25 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

USA Stock Discussion v8, Brexit: What happens now?

Ramjade
post Apr 20 2022, 01:09 PM

24,385 posts

QUOTE(Lon3Rang3r00 @ Apr 20 2022, 10:16 AM)
About same, but I have a very high commitment (House Mortgage, Car Loan, Insurance, two families of Utilities bills, parent pocket money). But ya, slowly and steadily.
Yes, i also dyeing on Palantir . Just so to practice Options. have to get first $1k, waiting EPF money. Maybe just play safe, earn little premium just to get myself involve. Since you mentioned $10 probably i'll do $5 or less.
Something's can cut. Do you need astro, Aircon, Starbucks/bubble tea (if you drink it regularly), rm60-200 phone bill?

For me I live without any astro, Aircon, no Starbucks/bubble tea and my phone bill only cost RM35/month with unlimited calls and unlimited data. When I worked. I switch to office WiFi. My house got 4 people and I only pay rm60-65 for electricity and rm9-10 for water.
I invest the savings. My house internet bill only rm94/month.

Another leakage is grabfood, foodpanda. That's why I never ordered anything from them to this day. Another way you can save money is do intermittent fasting. It help you to save cost on food and it's good for health (personally doing it, hence only eating like once a day to lose some belly fat)

You cannot have everything in life. Either you get financial freedom or spend as much money as possible and live the moment. I prefer to have financial freedom that's why I am extremely frugal. I don't cut down on health. For me I spend lots of money on good healthy food, good supplements (prevention for heart attack, stroke, high blood pressure and diabetes) for myself and family.

Apart from my savings, I on and off take on part time job to increase money available for investing.

Savings is only one part of the equation. You can try side hustle. Open up fiverr and see if you can do any job there.

Some advise for you.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 20 2022, 01:48 PM
Ramjade
post Apr 20 2022, 03:28 PM

24,385 posts

QUOTE(Lon3Rang3r00 @ Apr 20 2022, 02:24 PM)
The reply is mostly irrelevant to the post so i just put a spoiler there. I stumble on the post regards to Netflix one of the FAANG, i'm wondering the public can create such a crash on the stock market, it's only 200k of subscriber lost and they down 25% instantly.... people mad selling the stocks.  sweat.gif  Netflix does have the potential to grow, even slight increase their fee already can make a lot of profit.

Cause market is forward looking. 200k lost in subscriber and growth slowing down. It doesn't deserve such pricing.

I heard of one guy who achieved fire off Netflix alone. Hopefully he's doing well currently or diversified.

That's why I don't bother with either Disney or Netflix. Too many competition in streaming place. I invest in Adobe instead. How Disney or Netflix miss or beat earnings they need to use adobe products to keep producing content. Something which I pick up when I was doing REIT investing.

Doesn't matter how's the economy or business doing, the landlord gets paid regardless. The landlord only don't get paid if the company/business move away or bankrupt.

For me medical insurance is one part. I believe more in prevention. Well one of this days you need to seat down and do cashflow of your account and see where you can optimise savings. Only you can help yourself.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 20 2022, 03:29 PM
Ramjade
post Apr 22 2022, 11:30 PM

24,385 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Apr 22 2022, 09:59 AM)
After May, another 4 more interest rate hikes. Fed plan to hike a total of 6 times!

Not sure what the impact like to the stock market... after deducting quarterly earnings this year.
If your company like palantir which is debt free and Google or Microsoft, you have no issue with debts.
Ramjade
post Apr 23 2022, 01:21 AM

24,385 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Apr 22 2022, 11:39 PM)
This is not just a problem of debt. This is a problem of valuations. Higher risk-free rates means market has to discount the future earnings of large profits. So even without debt, loses will still incur for growth stock investors.

Also, MSFT and GOOG are not debt free. They are in net cash positions, but that only means cash > debt, and not entirely debt-free. If the coupon payments are not met, it is still considered a default, regardless of whether your cash > debt. Of course such cases rarely and quite impossibly occur, but if the cash flows are not timed properly, you cannot discount such situation(s).  

Truly debt-free counters are those like Micro-Mechanics and iFAST on SGX. They have no obligations to produce free cash flow for anyone except shareholders. Their balance sheets are clean of loans, bonds etc. (Of course they are accounts payable for other parties like own clients interests etc.) 

Anyway, net cash != no debt. This is an important technical aspect to note for shareholders.
Palantir is debt free. biggrin.gif
Google cash is 139.6B, long term debt only 14.8b
Microsoft cash 125B, long term debt 48b.

