Why most car in MALAYSIA is AUTO?

noir7559
post Aug 8 2014, 09:03 AM

Take My Advice, I Don't Need It
592 posts

QUOTE(iskazulka @ Aug 8 2014, 08:53 AM)
wah so expensive jor atf fluid. i pay only rm100 for atf fluid saga auto. workmanship rm30.
yeap. Use machine they said sweat.gif sweat.gif
iskazulka
post Aug 8 2014, 09:05 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(noir7559 @ Aug 8 2014, 10:03 AM)
yeap. Use machine they said  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
if sedut pakai mulut extra workmanship la isit? laugh.gif
noir7559
post Aug 8 2014, 09:07 AM

Take My Advice, I Don't Need It
592 posts

QUOTE(iskazulka @ Aug 8 2014, 09:05 AM)
if sedut pakai mulut extra workmanship la isit?  laugh.gif
laugh.gif laugh.gif dat alone could cost around rm500 for workmanship only
SUSs2peMocls
post Aug 8 2014, 09:43 AM

672 posts

QUOTE(nm7 @ Aug 8 2014, 05:14 AM)
Actually i learned from my first car (k-car) tat driving a manual is more expensive than an auto... Workmanship for clutch change is rm250 and up because have to lower the entire engine...but only apply to kcar la
Clutch pad is less than RM200 for k-car, add labor total still less than RM500, and you only worry about clutch pad around 50k km, some people drive 100k km also never need to change clutch.

Still cheaper than auto in any event. But people don't like to change gear while driving so they can play with handphone, so pay extra lor.
k!nex
post Aug 8 2014, 10:21 AM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(nm7 @ Aug 8 2014, 05:14 AM)
Actually i learned from my first car (k-car) tat driving a manual is more expensive than an auto... Workmanship for clutch change is rm250 and up because have to lower the entire engine...but only apply to kcar la
Not all k-car have to take out the whole engine to change clutch. Only some models.
At least I know Viva only need to take out the bumper to replace the clutch.
slaveone
post Aug 8 2014, 10:26 AM

1,231 posts

Because I go through traffic jams everyday to work
skylinelover
post Aug 8 2014, 11:13 AM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,266 posts

auto - go through heavy city jams

manual - if you want 2 outrun highway police late at night
SUSMatrix
post Aug 8 2014, 12:06 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Aug 8 2014, 11:13 AM)

Police are well trained...i think they can still outrun most people here even with 1.6cc Campro engine...furthermore, they are not afraid to thrash their car(as seen in many reports), since it's not their car...so dun play-play....
VagueConcerns
post Aug 8 2014, 12:33 PM

888 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Aug 8 2014, 12:06 PM)
Police are well trained...i think they can still outrun most people here even with 1.6cc Campro engine...furthermore, they are not afraid to thrash their car(as seen in many reports), since it's not their car...so dun play-play....
I've seen a footage in that 999 show. They don't even slow down at speed bumps. The car jumped up about a foot, and then lands unsteadily which they correct in an instant. This happens a few more times in the chase. Just shows that they are pretty gutsy and quite skilled.
Boy96
post Aug 8 2014, 12:55 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

If there is an affordable car that can drive by itself, without needing me to steer it. I would totally get it.

Every morning stuck in jam on the way to office/class can sleep or play phone in the car..
bigmac999
post Aug 8 2014, 01:02 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Aug 8 2014, 11:13 AM)

depends also on power
bmw m5/550i also auto vs potong waja/inspilala manual
m5 still can get away
kadajawi
post Aug 8 2014, 02:30 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Aug 8 2014, 12:55 PM)
If there is an affordable car that can drive by itself, without needing me to steer it. I would totally get it.

Every morning stuck in jam on the way to office/class can sleep or play phone in the car..
Seat Leon with Lane Assist and Adaptive Cruise Control. Golf and Polo have the same features. The new Passat even comes with a self driving feature, IIRC, it should make it's way down to smaller VW group cars. I'd totally get that. And a manual gearbox (I know that kind of defeats the purpose... the system can't change gears, but giving up a manual gearbox? No way.)

@nm7: You need a car that is REASONABLE in driving school. What good is it to get adjusted to the noise and feel of speed a Kancil gives you at legal speeds, when you switch into a better car the moment you're out of school? What feels like 80 in a Kancil will probably be way over legal speeds in a more modern C segment car for example. Also you need to practice on the highway, also at higher speeds. Get a feel for driving. i.e. you're driving a Kancil in driving school, get used to it. Then you switch to, say, your parents Vios. It's a much more refined car (even the Vios), and more powerful too. Without the experience on a faster (but less fast feeling) car, and used to something that feels fast, but really isn't you'll drive way too fast without even noticing it. The other way round, going from a Saga SV, Vios or something like that in driving school to a Viva or Kancil at home, you'll just drive slower at the beginning before you get adjusted to the car. No problem with that.

