Bump Topic Topic Closed RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> item sold returned to me but not in good condition, Should i do full refund?

Zeroize
post Jan 13 2007, 11:58 PM, updated 19y ago

Hardcock Gamer
895 posts

Guys urgently need your advice here.

I sold this my card to a forumer, refer the link below:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=390339&hl=

And the forumer claimed that the card got problem, refer the link below:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=395233&hl=

So, I asked the buyer send the card back to me so that i can proceed with refund.

I got the package and i opened it and I shocking.gif
The HSF already separated from the card and the thermal compound kena the components near it

So i thought maybe it was shock during delivery and the HSF fell off. So i just install back the HSF and install it into my computer for testing.

I got problem installing it, i can't fit into my casing sweat.gif
And i found out that...
The metal part was bent and i try to use my finger to fix it, i can't as it is too tough, only use plier can fix it.

I was shocking.gif rclxub.gif doh.gif dunno what happen to this card. At a closer look...
One of the component is falling off and even the fan connector also like that...

Asked the buyer about it and he said its already like that so he didn't screw the card. But he didn't tell me anything about the card after he got it except the artifacts all over the screen. Now I'm in this dilemma, the card is defective by itself or the buyer spoilt it or maybe the postman spoilt it sweat.gif

I sure to refund the buyer if the card is defective, but send back to me not in one piece, quite a trauma to me whether to do full refund to the buyer. I don't want the buyer to feel unfair and neither do I.

Guys please advice me, TQ notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

Chronolisme
post Jan 14 2007, 12:07 AM

OSX Preferred
544 posts

This is seriously a tough one because you don't have any proof of who spoilt it. How did you pack it when u sent it out? Do you think it's possible to have the HSF drop off with the packing u did? And how could a thick metal like that be bent by bad handling? Is it even possible? Unless the postman have a grudge with you and did it on purpose or it fell off the motorbike when the postman is delivering it, else I don't think that could happen...

This post has been edited by Chronolisme: Jan 14 2007, 12:09 AM
Doomsday
post Jan 14 2007, 12:08 AM

keluarpattern dupe slayer
2,491 posts

Well, from here we can see that the graphic card is not in good condition. From my opinion, the graphic card just looks messy from the original state before you sell it. Better ask more explaination from the buyer before proceed with the refund.

avenger
post Jan 14 2007, 12:19 AM

What is there to put here?
1,467 posts

no need to refund la, ppl just playing 1337 overclocking with ur card, detach the hsf somemore. now want refund after playing with it

p/s : is that gf4 ti series?
Zeroize
post Jan 14 2007, 12:22 AM

Hardcock Gamer
895 posts

QUOTE(Doomsday @ Jan 14 2007, 12:08 AM)
Well, from here we can see that the graphic card is not in good condition. From my opinion, the graphic card just looks messy from the original state before you sell it. Better ask more explaination from the buyer before proceed with the refund.
The buyer already responded me, he said that the HSF is okay when i send to him but the metal part is already bent.

I also did a mistake myself, i didn't put the GC in a box when send it out, i just cover the GC with antistatic bag and wrap it in a bubble wrap enverlop and i send it out.
But i am very sure that the components are not in that way before i send out.

This post has been edited by Zeroize: Jan 14 2007, 12:27 AM
Zeroize
post Jan 14 2007, 12:24 AM

Hardcock Gamer
895 posts

QUOTE(avenger @ Jan 14 2007, 12:19 AM)
no need to refund la, ppl just playing 1337 overclocking with ur card, detach the hsf somemore. now want refund after playing with it

Yes, it is Leadtek winfast geforce Ti4600
enter
post Jan 14 2007, 12:26 AM

vine vini vici
807 posts

hi.. im the buyer here...

ok.. this is my side story.. when i get that card..The metal part was alredy bent.. and i don't care coz i know i bought second hand item.. for me as long card can be used.. then its ok.. but when i install the card.. boot.. there is full of small box,, i cant see anything in screen..and i saw the 2 green cap already want to blow.. my friend said the cap already faulty... then i pm seller back for discusses and seller agree for me to post it back..

so i post it back... and when i post it hsf ok.. maybe postage coz that thing.. i send it back using same way how seller send to me.. unsure.gif

enter
post Jan 14 2007, 12:27 AM

vine vini vici
807 posts

QUOTE(avenger @ Jan 14 2007, 12:19 AM)

i just boot the and found that my screen full of small box.. cry.gif i dont do oc la.. doh.gif
Doomsday
post Jan 14 2007, 12:28 AM

2,491 posts

QUOTE(Zeroize @ Jan 14 2007, 12:22 AM)
The buyer already responded me, he said that the HSF is okay when i send to him but the metal part is already bent.

