Viking PT5 feedback, need to have some feedback with this tyr

TSIsaac599
post Jun 7 2016, 11:44 AM, updated 10y ago

217 posts

Hi Everyone...My current tyre already botak..
Plan to change my tyre..
Due to the price of Viking PT5 is quite reasonable so i think to give it a try..
So anyone here already used this tyre can share some feedbacks of yours? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Isaac599: Jun 7 2016, 11:49 AM
MrLoo
post Jun 7 2016, 11:48 AM

Scouser
4,230 posts

I m using CT5 for my saga sv, fair amount thread and thick(won't so fast botak), except for abit of noise due to its price haha... But quality wise I would say good for such a price. Been using for months
TSIsaac599
post Jun 7 2016, 11:51 AM

217 posts

QUOTE(MrLoo @ Jun 7 2016, 11:48 AM)
I m using CT5 for my saga sv, fair amount thread and thick(won't so fast botak), except for abit of noise due to its price haha... But quality wise I would say good for such a price. Been using for months
Ya..the thread is really thick enough to last for a long time..haha..
But dunno what is the diffrence between CT5 and PT5...
MrLoo
post Jun 7 2016, 12:02 PM

Scouser
4,230 posts

QUOTE(Isaac599 @ Jun 7 2016, 11:51 AM)
U driving what car? I think its the thread design...
MrLoo
post Jun 7 2016, 12:05 PM

Scouser
4,230 posts

QUOTE(Isaac599 @ Jun 7 2016, 11:51 AM)
u may refer to the links below for further reviews...

[URL=http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3064023/all]
carsifu
rebiu
TSIsaac599
post Jun 7 2016, 12:09 PM

217 posts

QUOTE(MrLoo @ Jun 7 2016, 12:02 PM)
U driving what car? I think its the thread design...
I'm driving Civic 8th gen..
I see..
TSIsaac599
post Jun 7 2016, 12:10 PM

217 posts

QUOTE(MrLoo @ Jun 7 2016, 12:05 PM)
u may refer to the links below for further reviews...

[url=http://www.carsifu.my/news/Viking-Tyres-introduced]carsifu

rebiu
Ok..Thanks a lot Bro.. icon_rolleyes.gif
Jackofree
post Jun 7 2016, 12:52 PM

165 posts

noisy tyres
MrLoo
post Jun 8 2016, 10:01 PM

Scouser
4,230 posts

QUOTE(Isaac599 @ Jun 7 2016, 12:10 PM)
Ok..Thanks a lot Bro.. icon_rolleyes.gif
u r most welcome bro
hanif444
post Jun 23 2016, 11:08 PM

1,523 posts

QUOTE(Jackofree @ Jun 7 2016, 12:52 PM)
noisy tyres
Yes, you are nit the only one who said noisy....it like bearing sound..
putra23
post Jul 1 2016, 11:33 PM

654 posts

QUOTE(MrLoo @ Jun 7 2016, 11:48 AM)
In terms of dry and wet grip or braking, how does it perform compared to other brands?

This post has been edited by putra23: Jul 1 2016, 11:34 PM
MrLoo
post Jul 2 2016, 12:32 AM

Scouser
4,230 posts

QUOTE(putra23 @ Jul 1 2016, 11:33 PM)
In terms of dry and wet grip or braking, how does it perform compared to other brands?
i tried, generally it does not differ much from the other tyres at the same or slightly higher range. But the difference I could tell is the thread it had on the tyre, so thick! rclxms.gif
putra23
post Jul 2 2016, 09:38 PM

654 posts

QUOTE(MrLoo @ Jul 2 2016, 12:32 AM)
i tried, generally it does not differ much from the other tyres at the same or slightly higher range. But the difference I could tell is the thread it had on the tyre, so thick! rclxms.gif
Thanks for sharing. Yes, the grooves are very thick. Should be good in dispersing water during rain.
MrLoo
post Jul 3 2016, 01:27 AM

Scouser
4,230 posts

QUOTE(putra23 @ Jul 2 2016, 09:38 PM)
Thanks for sharing. Yes, the grooves are very thick. Should be good in dispersing water during rain.
That day went on to change my saga pair of rear tire, bridgrstone cause the shop don have Viking, Viking is more hard for its side, bridgrstone softer... price wise 140each for bridge...
putra23
post Jul 3 2016, 11:29 PM

654 posts

QUOTE(MrLoo @ Jul 3 2016, 01:27 AM)
That day went on to change my saga pair of rear tire, bridgrstone cause the shop don have Viking, Viking is more hard for its side, bridgrstone softer... price wise 140each for bridge...
Bridgestone RE003? Between the 2 brands, which is your preference?
MrLoo
post Jul 3 2016, 11:48 PM

Scouser
4,230 posts

QUOTE(putra23 @ Jul 3 2016, 11:29 PM)
Bridgestone RE003? Between the 2 brands, which is your preference?
Actually the difference is that soft tyre gives u a more comfy drive... other than that not much diff. thumbsup.gif
TheReaderReads
post Aug 23 2016, 04:14 PM

701 posts

Viking PT5 vs Dunlop J5

which is bestest SiFU?
kurty
post Aug 25 2016, 08:58 AM

224 posts

this interesting tyre actually caught my eyes.

cheap and pretty good.
good at wet and dry, hearsay.
I didn't try it hence don't use my words as a guide.

for a size of 17', it cost less than rm250..

most tyres that are noisy, are good at grip.
like RE003?

thick, because of high treadwear. make your money last.
putra23
post Aug 25 2016, 02:09 PM

