Standard Edition (physical) - RM209 (at least that's the price offered by Impulse and Heavyarm) Standard Edition (digital) - RM199 Digital Deluxe Edition - RM224
I usually get Physical version of games, only get Digital for Digital-only games.
But now, looking at the price, I'm torn between physical or Digital Deluxe.
I am getting digital deluxe edition. I am not paying extra anymore for a plastic box & I have no intention to sell off my games.
Besides digital deluxe edition is more worth it with all the extra missions & other stuff compared to physical that comes with nothing.
Spider-Man downloadable content “The Heist,” which is due out on October 23.
“The Heist” features new missions and challenges, a new faction of enemies, and three additional suits. It sees Felicia Hardy, also known as Black Cat, back in town as she leaving clues around the city to toy with Spider-Man.
+ Spiderman! This game is made for spidey fans of old, if you've followed him since the beginning the game really does hit the right spots for the feels. There are so many references to the comics here yet Insomniac has kept it fresh enough so that even newcomers to spidey's world wouldn't feel lost. I'm confident to say that if you didn't know spidey before, you'll end up liking him as one of your top superheroes after the game. The plot flows well and there aren't any confusing "wtf" moments that jars the experience. Just let the kid inside you take over!
+ No, the game is not "downgraded" as proven by DF and I kept my mouth hush during the whole controversy just so people can eat their words. The game looks great especially with use of HDR. Insomniac's temporal injection is clean and precise just like they did with R&C. They've nailed the look unique to spidey's world. While I don't think it bests Batman Arkham Knight as the best looking superhero game, there aren't that many open world games that looks this polished to begin with. Models are well detailed, plenty of modern artistic graphical techniques are used and the environments is fairly close to the real New York. By that, I mean it's incredible how detailed Insomniac has recreated NYC. My suggestion is not to just keep swinging up in the air, take a walk from time to time and you'd be surprised just how detailed the city looks up close! All in all, it's a great looking game that is definitely showcase material for your 4k TV.
+ Voice acting, top notch! Music, hitting all those spidey notes! They sound great, they sound familiar, you wouldn't feel alienated if you are a fan of other Spiderman content (the movies and cartoons). Extra thumbs up to the use of sound effects as well, every villain sounds exactly like I expect them to. While the game doesn't feature a lot of low end frequency impacts, it's usage of precise and enveloping SFX makes up for it. The game sounds and feel authentic to the spiderman universe, which to me is vital.
+ Love the web slinging, it was by far the most important thing for Insomniac to get right and boy have they outdone themselves. Spidey can really do some insane leaps, dives, aerial tricks and blaze through like the wind once you get used to the moves he has while web slinging. Just be creative and let spidey handle the rest. Web slinging is intuitive, fun and never a chore!
+ The combat system takes a mix of Batman Arkham and DmC (the pointless reboot, not the traditional DMC games). As such, you get the "on rails" combat system where your creativity will determine the flow of your attacks. The Arkham games forces you to do move A till Z in a concise manner or you end up looking like a fool with very little XP gain. Unlike the AK games, Spider-Man affords you more freedom and it's OKAY to actually F up your flow of attacks, because the game allows you compromise in a very intuitive manner because that's exactly how Spidey fights. That doesn't mean you should mash square and triangle though, it just means that you have a more opportunities to compensate a repeated move in a combo chain without looking stupid.
+ Suits, suits suits!!! There are 25 suits in the game. Yes, TWENTY-FIVE not counting some others in the works for the DLC. A lot of the suits are going to put a smile on your face and they don't just look cool for the sake of being cool, they reference their comics counterpart very well!
The not so great, but okay:
~ I'm never a fan of mundane challenges, tasks, secondary objectives and all those silly things that sums up to nothing else but glorified game padding (meaning to elongate playtime). While Spider-Man has its fair share of the mundane open world stuff, I never found them extremely boring or pointless (because they aren't as you need the points to unlock suits). But at the same time, doing too many of them in a row can get a little repetitive.
~ Some of the side missions feels tacked on, last minute style. As such, they feel a little low effort but fortunately there aren't many of them and they are rather brief. Usually Insomniac is very good with side missions stuff as proven with their track record in the R&C games, but it's a bit unfortunate to see a few "rushed" side missions here.
The meh...
- Mary Jane's sections are... well, I didn't favour them much at all. Yes you can play as MJ and her sections aren't very good. I dread her parts quite a bit and they didn't seem very fitting to the game at all.
- I wish the game has a little more easter eggs in regards to other Marvel characters. Yes, unfortunately the whole Avengers hype train is not presented in Spider-Man. So those of you wishing and hoping you'd somehow see a cameos from the Avengers, well just toss that hope into the trash. This IS a spider-man game through and through.
The Verdict:
Not yet pre-order? Dafuq you waiting for?
This post has been edited by SSJBen: Sep 5 2018, 01:47 AM
not sure bout Klang Valley. But most of the Mid Valley shop is doing the midnight launch.
Hmm... this sounds like shop level nia. I was thinking maybe somewhere got one that is mall level where they close off 1 atrium and got activities and such. I joined the Uncharted 4 midnight launch last time at Pyramid. They had PS4 stations where you can play Uncharted 1-3 and got cosplay and contests... And I collected my pre-ordered physical copy there at midnight.
Maybe coz my CE wasn't confirmed so no invites. Boo hoo. Oh well.
Hmm... this sounds like shop level nia. I was thinking maybe somewhere got one that is mall level where they close off 1 atrium and got activities and such. I joined the Uncharted 4 midnight launch last time at Pyramid. They had PS4 stations where you can play Uncharted 1-3 and got cosplay and contests... And I collected my pre-ordered physical copy there at midnight.
Maybe coz my CE wasn't confirmed so no invites. Boo hoo. Oh well.
ya just collect from shop.. not as epic as FFXV launch event