I also did a mistake myself, i didn't put the GC in a box when send it out, i just cover the GC with antistatic bag and wrap it in a bubble wrap enverlop and i send it out.

But i am very sure that the components are not in that way before i send out.
Ok, then it is both parties fault then.
1) You didn't pack it in a box, DON'T ever trust courier service to take care your items
2) The buyer did pack it in a box before send to you?

You should fully refund to him/her coz the graphic card is defected in the 1st place right?
About the packaging, next time if sending this kind of products, better spend more few bucks to get a decent box than creating such a mess...
Zeroize
post Jan 14 2007, 12:38 AM

Hardcock Gamer
895 posts

QUOTE(Doomsday @ Jan 14 2007, 12:28 AM)
Ok, then it is both parties fault then.
1) You didn't pack it in a box, DON'T ever trust courier service to take care your items
2) The buyer did pack it in a box before send to you?

You should fully refund to him/her coz the graphic card is defected in the 1st place right?
About the packaging, next time if sending this kind of products, better spend more few bucks to get a decent box than creating such a mess...
The graphic card is not faulty at the first place, I play Dota a few rounds with this card before i sell it out to ensure it no problem. And i never really noticed that there were faulty caps on it.

This is the photo i've just taken, two noticable capacitor which is flabbing.

Doomsday
post Jan 14 2007, 12:53 AM

2,491 posts

QUOTE(Zeroize @ Jan 14 2007, 12:38 AM)
The graphic card is not faulty at the first place, I play Dota a few rounds with this card before i sell it out to ensure it no problem. And i never really noticed that there were faulty caps on it.

This is the photo i've just taken, two noticable capacitor which is flabbing.
From here, we can't determine's whose fault for the going-to-be explode capacitor. Did you check the whole condition of the IC before you send out?
From my POV, the seller should bear the responsibility because if use a box to send, this case might not appear in here wink.gif
sHawTY
post Jan 14 2007, 01:02 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

I can only see one main thing that will cause all that bents and other things...

Zeroize, why don't u put the graphic card in a box? blink.gif
You can't trust those poslaju or courier guys so much, i always see them throw this and that anywhere...

You can't also rely on the bubble wrapping itself, even if there is some bubble wrapping, if the graphic card is dropped on something or thrown to a place by those postage guys, something will bent...

Those bubble wrapping cannot tahan everything maa...

Seriously, i'm not in anyone's side, but since i saw you've said you didn't put the graphic card in a box rather than just putting it in a bubble wrapping, seriously, that's the main cause of those bent here, bent there...

This is my opinion, if you're not agree with it, then give me a reason to say that i'm wrong. smile.gif
irangan
post Jan 14 2007, 01:14 AM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

Zeroize, do you have tany picture of the card BEFORE sending it to buyer? this can prove the card is working condition but if you dont have it, i think a full refund need to be done since artifact already appeared since the first it plug into the computer.

*I saw enter's thread asking for advise in Hardware section.
zx12
post Jan 14 2007, 01:18 AM

717 posts

when the buyer sent it back to you, did he use a box?.. does he have any proof (pictures maybe) the the item was in ok condition (hsf still intact) before he sent it back?

from what i observe in the pictures provided, i think the people at poslaju probably throw the card around (the like to this for some reason).. it might have landed on the metal edge, hence that is why it is bent like that..

i do believe a full refund is in order since the card was not packed and shipped properly.. we really have to make sure our parcels are "postman proof"
Doomsday
post Jan 14 2007, 01:21 AM

2,491 posts

QUOTE(enter @ Jan 14 2007, 12:26 AM)
hi.. im the buyer here...

ok.. this is my side story.. when i get that card..The metal part was alredy bent.. and i don't care coz i know i bought second hand item.. for me as long card can be used.. then its ok.. but when i install the card.. boot.. there is full of small box,, i cant see anything in screen..and i saw the 2 green cap already want to blow.. my friend said the cap already faulty... then i pm seller back for discusses and seller agree for me to post it back..

so i post it back... and when i post it hsf ok.. maybe postage coz that thing.. i send it back using same way how seller send to me.. unsure.gif
QUOTE(zx12 @ Jan 14 2007, 01:18 AM)
when the buyer sent it back to you, did he use a box?.. does he have any proof (pictures maybe) the the item was in ok condition (hsf still intact) before he sent it back?

from what i observe in the pictures provided, i think the people at poslaju probably throw the card around (the like to this for some reason).. it might have landed on the metal edge, hence that is why it is bent like that..

i do believe a full refund is in order since the card was not packed and shipped properly.. we really have to make sure our parcels are "postman proof"
It is clearly stated that both parties doesn't use box to delivery the item....We can't judge whose fault is it anyway, just a simple failure decision causes the problem to be occur...
WaCKy-Angel
post Jan 14 2007, 01:29 AM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

This is very interesting......

