Official TM ÜniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V26

SilentForever
post Jul 20 2016, 08:23 PM

580 posts

QUOTE(awiekupo @ Jul 18 2016, 07:31 PM)
Hi guys, appreciate some advice if possible. Here's the situation;

1) Upgraded to 30MB unifi but rarely get 20mb. Mostly 10-15mb only on wifi.
2) Staying in small apartment (850sqf). Router is located in living room while my room is just behind the living room wall - I dont close my door at all.
3) My router sometimes restart by itself and sometimes internet connection is very slow (talking bout dload speed of 100kpbs) - I have to restart my modem/router to solve this on daily basis.
4) Called unifi technical team and they attend twice but problem recurring again after few days. One of the technician advise me to get a better router as the set that I'm using is more than 3 years old already.

My question is, what should I get to a good 30mb connection in my room? I'm using a pc with a tp-link wifi adapter connected to it in my room.

Been reading a few post and few member mentioned about Asus RT-n66u as a router replacement. Is this a good solution? My budget is around Rm700-Rm1000 to fix this issue if possible.

Many thanks in advance.

My Current Device

The curtain is door to my room
Considering the short distance from the router to your room, just buy lan cable and problem solved.

SilentForever
post Jul 20 2016, 08:28 PM

580 posts

QUOTE(awiekupo @ Jul 20 2016, 08:24 PM)
Thanks bro. I cant closed the door if i used the lan cable. No lobang to selit the cable.. sad.gif
Aren't there a small gap between floor and the door frame? confused.gif
SilentForever
post Jul 20 2016, 11:07 PM

580 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jul 20 2016, 10:52 PM)
I was also using stock router previously, only changed to Huawei WS880 since last Friday. tongue.gif
Are u using rgx4400 or rg4332?
SilentForever
post Jul 20 2016, 11:10 PM

580 posts

QUOTE(Rudd @ Jul 20 2016, 09:17 PM)
guys,
if i apply unifi,
and then i moved to a different house.
do i need to pay TM again for installation?
It depends also whether the area u are moving to have unifi coverage.
SilentForever
post Jul 21 2016, 08:35 PM

580 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jul 21 2016, 08:28 PM)
I wish I will know how to accidentally make it not working well. sweat.gif
My HyppTV is not even installed and I didn't know the latest one is an Android box...
I thought it is compulsary to be install during installation? tongue.gif
SilentForever
post Jul 22 2016, 09:13 PM

580 posts

QUOTE(mztang52 @ Jul 22 2016, 05:13 PM)
Good to hear that.
I am still kind of a LAN person. I was certain that he will get at least 20-25mbps haha.
SilentForever
post Jul 23 2016, 11:00 AM

580 posts

QUOTE(mztang52 @ Jul 23 2016, 07:37 AM)
Lol. Am staying terrace house mah... Who knows you are staying in condo?
Same here condo guy haha.
SilentForever
post Jul 23 2016, 11:14 AM

580 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jul 23 2016, 11:05 AM)
Aiyo even my room is super small, my laptop is not even 30cm from the router, I still use WiFi. I don't like messy cables, self-preference. biggrin.gif Well, I have tried comparing the speed with LAN Cat 5e cable and WiFi, just 0.3Mbps speed difference. I can live with the difference, after all I'm using it alone. laugh.gif
If alone of course la tongue.gif you are the one of few people that i heard that can have two unifi lines into one house.
SilentForever
post Jul 30 2016, 12:15 PM

580 posts

QUOTE(TXSim @ Jul 30 2016, 11:55 AM)
Apartments and Condo up to 50Mbps only.

100Mbps for Landed Property only.
50mbps that price is not worth it should be 60mbps.
SilentForever
post Jul 30 2016, 01:43 PM

580 posts

QUOTE(TXSim @ Jul 30 2016, 01:02 PM)
Ya, but it seems that Unifi not able to support up to 100Mbps on high-rise.
Even on full fibre apartments?
SilentForever
post Aug 3 2016, 05:23 AM

580 posts

QUOTE(Shah_15 @ Aug 2 2016, 10:17 PM)
The best thing to do for those stay in the apartment/condo is to use the 50ghz band wifi.

for those who cant due to outdated equipment ( like me ), what i do is scan around the area and look for what channel the other wifi access point are. priority will be channel 1,6, 11 as these channel will have less overlapping issues.

i scanned and found out that my neighbours mostly use 6 and 11 channel. therefore i decided to use channel 1 and voila, signal strength jumped out to 99-100% from 80-85% while using AUTO.
The condo i am living in only have streamyx and everybody is using 2.4Ghz and all the channel is full from 1-11. -.-
fml
SilentForever
post Aug 4 2016, 09:03 PM

580 posts

Whats the latest btu offer by tm?

SilentForever
post Aug 5 2016, 09:21 AM

580 posts

QUOTE(nymerine @ Aug 5 2016, 07:51 AM)
Hey guys, I used to live in this one apartment. All surrounding area already have unifi coverage except apartments building in this area.
My friend tried applying UniFi but they were denied because of building issue, they said the building is using copper infrastructure, they unable to provide unifi since these cables only support up to 1-2Mbps, which is true since my friend only have 2mbps streamyx there.

