YES 4G voice , sms and Internet

joshhd
post Dec 30 2020, 11:00 AM

7,801 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Dec 30 2020, 10:18 AM)
not true. years ago i was using the monthly buy 1 free 1 prepaid with limited quota (there was no unlimited prepaid back then) . yes cockblocked and said i used it for tethering. my usage was less than 50GB per month.

i ditched yes for this reason because i'm not a heavy user and i use within my limited amount of quota. situation might be different now because unlimited mobile plan is now common. but i doubt there will be any change to yes FUP.

Like you said, that was years ago.
Things might have changed now, since their plans are more "liberalised".
joshhd
post Jan 18 2021, 02:47 PM

7,801 posts

QUOTE(jkgermanotta @ Jan 18 2021, 06:14 AM)
No.
Yes 4G do not offer daily 1GB productivity data like other big telcos does.

Instead, they offer a one-off 40GB free data lasts for 60 days, which is Yes for Education meant for students in selected college/universities, and also Free Phone* with 120GB data for B40 families.
https://ytlfoundation.org/learnfromhome/
https://ytlfoundation.org/learnfromhomeuni/
https://ytlfoundation.org/learnfromhome-faq/

*The model of the free phone is very likely the Yes Altitude 2, a very low spec Android smartphone. Free stuff mah sweat.gif
joshhd
post Mar 11 2021, 05:20 PM

7,801 posts

QUOTE(puputeh24 @ Mar 10 2021, 10:09 AM)
Hi, may I ask what's the cheapest way to remain sim card validity ya? Thanks. My expiry date was 22nd Jan, somehow the status is still active.

If you wish to keep your phone number active but dormant due to low usage, then Yes 4G is definitely NOT your choice.
Most of the telcos out there, including Yes 4G, would somehow "encourage" its subscribers to perform consistent amount of monthly topups for the account to remain active.

If you're not into that, consider port out to other telco that offers 1 year validity such as XOX prepaid (also known as OneXOX).
joshhd
post Jun 14 2021, 10:22 PM

7,801 posts

Parents: Online classes nowadays no good one... My children can't concentrate on their studies, and easily distracted by games and other unrelated stuff.

YTL Communications:

Perak distributes 20,000 low-quality phones to prevent students from playing games

https://soyacincau.com/2021/06/14/perak-dis...-yes-altitude-3

Parents: Good choice rclxm9.gif

Conclusion: This is how to market your low-spec phone, yet many people especially parents would likely to go for it biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by joshhd: Jun 14 2021, 10:24 PM
joshhd
post Jun 16 2021, 10:40 PM

7,801 posts

"You little ungrateful little brat. Some people don't even have the chance to use smartphone."

Perak MB says free low-spec phones are better than no smartphone at all
https://soyacincau.com/2021/06/16/perak-mb-...rtphone-at-all/
joshhd
post Oct 17 2021, 01:33 PM

7,801 posts

QUOTE(asrin @ Oct 17 2021, 10:07 AM)
Just got back from Genting Premium Outlet..

Using KUP49..with insane speed of 40-50Mbps at the children playland..

Talk about premium place..with premium service..

Or it could be, "a premium place, yet not much users are using it there".
joshhd
post Nov 8 2021, 12:25 AM

7,801 posts

QUOTE(kimgy86 @ Nov 7 2021, 09:10 PM)
Hi, would like to check
the Yes Alcatel 1 can support other telco 4G LTE?
my uncle is planning to change to smartphone due to 3G end soon
but he is not using Yes telco....
I tried with my unifi & xox simcard, only can get H+, cant get 4G LTE

Tell your uncle, 11.11 is just another few more days, so take this opportunity to enjoy some big discounts when shopping for new smartphone online. biggrin.gif

Yes 4G doesn't have 3G. If you want to ask about 3G shutdown related topic, refer to this thread: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5018488/

This post has been edited by joshhd: Nov 8 2021, 12:27 AM
joshhd
post Dec 17 2021, 03:26 PM

7,801 posts

QUOTE(Gold_Moderator @ Dec 17 2021, 02:48 AM)
[attachmentid=11059824]

How's the speed? And which band you're on?
joshhd
post Dec 20 2021, 01:53 PM

7,801 posts

QUOTE(wilson1stop @ Dec 20 2021, 10:00 AM)
Yes Prepaid Kasi Up extended again grade period?

