20 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

USA Stock Discussion v8, Brexit: What happens now?

dwRK
post Mar 9 2022, 09:30 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(zacknistelrooy @ Mar 9 2022, 08:50 PM)
Not really

Volume for the micro March contract.

the previous 4 charts are book depths... this chart is volumes... they are different things no?

I can only say interests in ES has declined looking at book depths... and vol in MES has plateau... doesn't imply a broken market

I did say a lot of volumes are now in micro minis... implying the micro's order book needs to be filled up as well... assuming no new monies inflow to this futures market.. decreases in mini's should match increases in micro's... but there's also a flaw in this assumption... as ppl probably moved their money to others... like commodities, metals, etc...

just to add... imho market is ok because market structure is intact... after every swing high/low comes a retrace... support and resistance are there... put to call ratios are normal... etc...

the 5 to 10 minutes of London and Ney York open are always a wild ride...

This post has been edited by dwRK: Mar 9 2022, 09:55 PM
dwRK
post Mar 9 2022, 10:01 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(silverwave @ Mar 9 2022, 09:51 PM)
futures is looking very very green
red and green... both are good
dwRK
post Mar 10 2022, 06:26 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(zacknistelrooy @ Mar 10 2022, 05:46 PM)
Brought it up because you said the interest has moved a bit over there which isn't really the case

Can also check on the terminal the cost of trade for some the largest and most liquid stocks in US.
last time 1 coffee shop... now got 2... surely some ppl from shop 1 go shop 2... wink.gif

rising rates remove liquidity too... so it fits with your data... anyways I have no interest in this... cheers

dwRK
post Apr 7 2022, 08:49 AM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 7 2022, 08:12 AM)
Good they open mouth cause market seems to forget that feds need to hike interest rate aggressively.
Time to wait for fear to set in and scoop up the bargains.

As an investor, I love red market. The redder it is and the longer it is the, better for me.
huat aaaaahhhh...!!!

QUOTE(kmmsa @ Apr 7 2022, 08:15 AM)
good to buy dips , but cash belum ready  brows.gif
I'm still all cash... wink.gif
dwRK
post Apr 8 2022, 09:49 AM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Apr 8 2022, 01:45 AM)
I don't think the multiple rate increases will trigger the recession at this time. Historically, the rate still very low.  The demand for goods and services are very high in US and the employment rate is pretty good. Best is if US Fed can get it back to 3~4% to balance it out to taper down the high inflation and the expensive stocks PEs - this will be better.

Most of the big companies already locked in their low rates to operate for the next 24-36 months.  They may just fund their operations from their cash vault. Over the years, most of them got huge cash reserves from their huge profits.

Appetite for growth stocks may slow down, value stocks may start to be looking attractive again.
Yeah... needs a big enough trigger meltdown...

covid n ukraine couldn't do it... dunno what next...

This post has been edited by dwRK: Apr 8 2022, 09:50 AM
dwRK
post Apr 8 2022, 09:50 AM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(jon0000 @ Apr 8 2022, 08:47 AM)
Can buy ire domiciled etf on ibkr?
yes
dwRK
post Apr 8 2022, 09:55 AM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 8 2022, 09:50 AM)
Let's wait and see if interest rate at 6% will do the trick.
i expect market to push ath one more time... but anyways let's take it one week at a time...
dwRK
post Apr 10 2022, 12:41 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 9 2022, 08:38 PM)
Ok. Let's continue here. Big caps are what's keeping the market up since November sell off.
If you take out the big cap from s&p500 and Nasdaq (the faang), market should be more red.
you are correct... I mentioned this to TOS few days back

risk off is happening... big sell off hasn't... next week gonna be interesting

you gonna still try catch goog I guess smile.gif
dwRK
post Apr 11 2022, 09:28 AM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 10 2022, 09:23 PM)
Because they are the one keeping the index afloat hence that's why I said that is some mighty defensive selection.

Of course. It's so near my  price now. Another USD100 drop should be enough to push it into my target. Then I will just pick up another share. Hoping to get to 5 shares so that when split happens, I can finally do covered calls on goog
manipulated up to give false hope n security to retailers biggrin.gif

timing for the stocks splits just when market is turning south will trap a lot of moms, pops & noobs fomo into "cheap" tsla n goog... smile.gif

commercials will definitely be shorting the market... weak hands will capitulate into their order books... laugh.gif

dwRK
post Apr 11 2022, 12:31 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 11 2022, 10:45 AM)
I don't care about stock split as it nothing. But with Google stock split, if you can get 5 google shares once it split, can start doing covers calls already. Imagine trying to do covered call on Google now va post split.

Google is actually cheap if you look at historical valuation. Welly target is anything below usd2600.

