6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

WoW Unable to connect

myremi
post Jan 15 2007, 01:57 PM

1,846 posts

What I've noticed when playing WoW. Have been playing since June 06. Using ZoneAlarm Firewall and Symantec Antivirus on (keylogger paranoia) when I'm playing. Using WinXP Service Pack 2. Lived in Kuching. Using Pentium 4, NVIDIA 7300 GS, 1GB RAM, 160 MB SATA HDD.

Subscribed to the 512 kbps package - according to Kuching Streamyx tech, the housing area I live in doesn't have any fibre optic cable so 512 kbps was the best selection. Anyway, streamyx forcibly change my line from 1M to 512k after I have connection problems. Change the phone line as well. All these happened back in Q3-06.

Before earthquake : Connecting to 124.* lines gave fast connections. Any 60.* lines resulted in really slow connections. Sometime in Q4, the IPs had changed from 218.* / 219.* to 60.* and 124.* .

There's mention somewhere (either in one of the LowYat or jeffooi.com. it's somewhere online anyways), that streamyx priority areas are KL, Selangor, Penang, Johor Bahru. Not sure whether it's true or not.

After earthquake : Fast connection is 124.* or 60.53.* Other IPs had slow connections. I couldn't connect to the 219.* / 218.* IPs so no experience.

After patch 2.0.3 : It's not the patch but coincided with the day that Streamyx Restoration Works (painful to read, small print sad.gif ). Well, probably a few days difference but that was the time the conneciton problems happened. No longer possible to play on a 124.* line but surfing was still possible. The other IP 60.53* gave a relatively fast connection. 60.52* - there *may* be one or two connections that are fast but they're very rare. Have not connected to 219.* / 218.* IPs.

My WoW Latency Normal range is 400-600 ms. Enough for raiding but can have occasional lag spikes that can be nasty. I can play up to 1Kms if the lag spikes aren't nasty.

Connecting to a fast IP (could be based on housing area) :

-Connect during low usage hours. Earlier morning before 10 am OR between 6:30 pm - 8/9pm. Outside of these times, it's impossible to get the IP that you want.
-After a lightning storm. Most people do not turn on the auto-login for the ADSL modem so once there's a storm, they end up disconnected until the next time they login. So, it would be easier to dial in again and enjoy a faster game than usual.

Warning though... Frequent reconnects may actually "block" your node that you cannot get onto streamyx at all. When that happens, call streamyx to reset it but don't hope for immediate response. I sort-of stop calling their hotline and fill up the online TM Net iCoMS form instead. Reason : to get a # . Online form is link to their system and they have to respond. Via telephone - they may not always key into the system.

dewadurjana
post Jan 15 2007, 02:43 PM

QUOTE(adrian79 @ Jan 15 2007, 01:40 PM)
Hey Aurora,

I'm surprised you are unable to do a tracert or log on to WoW with a 219 IP address. My friend who stays in subang that has a similar IP with yours are able to login with no problem. I suggest you to uninstall all your firewall or add in port forwarding with WoW ports to try and get to WoW.

Also those ppl that have the same pbm as i do, can you rougly tell me the area you are playing in or your house maybe which in my case i'm leaving in Putra Heights, Subang Jaya and my ip starts with 124.82.*.*  I'm yet to get updates from tmnut yet. blardy hell taking soooo long to reply me....sucks man!
Adrian,

same problem..?? me me me !!! Shah Alam.. 124.82* or 124.* as well.. playing from home..
give tmnuts my share of the boots please.. biggrin.gif

TSadrian79
post Jan 16 2007, 12:45 AM

Hey Dewa,

Yeah i notice some areas but minor are using the 124.82.*.* IP address and we can never change the ip address to 219 or 218 or even 60. This 3 are considered a set which the users will get randomly everytime they reset their modems but for us with 124.82 we have no other choice! i tried resetting my modem for 9349264927654 times and it still wont work! i get 124.82 100% everytime. I'm seriously pissed and yet cant do anything about it.