I have something to query about...
Seller didnt use box when shipping instead used plastic wrapper..
So did the wrapper got torn or something?
That "bent" can no way be done without the wrapper be torned...

Geez i guess next time video of packing and opening should be taken incase of any dispute...
vikingw2k
post Jan 14 2007, 03:22 AM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

Thread Moved to Trade Zone Helpdesk & Dispute Resolution Corner
Hammer
post Jan 14 2007, 09:08 AM

31 posts

I think both seller and buyer also got mistake

Seller fault:
1. Seller didn't wrap it properly and send to buyer.

Buyer fault:
1. Buyer didn't inform seller that the card is not in good condition(metal bend) when receive the item and now blaming the buyer the thing is bent when receive it.

The conclusion:
Because both side also got mistake, i think its best that seller only refund back 50% of the price since the card returned in that condition.

From what i think, 50% refund from the seller is the best the seller could do.

You guys in IT field should know, you can't ask for warranty with physical damage, right?

Hammer
post Jan 14 2007, 09:14 AM

31 posts

I state out another example, if you sell your car. And your buyer claims that he not satisfy with the car, ask you for refund and the car returned to you "kemek sikit" will you give full refund to the buyer?
westley0214
post Jan 14 2007, 09:31 AM

860 posts

QUOTE(Hammer @ Jan 14 2007, 09:14 AM)
I state out another example, if you sell your car. And your buyer claims that he not satisfy with the car, ask you for refund and the car returned to you "kemek sikit" will you give full refund to the buyer?
If during the time the car arrives you there, it's already kemik sikit, will you accept the car? You don't even drive it.

Then will you pay 50% for nothing?
Hammer
post Jan 14 2007, 10:01 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(westley0214 @ Jan 14 2007, 09:31 AM)
If during the time the car arrives you there, it's already kemik sikit, will you accept the car? You don't even drive it.

Then will you pay 50% for nothing?
That's what happen to the buyer, he didn't even tell the seller that its "kemek" when he receive the package at the first place. And now said that its already like that when he got it when asking for refund, can anyone support this?

As a buyer, if the item received in a condition like that, he should be the first to inform the seller, not after many days only say its like that.

So both party also at fault. Mod please come out make it straight.
suiteng
post Jan 14 2007, 10:18 AM

Hopeless President
3,589 posts

One million dollar question haven't been answered.

How did the buyer send the card back to seller? In a box? In the same bubble wrap?
NaMyzarC
post Jan 14 2007, 10:30 AM

1,140 posts

the buyer has already mentioned the answer, pls read previous post.

QUOTE(suiteng @ Jan 14 2007, 10:18 AM)
One million dollar question haven't been answered.

How did the buyer send the card back to seller? In a box? In the same bubble wrap?
steven437
post Jan 14 2007, 10:37 AM

I'm crazy, do you?
2,079 posts

wah how the hell you all send hardware postage ler???put in bubble wraper and put it in an envelope.. is not a smart way biggrin.gif to send a hardware over post laju rclxub.gif

1st of all i think the card itself have prblem, referring to the troubleshoot thread.

2nd i'll say both party have to bear with the "smart way of you" sending hardware through postlaju using bubble wraper and envelope.

in summary, since the card is spoilt, seller should take the full response, because when the card reach to the buyer, it's already faulty, and on the bad condition of the card both party have to bear the fact of it's smart way of sending hardware.

Since the card is already spoilt when the buyer receive it, then why care about the bad condition of your card, will your card be fix if the condition is good??faulty means faulty, regardless how the condition is wink.gif
Zeroize
post Jan 14 2007, 11:25 AM

Hardcock Gamer
895 posts

After reading you guy's posts, I decided to fully refund the buyer.

But one thing to straighten up !!
I did not sell faulty display card, i test it out before i send it !! Too bad i didn't attach a print screen for it and now nobody is gonna believe me that this card is originally fine !!

To be honest, this is the first time pos laju give me problem sweat.gif

Thanks again for you guys valuable comments and advices.

I will proceed to refund the buyer.

Case close notworthy.gif
altie
post Jan 14 2007, 01:02 PM

Runaway Fridge™
673 posts

Thread Closed.