Let them short. Like I said the redder the market, the happier I am.
sure... you are buying to get started on selling covered calls... the stock being your "collateral" ... you are not relying on price rise for profits... that will come 20 years later when you finally retire and cash out...

this is your plan... and I don't see anything wrong with it... wink.gif

I'm just saying with the splits... many ppl will fomo into it, many will not know how to use options for protection and some will get burned

when market crash during a recession, historical or actual valuation doesn't matter... everything gets dragged down the gutter... just look at the dotcom bubble... goog amzn etc all crashed big time... when Buffett says buy when there's blood in the street... he's actually also timing the market bottom... wink.gif

anyways we digress biggrin.gif goog is not a defensive stock per stock market norms/definition... current market pullback isn't indicative and invalidation of it... will have to wait for the real recession...

dwRK
post Apr 11 2022, 01:57 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 11 2022, 01:46 PM)
I think you misunderstood what I said. What I meant is come real recession let's see if Google fall a lot or little.

All will fall but question is by how much.
ok... walmart vs google... let's play... biggrin.gif
dwRK
post Apr 12 2022, 11:24 AM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(Lon3Rang3r00 @ Apr 12 2022, 09:18 AM)
*scratching hand*, see all red red feel like chipping in. I wonder how Options can perform during downtrend? Buy low sell lower earning premium in between.
market up or down - stocks and options can make $

market go no where - only options can make $

dwRK
post Apr 12 2022, 11:52 AM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Apr 12 2022, 11:29 AM)
market go no where - only selling options can make $ (need to make it clear else one might assume options is a free lunch)
high risk unless you are covered... safest would be an iron condor or similar... so you'll also be buying...

This post has been edited by dwRK: Apr 12 2022, 11:56 AM
dwRK
post Apr 12 2022, 05:51 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(Toku @ Apr 12 2022, 05:25 PM)
Walmart      vs    Google
PE                     31.68x                23.14x
Index PE            31.37x                33.76x

I think what Ramjade meant is how much it will drop to nominal PE value.
In case of above 2 candidates, if say they need to drop to 15x PE, Walmart will need to drop 52% in price while Google drop 35%. In this definition, Google has less fat than Walmart and has less room to drop (regardless of what industry they are in. Just purely analyse from its quality)?
I'm a simple man... so if I spent $100k now... how much are they worth during the depth of the recession? a defensive stock should drop the least, continues to pay dividends and may even increase in price/value...

This post has been edited by dwRK: Apr 12 2022, 05:53 PM
dwRK
post Apr 12 2022, 07:31 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 12 2022, 06:51 PM)
Compare PS ratio as well. That's why I said it's cheap.
Daniel pronk and the investor channel did a deep dive into Google.
What dividend you want from US companies with US govt already makan 30% of your dividend. biggrin.gif

That's why I don't focus on dividends for US companies. I use options as my dividends instead.
if they give dividend... I take... never say no to money biggrin.gif

options is a separate story... don't confuse the two... laugh.gif

you can collect dividends AND play options... wink.gif

dwRK
post Apr 13 2022, 07:22 AM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 12 2022, 10:36 PM)
Their dividend is peanut and combine ith with the tax, the peanut gets smaller. Not worth it for me.
when your stocks you bought to play options pay dividends... you give them dividends to me ok? smile.gif

dwRK
post Apr 13 2022, 08:51 AM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 13 2022, 08:29 AM)
By selling calls on stocks I own, I get to collect the dividends and the options premium. For me the dividend is basically negligible. But free money is money.
Yup that's right. That's why dividend for me in US market is negligible and meaningless.
when market is bullish... growths n some speculatives

when market is bearish... dividends n defensives

you can still sell options and collect premiums...

anyways let's see our Walmart vs Google battle turns out smile.gif

dwRK
post Apr 13 2022, 12:23 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(Toku @ Apr 13 2022, 10:04 AM)
I feel the same too. With 30% WHT, holding a stock with high payout ratio in long term you will miss out a lot of return.
Hence, I only focus on low payout/no dividend leader in US stock and dividend/defensive in other market. A diversified approach.
yes... switch to good non-us defensive dividend stocks elsewhere... avoid us market for dividend play...

dwRK
post Apr 15 2022, 12:12 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(Lon3Rang3r00 @ Apr 15 2022, 12:03 PM)
hmm.gif  Any sifu mind explaining what will happen to the stock when a company acquisition/merger happened? For this Twitter acquisition, does that means Twitter will be absorb into Tesla? meaning you can't trade twitter stock anymore if Elon Musk were to "Private" the Twitter company?
I'm seeing this "Offer" more like a "Threat" to twitter. Elon Musk claiming he will quit Twitter if Twitter to turned down the offer (Indirectly he's placing his Twitter account, and 9% of the company shares on the table and willing to let go if the offer is off.).  sweat.gif
reverse ipo... bhd goes back to sdn bhd

dwRK
post Apr 19 2022, 09:22 AM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 19 2022, 01:56 AM)
Let's see Google earnings tomorrow. I just added another Google share recently at 2445.

2445 typo?...2545?

20 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0561sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:42 PM