9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

NVIDIA GeForce Community V16 (welcum pascal), ALL HAIL NEW PASCAL KING GTX1080 out now

stringfellow
post Jul 5 2016, 05:12 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

If it's RM1300, RX480 is dead. RM1500? Still looks like a good deal than the RX480, provided that 980 performance claim is true. Because custom AIB RX480 is already 250 Pound Sterling, that's clocking at RM1400. https://www.overclockers.co.uk/sapphire-rad...-gx-37b-sp.html

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 5 2016, 05:13 AM
stringfellow
post Jul 5 2016, 05:59 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Jul 5 2016, 05:54 AM)
I personally think SLI is coming to a dead end in few years time. When developers embraces DX12/vulcan pool gpu allocation.  Nvidia quick to realize this.
They probably killed SLI on this so that it does not cannibalize the sale of GTX1070. The performance difference between this and GTX1070 is probably closer this time, and two of these in SLI may not look favorable for the GTX1070.

OR two of these is cheaper than 1 x GTX1080, for the same or better performance than a GTX1080. So, no SLI for you! tongue.gif

Disclaimer: educated guess.

Or this may be the 3GB SLI-less version, and Nvidia is keeping the SLI only available on 6GB model.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 5 2016, 06:44 AM
stringfellow
post Jul 5 2016, 06:13 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(lucidlts @ Jul 5 2016, 05:43 AM)
More updates on the GTX 1060:

- shorter PCB
- a proper placed 6-pin power connector, finally
- no SLI support

That's how a leak turned into a raging flood, the NVIDIA style.

http://www.tech-critter.com/2016/07/nvidia...0-founders.html
With regards to why the 6-pin is located so far out of the PCB:

Next up, the PCB is shorter than the card itself, and NVIDIA's unique new reference-cooler makes the card about 50% longer than its PCB. NVIDIA listened to feedback about shorter PCBs pushing power connectors towards the middle of the cards; and innovated a unique design, in which the card's sole 6-pin PCIe power connector is located where you want it (towards the end), and internal high-current wires are soldered to the PCB. Neato? Think again. What if you want to change the cooler, or maybe use a water-block? Prepare to deal with six insulated wires sticking out of somewhere in the PCB, and running into that PCIe power receptacle.

May post a problem if you wanna liquid cool this.
stringfellow
post Jul 5 2016, 06:21 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(khelben @ Jul 5 2016, 06:17 AM)
If it's RM1300 then AMD will have to lower RX480's price biggrin.gif
Yeah I think the no-SLi on this is not an issue.
Lower the RX480 price to its ACTUAL US-equivalent retail price of RM850-950? AMD fans rejoice!

They may be keeping the SLI version for 6GB. More memory buffer for gaming at higher than 1080p with SLI profiles helping on higher framerates (when SLI is working that is tongue.gif ), and for the 3GB, they may be keeping it as 1080p gaming only. And the 3GB in limited quantity compared to the 6GB, just like RX480's 4GB/8GB distribution.

OR two of these is cheaper than 1 x GTX1080, for the same or better performance than a GTX1080. So, no SLI for you! tongue.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 5 2016, 06:44 AM
stringfellow
post Jul 5 2016, 07:42 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Jul 5 2016, 03:17 PM)
any opinions?

an asus strix oc is 400+ difference.... only for 10% performance gain....

considering all the marked up prices i may just go with the FE since ironically it's cheaper.... but is this is good price compared to whats available :/ ?

just spotted this
http://www.ocdrift.com/review-palit-geforc...ium-edition/12/

basically more performance than FE and cheaper too. but i don't know if there is any compatible waterblocks for it  hmm.gif
other msrp prices i saw for malaysia
http://www.tech-critter.com/2016/06/asus-r...s-malaysia.html
Price gauge

palit aib oc (better performance than FE) < founder edition (smaller size which fits better in smaller cases? also uses a blower fan) < asus strix oc (best oc performance, also compatible with third party waterblocks but cost the most)
why would you wanna add liquid cooling on the 1080? Gamers Nexus has shown that even with their liquid-cooled (albeit Frankensteined) 1080, the performance gain is not worth going that route. Pascal is voltage locked at 1.25V. You can cool the core and memory as much as you like under water, but if you're cooling it under the impression of overclocking it further, you will hit that voltage lock wall earlier than thermal throttling.
stringfellow
post Jul 5 2016, 10:20 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

The behemoth appears!