I tried rerouting my proxies to god knows how many countries but from the start point if its still 124.82 its always gonna be 124.82 no matter what you do. This is the 5th day i cant play WoW and i'm getting pretty upset not because i cant play entirely but because i actually paid for both WoW and Streamyx.....sigh..

Also is there anyone or contacts to insiders ...ahem.....that could change areas IPs like mine to any other IPs? pls do let me know....gosh even willing to pay to get my dump IP change. arrghh.... sad.gif

Heffalump
post Jan 16 2007, 01:07 AM

54 posts

Kuching side 124.x.x.x also cannot logon to WOW. Best ip for us now is 60.53.x.x. with latency around 400-500 ms.

dewadurjana
post Jan 16 2007, 02:53 PM

Can someone who is using a 124 IP right now help another fellow WoW player out please..

Need a tracert done from anyone on a 124 IP to :

1) us.logon.worldofwarcraft.com
2) www.worldofwarcraft.com
3) your game server host name if u know

Trying to get TMnuts to work on it ... I want my WoW fix !!!! Coffee and Dunhill doesnt work anymore !!!!

TSadrian79
post Jan 16 2007, 03:11 PM

I'll get the tracert for u later tonite. I have no pbm doin a tracert to www.worldofwarcraft.com website just to us.logon.worldofwarcraft.com IP. thats the IP u wanna get to to be able to logon to wow......sigh...depressing man..
dewadurjana
post Jan 16 2007, 05:32 PM

Yep..

The problem is coz of our routing to us.logon.worldofwarcraft.com for authentication..

Somehow $^&*^* doesnt know how to read the damn tracert I sent them.. grrr...

dey say I sent tracert result of 2 separate destination/domain/server..

hl4919
post Jan 16 2007, 08:54 PM

I'm calling TMNet every night since 12th of January, and everynight they want me to repeat the same step doing testing and I have to repeatly explaining to them the situation I face. They seem like they donno what happen, only just now they say they will bring my case to their technical team (I wonder who I speak for last few day, they are not technician???). Anyway I attach my tracert to us.logon.worldofwarcraft.com result here. Those who having the same problem like us please call them or email them, coz if only small amount of user report to them regarding this issue I dun think they will take it seriously.

Tracing route to us.logon.worldofwarcraft.com [12.129.232.116]

over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.1.1

2 10 ms 9 ms 9 ms 219.93.218.177

3 8 ms 7 ms 7 ms 219.93.218.77

4 8 ms 8 ms 7 ms 210.187.132.65

5 8 ms 8 ms 9 ms brf-odsy01-srp1-0.tm.net.my [210.187.135.1]

6 8 ms 8 ms 8 ms 219.94.12.134

7 17 ms 8 ms 8 ms 210.187.132.83

8 9 ms 8 ms 8 ms 58.27.124.50

9 8 ms 9 ms 8 ms 219.93.174.67

10 * * * Request timed out.

11 * * * Request timed out.

12 * * * Request timed out.

13 * * * Request timed out.

14 * * * Request timed out.

15 * * * Request timed out.

16 * * * Request timed out.

17 * * * Request timed out.

18 * * * Request timed out.

19 * * * Request timed out.

20 * * * Request timed out.

21 * * * Request timed out.

22 * * * Request timed out.

23 * * * Request timed out.

24 * * * Request timed out.

25 * * * Request timed out.

26 * * * Request timed out.

27 * * * Request timed out.

28 * * * Request timed out.

29 * * * Request timed out.

30 * * * Request timed out.

Trace complete.
TSadrian79
post Jan 17 2007, 10:49 AM

Ok Guys, some updates from me.

Thanks to some of my friends i have manage to get hold of the tmnet OSC team, those are the ppl we are looking for and not those so called operators you are referring them as technician coz they are not. They only know how to give u simple intructions to check your connection and thats all however this OSC team are the ones that do the scripting and firewall rules for tmnet. This morning i hv check with them again and apparently according to them, this problem lies between tmnet and AT&T in US that is not accepting our 124. Ip address and not recognizing it that its coming from tmnet therefore unable to route our line to WoW servers. They have already submitted a request to them and awaiting their reply as of yesterday. So pls keep your fingers cross that they will notice it asap and fix our damn pbm soon.

