25 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

USA Stock Discussion v8, Brexit: What happens now?

Ramjade
post Mar 11 2017, 12:03 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Mar 11 2017, 11:53 AM)
Speaking of US job numbers.. the new Trump administration took credit this month because they felt
it was them who has better policy and created those jobs.  rolleyes.gif

The fact is, none of their policies have taken effect yet.  It was actually Obama.
When Obama took over, US was in ruin and on brink of collapse in '09, when he inherited
the worst economic situation from Bush. With help from T.Geither and Benarke, they've implemented
a lot of monetary and fiscal policies that actually have help the US economy to recover and in much better shape
than Europe today.

I think with Trump now in place, when he plans to rip out what's working and replace with
yet-another Republican developed policies, we may see US economy collapse again before our eyes.

Better stay cautious for the next 4 years and see what happens.  nod.gif
Actually it's very funny. Donald Trump wants to rip out all the banking regulation put in place to prevent meltdown and the investors are happy with that move (making the bank stocks rally) Really weird. doh.gif
Ramjade
post Mar 15 2017, 11:10 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Mar 15 2017, 11:05 PM)
US inflation is really low too compare to Malaysia. 5 years ago, starbuck cost $5 for premium mocha.
Today, still the same. Malaysia, it has gone from RM10 to RM15. 
USD still the same.  Ringgit value drop 20%.. WTF.  doh.gif
And some people said Malaysian inflation only 3% whistling.gif 3% my foot bruce.gif ranting.gif bangwall.gif
Ramjade
post Mar 21 2017, 08:42 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 21 2017, 07:24 PM)
U mean online transfer from maybank2u to usa bank?

Have never tried that, only with bank tt.

I doubt with current bnm fx rules now u can transfer like that so easily.
What BNM TT rules? I think I might have missed it...

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Mar 21 2017, 08:42 PM
Ramjade
post Mar 22 2017, 12:56 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Mar 22 2017, 12:51 PM)
I wonder.... has anyone use BitCoin to bypass the traditional banks to transfer money in/out?  devil.gif
Got. People in the bitcoin forum section.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Mar 22 2017, 12:56 PM
Ramjade
post Mar 24 2017, 06:59 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 24 2017, 06:15 PM)
something to watch tonight...

will trump bump become trump dump?

http://www.cnbc.com/2017/03/22/trumps-heal...correction.html
QUOTE(icemanfx @ Mar 24 2017, 06:57 PM)
U.s congress need to teach trump the limitations of his power and what is separation of powers.
If pass, market will rally again.
Ramjade
post Mar 25 2017, 08:10 AM

24,334 posts

Trump fail to remove obamacare. Market is going to be in bloodbath on monday.biggrin.gif
Ramjade
post Mar 28 2017, 10:00 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(ILoveLalat.net @ Mar 28 2017, 09:59 PM)
I guess now I am permitted to talk about US markets now that my account is approved, yes! 

In the meantime, trading down some UVXY put options. Still monitoring the situation on equities market since the Dow kept coming back up, seriously what is going on? sweat.gif
Which broker do you use?
Ramjade
post Mar 29 2017, 11:03 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 29 2017, 10:28 AM)
global capital markets are flushed with cash... need to go somewhere.

will need a true brexit or another similar event to trigger some big selling!
Can May action to trigger article 50 do some damage? biggrin.gif
Ramjade
post Mar 29 2017, 08:19 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(netmask8 @ Mar 29 2017, 08:09 PM)
UK triggered Article 50 BREXIT divorce from EU ..  sweat.gif

See any good opportunity bargain hunting discount mega sales ?
Don't think it's serious enough. Will see tonight.
Ramjade
post Mar 30 2017, 11:58 PM

24,334 posts

Do you guys buy any US dividend stocks to keep?
Or just trade oil?
Ramjade
post Mar 31 2017, 10:29 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Mar 31 2017, 08:34 AM)
i keep stocks which i was assigned via selling Naked Puts (generally Dividend Aristocrats)
for Dividends
and for selling Covered Calls on them for premium
until... it gets called away..
Too sophiscated jargon confused.gif shakehead.gif rclxub.gif
Ramjade
post Apr 10 2017, 11:06 PM

24,334 posts

Guys, if we buy US stocks and submit the wben8 form, do we still kena witholding tax for the dividend?
Ramjade
post Apr 11 2017, 01:25 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ Apr 11 2017, 01:13 PM)
I find it weird that you kept bringing this topic up for so many times. hmm.gif
Because no one reply my post. And I need confirmation that US have with holding tax. If you see the ASX thread, tehre's a disuccsion going on about US stocks without withholding tax.
Ramjade
post Apr 11 2017, 02:04 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ Apr 11 2017, 01:40 PM)
I see that you've asked a few times & been receiving some replies that you're not satisfied with.