They can choose to wipe out their debt only they choose not too.
It's essentially debt free as the cash can just wipe out the debt.
Yes net cash is not debt free but in terms of Microsoft and Google, you tell me. tongue.gif

Let's not forget cash flow.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 23 2022, 01:22 AM
Ramjade
post Apr 24 2022, 10:46 AM

24,385 posts

QUOTE(Lon3Rang3r00 @ Apr 23 2022, 10:58 PM)
Previously saw a lot of youtuber bull on Palantir (First heard about the company name is from Chicken Genius). Back then Chicken Genius made a point that the company is B to B and not B to C so the limitation is there and if one of their client backed off then Palantir will lose big chunk of revenue. I wonder if anyone here already invested on it, the price look decent with promising future ( *cough* *cough* nikola) and if you're not planning to invest, can i know what is the reason? *Open discussion* (Not asking people to buy, youtube just throw me a lot of videos about PLTR)
They are debt free, USD2bil in cash in their balance sheet, Gross margin at 70%+, revenue growth at 40%+p.a (company being conservative by saying 30%p.a), their largest client is government which give them stable income, they are positive free cash flow, path to profitability can be seen clearly. They are not only in government. They are in oil and gas, healthcare, mining, aeroplane production, Swiss banking.

Some of their customer BP, Airbus, UK NHS, Rio tinto, credit Suisse.

Do I need to say anything more?

Palantir is not Nikola. Nikola is concept with no actual product and a scam. Palantir already have a proven product which helps company to save money. If something saves you money even though you need to pay for it, will you continue to use it or just discard it and lose more money if you are not using it? Something to think about.

Go watch Tom Nash video for more info.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 24 2022, 10:58 AM
Ramjade
post Apr 24 2022, 11:25 AM

24,385 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Apr 24 2022, 11:10 AM)
I have Rm300k or USD70k for US stocks.
Looking at GOOG, FB, SHOP, PLTR and maybe AMZN.

How would you allocate the above?
Google, Shopify, palantir, Microsoft, Airbnb, Tesla, Visa.
Put 10k into each.

I won't bother with Facebook.

Alternatively
Google, Shopify, palantir, Microsoft, Airbnb, Tesla, Visa, AMD/Nvidia (pick one),
USD8750 each.

Yes those are some of my holdings or what I intend to hold.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 24 2022, 11:29 AM
Ramjade
post Apr 24 2022, 11:39 AM

24,385 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Apr 24 2022, 11:33 AM)
i understand that PLTR has done massive employee stock options?  An expensive exercise?
If you look at their stock based compensation, it have reduced significantly in their latest report.

How are you going to fight Google, Amazon and Microsoft for employees?

For me palantir is at least a 5 years hold.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 24 2022, 11:40 AM
Ramjade
post Apr 24 2022, 12:25 PM

24,385 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Apr 24 2022, 12:22 PM)
no Adobe?
Not enough spot for his usd70k

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 24 2022, 12:26 PM
Ramjade
post Apr 24 2022, 12:35 PM

24,385 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Apr 24 2022, 12:30 PM)
OK... your last line 'what you intend to hold' ...so just curious
Don't get me wrong. I have Adobe and I intend to hold on my adobe. In fact, I added some more on Friday.
Ramjade
post Apr 24 2022, 03:42 PM

24,385 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Apr 24 2022, 03:33 PM)
That's for my children.
If you have faith in chicken genius, them all in on Tesla.
Ramjade
post Apr 24 2022, 03:51 PM

24,385 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Apr 24 2022, 03:22 PM)
Consider your age, I recommend:

Nestle, Roche, Novartis, JNJ, Walmart, PG, JPM 

tongue.gif
I will modified your list a little bit.
CNI, JNJ, WM, Costco/target, home depot and United healthcare are better picks.

Health companies have patent expiry risk. That's why you see I don't hold healthcare in my portfolio. The only one that I will consider adding is JnJ, United healthcare and Abbott.

I don't know why you want to go for those company with <10% revenue growth or low net profit margin or lesser cash to debt when compare to a Microsoft, apple or Google.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 24 2022, 03:56 PM
Ramjade
post Apr 24 2022, 03:59 PM

24,385 posts

QUOTE(Lon3Rang3r00 @ Apr 24 2022, 03:56 PM)
icon_idea.gif I'm taking his advice, Tesla all the way to 2030 unless fundamental change. I'm looking at 2x returns in 8 years on TSLA.
He produce a video on how to retire on Tesla alone no matter where you are in the world.
Ramjade
post Apr 24 2022, 08:15 PM

24,385 posts

QUOTE(Lon3Rang3r00 @ Apr 24 2022, 06:09 PM)
hmm.gif Just to check, let say i wanna sell a put options on PLTR, and i put $10.50 as shown in the picture expiry on 27th May. So meaning immediately i'll get $0.56 right away?.
So does this mean, my account will need to have $1050 Locked until the Options expired? So it's either i got the share at $10.50 (which is still consider discounted price) and keep the premium of $0.56, or i keep the premium right? The only worst case is... if the share falls lower than $9. then I can exercised the covered-calls  and collect the premium to complete the Wheel?