Freaking BC is out and i cant play. How sad is that man. Will update you guys once i receive any news.
dewadurjana
post Jan 17 2007, 02:37 PM

I finally got a reply from TMnet... via email ...

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your feedback. Our automated feedback system has forwarded to us for our attention and reply. Firstly, we would like to apologise for the late reply.

With regards to your e-mail, please note that the allocation of IP Address for Home Package users is random and therefore is dynamic everytime you login to Streamyx. Also note that dynamic IP is temporary, and only serve you when you connect to Internet at that particular time. It could be different when the next time you connect. "However, we would like to inform you that if you are facing some problem in playing online game, you should first consult the game server administrator." (added the quotes)

Should you require further assistance or would like to submit any enquiry/feedback, kindly visit www.tm.net.my and click 'Need Help? Contact our Customer Service'.

We thank you for taking the time to write to us and look forward to serve you better.

Regards,
Heffalump
post Jan 17 2007, 04:09 PM

54 posts

With regards to your e-mail, please note that the allocation of IP Address for Home Package users is random and therefore is dynamic everytime you login to Streamyx. Also note that dynamic IP is temporary, and only serve you when you connect to Internet at that particular time. It could be different when the next time you connect. "However, we would like to inform you that if you are facing some problem in playing online game, you should first consult the game server administrator."

We know that. What we want to know is why certain ips can play WOW smoothly while others lag alot. Good ips not only can play WOW smoothly but browsing and d/ling also faster.

I dont think it has anything to do with the game servers or does it?

dewadurjana
post Jan 17 2007, 05:49 PM

no it does not.. its the way the connection being routed..

right now m hoping for some more / any news from adrian79..

adrian....,
if dey tell u dey dunno how to configure the firewall etc, tell them to come here in the forum n learn la weii.. hehehe

ps: damn la. .BC out oredi.. how to sell my 500 stacks of Thorium bar and make loads of money la like this..??

hl4919
post Jan 17 2007, 11:22 PM

Today Streamyx second level technician call me few times, each time they will ask me to test whether can connect or not. Now they say they will pass my report to the higher technical department. (I dunno if they refer to tmnet OSC team) Really hope they can solve this issue quickly. Other than cannot login to the WOW do you guys face any issue browsing some oversea website? such as wow.allakhazam.com and www.formula1.com, coz I having issue visiting those website as well. Please test to browse those website see if you have difficulty to view it.
TristanX
post Jan 17 2007, 11:56 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

"However, we would like to inform you that if you are facing some problem in playing online game, you should first consult the game server administrator." (added the quotes)
Consult the game administrator my foot. TMNet is already known for bad service for years. Check this out:

http://datacrush.info/2007/01/16/streamyx/

Not only bad service but also bad routing. sigh

Welcome to Visit Malaysian Lag 2007!

This post has been edited by TristanX: Jan 17 2007, 11:57 PM
dewadurjana
post Jan 18 2007, 12:00 AM

As for me.. I dont any problem with browsing websites in US.

All thanks to LYN for providing proxy servers info which I use on my secondary browser. biggrin.gif

On another note, I got another response from TMNET, see below:
"With regards to your e-mail, please be informed again that to consult with the game server administrator first. This is because, upon checking your tracert result to us.logon.worldofwarcraft.com, it is showed that the tracert is stuck at the 12.118.124.41 IP address which is belonging to US based IP. It is advisable if you could contact the game server administrator for further assistance and they will revert to us should the lagging is from TM Net routing.

On behalf of TM Net, we apologise for any inconveniences caused. Your understanding on this matter is highly appreciated."

They still insist that I should contact the game server administrator to check the game server status and connectivity...

