I was actually considering the special edition due to the map but just settled for the standard as the price difference makes it not that worthwhile. To my surprise the standard edition also include map but not as detailed like the special which have maps of the towns (St Denis etc). Any other difference between them? How elaborate is it for the extra robbery/heist mission?
Little late but here's the quick and dirty forum review, no spoilers:
----
+ 8 years in the making and it's understandable why; the depth this game has is basically unrivaled as far as open world designs go.
+ A great balance in old west grit, the brutality and how human lives being portrayed as nothing important can be an eye opener for those not familiar with the "old wild west". The story is unique and truly "western", there are themes that will absolutely make you go "wtf did I just witness?".
+ You feel like an outlaw, you are an outlaw and you can continue to be the asshole of your dreams. The game doesn't stop you from being righteous or a conceited SOB. It's a lot more dynamic than in GTA5 and in RDR1 where the path is generally fixed for the player.
+ Gunplay is fairly simple but engaging, Dead Aim is addictive and shooting people's testicles off never gets boring. Watch them bleed out of their nutsack. + Cutscenes are well framed and shot, its style is similar to that of the legendary western film Unforgiven (1992).
+ When Rockstar said they had over 300,000 lines of dialogue in the game, I thought that was an exaggeration. How the hell do they even have that many dynamic NPCs to talk pointless bs? Well turns out, there ARE that many banters that goes on in the game. Go to the bar, sit down and listen to some jackass blow hot air, they weren't joking.
+ Game sounds engaging, atmospheric and amazing as a whole. If you have a fairly recent HT system with Atmos/DTSX ceiling or height speakers, engage your receiver's DSU or Neural X upmixing. Going to the forest and hearing the wildlife there with all the animals making noises and chirps, it's like virtually being in an episode of Planet Earth 2 - jaw dropping stuff. The attention of detail the sound designers has captured and mixed into the game is eerie in a very good way!
----
~ While gun combat feels engaging, hand to hand fights are... meh. It's a series of mashing the right buttons and it's pretty much watching how Arthur beats the shit out of some poor sod rather than being engaged in a brawl.
~ As with all open world games, the game has bugs. I have not run into any game breaking ones, but there are annoying ones like how my horse simply refuses to listen to me for whatever reason despite having a maxed out "relation" meter. There are also NPCs clipping through buildings, the odd stuff like enemies not dying to headshots but dying to limb decapitations.
----
— The only low point of the game on PS4 and PS4 Pro, as far as these systems are concerned - is that they are not perfect nor great. It's definitely very playable and way better than when GTA5 first released on the PS3. As was already shown on DF's analysis videos - the framerates are quite erratic in the towns and what they showed was really only 2 towns. There IS another town that actually tanks the framerate even more, but it's kind of spoilery so I understand why they didn't mention or show it.
— Load times... welp, those on standard PS4 with stock drives - you're in for quite a bit of waiting. I shudder to think how bad load times will be when Red Dead Online launches.
----
Is this the best open-world game ever made up till this point? Has Rockstar finally surpassed San Andreas in design, scale and outlook? Yes. It's just day 1 and I'm already seeing things from many players that I thought wouldn't surprise me after playing this game for over 2 weeks. That's how much detail this game has and I'm not even done with everything yet, hell I think 100%'ing this game is a pretty tall order. Then there's RDO which I hope R* has taken lessons from GTAO, absolutely looking forward to that.
This post has been edited by SSJBen: Oct 26 2018, 05:13 PM
The game atmosphere and presentation is really one of its kind .
I am hesitate to say this , WHAT-IS-WRONG with the PS4 Pro version ? Everything look so " dirty " , so muddy and blurry . From what I saw in other 4k videos , it doesn't look that on the Xbox one X version , which runs at native 4k resolution.
At some points , the PS4 PRO version actually look worse than the game on vanilla PS4 , how is this even possible ? I have to adjust the sharpness settings on TV to max before I can even tell what is written on the road sign , which comes at the cost of oversharpening everything .
To be realistic , I am not expecting the PRO to runs at the same native res as neighbour's X console , but this is quite a let down when I had to fire the game up on old PS4 to see if they are having the same issue.
It seems like the PS4 Pro uses some sort of reconstruction technique to achieve its 1920 x 2160 (as mentioned in the Digital Foundry analysis ) but it isn't anywhere as well done as the checkerboarding we've seen in the likes of God of War / Horizon Zero Dawn . Coupled with the TAA and Rockstar depth of field effects , it really doesn't look too good especially on a big screen where every minor flaw of the graphics would be revealed.
My only disappointment so far , I really hope Rockstar is doing something about it.
