Official TM ÜniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V26

lyrilmaki
post Jul 9 2016, 09:43 PM

964 posts

I just moved to new house and checked with neighbors they are using Maxis & Unifi.

Just went to check on UniFi Advance 30mbps, able to search my address but when I clicked "Next", it stated service is not available at my location. Why? mega_shok.gif

Is there any promotion going on for UniFi Advance? Do apply from agents outdoor have any benefits?
Apply online can get 1 month Free only. smile.gif
lyrilmaki
post Jul 21 2016, 03:26 PM

964 posts

How come the website state my unit's UniFi service not available?
But I able to find my unit in their official website and also my neighbor is using UniFi too..
lyrilmaki
post Jul 21 2016, 03:47 PM

964 posts

QUOTE(theskems @ Jul 21 2016, 03:36 PM)
You have to make a report at TM Point.. I also same case before neighbor have Unifi except my address.. Same Taman also.. They will send rep to check your house can pull cable or not..

Now I'm enjoying Unifi 100MBps  biggrin.gif
I live in condo.. of course can pull sad.gif
lyrilmaki
post Jul 21 2016, 04:02 PM

964 posts

QUOTE(theskems @ Jul 21 2016, 03:48 PM)
TIME no coverage? If you really want to see action taken then you have to go physically to TM Point to file report..
tak ada.. just moved here.. previously using TIME

I miss TIME Fibre so much bye.gif
lyrilmaki
post Jul 21 2016, 05:01 PM

964 posts

Hi I just call TM and the Sales said my condo's port is finished.. What should I do now? Do maxis share the same port with TM?
lyrilmaki
post Jul 22 2016, 11:29 AM

964 posts

Where can I request additional port installation at my condominium? Any idea?
lyrilmaki
post Jul 22 2016, 11:59 AM

964 posts

QUOTE(badai @ Jul 22 2016, 11:41 AM)
I don't think you can at condo because the slot is ngam2 for each unit.

even for landed i doubt they will add more port unless they can get at least 50% new customers. the equipment is not cheap and they have to tarik cable again and if the tiang is full they have to pacak another for the new cable.
I guess so it should be ngam ngam port for a condo.. But I called TM, they told me my condo no more available port for Unifi.. ranting.gif
lyrilmaki
post Jul 29 2016, 05:04 PM

964 posts

Hi guys, I applied UniFi, but later on they tell me no service..
Then I went to apply for Streamyx, on the phone the guys ask a lot of thing and recorded the voice for record. I reply yes I wanted to install... Lastly, he told me I need to go TMPoint to sign a 2 year contract for Streamyx, processing time would be 1 week.

Later on the UniFi agent called me and told me have service.. Then of course I would install UniFi over Streamyx...

I knew that they are from different department, so will the voice recorded take effect even tho I not yet sign the Streamyx contract? Will I get RM500 penalty if I wish to cancel it for UniFi installation? Because I don't want Streamyx and UniFi in my house
lyrilmaki
post Jul 29 2016, 05:20 PM

964 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Jul 29 2016, 05:12 PM)
lol...thats a tough one...to be safe...make sure you inform streamyx team (tmpoint and email - black and white) that you are going with your initial request in having unifi.
I did ask the Streamyx Sales from TM, what if during processing, UniFi got service.. He mentioned can cancel or upgrade to UniFi.. then will automatically cancel Streamyx.

But now both running together.. confused.gif
lyrilmaki
post Jul 29 2016, 06:21 PM

964 posts

QUOTE(mztang52 @ Jul 29 2016, 06:18 PM)
If streamyx call you, just tell them you already take UniFi. I used to have the same problem as you but I just tell them I already took UniFi when their call center call me for streamyx appointment.
then my Streamyx order will be cancelled?

Thanks mate.. drool.gif
lyrilmaki
post Aug 2 2016, 03:36 PM

964 posts

Hi, anyone stay in condo encountered same problem with me? I wanted to install Unifi last weekend.. Inside my unit, there is a port socket.. Suppose linked to 'Port Room', TM contractor came to check, he said there is no wire inside the port socket.

He told me the port wire is pulled & done by management side. But I just called my management and asked, they said is done by TM contractor.. I am confused.. Applied for 3 weeks already, not yet complete the installation
lyrilmaki
post Aug 3 2016, 08:43 AM

964 posts

QUOTE(quasi @ Aug 2 2016, 07:46 PM)
The telephone line from your apartment and to the mdf room (port room) is supposed to be done by your developer when they built the building. If it's still under warranty, please call developer. otherwise you need to speak to your management.