http://vrworld.com/2016/07/05/nvidia-gp100...r-geforce-1080/

4K60Hz finally? EDIT: may still fits in my Raven SFF rig. 12 inch PCB versus 13inch clearance in the Raven. That power pin placement may make it not fit though.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 5 2016, 10:24 PM
stringfellow
post Jul 6 2016, 05:41 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(lucidlts @ Jul 6 2016, 05:27 AM)
leaks spreading like wildfire lol. we now have an alleged leaked 3dmark result for GTX 1060:

http://www.tech-critter.com/2016/07/nvidia...060-3dmark.html
Boom headshot? tongue.gif
stringfellow
post Jul 6 2016, 03:48 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jul 6 2016, 12:02 PM)
RX 480 CFX beats GTX 1080 FE.
http://www.tweaktown.com/articles/7770/amd...0-4k/index.html

biggrin.gif Let's discuss.
QUOTE(richard912 @ Jul 6 2016, 12:56 PM)
Double the number of RX480 = double the risk of "fire hazard" to your mobo  tongue.gif ...joking

I still prefer to operate a single GPU instead of SLI/XF
Case closed. Single card better than CFX and the mess that comes with it. tongue.gif Same case with SLIs IF compared to a single more powerful AMD card. Problem is, what single most powerful AMD card? tongue.gif

QUOTE(Vannus @ Jul 6 2016, 03:37 PM)
I dont think so there will be 1080ti going to exist. The next card should be 1080 titan. Which is going to be much more powerful than 1080. The Teraflops is like about half more and price going to be 999usd smile.gif Prepare your cash as it's going to cost over 5k when it hits bolehland.
There will be, trust me. GP100 for Titan Pascal, GP102 with reduced CUDA cores for 1080Ti. They've done the Ti moniker for too long to change things up now, especially when it works.

https://www.techpowerup.com/223895/nvidia-t...n-p-at-gamescom

NVIDIA is preparing to launch its flagship graphics card based on the "Pascal" architecture, the so-called GeForce GTX TITAN P, at the 2016 Gamescom, held in Cologne, Germany, between 17-21 August. The card is expected to be based on the GP100 silicon, and could likely come in two variants - 16 GB and 12 GB. The two differ by memory bus width besides memory size. The 16 GB variant could feature four HBM2 stacks over a 4096-bit memory bus; while the 12 GB variant could feature three HBM2 stacks, and a 3072-bit bus. This approach by NVIDIA is identical to the way it carved out Tesla P100-based PCIe accelerators, based on this ASIC. The cards' TDP could be rated between 300-375W, drawing power from two 8-pin PCIe power connectors.

The GP100 and GTX TITAN P isn't the only high-end graphics card lineup targeted at gamers and PC enthusiasts, NVIDIA is also working the GP102 silicon, positioned between the GP104 and the GP100. This chip could lack FP64 CUDA cores found on the GP100 silicon, and feature up to 3,840 CUDA cores of the same kind found on the GP104. The GP102 is also expected to feature simpler 384-bit GDDR5X memory. NVIDIA could base the GTX 1080 Ti on this chip.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 6 2016, 03:49 PM
stringfellow
post Jul 6 2016, 04:02 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jul 6 2016, 03:53 PM)
R9 Fury X, of which I dislike much.
Case still applies for SLI as well. And we all know how much AMD hyped this thing, HBM thing, thousands of bits of memory bus that, overclocker's dream, the works. In the end, like deflated balloon.
stringfellow
post Jul 6 2016, 04:13 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

At least they took the pioneering role on that one, I will give them that. HBM stack and all. Too bad HBM costs moneh.
stringfellow
post Jul 6 2016, 11:46 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

http://www.pcper.com/news/Graphics-Cards/V...ly-Dont-Mix-Now

NVIDIA is working on a fix to allow the HTC Vive to be connected to the GeForce GTX 1070 and GTX 1080 over DisplayPort. The HTC Vive apparently has the choice between HDMI and Mini DisplayPort, but the headset will not be identified when connected over that connection. Currently, the two workarounds are to connect the HTC Vive over HDMI, or use a DisplayPort to HDMI adapter if your card's HDMI output is already occupied.
I dont know how it is in the Americas, but I found a DVI-D-to-HDMI adapter for freaking cheap RM15 in Low Yat Plaza, and this whole thing becomes a non-issue. You still have one empty HDMI port, and THREE DP ports. And if you're still rocking monitors with no DisplayPort and you have a 1080/1070 AND an expensive HTC VIVE VR headset, your priorities are all wrong, buddy. Monitor upgrade either go first or go hand in hand with your GPU upgrade or your VR headset purchase. Your 1080/170 is capable of far beyond 1080p resolution and at higher framerate, if you're still using HDMI and rely hopelessly on that for your multi-monitor configuration, that's kinda a lopsided priority there.
stringfellow
post Jul 7 2016, 01:48 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jul 7 2016, 01:06 AM)
btw driver 368.69 is up

Only improvement is Dirt Rally in VR, and I dont have that game.
stringfellow
post Jul 7 2016, 08:57 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Jul 7 2016, 08:18 AM)
MSI 1080 FE seems to be the cheapest FE?  Thinking of getting this and do some ghetto mods like GN Hybrid.

