20 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 >Bottom

Acer Switch Alpha 12 Thread v1, Gone with Alpha, now Switch 3, 5 & 7.

TSiSean
post May 14 2018, 02:33 PM

iz old liao.
4,497 posts

Anyone from Singapore can confirm pricing for replacement keyboard dock?
Because retarded Highpoint jacked up the keyboard price.

TS wants to be working second hand / first hand Switch Alpha 12 / Switch 3/5/7 backlit/non-backlit keyboard.

This post has been edited by iSean: May 14 2018, 02:33 PM
TSiSean
post Jun 25 2018, 10:55 AM

iz old liao.
4,497 posts

QUOTE(Zul_XT @ Oct 24 2017, 04:46 PM)
I believed the first batch don't have a Backlit Keyboard. I bought the Switch Alpha i7 version last June 2016 because of the backlit keyboard, but after unbox, not! Call Acer, the tech said Malaysian version does not. The Catalogue does not state anything about the Backlit Keyboard is only on certain region. Feels cheated, but so far after 1 n half year no issue.

I did replace the LCD screen though due to I accidentally dropped the Switch while it still in the bag, bang the corners, got crack from the side towards the Camera lens. Cost of replacement RM800 at Highpoint USJ.
huhu
Now is my turn to crack the screen doh.gif
Time to get a new laptop lah doh.gif
effectz
post Jun 25 2018, 12:32 PM

1,112 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Jun 25 2018, 10:55 AM)
Now is my turn to crack the screen  doh.gif
Time to get a new laptop lah  doh.gif
How? Lol. Looking for normal or 2 in 1 still?
TSiSean
post Jun 25 2018, 07:01 PM

iz old liao.
4,497 posts

QUOTE(effectz @ Jun 25 2018, 12:32 PM)
How? Lol. Looking for normal or 2 in 1 still?
Most likely get an proper clamshell and an iPad with Apple Pencil
Too disappointing Liao this switch Alpha 12

This post has been edited by iSean: Jun 25 2018, 07:02 PM
thirumaran
post Aug 4 2018, 06:53 PM

615 posts

Any idea if screen burn is covered by Acer Warranty? I bought mine with 3 years Acer Extended Warranty
TSiSean
post Aug 4 2018, 07:45 PM

iz old liao.
4,497 posts

QUOTE(thirumaran @ Aug 4 2018, 06:53 PM)
Any idea if screen burn is covered by Acer Warranty?  I bought mine with 3 years Acer Extended Warranty
Just bring to highpoint and ask and order the replacement part if they allow.

Screen burn in as in white spots on the screen? In full R/G/B Background .
Mine had a similar case. But didn't RMA.

Gotten 2 units. All screen burn in after a few weeks of use.

It is very noticeable in all recent display panels. Seems like bad lamination.

Also screen is mounted with motherboard. Hopefully your technician is skillful to do the repair.

Complaint for replacement battery as well.

This post has been edited by iSean: Aug 4 2018, 07:46 PM
thirumaran
post Aug 4 2018, 08:08 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Aug 4 2018, 07:45 PM)
Just bring to highpoint and ask and order the replacement part if they allow.

Screen burn in as in white spots on the screen? In full R/G/B Background .
Mine had a similar case. But didn't RMA.

Gotten 2 units. All screen burn in after a few weeks of use.

It is very noticeable in all recent display panels. Seems like bad lamination.

Also screen is mounted with motherboard. Hopefully your technician is skillful to do the repair.

