9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Home Theatre Home Theatre Projector Talk, Epson TW700 Transformers Movie pic pg 33

timothyy
post Apr 14 2007, 02:05 PM

Do Not Underestimate the "Pawa" of the Dark Side
4,504 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Apr 14 2007, 11:24 AM)
Thanks for all the sharing of experiences in this thread. I'm also thinking of going the projector route in future so the info here is very useful, a few questions:

1. Is there anyone who can provide calibration service in Malaysia? I understand this is needed to get optimal PQ.

2. To control the acoustics in the HT room, do you think I should carpet the floor? What else needs to be done?
For 1) Almost all AV shops who sell projectors or LCD/Plasma will have calibration services. Another way is self calibration...

2) Carpet is only 1 small part if you are talking about acoustic. If self made, you can try egg tray. Its one of the best acoustic material available other than the commercial type. If not, you might want to buy the foam type. If you want to do wall lining with rockwool and such, I know industrial guy. Kekekeke... Can make your door acoustic fireproof door also. icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
timothyy
post Apr 14 2007, 03:34 PM

4,504 posts

Kekekeke... Industrial Acoustic Door ma...

Slam door will be like slamming those industrial fridge door...
timothyy
post Apr 14 2007, 07:00 PM

4,504 posts

What is the material? If "jialat" material, then no point...

Guys... I was thinking... these few Projector kakis... lets form a group and can have gatherings... what u guys think?
timothyy
post Apr 14 2007, 08:15 PM

4,504 posts

Just finished watching Lady in the Water. Kinda weird movie compared to the cover. I mean it looks more like a horror movie than a fairy tale movie.

Now watching aviator... toilet break... tongue.gif

psp_BOY... you get your Pearl first... we gather in your home theater room... tongue.gif
timothyy
post Apr 15 2007, 01:55 AM

4,504 posts

Hey... Epson new 1080p projector going for same price as your EW700... @@"

Anyway... Epson owners... can the PJ lens be adjusted?
timothyy
post Apr 15 2007, 11:35 AM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(jasonlky @ Apr 15 2007, 10:20 AM)
Bro dirtrun, pixel sructure - SDE.  I can see it sitting 10ft from my 100+inch picture... only when I look for it.

Bro Timothyy, if the 1080p TW1000 can get at TW700 prices I'll be the first to change up!! U joking or wat?  In addition the "Lady in da water" is full of suspense... where got horror?

Bro psp_boy, sounds like you had a nice time, how come diden invite uslah?  Your description of it is so nice make me wanna come.... in both sense of the word.  Is the shoot out still on or was this it?
Kekekeke... Projector Central say ma... USD2999. This is list price ma.
Epson PowerLite Home Cinema 1080
Three years ago you had to pay upwards of $30,000 to get a 1080p projector. The fact that the Home Cinema 1080 is now available for just $2,999 illustrates how rapidly the prices have collapsed.

For Epson Pro Lite 800-USD2299, Pro Lite 810-USD2999. Kekekek...
No price for TW700... but that is Asian model right? And Pro Lite is American models.

The Lady in the Water is not horror. I didn't say its horror but from the Cover (poster) it looks like one. So, I thought it is...

Watched Aviator last night. Damn long movie but nice. Its a true story of the great Hughes. We should thank him whenever we fly or even when we watch TV or Astro...
timothyy
post Apr 15 2007, 08:20 PM

4,504 posts

Helping out dirtrun on these pics...

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Apr 15 2007, 02:40 PM)

Some pics ...

They are lousy,  I know ... I told you, dat I was a lousy photog :

And my HT ...

Cheers
Dirtrun
This post has been edited by timothyy: Apr 15 2007, 08:21 PM
timothyy
post Apr 17 2007, 09:40 AM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Apr 17 2007, 09:15 AM)
Hi Jason,

Thanks for de replies...

Just to add -
I cannot toggle auto when I am on HDMI(oppo 981 as source) setting , I am allowed normal and through(I think it is normal - must go back and confirm) only 2 settings the rest  are greyed out. I dunno why as I have not touched de memory feature yet( not confident to do any tweaking yet, besides might as well wait for de screen to be installed before calibrating/tweak or else have to do again once de screen comes...)
On de Pioneer 380, I can toggle thru all de aspect settings and only zoom will give me de same size pic as de one from my oppo de rest all makes de image smaller and at first I thought it was 'ahem' dvds too but then I used a R3 Con Air dvd and it did exactly de same thing - smaller images on all except ZOOM , I'll try and use summore old ori titles I have to check when I am free.
I guess this isnt much of a problem since I have found out how to get de biggest image available even though it is from one setting only from a component source, maybe I ll go ask in AVS and make those guys laugh a bit ... what, you still use components where you come from...

