the info.

Went to test drive VW Vento, both 1.6MPI and 1.2TSI.
Not really keen on 1.6 MPI as I felt it's underpowered. No offence.
Surprisingly the 1.2tsi could satisfy me, but with a price of 80k after rebate.

Otherthan resale value, any cons of 1.2 TSI?
And other option for budget of 80k?

This post has been edited by MrAkA: Jul 24 2016, 08:57 PM
MrAkA
post Jul 24 2016, 05:09 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jul 24 2016, 04:27 PM)
frankly speaking the 1.6 isnt powerful (but against a waja, i doubt your waja is more powerful unless its been souped up abit or its a manual?

anyway cons of the 1.2? dsg... that dsg and tsi (though mainly its that dsg which is the major problem)  is a moving time bomb...  get one only if you are willing to potentially risk a big bill with your name on it out there somewhere....

vw says no more issues after they switched to mineral oil, but go talk to the raging owners about it.... they have lots to say...... have 2 friends whih cars with these engines.... one has 100% no issues since he got it... and the other has racked up north of 15k++ worth of tranny related bills over the years BUT he still likes it so he isnt one of the raging owners
I agree with what you mentioned. Take back what I said biggrin.gif Not quite sure is the route issue or the way drove is wrong. Probably I need to hit until 4000 rpm to test the power. But the 1.2 TSI is really tempting.

MrAkA
post Jul 24 2016, 09:03 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Jul 24 2016, 03:57 PM)
Wait, the Vento you tried is 1.6?? Which line? Trend or comfort?

Maybank have special promotion for this vento. Free for the rest of 2016, but T and C.

How is it feel, compared to other b seg car? Really underpowered?

But the TSI is DSG.... Main problem I guess.

they having huge rebate iinm. up to 8k rite?
Tried Highline and Comfortline. It's subjective regarding engine power, for 1.6MPI it takes 6-7 sec to reach 100km/h with almost full throttle, hardly test for further speed due to route.
The difference between Comfort and Trend is just number of airbags and some interior design.

For 1.2 TSI, no doubt about the pick up speed and some safety features.

Yeah, either you take free installment until next year with down payment or cash rebate up to 10k. Depends on your SA.
MrAkA
post Jul 25 2016, 02:44 PM

45 posts

Thanks for the heads up, really value your input. I'm quite aware to their DSG gearbox issues, where I'm driving a time bomb if I bought it.
Anyhow, I tried the 1.6 first then only to 1.2. Totally get your messages.
Hahaha I wish I have a budget to try Golf MK7.

Jokes aside, since my budget have stretched to 80k plus. Any other recommendation?
Went to Madza to view the Madza 2, too bad have to make appointment to test drive.

0.2703sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:21 AM