So, this is kinda out of TM's jurisdiction right? Although this is the issue, ground floor still can apply for UniFi for extra cost, they pull out fiber straight from MDF room to units. MDF rooms are located at the ground floor of each building.
Nearby apartments are also having the same issue, but they have special package for them, where UniFi package for 10-20Mbps are made available since not all units support UniFi latest package, but the units at least support vdsl instead of previous apartment.
Same issue right now bro. TM came to deploy unifi but since internal wiring in the building is literal crap, they ask management to change it but management refuse because costs(owner rich but you know) so they cancel the deployment. Surroundings landed and apartments have all deploy unifi. fml
SilentForever
post Aug 5 2016, 04:38 PM

580 posts

QUOTE(dannielshazmeer @ Aug 5 2016, 04:00 PM)
i also want fiber from mdf .. currently i subscribe unifi 30 thru vdsl .. i want to upgrade 50mbps but they said cannot upgrade .. i said mdf room just down from my house only
vdsl2*
SilentForever
post Aug 5 2016, 04:39 PM

580 posts

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Aug 5 2016, 04:15 PM)
no, i never purchase any. and if its free, i dont mind. and since i get charge rm30. and paid more when im not using it. i feel it wasted.
Its bundled together. If u cancel hypptv, your whole package will be terminated.
SilentForever
post Aug 5 2016, 08:36 PM

580 posts

QUOTE(PJusa @ Aug 5 2016, 06:08 PM)
cant be - the statements are incosistent on tm's side. in such a case the "rule" more advantegous to the consumer applies.

if you look for example at this doc:

https://www.tm.com.my/Documents/Unifi/FAQ%2...0and%20Pro.pdf:

"7. What are the Add-Ons offered in the all new UniFi package?
Customers are able to pick and choose the relevant Add-Ons that will boost their broadband
experience.

(..)

4. HyppTV
packs
Watch the latest shows on
HyppTV
Additional from as low as RM 30/month
• Choose from Jumbo, Aneka, Ruby or
Varnam pack."

This means that you have the ability to choose from those packs, but you are not required to (=add on). If you cancel the optional add-on, the remaining or basic pack remains. they have their own pricing anyway.

This is impression is further enhanced by its individual minimum subscription term (12mths) vs. unifi advance (24 mth). This again indicates to the consumer they have a choice to cancel it indepently.

Then:

"10. Will I be able to subscribe to the all new UniFi without any HyppTV Pack?
No. The all new UniFi package offers bundled triple play services which consist of High Speed
Internet, Voice services and HyppTV (IPTV) pack."

Again there is the BASIC pack...

and then it reads:

11. Can I change my HyppTV pack after I subscribe to the all new UniFi package? Where can I
request to change my HyppTV Pack?
Yes, but customer are subject to fees as below:
No. Activity Fees
3. Downgrade HyppTV Pack RM10

So I would attempt to downgrade to the free basic pack for a downgrade fee of 10 RM and argue for it. I cant be sure I will win but the argument would that the impression and option is actually outlined and as such should be available to the consumer.
Yep, its very confusing. But i have seen many replies on tmconnects twitter that hypptv cannot be remove and if u do, the whole triple-play package will be auto terminated.

SilentForever
post Aug 6 2016, 03:52 AM

580 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Aug 5 2016, 11:01 PM)
I was referring to me and OKLY and the rest who got capped. My friend is still getting more than 30Mbps which I used to get as well. Yours is 50Mbps package, ours is 30Mbps.
It seems that the 30mbps package is the most reported to be capped, maybe because to ease congestion? icon_idea.gif
SilentForever
post Aug 15 2016, 12:43 AM

580 posts

QUOTE(lyrilmaki @ Aug 14 2016, 09:03 PM)
Really a big thanks to those people who helped my unifi installation problem..
After 4 weeks of struggling..

Finally got my Unifi Adv30 installed  rclxms.gif

My speedtest thumbup.gif
If I remember correctly your issue is no copper wire installed for your unit right? So the contractor install new copper cable ?
SilentForever
post Aug 24 2016, 01:13 PM

580 posts

QUOTE(Super Maniam @ Aug 24 2016, 12:28 PM)
Guys, I want to find out have any one encounter a situation where your wifi router was replaced after complaining about issues streaming youtube on mobile devices and pc. But following month was charged for it? Is this normal? I'm on the 30mbps package btw. When I called up CS they said that when device is changed it is normal to be charged. I have reported the case and awaiting further action, any info suggestion are welcome...
To my knowledge if ur devices is still under warranty it should be FOC, after that you will be charged if they replace for you. Some other experienced users here might give their input here soon though.

This post has been edited by SilentForever: Aug 24 2016, 01:13 PM
SilentForever
post Aug 25 2016, 01:22 PM

580 posts

Can everyone post their result of their unifi speedtest for this website http://openspeedtest.com/ EDIT: ping is not working for now, gonna be updated in a few days.

This post has been edited by SilentForever: Aug 25 2016, 01:36 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0858sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:36 PM