Bro L -- My screen is being constructed by a carpenter - I am no DIY sifu... but I have given specific insructions on what I want, even to de extent of bracing for de frame and painting of internal bare wood (which they never do unless you specify but it keeps de bugs away) I am also taking his advice on using a form of presprayed board as de screen first ( he gave me an option tat he can still mount my black out cloth material if his version turns out unacceptable) ... anyway I shall see how it turns out first.

Cheers
Dirtrun
Bro... I might be wrong here... but heck... this is what I did...

You need to change setting for both projector and player to 16:9 in order to get full size 16:9.
Getting gray color screen... can it be due to HDMI only transfer the original DVD format? I think I am wrong here. KAkakaka
timothyy
post Apr 17 2007, 02:16 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Apr 17 2007, 01:42 PM)
Hi Bro Tim,

I have no problems wif de oppo 981 as it is already giving me a full image(except I cannot toggle de aspect versions except for normal and thorugh , small problem tat) its just dat for de old pioneer 380 somehow it cant give me a full image unless I use de zoom in aspect all de auto/normal will give a shrunk image of de oppo(approx down to 6.5ft across from de oppos 8ft image) and de setting for both dvdps is in 16 : 9 already, tats de first thing I checked when I couldnt get a full image - uhm and for de pj it is already a 16:9 model how to set it at 4:3 - even de test pattern comes out in 16:9 format one...

Maybe Ill go bug de epson customer service(but I dont expect much from them thou')

Cheers
Dirtrun
Ah... if the DVDP on 16:9 and the PJ on 4:3 how?

May be its old version that can't give you full 16:9?

timothyy
post Apr 17 2007, 06:33 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Apr 17 2007, 02:35 PM)
No no bro,

Wat I mean is HT pjs are already at 16:9 how to set it at 4:3, bro?

If I play 4:3 discs I still get full height pics but of cos de bars at left and rite are there unless you toggle de aspect and stretch de image - tat much is all in de manual so dat I understand. Anyway 4:3 pics are left wifout stretching, stretching it looks weird, IMO...

My question here is if it can play full size on hdmi setting, why is it smaller in a component source?

BTW I have posted an email to de CS guys at epson and also at AVS, lets see what they say, ya...

Thanks for reading and all ur help...
Dirtrun
QUOTE(dirtrun @ Apr 17 2007, 02:35 PM)
No no bro,

Wat I mean is HT pjs are already at 16:9 how to set it at 4:3, bro?

If I play 4:3 discs I still get full height pics but of cos de bars at left and rite are there unless you toggle de aspect and stretch de image - tat much is all in de manual so dat I understand. Anyway 4:3 pics are left wifout stretching, stretching it looks weird, IMO...

My question here is if it can play full size on hdmi setting, why is it smaller in a component source?

BTW I have posted an email to de CS guys at epson and also at AVS, lets see what they say, ya...

Thanks for reading and all ur help...
Dirtrun

Oh.... I seeeeeee.....

Anyway, I tried watching Star Wars Ep I recently. Thought my DVD was of good pirate but turn out on projector real sux. It was blur... it was widescreen but it is 4:3. Know hat I mean? It came ut 4:3 size with 16:9 in it. Kekekeke...
timothyy
post Apr 18 2007, 09:00 AM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(viosafc @ Apr 17 2007, 11:36 PM)
Egg crate cannot be used in soundproofing but it may actually provide the opposite effect, resulting in enhanced sound.
Who say about ound proofing? People talking about acoustic... icon_rolleyes.gif
timothyy
post Apr 19 2007, 10:56 AM

4,504 posts

And as for me... and my projecor discoloration problem...

When I put on economy mode the discoloration is obvious but when I put on normal mode, the discoloration is less.
timothyy
post Apr 19 2007, 06:11 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Apr 19 2007, 01:33 PM)
Hi bro,

Tats just it , I thought all along dat through means letting de dvdp do de scaling and at de current way normal means de epson does de downscaling ... Okay one question is there no way for me to check on a pure 1080p image from de epson ?I should be happy just getting a 720p image and believe me it is great but at de back of my mind I would like to compare...

How about broTims Ax100, anyway tat ur sony dvdp(can it upscale to 1080p?) upscaled pics come out wifout downscaling from ur pJs processor?

Thanks for all de inputs, guys...

Cheers
Dirtrun
Hmmm... I thought our HDMI can achieve 1080i or 720p only? Coz 1080p will be of BlueRay type... No?

timothyy
post Apr 20 2007, 02:06 PM

4,504 posts

Well, owning a 720p then better stick to 720op stuff... if buy 1080p stuff, later want to upgrade others all to 1080p... Die la..
timothyy
post Apr 20 2007, 07:42 PM

4,504 posts

Wow... Seems l am getting distant soon. Kekeke... All of you are "growing" and I am stuck here.

cry.gif cry.gif

Anyway... Panny manager just called me that they are willing to take back the item and give me refund or ...

rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

unsure.gif unsure.gif unsure.gif

Now... this is the problem. Accordin to him, they can't refund the money direct to me... They have to go through the dealer who I bought it from.