654 posts

QUOTE(TheReaderReads @ Aug 23 2016, 04:14 PM)
Viking PT5 vs Dunlop J5

which is bestest SiFU?
Both comparable for me. There are some feedbacks on the noise from Viking. Nearing 10k km, so far still ok.
Viking being new to the market, I think most people would prefer Dunlop due to brand familiarity.
TheReaderReads
post Aug 25 2016, 02:39 PM

701 posts

QUOTE(putra23 @ Aug 25 2016, 02:09 PM)
Both comparable for me. There are some feedbacks on the noise from Viking. Nearing 10k km, so far still ok.
Viking being new to the market, I think most people would prefer Dunlop due to brand familiarity.
Tq

But cudnt get best price these few days asking around

Gonna head to kedai papan klang n settle it for goodyear
leehernandez
post Aug 26 2016, 12:30 PM

QUOTE(TheReaderReads @ Aug 25 2016, 02:39 PM)
Tq

But cudnt get best price these few days asking around

Gonna head to kedai papan klang n settle it for goodyear
how much is best price do u seek?hahaa..if u can get around rm 160-170 is reasonable already.
TheReaderReads
post Aug 26 2016, 01:15 PM

701 posts

QUOTE(leehernandez @ Aug 26 2016, 12:30 PM)
how much is best price do u seek?hahaa..if u can get around rm 160-170 is reasonable already.
I want 150 hahaha

But actually citicar told me they can give me rm148 until they say they wrongly quoted me. The price is RM170

damn! i almost confirm buy adi
kaiwoon
post Nov 5 2016, 10:26 PM

92 posts

today went and have a look.. 195/55/15 rm150 siap balancing alligent , labour + gst
anttan
post Dec 18 2016, 10:19 AM

349 posts

Any updated feedback on this type?
I would like to know more.
joe_kopitiam
post Dec 25 2016, 02:42 PM

50 posts

installed 4 PT5's on my Preve. they're slightly noisier than the previous Yokohama BluEarth but you can't argue with the price!

and with that 360 treadwear they should last a while.
darthkir
post Mar 27 2017, 02:46 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(joe_kopitiam @ Dec 25 2016, 02:42 PM)
installed 4 PT5's on my Preve. they're slightly noisier than the previous Yokohama BluEarth but you can't argue with the price!

and with that 360 treadwear they should last a while.
may i know now after a few months of usage, how do you rate the noise level?
joe_kopitiam
post Mar 27 2017, 02:51 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(darthkir @ Mar 27 2017, 02:46 PM)
may i know now after a few months of usage, how do you rate the noise level?

after 3 months they're still kinda the same but i've gotten used to it already. laugh.gif
spreeeee
post May 15 2018, 04:19 PM

♠ . ♥ . ♣ . ♦
3,812 posts

viking under continental?

http://www.motorsportchannel.com/viking-pr...gly-good-value/
Lx470_6S
post Jul 18 2018, 09:02 PM

QUOTE(joe_kopitiam @ Mar 27 2017, 02:51 PM)
after 3 months they're still kinda the same but i've gotten used to it already.  laugh.gif
viking is a nail attracted . so far i kena nail and tampal 6 times already around all my 4 tyres.( 1 year usage) the tread still very thick after 1 year
leehernandez
post Jul 19 2018, 10:50 AM

QUOTE(Lx470_6S @ Jul 18 2018, 09:02 PM)
viking is a nail attracted . so far i kena nail and tampal 6 times already around all my 4 tyres.( 1 year usage) the tread still very thick after 1 year
maybe luck not by your side.my friend use pt5 so far so good la.no kena nail yet.
joe_kopitiam
post Jul 20 2018, 11:34 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(Lx470_6S @ Jul 18 2018, 09:02 PM)

once one of my tyres had a defect at the sidewall and it kept on deflating. due to the 3rd party repair (temporary tampal), my warranty claim was rejected by Continental. aiyoh a bit unlucky that time... doh.gif
leehernandez
post Jul 24 2018, 11:01 AM

QUOTE(joe_kopitiam @ Jul 20 2018, 11:34 AM)
once one of my tyres had a defect at the sidewall and it kept on deflating. due to the 3rd party repair (temporary tampal), my warranty claim was rejected by Continental. aiyoh a bit unlucky that time...  doh.gif
heard that if tyre have been patch before might void the warranty.
joe_kopitiam
post Jul 24 2018, 11:10 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(leehernandez @ Jul 24 2018, 11:01 AM)
heard that if tyre have been patch before might void the warranty.

yes it voids the warranty sad.gif
leehernandez
post Jul 27 2018, 11:03 AM

QUOTE(joe_kopitiam @ Jul 24 2018, 11:10 AM)
yes it voids the warranty  sad.gif
then rugi la..have to change new one
terratoss
post Sep 3 2018, 12:17 AM

Hi all, I got these viking PT5 since feb 2018. Have been using them now for about 16000km.
I do agree it's noisy, sounds like bearing sound on rough road, when braking, it sounds like the tyre really gripping the ground.

When I 1st gotten the tyres, I kept the pressure(cold) at front(~37psi), back(~35psi). The road contact seems ok when I go over e.g. dusty areas, wet areas, I do see front and back tyres have full/good contact with the sand/water marks on the tyres.

I observed something about the tyres after my 1st 10k km rotation. It seems like the back tyres aren't really contacting the road fully at the shoulder areas about 1-2cm from side wall.
Previously, when tyres were new, at 35psi(cold), its was alright. Now, it seems like it is over-inflated. I tried reducing to 33psi(cold), it looks slightly better but not 100%.

Any other users have similar experience to mine?
zaida7101
post Oct 19 2018, 11:38 AM

Just bought Viking tyres so far okay.. a bit noisy...but you get used to it... biggrin.gif

0.0258sec    0.80    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:05 PM