In Spain driving schools are using B to C segment hatchbacks from Europe (usually C segment I'd say), for example a Citroen C4, Renault Megane, VW Golf, Ford Focus. In Germany it's by default a Golf, sometimes Focus or other brands. C segment usually, sometimes bigger (fancy driving schools... some offer Porsche as a gimmick (you drive them once for an hour at slow speeds, and then they charge more... laugh.gif )). I had a Golf IV TDI with something like 140 hp in Germany, back then that was the current Golf, my ex had a Golf V, a cousin a Focus. Driving on the highway for a couple of hours was compulsory to be allowed to take the driving test, and highway was part of the test too (though not necessarily). First time on the highway I was urged to go fast, I think I did something like 150. My cousin went up to 180-ish. You get trained in paying attention to other drivers, and driving so fast gives you also an idea how it is for other drivers that may drive faster than you (cause that time you are driving faster than many). How to change lane. To look in the rear mirror all the time to notice other drivers early, to be able to judge their speeds (can you overtake or not without making them slow down?), to look over your shoulder when changing lane, ... After driving school we had 2 cars in my family, a Citroen Xsara that was new back then, a modern car with petrol engine (I stalled it a couple of times... laugh.gif Diesels are so much easier to drive as a manual, though harder to perfect (no need to step on the accelerator when getting going, heck I could start in 2nd gear in driving school without stalling, but getting smooth gear shifts is a bit harder because the engine is less forgiving when the revs don't match perfectly).

Anyway, I got carried away. Basically driving school should prepare you for everything that you'll encounter as a motorist. A Kancil or Viva isn't the most suitable car for that task. How can the teacher teach you how to drive when driving fast (and some students will end up doing that, no matter if being taught or not) when you're driving a car that is terrifying at speed? How are students that would normally drive slow in future supposed to learn how it is for others to encounter a slow lane hogger? Taking/trying different roles helps students to find out how it is for other motorists, thus creating understanding and perhaps courtesy. They may act less like egoistic assholes as a result. (While we're at it teaching how traffic jams are created, what driving behaviour leads to traffic jams etc. would be nice too.)

Being a good driver of a manual car, knowing when to shift to save fuel (which also depends on the car... use ears and rev counter), takes some effort. It's like sex. It takes some effort and time to perfect it, and every car/woman is different, but it's rather rewarding if done right. laugh.gif Would you rather just use some vibrator on your gf/wife, cause it's easier? Cause the first time it didn't work perfectly and you're frustrating you just give up and ask someone/something else to do it?

That feeling of doing really fast gear shifts when you want, and doing really smooth gear shifts when speed isn't crucial, that feeling of getting it right, that's quite rewarding to me. Especially on downshifts... matching revs perfectly when downshifting... sooo good biggrin.gif In any case I don't consciously change gears, it happens automatically, unless I'm trying to perfect my technique. Or am shifting up and down out of boredom. laugh.gif
SUSMatrix
post Aug 8 2014, 04:10 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Aug 8 2014, 12:55 PM)

Got what. Iits called a Taxi!!! Dont play phonr while driving...accident later wei...
Another option...move to near your office. ..I only travel less than 5km to office..brows.gif..save toll, save petrol, save time!

This post has been edited by Matrix: Aug 8 2014, 04:12 PM
travis_ckf
post Aug 8 2014, 04:19 PM

ambitious but rubbish......
6,413 posts

If u guys still looking for new manual cars u may wanna read this

http://www.autofreaks.com/2014/08/afs-buye...ns-in-malaysia/
siakap5
post Aug 8 2014, 07:53 PM

443 posts

surprisingly most Germans like manual cars !

Cheers
kww
post Aug 8 2014, 08:07 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(siakap5 @ Aug 8 2014, 07:53 PM)
surprisingly most Germans like manual cars !

Cheers
They got Autobhan.
Some drivers also treat Malaysia North South HW as Autobhan.
siakap5
post Aug 8 2014, 08:14 PM

443 posts

QUOTE(kww @ Aug 8 2014, 08:07 PM)
They got Autobhan.
actually the rempits treat all road as jalan rempits .

never trust green light ... make sure you look left and right before u engage ... lol

Cheers drool.gif
kww
post Aug 8 2014, 08:19 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(siakap5 @ Aug 8 2014, 08:14 PM)
actually the rempits treat all road as jalan rempits .

never trust green light ... make sure you look left and right before u engage ... lol

Cheers  drool.gif
Ya, if you are the first in the que. A lot drivers seen orange light mean floor to metal and 100% commit.
Boy96
post Aug 8 2014, 08:28 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(kww @ Aug 8 2014, 08:07 PM)
They got Autobhan.
Ofcourse! "Fee" to enter Malaysian autobahn only RM300 mah.. Cheap2 tongue.gif
cba5566
post Aug 8 2014, 09:38 PM

422 posts

QUOTE(rook-ie @ Aug 7 2014, 12:37 PM)
i almost forgot that i'm driving manual even in KL, racing clutch some more
What is racing clutch ? Heavier than normal clutch ?

What is the advantage of using racing clutch ?

12 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 >Top

0.0268sec    1.07    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 08:40 PM