Complaint for replacement battery as well.
Wow, tks for the quick reply. Yes, white spots, appeared after two years. Other than that, no issues. Based on ur comments, maybe i should just live with it
TSiSean
post Aug 4 2018, 08:21 PM

iz old liao.
4,497 posts

QUOTE(thirumaran @ Aug 4 2018, 08:08 PM)
Wow, tks for the quick reply. Yes, white spots, appeared after two years. Other than that, no issues. Based on ur comments, maybe i should just live with it
Optional normally it is not noticeable until your whole. Background is a single colour.
CressC
post Sep 18 2018, 03:25 PM

164 posts

Hi, I've just joined the family with Acer Switch 5.
I need confirmation that the USB 3.1 port supports video outputs like HDMI, VGA, and DisplayPort before I proceed to buy the adaptor.
Anybody done this before? Which brand of adaptor you're buying?
effectz
post Sep 18 2018, 05:43 PM

1,112 posts

I'm eyeing usb c adaptor to sd card, hdmi, rj45 etc. Anybody can share?
chaosneo
post Sep 19 2018, 08:26 AM

5,694 posts

QUOTE(effectz @ Sep 18 2018, 05:43 PM)
I'm eyeing usb c adaptor to sd card, hdmi, rj45 etc. Anybody can share?
rm135 hub with PowerDelivery, GiGalan, CardReader, 3xUSB port. 😊

https://www.lazada.com.my/products/ugreen-u...s526593076.html?
TSiSean
post Sep 19 2018, 10:21 AM

iz old liao.
4,497 posts

Not all Dongle are built the same

if you can find the dongle here should be okay.
thirumaran
post Nov 4 2018, 04:34 PM

615 posts

Friend of mine sent her unit for warranty recently. The glue holding the screen was giving way and the keyboard wont hold on to the magnetic part of the screen.

Turns out the battery had expanded inside. Extended warranty does not cover the battery, but because the battery was causing other issues, they replaced the battery foc
mitodna
post Nov 4 2018, 07:02 PM

14,039 posts

QUOTE(thirumaran @ Nov 4 2018, 04:34 PM)
Friend of mine sent her unit for warranty recently. The glue holding the screen was giving way and the keyboard wont hold on to the magnetic part of the screen.

Turns out the battery had expanded inside. Extended warranty does not cover the battery, but because the battery was causing other issues, they replaced the battery foc
Same here, the battery expanded, causing the screen , a mark, worse, they can replace the screen for free but not the battery, for earlier switch model
TSiSean
post Nov 15 2018, 03:46 PM

iz old liao.
4,497 posts

QUOTE(weibuy @ Nov 15 2018, 03:42 PM)
Any idea where to find new Keyboard Dock For Switch Alpha 12? Please help.
Either you buy from Taobao, or buy from Repair Center.
A Bluetooth Keyboard from Logitech will costs less than buying a new one.
TSiSean
post Nov 15 2018, 04:47 PM

iz old liao.
4,497 posts

QUOTE(weibuy @ Nov 15 2018, 03:42 PM)
Any idea where to find new Keyboard Dock For Switch Alpha 12? Please help.
Keyboard Non-Backlit Model : Keyboard Acer CHICONY KT1P_A50B KT1 - RM 80 (if you purchase with other repairs in 2017) - RM 260 (standalone keyboard)
TSiSean
post Nov 15 2018, 04:48 PM

iz old liao.
4,497 posts

QUOTE(thirumaran @ Nov 4 2018, 04:34 PM)

well did she paid for other issues ?
thirumaran
post Nov 15 2018, 06:26 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Nov 15 2018, 04:48 PM)
well did she paid for other issues ?
No. All covered
TSiSean
post Nov 15 2018, 08:34 PM

iz old liao.
4,497 posts

QUOTE(weibuy @ Nov 15 2018, 08:32 PM)
Can buy online? Search lazada and Shopee didn't found any.
Nope only Highpoint Sdn Bhd (Acer).
Well do notify me if you get cheaper price. tho.
stickmanchong17
post Nov 21 2018, 08:16 PM

359 posts

Problem: When I press the ON/OFF button, the laptop turns on (you can hear the fan moving, sound,etc) but it immediately shuts down. Then a few seconds later, it switches on again. How can I get it to start normally? I've already installed latest updates.

In urgent need for help. Thanks. icon_question.gif

20 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 >Top

0.0272sec    0.90    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 01:43 PM