So how was my response to the email? Well.. if you know how the contents of the books ".. for Dummies" that's how I reply back to them..

networking 101.. !sigh

I guess the article that I read in the papers a few days back about our country is lacking of competent Network Njin-near is 95% true lorrr..

TSadrian79
post Jan 18 2007, 09:55 AM

All this is bullshit if u ask me....everyone is just trying to point fingers at each other.

Ok this is WoW Tech Support's reply :-

"Hello Adrian,

You should be able to connect. Try contacting your ISP for more information on your connectivity issue and why you are receiving the "destination net unreachable" error message. I usually see "request timed out" messages when the ping hits our firewall. Let me know how it goes.

Feel free to reply to this email if any other technical issues arise.

Regards,
Mike L.
Tech Support
Blizzard Entertainment
http://www.blizzard.com/support"

And this is Streamyx's reply :-

Dear Mr. Adrian,

Thank you for your feedback. Our automated feedback system has forwarded to us for our attention and reply. Firstly, we would like to apologise for the late reply.

With regards to your e-mail, we would like to advise you to proceed with some basic troubleshooting, in order for us to streamline the issue that you are facing currently.

1) Clear Browser Cache.
2) Create new dialer, flush and reconfigure Domain Name Server (DNS).
- (Preferred DNS Server: 202.188.0.133 /Alternate DNS Server: 202.188.1.5)
3) Reboot computer and modem.
4) Try to connect and browse with 3 different IP address.
- (Switch off and switch on the modem to get different IP address each time).

Alternatively, you can contact our Technical Department at 1-300-88-9515 (select option 3 for Technical Assistance) if you need further assistance on the troubleshooting above and if the problem still persists, please provide us the following details for further action.

ALL steps done and still doesnt work! Step 4 above is not true for our case, we ONLY have 124.82.*.* IP address, we do not get 3 different IP address when we reset our modems each time. How many f***ing times must i tell them. If i get 1G each time i told Streamyx bout my IP i would be half there getting my epic flying mount!

Now my only hope to to wait for those OSC team's reply......sigh..

TristanX
post Jan 18 2007, 10:00 AM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

Forget about TMNet customer service. They are unreliable. Just slap them with a complain to our multimedia commission at http://www.cfm.org.my/ or call 1800-18-2222 .

This post has been edited by TristanX: Jan 18 2007, 10:00 AM
Fields
post Jan 18 2007, 10:05 AM

570 posts

So is the OP still suffering from the problem he stated? Because, I suffered this too after the 2.0.3 patch and wrote something about fixing it in this forum but no one bothered >_>
TSadrian79
post Jan 18 2007, 11:16 AM

Fields,

Let me guess u had the same pbm coz your IP starts with 124.82.*.* ?? If it is, nothing could be done for now...

I really doubt its WoW's problem, if you think bout it, why would they put any blockage or firewall rules to stop ppl from getting in their servers, they have 8 million players as of today and still growing, why would they do something to jeapardize their business and create more pbms that they already have atm.
candrew17
post Jan 18 2007, 12:30 PM

ok this is my story, if any can help is much appreciate rolleyes.gif

i'm using 219.95.....IP, even before the earthquake, and i always have high latency compare with frens who using some 219.95 IP as well....

the thing is, i can only get IP like :

219.95.xxx.xxx (not playable even before EQ)
219.95.29.xxx (playable but having bad lag spike)
219.95.30.xxx (playable but having bad lag spike)
219.95.31.xxx (playable but having bad lag spike)
218.208.xxx.xxx (was very good before EQ, but damn hard to get)

ok, seems like only 219.95.xx (2 digits) IP can play WoW but having lag spike, while my fren is getting 219.95.94.xxx; but i can never getting 219.95.94...

i called up tmnet they told me diff telephone line connected to diff server which sounds logically, but i dunno if it's true. the lady keep telling they need feedback from their technician before they can actually open a report....zzz

it's very frustating when u see your frens are lvling and you keep dc'ed or getting lag spike and unable to lvling with them. cry.gif

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0194sec    0.46    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:07 PM