First was 45 days after plan expired then became 60 days, and now extra another 50 days?

Suppose my sim cards terminate today 20 Dec but suddenly changed to 08 Feb 2022.

Anyone can clarify?

I think they want to make it look like they have many subscribers, or they don't want to make it look like many subscribers leave Yes 4G, so that's why they do this?
joshhd
post Dec 31 2021, 10:04 PM

7,801 posts

QUOTE(iamshf @ Dec 31 2021, 04:27 PM)
Requested to port out from YES, was informed by the new service provider that the MNP request was rejected due to no response to the SMS validation.

I don't receive any SMS from YES. 🤦 Why!!!

Yes be like: "Please don't leave us cry.gif "
"Our number of subscribers is less enough already. We want more, not less. "

This post has been edited by joshhd: Dec 31 2021, 10:05 PM
joshhd
post Jan 24 2022, 02:06 PM

7,801 posts

QUOTE(JohnnyWKY @ Jan 24 2022, 09:21 AM)
very unlucky, now YES 4G no service already at my home bangwall.gif
coverage getting poor and weak in Sibu, Sarawak  ranting.gif
no more chance to utilise shopee free internet  dry.gif

File a complaint on coverage issue here:
https://aduan.skmm.gov.my
joshhd
post Mar 13 2022, 01:28 PM

7,801 posts

QUOTE(KCY3701 @ Mar 12 2022, 09:40 AM)
Thank you so much!!! It actually worked.

I responded YES to 018-3301122, even though I have not received any port-out SMS at all from YES.

1:31pm Yesterday - Resubmitted MNP request
9:33am Today - Responded YES (20 hours)

Refer attached images

Edit: How ironic. YES sent the port out SMS, ONE HOUR after it expires. May be their modus operandi to keep us from leaving.

Hahahahaha... 🤣🤣🤣🤣
Nice one 👍
joshhd
post Mar 15 2022, 09:57 PM

7,801 posts

QUOTE(SleeplessEyes @ Mar 15 2022, 08:13 PM)
Update:
I have earlier filed a report with YES and they admit they already found the issue of "Delay Port out SMS" and have fixed it.

Of course lah... Kena caught red handed already mah. If they don't admit it, later escalate to MCMC and the higher management, they'll be in deep trouble then.

When that happens, simply saying sorry doesn't cure anymore.

This post has been edited by joshhd: Mar 15 2022, 09:58 PM
joshhd
post Mar 22 2022, 11:26 PM

7,801 posts

QUOTE(SleeplessEyes @ Mar 22 2022, 06:57 PM)
The correct word should be
Port Out Telco should be responsible to ensure the consumer smoothly port out from existing telco.
Cause the one which buat hal is usually the current telco.

Digi is one of them.
Unfortunately our culture is not the same as Singapore.
Singapore telcos will call the customer and salvage the customer with free gift or whatever they can offer just to get the customer to stay on.
So far I only heard Maxis does that. Other telco make u port out a difficult journey.

If I'm not mistaken, MCMC said before that it is illegal for telcos to save those leaving customers, but I'm not so sure why Maxis still somehow practices this. Or maybe MCMC aren't strict enough when it comes to this?

Most of the time, they'd rather save those postpaid customers rather than prepaid ones, since the prices for postpaid plans are usually higher than prepaid ones, so they can still somehow "offer something" to save the high paying customer from leaving.

