Origins vs Indonesia tyres, Which is better?

TSlilfunky
post Jun 22 2016, 10:29 PM, updated 10y ago

56 posts

Hello every sifus here, can I find out with you all what is the difference of Origins(Japan/Korea) vs Indonesia/Thailand made tyres ?

Referring to
Bridgestone Potenza RE003 & Hankook S1 Noble2 .

Need all sifu advice plz.

This post has been edited by lilfunky: Jun 23 2016, 07:50 AM
TSlilfunky
post Jun 23 2016, 07:54 AM

56 posts

Up
hanif444
post Jun 23 2016, 11:04 PM

1,523 posts

Japan make quality tyre, compare indonesia or china make with lousy quality control. Rubber material also different
SportyHandling
post Jun 24 2016, 01:04 PM

623 posts

Perhaps some tyre experts here can comment but my preference in quality of tyres in accordance with country of manufacture is as follows, with the first being the highest quality :-

1. Japan
2. Thailand
3. Malaysia
4. Indonesia
5. China (try to avoid)

Don't know about Korea and not sure where does it fit in though.

This post has been edited by SportyHandling: Jun 24 2016, 01:05 PM
eek-1
post Jun 25 2016, 10:49 PM

Custom member title
778 posts

One thing I noticed my car Indo tyres turn brown during hot days.
TSlilfunky
post Jun 28 2016, 02:03 PM

56 posts

Thanks for all review but any review regard hankook? From korea
TSlilfunky
post Jun 28 2016, 02:04 PM

56 posts

Thanks for all review but any review regard hankook? From korea
rickyoac
post Jul 11 2016, 03:10 PM

I'm using Hankook S1 Noble 2 215 45 17 made in indonesia 3000km only. Everything is ok except chipping on tyre side thread. Wondering the compound or the material used.
My experience using hankook V8 and V12 doesn't having this problem all made in Korea.
jiunkei_46
post Jul 12 2016, 09:19 AM

~kEi~
1,972 posts

QUOTE(rickyoac @ Jul 11 2016, 03:10 PM)
I'm using Hankook S1 Noble 2 215 45 17 made in indonesia 3000km only. Everything is ok except chipping on tyre side thread. Wondering the compound or the material used.
My experience using hankook V8 and V12 doesn't having this problem all made in Korea.
Mine Noble 2 so far so good after 10k KM, also made in indo. you can try to claim warranty...
overfloe
post Jul 12 2016, 11:22 AM

Ain't nothing but a thang..
2,207 posts

QUOTE(lilfunky @ Jun 22 2016, 11:29 PM)
Hello every sifus here, can I find out with you all what is the difference of Origins(Japan/Korea) vs Indonesia/Thailand made tyres ?

Referring to
Bridgestone Potenza RE003 & Hankook S1 Noble2 .

Need all sifu advice plz.
i have re003 from thai and noble2 from indo

you are comparing two different tayars so it is difficult to tell the differences. i will not comment on the compound because this depends on the brand so i'm only comparing the manufacturing quality.

in term of visual quality, not much difference to be honest. indo made is not so bad but thai made is my pick after japan.

worst is china made. had a goodyear from china last time. even the flying shoe logo cannot be distinguished.
rickyoac
post Jul 13 2016, 11:43 AM

The tyre shop said road condition , wheel spinning and hard cornering la. I said why my previous tyre no problem they said because the material problem. So many excuse. My wife only city drive, bring children to school.
Now contact with hankook distributor and see how.

Enferno
post Jul 19 2016, 09:51 AM

469 posts

QUOTE(rickyoac @ Jul 13 2016, 11:43 AM)
The tyre shop said road condition , wheel spinning and hard cornering la. I said why my previous tyre no problem they said because the material problem. So many excuse. My wife only city drive, bring children to school.
Now contact with hankook distributor and see how.
this happened to my previous Continental ContiMaxContact MC5. Hard rubber compound is the reason for chipping + hard cornering
ADJ
post Jul 19 2016, 03:02 PM

..::fairlight::..
2,921 posts

For me, no difference in quality between my 2 sets of Hankook tyres, Prime2 from Korea and Noble2 from Indonesia, both equally good in terms of manufacturing quality.

iPhones are made in China.
Sony RX100 was made in Japan, then later in China, still the same quality.

Michelin PS3, made in Thailand, and made for SEA conditions, weather etc.
Parallel imported German made PS3, tends to chip or deteriorate faster.

Then again, these are all generalizations, and other brands/tyres may buck this trend.

Country of origin to me is less important than overall brand quality and whether they are produced and approved for the locale it is sold in.
6UE5T
post Aug 5 2016, 04:57 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(ADJ @ Jul 19 2016, 03:02 PM)
For me, no difference in quality between my 2 sets of Hankook tyres, Prime2 from Korea and Noble2 from Indonesia, both equally good in terms of manufacturing quality.

Then again, these are all generalizations, and other brands/tyres may buck this trend.

Country of origin to me is less important than overall brand quality and whether they are produced and approved for the locale it is sold in.
Yup agree with this! I've used well known branded but Indo, China, and Thai made tires, all no significant difference in terms of built quality! All last and performed as expected, no complains whatsoever. The branding is most important, just avoid those China/unknown brands, but not branded made in China/Indo. FYI Indo made tires actually would/should be tougher coz the driving environment there is much worse: hotter, a LOT more pot holes and much rougher asphalt and joints! Long time ago I had seen Michelin made in France that cannot last and chipped badly when driven in Indonesia but yet the Indo/Thai made tires performed well as expected in such condition.
1tanmee
post Feb 7 2017, 09:18 PM

~noMNom~
970 posts

i was told years ago that Malaysian rubbers are the best, par none. Shouldn't it then translate to Malaysian made tyres being better compared to other countries?

On another note, can the consumers see the country of origin on the side of the tyre?
Jessieccy
post Feb 7 2017, 10:30 PM

160 posts

My Conti CC5, made in Malaysia. last time also chip at the corners like no body business. So I dont know. Im blaming it on soft compound. Rite now only mange to drive less than 1000km. Hankook kinergy EX at the rear is so much more silent than the old chipped n harden CC5 at the front.
1tanmee
post Feb 11 2017, 07:13 PM

~noMNom~
970 posts

Most tyres manufactured, are they using synthetic rubber, or natural rubber? i'd guess that natural rubber would cost more, correct?
6UE5T
post Feb 13 2017, 09:09 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(1tanmee @ Feb 7 2017, 09:18 PM)
i was told years ago that Malaysian rubbers are the best, par none. Shouldn't it then translate to Malaysian made tyres being better compared to other countries?

On another note, can the consumers see the country of origin on the side of the tyre?
Don't know about Malaysian rubber but making good tires is not just about having good rubber! There are a lot of complex technology that goes with it.

Yes you can easily spot the country of origin on the side, but like I said the brand is way more important than the country.
ktek
post Feb 14 2017, 01:57 AM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

QUOTE(1tanmee @ Feb 7 2017, 09:18 PM)

malaysia rubber are export grade. so the one used for manufacture here are ____________
anyway there are much factors beside country.
raayeop
post Feb 14 2017, 10:31 AM

QUOTE(ADJ @ Jul 19 2016, 03:02 PM)

Make sense... So , it is about that brand itself.. If cap ayam brand made in USA, it is still cap ayam...

0.0252sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:05 PM