Seems like 1080 custom design, even with extra 6 pin and badass vrm, is not alot better in terms of overclocking from the FE.  Plus I hate those custom huge PCB.
Voltage locked to 1.25V, irregardless of FE or AIB. To OC, you need to bump up the core and memory frequency, to bump up frequency you need to pump in more voltage, you hit a brick wall at 1.25V no matter how cool your 1080 is under air or under water.

In the end, it's all about fat cards with bling-bling RGBs with pre-OC frequencies out of the factory, or get slim FE cards and OC it yourself. You play the silicon lottery: you lucky on the FE, you get 2088Mhz on core clock like I got. You unlucky on the AIB cards, you cant even get past 2050Mhz, no matter how high it was pre-OCed out of the factory.

Gamers Nexus got their frankensteined 1080 FE slapped with AIO liquid cooling up to 2164Mhz, but if 76Mhz is all Im getting for a liquid cooler, no thanks.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 7 2016, 09:11 AM
stringfellow
post Jul 7 2016, 10:08 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Jul 7 2016, 10:05 AM)
where can i buy an asus strix oc ? msrp ;/
http://videocardz.com/60631/asus-rog-strix...or-overclocking
stringfellow
post Jul 7 2016, 10:25 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Jul 7 2016, 10:22 AM)
Because it overclocks poorly, and ASUS has the tendency to overprice as well, maybe that's why nobody wanna stock this model?

Try Palit or Leadtek.

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Jul 7 2016, 10:22 AM)
My initial plan is to carryover my current Universal GPU block to 1080. I've found out that the VRM heatsink is separate unit in the FE card. Thats a good news for me. Thus the idea of doing the same thing like what Gamer Nexus did.

The thing with FE, is the price.  And I really don't need those fat heatsink of AIB.  Maybe i just like things to follow reference and standard.
I have no choice but to go reference due to the Raven's SFF case. Even if there are "slim" AIB models with two fans for example, I'm not interested in cooking my SFF case internals, versus the blower-style FE card.
stringfellow
post Jul 7 2016, 10:33 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

If it has space for thick AIBs with 3 slot space requirement, then by all means. But the Asus Strix 1080 is hard to come by, judging from the cursory search I did on the forum and on Lazada.
stringfellow
post Jul 7 2016, 05:12 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

The fight gets fiercer.

http://videocardz.com/61917/nvidia-geforce...ost-249-299-usd

1060, USD249 MSRP, Founders Edition USD299. July 19th worldwide.

First of all, f**k you Nvidia for that FE extra cost, you're bleeding the freaking budget demographics too!!? mad.gif

Second of all, still no top view to confirm the existence or disappearance of SLI fingers. IF there's only one SKU, and it's 6GB, and no SLI, that isn't right. So it may be true that the 1060 is 980's performance at stock and encroaching to the domain between 980-980Ti when overclocked. Nvidia scared to cannibalise their own 1070 card sale.

Caveat: provided these slides are real.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 7 2016, 05:13 PM
stringfellow
post Jul 7 2016, 05:17 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

http://videocardz.com/61927/asus-rog-g752v...0-for-notebooks

Rocking a desktop class(!) GTX1070 and GTX1080. HOLY SHIT!

stringfellow
post Jul 7 2016, 05:30 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(khelben @ Jul 7 2016, 05:21 PM)
So what's the difference between the 249 and 299 versions?
If these slides are true, shitty Nvidia is milking the Founders Edition again. They shouldn't do that for this market segment.

And it's ...more than what Founders Edition costs for the 1070, the 1070 FE is 40 dollars extra. This one is 50 dollars? Something is not right.....
stringfellow
post Jul 7 2016, 05:34 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(khelben @ Jul 7 2016, 05:31 PM)
Can't blame them though since their earlier FEs actually sell. So why not for this too when people are gonna get it anyway laugh.gif
Yeah but at 50 dollars!!? If they put a 30 dollar premium for FE it'll sound kinda logical. 50 dollars extra for 1080FE, 40 for 1070, and 30 for 1060. It's not right to place premiums on budget tier but it has that tiered costing to it.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 7 2016, 05:37 PM

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.1149sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 03:29 AM