It could also be possible that all your developer did was provide the empty conduit for fibre optic installation. Then unifi may count it as "internal wiring" and you have to pay for wiring past 15m.
There is one inside.. but it has been for years.. maybe 8 years?
When the TM contractor came, he used a device and point at the port socket, it does not rang.. I opened the socket and check, got a very old cable inside.. I think it was broken
lyrilmaki
post Aug 3 2016, 10:26 AM

964 posts

QUOTE(djhenry91 @ Aug 3 2016, 09:13 AM)
telephone line la..what fiber optic cable..
I am not sure what cable is that, previously I stayed at PJ condo, was using Time Fibre back then..
They pulled the fiber optic cable from MDF room and enter thru my door.

This condo was different? There is a port socket in my unit, TM contractor came to my unit without bringing any fiber optic cable.. Not sure what port is that, used for telephone or Unifi confused.gif
lyrilmaki
post Aug 3 2016, 10:30 AM

964 posts

QUOTE(mztang52 @ Aug 3 2016, 10:28 AM)
UniFi runs on two types of infrastructure. First one is on fiber optic cable, the second type is on VDSL technology which is your phone port.
so I need to replace my phone port's cable then.. still waiting for my management to reply me..
Even them is not sure who is gonna do the job.
TM contractor opened the MDF room, he see all the cable inside is new one..
Aih, frustating rclxub.gif
lyrilmaki
post Aug 3 2016, 10:40 AM

964 posts

QUOTE(mztang52 @ Aug 3 2016, 10:37 AM)
What is that thing that the TM contractor checked for you? Dont mind can you post the image here?

This one, he used a device insert into the socket, his device not ringing, he tested for me, if there a cable is connected to another end, the his device will ring.

Then he told me I need to inform management to install the cable from mdf room to this port socket
lyrilmaki
post Aug 3 2016, 10:46 AM

964 posts

QUOTE(mztang52 @ Aug 3 2016, 10:44 AM)
Do you have other phone port?
nope, only this mega_shok.gif
lyrilmaki
post Aug 3 2016, 11:18 AM

964 posts

QUOTE(mztang52 @ Aug 3 2016, 10:52 AM)
Don't you have fixed line phone number previously? Then you should ask your management to call TM contractor to do it for you.
I am not sure, I just moved in to this unit. Previously got other tenant..
I am quite surprised to know that this phone line is not usable.. said by TM contractor bangwall.gif
lyrilmaki
post Aug 3 2016, 11:30 AM

964 posts

QUOTE(badai @ Aug 3 2016, 11:27 AM)
definitely your condo's management responsibility. 

what you can do is hire your own contractor and that will liaise with your condo's management.

and don't bother to report it to MCMC. they have nothing to do with it. i think it's under Ministry of Housing and Infrastructure, but good luck with it if you really report to them.
Alright.. thanks, will keep follow up with my management then smile.gif
lyrilmaki
post Aug 10 2016, 10:55 AM

964 posts

hi guys, TM has identified my cat5 telephone line got problem.. request me to change if wanted to install Unifi successfully..

Called a contractor, he offer to charge me RM180-200 from my house to telephone riser room. I did not go above ceiling, just plainly stick at corner of wall. Est. length is around 20-23 meters.

Is this the standard market price?

This post has been edited by lyrilmaki: Aug 10 2016, 10:56 AM
lyrilmaki
post Aug 10 2016, 12:24 PM

964 posts

QUOTE(jhleo1 @ Aug 10 2016, 11:04 AM)
New installation why need to pay? Thought using new cable.
I live in condo, TM wont responsible for installing any cable..
All cabling installation goes to management side..

QUOTE(mztang52 @ Aug 10 2016, 11:37 AM)
Cat 5 telephone line? Did you type it wrongly?

Cat 5 is LAN cable (RJ45), used for internet only.
Telephone Line is RJ11, used for internet and telephone.
I am not sure.. It has a adapter in my house, that used to connect the modem.
I asked the TM contractor what its called.. He said is telephone line or CAT 5.
This cable goes to Telephone Room (Riser). It was connected to MDF Room

0.1009sec    1.04    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:09 PM