Making port out a difficult journey, hoping that it will traumatise you, so that you won't simply port in and out here and there in the future....
joshhd
post Mar 28 2022, 07:27 PM

7,801 posts

QUOTE(Boldnut @ Mar 23 2022, 10:08 AM)
This is a shit idea. That means as a Telco, they got no incentive to offer better deals for consumer until consumer port out.

In my opinion counter-offer deal should be banned after consumer already perform to port out. I personally feel disgust that I am only able to get a better deal ONLY when I port out.
Telco should be offering zero reason b4 consumer press the port out better. They should be giving us consumer zero reason to press the port out button. Not after we press port out button. We consumer port out for a reason, if our telco is the best in town, why would we port out?

From the telco's point of view, as long you don't churn (keep paying bills as usual), they'll assume that you are okay with their service, therefore they are not obligated to offer you any incentives whatsoever.

Also from telco's point of view, why would they want to offer you something in exchange that they would earn lesser money; lose potential extra profits from you, even if you did not press the port out button?

Yes, customer's satisfaction is important, but also from telco's point of view, as long you don't complain anything about them, they'll assume you are happy with their service.
Therefore, they might as well keep quiet, and only offer churn offers to save the leaving customers, rather than focus on those decade-old loyal customers.

In conclusion, if a customer says he/she is very loyal to your company brand, in reality, your loyalty means nothing to them on the day you churn or stop/forget to pay your bills to them.

Sorry to say, but that is the harsh reality.
joshhd
post Mar 28 2022, 07:39 PM

7,801 posts

QUOTE(jsnhoh @ Mar 23 2022, 12:34 PM)
The concept is just like after tender resignation, your boss countet offer u with better paid among your colleagues.. it is fair??
Imho, this is matter of give and take and subject to personal preference. There r no right or wrong.

When a company offer you better pay than other colleagues as you're about to resign, likely because they see you as an "important asset" and/or "elites that are hard to find", they'll find it worth doing so, therefore it explains why some bosses/companies would do so.

However, if your job position is those low ranking one, and then you say "I want to resign", your boss would probably just say "OK".
That means in harsh reality, employees in that department is easily replaceable.

Back to telco topic. Let's say there are 2 different customers want to port out. One is a high paying premium customer (e.g. >RM300/month), another is a low paying customer (e.g. RM15/month).
Which customer would you propose some churn offers to save that customer from leaving? And why would you pick that customer rather than the other?

From there, you'll get the picture.
joshhd
post Oct 14 2022, 11:12 AM

7,801 posts

QUOTE(SleeplessEyes @ Oct 14 2022, 09:10 AM)
Me yesterday saw an ad - Yes 5G Wireless Fibre. With the tagline : "Home fibre is now wireless"

Source: https://www.yes.my/wireless-fibre-5g/?gclid...ahoC17gQAvD_BwE

Why they wanna confuse customer with the word 'fibre' together with 5G? Aint no fibre connection.
And just out of curiosity , I checked the 5G coverage map and its already spreading like 4G coverage.

Anyway- See for yourself.

It's called marketing strategy.
To some people, it doesn't matter if it is "confusing". As long it is successful and manage to gain some market share, then it is an effective marketing.
joshhd
post Dec 21 2022, 10:12 PM

7,801 posts

QUOTE(Gold_Moderator @ Dec 21 2022, 01:13 PM)
kelana jaya line got no service. is this a joke ?
QUOTE(Gold_Moderator @ Dec 21 2022, 03:18 PM)
no service. no coverage. can't even make emergency call also
QUOTE(Gold_Moderator @ Dec 21 2022, 03:19 PM)
undee ground
QUOTE(Gold_Moderator @ Dec 21 2022, 03:19 PM)
on the ground

Nope it's not a joke.
In-building or underground coverage of Yes 4G is very limited and isn't available everywhere, even in public places like Kelana Jaya LRT line.
A general rule of thumb: Yes 4G is better treated as a secondary backup SIM card, rather than primary telco SIM card.

6 Pages « < 4 5 6Top

0.0429sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 10:38 PM