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry83650486

Perhaps you might want to check with your broker / remisier instead?
QUOTE(libidocllab @ Apr 11 2017, 02:01 PM)
Seriously, page 20 of https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p519.pdf answers that guy's question in the most straightforward way possible. Unless he's a Greencard Holder, Resident Alien, is a resident of country that has a tax treaty, or has the dividends connected to a business, he's SOL in paying the 30% tax.
Guys I know there's a withholding tax. It's clear as night and day but when someone showed you proof that his US stocks holdings doesn't have withholding tax, you have to wonder how is it possible when every google search says there is a withholding tax.

talexeh Forgotten about rhat post. Sorry.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 11 2017, 02:06 PM
Ramjade
post Apr 21 2017, 04:41 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Apr 21 2017, 11:29 AM)
Wait.. temporary only. I think we should sell by early next week before the US govt shuts down.  sweat.gif
What is the news about US govt shuts down?
Ramjade
post Apr 26 2017, 11:49 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(mikehwy @ Apr 26 2017, 11:47 PM)
its bull story every evening since a while. wonder what else can stop this raging bull. may effect maybe?
Le pen suddenly wins the election.
Ramjade
post Apr 27 2017, 07:35 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(stax1112 @ Apr 27 2017, 05:39 AM)
This time I think Macron will win. The history will happen again like her father.

Hey guys, can I ask a question? Anyone familiar with Interactive Brokers (IB) or any US brokers here?
I am planning to study Master in one of four countries Malaysia, Thailand, Taiwan or Philippines (courses taught in English). I may want to trade US stock while studying too.

I have experiences in trading US stock with IB in Vietnam. I know almost any step to open an account already. The problem is the ease of funding and transferring money back to the country (here is Malaysia).

In Vietnam, that was not easy and I had to fund (transfer) the money secretly (through a secret service) to my US account.
Working with the bank would be complicated, they didn't even understand what I am talking about, they would consider it an investment and I have to write many forms and declare statement and purpose blah blah blah... Transferring money back would be easy because they (VN) want money in but not out.

So I wanna ask: Is it easy here to fund money to the US account and is it easy to transfer money back to the local account? I assume anyone here is Malaysian. But if you can answer me the same question for Taiwan, Philippines and Thailand. I will be thankful for that!
What's wrong with transfering in malaysia? Are you a malaysians or non malaysian? If you are malaysians without debts, you can transfer how much you want. If you have debts max rm1m/year.

Malaysian banks does not accept USD notes. You will be force to convert RM at bank's rate. And USD you receive will also be force converted back to RM at bank's rate. You can open a US foreign currency account where funding the account is via RM converted at bank's rate. Then when you sell, you can have your proceed credit to you in USD into that account. However to remove USD from that account, you can only remove in RM. Again force conversion by the banks.

Ramjade
post Apr 27 2017, 09:29 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(stax1112 @ Apr 27 2017, 09:08 PM)
I will come as non-Malaysian and international student from VN biggrin.gif:D. So, it is easy to transfer money in and out Malaysia without problem? Ah, 'in' I mean transfering money back from the US to Malaysia, and "out" I mean transfering money from Malay to US
You better contact your Malaysian bank for more detail since you are a foreigner.
Ramjade
post May 18 2017, 10:22 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 18 2017, 09:58 PM)
patience, will come... biggrin.gif

some small crisis in brazil...
http://www.cnbc.com/2017/05/18/this-brazil...al-scandal.html
What will brazil scandal got to do with US?
Ramjade
post May 19 2017, 10:56 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(helo @ May 19 2017, 10:35 PM)
hi, i am a newbie here, interactive broker is charging usd10 permonth if without activities, may i know how much initial money needed to startup an investment in stock market?

cuz usd10 x 12 = usd120= myr 520

ib minimum deposit for below 25yrs old is ard myr13000

lets say i'm lucky enuf to get 20% return per year.

13,000 x 20% = 2600

520/2600 x 100% = 20%

20 percent of my return will be given to ib, do you think this is a great deal?

how much money do u guys think u need to have before starting an investment?

i am just a fresh graduate... just started working not even a month yet...
Better you build up emergency cash supply first and stick with Malaysian stock market first or Singapore stock market. Alternatively, you try cheap brokerage like kingtrade, schwab international, robinhood, 8 securities.

Those platform charge like USD4.99/trade or even free. (robinhood, 8 securities)

IB is for those who trade frequently.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: May 19 2017, 10:57 PM

25 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.4013sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 08:26 PM