And its like, I bought at RM10, the dealer got it at RM6... (example only)... so, how about the RM4?

Will the dealer give back to me the balance RM4?
That is the question.

sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

The manager also hinted that I can opt for the higher end model AE1000... and the price he "accidently" mentioned was like RM4.9k cheaper.... shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif

So... drool or not? But I don't want to spend so much money... Who wants? I sell u at that price + RM1k. Kekekeke...

Then I call it quit. I use my 29" TV... laugh.gif laugh.gif

Now I blur... I blur whether I will be able to get back my money or not
timothyy
post Apr 20 2007, 09:50 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Apr 20 2007, 08:58 PM)
interesting thread on Projs:

looks like for now the top 3 "budget" 1080p projectors would be

Mitsubishi LVP-HC5000 LCD Projector
    * Featuring Full HD C2 Fine(tm) LCD panel (Resolution: 1920 x 1080)
    * Brightness: 1000 Ansi Lumens
    * High Contrast Ratio: 10000:1
    * HDMI, Component, HD15, S-Video & Composite Input Terminals
    * Support these HDTV resolution inputs : 480P/525P/576P/625P/720P/750P/1080I/1125I/1080P/1125P

Panasonic PT-AE1000E LCD Projector
    * Featuring Full HD LCD panel (Resolution: 1920 x 1080)
    * Brightness: 1100 Ansi Lumens
    * High Contrast Ratio: 11000:1
    * HDMI X 2, Component, HD15, S-Video & Composite Input Terminals
    * Support these HDTV resolution inputs : 480P/525P/576P/625P/720P/750P/1080I/1125I/1080P/1125P

Epson EMP-TW1000 LCD Projector
    * Equivalent to model PowerLite Pro Cinema 1080 in North America
    * Featuring Full HD C2 Fine(tm) LCD panel (Resolution: 1920 x 1080)
    * Extremely High Contrast Ratio: 12000:1
    * 1200 Ansi Lumens
    * Equipped with lens-shift function
    * HDMI (Version 1.3), Component, D5, HD15, S-Video & Composite Input Terminals
    * Support these HDTV resolution input : 480P/525P/625P/720P/750P/1080I/1125I/1080P/1125P

I believe all should be going for below RM10k "street pricing" biggrin.gif
Mimpi spotted... if below RM10k... we all would have hung it on our ceilings by now.
timothyy
post Apr 20 2007, 10:36 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(laowai @ Apr 20 2007, 09:58 PM)
Looks like you have been given the usual run-around crap. Tai chi. So no one is taking the responsibility give you full refund.

But if they are willing to sell you the Ae1000 at 5k discount .... isn't that about the same as your AX100 price?
Ohhh No no!!!! shakehead.gif shakehead.gif shakehead.gif shakehead.gif

I wish its as good as that...

List price to list price is RM6999 and 14999

Ops...
timothyy
post Apr 21 2007, 04:16 PM

4,504 posts

WE are kinda supporting the Malaysian economy. Kekekeke!

PSP... PM me what price u got for that...

for ar188, if you know who can give around 30% discount off retail price, do let us know.... thanks
timothyy
post Apr 21 2007, 07:17 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Apr 21 2007, 07:15 PM)

Poor poor Tim... Looks like youll be getting de short end of de stick huh...

I doubt very much Eu*o*oin is gonna do tat and refund you their profit
so if you do get a refund it will be de distro figure only...

If I were you I'd live wif de PJ la ... problem pj oso better than 29in tv la... IMO

On another note my screen is up but now I am at work and dead tired cos have to clear up de mess those guys made after they left... we'll see how it goes later tonite...

I have oso noticed a slight defect on my image too - just noticed it after de screen is up but I guess I'll live wif it(there was a case of this in AVS too) cos its minor and de pics are really no comparison coming from  34inch crt...

Feel really sorry for you , bro Tim..
Dirtrun
Its ok. I will see what they say...
timothyy
post Apr 22 2007, 11:30 AM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(shipal @ Apr 22 2007, 09:17 AM)
Timothyy, Don't understand why the refund or upgrade is the only options. What about actually fixing the problem in 1st place? They can't do that even? If so, that's bad of Panasonic's image.
Go check out AVSForum where worldwide is talking about the same problem.

Hey Dirtrun, mind telling me the bad and the good abut TW700?

9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0203sec    1.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 06:52 AM