This post has been edited by Convael: Oct 26 2018, 08:26 PM
I think for me Rockstar finally solved that mundane walk/drive/ride dialogue to the mission sections. By letting me become a cinematographer so that I can choose the best and appropriate shot during those talkies.
You really need to be in a certain mindset to get into the game. Someone was watching me play the tutorial and I feel really conscious if it's too slow or boring to them so I rush a bit even in the gameplay only for me to die because I was playing it like your typical fast-paced third person shooter.
When I finally settled into the mood where I can think methodically that's where the game finally click. To compare this to Redemption (at least for the shooting part) it's even more punishing tbh.
With that first person view and hunger system the game is pretty much a less jankier AAA Western version of Kingdom Come Deliverance to me.
Also a nice in-gameplay(not just the usual in menu) journal to read through to get to know more of our protagonist.
This post has been edited by hakimix: Oct 26 2018, 10:02 PM
Also does the physical disc version comes with the war horse thingy?
I am thinking to either get physical copy or get digital copy which is slightly cheaper with 15% discount.
Here's how it looks like. I guess it'd be kinda useful from time to time.
The warhorse dlc only comes with preorder copies, you might wanna ask the seller first just incase. Also there's a companion app, haven't tried it yet though. Graphics look really good and I'm only playing it on ps4 slim. Gun sounds are wayyyyy better than gta5 😆
This post has been edited by light bulb: Oct 27 2018, 01:33 AM
9 hours in game so far and from my side, i am struggling with the control scheme of the game, especially in tight spaces and when i get into town.. not sure why, but i kept accidentally fire my pistol while in town..
QUOTE(dynames07 @ Oct 27 2018, 01:32 AM)
9 hours in game so far and from my side, i am struggling with the control scheme of the game, especially in tight spaces and when i get into town.. not sure why, but i kept accidentally fire my pistol while in town..
I usually change to first person for looting/investigating which is often in tight areas. Changing to horse relative also makes it easier to control when riding. Deadzone to 0% and acceleration to 75% make the aiming more fluid from what I read but it still feels erratic when using free aim to me. Maybe need some getting used to. Somehow in gunfights I was expecting for it to have some squad-based commands due to how we can pretty much interact with everyone.
Which leads me to antagonise people more often than not to push the boundary. Even picked up a stranger and just threw him into his campfire and whilst he was writhingly burning I did a bit of cooking/crafting just beside him. Fuckin hell it wouldn't have mortify me back in previous Rockstar games if I did that but this just threw me off straight into ludonarrative dissonance due to how hard they tried to make it this game as immersive as possible.
This post has been edited by hakimix: Oct 27 2018, 05:30 AM
I usually change to first person for looting/investigating which is often in tight areas. Changing to horse relative also makes it easier to control when riding. Deadzone to 0% and acceleration to 75% make the aiming more fluid from what I read but it still feels erratic when using free aim to me. Maybe need some getting used to. Somehow in gunfights I was expecting for it to have some squad-based commands due to how we can pretty much interact with everyone.
Which leads me to antagonise people more often than not to push the boundary. Even picked up a stranger and just threw him into his campfire and whilst he was writhingly burning I did a bit of cooking/crafting just beside him. Fuckin hell it wouldn't have mortify me back in previous Rockstar games if I did that but this just threw me off straight into ludonarrative dissonance due to how hard they tried to make it this game as immersive as possible.
Thanks for the tipa on game setting. I'll try that later.
This, i forgot abt how we interact in gta but here needing to press 2 buttons to interact with someone is kinda wtf
I guess my Arthur just gone postal at this point with bounties in most counties. The somber track after a murder and the tense music when the lawmen are searching for you in the towns makes it too cinematic for a guy beyond redemption now haha.
Really though the interactions with the passersby are as shallow as the one in Bully and those autistically opening and closing every single drawer is just Shenmue tier. I guess those features are more fleshed out for the gang/posse and in the main missions.
Spent the last hours just hunting and studying animals in the game . This game is my new hunting simulator already. Also for those concern about the survival mechanics in the game, don't fret. Is not intrusive, and I hardly need to eat, sleep, drink or clean my gun, though I do enjoy all those animations that come with it.
Walking and drinking coffee while listening to Dutch's speech in the camp, my goodness, it felt so good.
Here's how it looks like. I guess it'd be kinda useful from time to time.
The warhorse dlc only comes with preorder copies, you might wanna ask the seller first just incase. Also there's a companion app, haven't tried it yet though. Graphics look really good and I'm only playing it on ps4 slim. Gun sounds are wayyyyy better than gta5 😆