Wrong. You will get USD56. Remember everything you see in options need to x100.
If you are using cash secured put, yes get locked up.
If you are using margin nothing happens. Just use your buying power which is not equal to USD1050.
Yes. Until account expired.
You can get the premium only if the price stays above usd10 50.
You can get premium and force to buy if price drops below 10.49.
As a seller. you cannot exercise anything. Only buyer can exercise.
Ramjade
post Apr 24 2022, 09:03 PM

24,385 posts

QUOTE(Lon3Rang3r00 @ Apr 24 2022, 08:32 PM)
Does this means, any person can exercise the options without waiting until expiry?
Like if i sell an Options for 4 weeks, if 1st week drop to 10.49, anyone at that time can just exercise the options?
Of course but rare. There's one example I know. Some guy did sell put on sea. I think 120. Price was 100 and got exercised even though expirty like 3 months away.

Happen to me before? Nope.
Ramjade
post Apr 25 2022, 01:20 PM

24,385 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Apr 25 2022, 01:11 PM)
Yeah...that's the idea. Put maybe 10 to 15% on growth stocks which have corrected recently.
GOOG looks very compelling. High revenue growth couple with high profit margin. And as Ramjade pointed out high net cash position too.
What's not to like?   biggrin.gif
Well apparently TOS doesn't like it. biggrin.gif
For me Google > Nestle, Roche, Novartis, JNJ, Walmart, PG, JPM anytime, anyday. That's why I don't waste time and money buying the above as my resources are limited.

I have to thank Daniel Pronk for and The Investor Channel for bringing my attention to Google.

Now waiting for Nvidia, amd, microsoft to sell off further to scoop up some more.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 25 2022, 01:34 PM
Ramjade
post Apr 25 2022, 01:32 PM

24,385 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Apr 25 2022, 01:25 PM)
I didn't say I don't like it. We need to be professional here. He is already 50+ if I recalled correctly, and at this age your main financial objectives are capital preservation and current income.

So I provide my advice accordingly. If prophetful wants 10-15% in growth stock then it's fine, as long as he knows what sort of risk level he is bearing I am good either way.

And advising someone to go all in on TSLA or any single counters just because one has "faith in chicken genius" is not a very sound advice.  wink.gif

In the end bro, we have different income levels and risk appetites. Need to take that into consideration.  smile.gif
I never all in like chicken genius. You can do wealth preservation by buying Google, apple, Microsoft.
No need to follow conventional textbook.
Like textbook ask to diversify.
For me personally and some bloggers and YouTubers found that diversify = diworsification.

Never always follow textbook. Follow people like buffet, Peter lynch.
They are better teachers than conventional text book.

Suggest you grab a copy of one up on wall Street.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 25 2022, 01:33 PM
Ramjade
post Apr 25 2022, 03:33 PM

24,385 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Apr 25 2022, 01:39 PM)
We are from different school of thoughts. Haha  biggrin.gif

I prefer the strict and rigorous academic finance training here in HK.

Never mind lah. As long as you happy.

Anyway, I still think you need "toilet-paper" counters for wealth preservation like Kimberly-Clark, PG etc. Non-discretionary consumer staples, medicine, utilities etc. boring counters are very good for retirees.

They certainly excel in terms of "capital preservation" with their low-beta nature and one can enjoy current income from dividends paid (barring the 30% dividend WHT).
Buy low capex companies with recurring increasing revenue where possible.

QUOTE(dwRK @ Apr 25 2022, 01:44 PM)
imho he is timing the market in his own way... he is buying defensive stocks now... i'm sure he will switch/add growth stocks when the time is right for him... in terms of stock prices... nesn, jnj, pg, wmt, etc all beating goog the last few weeks... wink.gif
Actually must do opposite of what big money is doing. Everyone buying "value" is basically no more value.
Now value is found in big tech.
Ramjade
post Apr 25 2022, 08:06 PM

24,385 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Apr 25 2022, 05:33 PM)
what is important to me is...up down or sideways... value cheap etc... not something I look at...

what I have learned is don't fight the big money... learn to see where market makers are pushing prices and hitch a ride with them...

sure...in the long run fundamentals reign supreme... but meanwhile be flexible go with the flow... however great a company it cannot beat market sentiments...
If you follow money flow you will need to buy and sell every month.

I don't follow big money. I buy quality companies when they are cheap and hold on to them for dear life.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 25 2022, 08:21 PM
Ramjade
post Apr 27 2022, 11:56 AM

24,385 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Apr 27 2022, 09:39 AM)
Waiting for GOOG at $2,000  brows.gif
Same. Looking to load up more. Thanks EPF.
Ramjade
post Apr 27 2022, 12:58 PM

24,385 posts

TOS something for you.
Watch until the end. It's from one of the youtuber I follow.
https://youtu.be/__MR5AmFpdo

I know won't change your mind but something to pick your brain. Hahaha...

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 27 2022, 01:28 PM

25 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.1617sec    1.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 05:48 AM