20 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Bottom

Acer Switch Alpha 12 Thread v1, Gone with Alpha, now Switch 3, 5 & 7.

TSiSean
post Sep 11 2017, 07:11 PM

iz old liao.
4,503 posts

QUOTE(tzh2001 @ Sep 11 2017, 03:37 PM)
just brought i5 version for my sis for her study in UK
hopefully no any issue during this 1 year sweat.gif
as per salesman, only i5 & i7 unit come with backlit keyboard  sweat.gif
Well it should be an "OK" device la.
Hopefully it isn't a lemon unit like mine. doh.gif
tzh2001
post Sep 12 2017, 08:05 AM

Heart warming
385 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Sep 11 2017, 07:11 PM)
Well it should be an "OK" device la.
Hopefully it isn't a lemon unit like mine.  doh.gif
after i tried for 1 week, the only complain was the power button sweat.gif
why have to press so many second to back from sleep confused.gif
thirumaran
post Sep 14 2017, 10:23 PM

615 posts

if im not mistaken, someone in this thread mentioned that for the new batches,
even the i3 models come with backlit keyboard
thirumaran
post Sep 14 2017, 10:24 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(tzh2001 @ Sep 12 2017, 08:05 AM)
after i tried for 1 week, the only complain was the power button sweat.gif
why have to press so many second to back from sleep  confused.gif
from sleep, just need to press once.

from shutdown (off), need to press 5 seconds
tzh2001
post Sep 15 2017, 11:34 AM

Heart warming
385 posts

QUOTE(thirumaran @ Sep 14 2017, 10:24 PM)
from sleep, just need to press once.

from shutdown (off), need to press 5 seconds
weird hmm.gif
i tried many times, but still have to press 5 seconds

QUOTE(thirumaran @ Sep 14 2017, 10:23 PM)
then maybe the reseller still having old stock hmm.gif
1zR4eL
post Oct 2 2017, 10:49 PM

1,852 posts

where do you get the unit?
tzh2001
post Oct 10 2017, 11:28 AM

Heart warming
385 posts

QUOTE(1zR4eL @ Oct 2 2017, 10:49 PM)
where do you get the unit?
danga city mall johor bahru, but i didnt remember shop name
Zul_XT
post Oct 24 2017, 04:46 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(thirumaran @ Sep 14 2017, 10:23 PM)
I believed the first batch don't have a Backlit Keyboard. I bought the Switch Alpha i7 version last June 2016 because of the backlit keyboard, but after unbox, not! Call Acer, the tech said Malaysian version does not. The Catalogue does not state anything about the Backlit Keyboard is only on certain region. Feels cheated, but so far after 1 n half year no issue.

I did replace the LCD screen though due to I accidentally dropped the Switch while it still in the bag, bang the corners, got crack from the side towards the Camera lens. Cost of replacement RM800 at Highpoint USJ.
huhu

TSiSean
post Oct 24 2017, 06:35 PM

iz old liao.
4,503 posts

QUOTE(Zul_XT @ Oct 24 2017, 04:46 PM)
I believed the first batch don't have a Backlit Keyboard. I bought the Switch Alpha i7 version last June 2016 because of the backlit keyboard, but after unbox, not! Call Acer, the tech said Malaysian version does not. The Catalogue does not state anything about the Backlit Keyboard is only on certain region. Feels cheated, but so far after 1 n half year no issue.

I did replace the LCD screen though due to I accidentally dropped the Switch while it still in the bag, bang the corners, got crack from the side towards the Camera lens. Cost of replacement RM800 at Highpoint USJ.
huhu
shakehead.gif I should be grateful because my bag always dropped off from the chair. :S
No damaged but dent lah, I did used a padded pouch.

But then my charger is now fucked up sweat.gif
Then I need to twist it at certain angles to make it work.
So I've order an Acer original charger off Taobao for RM 28+ RM 4.50 international shipping.
Coming soon around these few days, hopefully it works, and doesn't kill my Switch Alpha 12, after some time :S

It has the Acer Logo on the charger, I suppose for their older series laptops and not manufactured by the Company 群光電能科技股份有限公司 for the original model [A13-045N2A]。
https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=5506290...ucket=14#detail

This post has been edited by iSean: Oct 24 2017, 06:43 PM
SUSLumiaaa
post Oct 25 2017, 02:40 PM

172 posts

good for photo editing ke?

i5-7200U
http://www.11street.my/productdetail/acer-...-7200u-47567528

This post has been edited by Lumiaaa: Oct 25 2017, 02:42 PM
TSiSean
post Oct 25 2017, 06:26 PM

iz old liao.
4,503 posts

QUOTE(Lumiaaa @ Oct 25 2017, 02:40 PM)
Personally I have issues with Adobe Photoshop, if you want to draw, I guess you go get the Lenovo Miix 5XX/7XX series.
Because for some unknown reasons my units are a lot of GUI delays. [Using Adobe Photoshop CC on Trial Reset].

Also the stylus isn't really accurate.
SUSLumiaaa
post Oct 25 2017, 07:29 PM

172 posts

Im looking for something to edit the RAW images from my camera when traveling
TSiSean
post Oct 25 2017, 08:20 PM

iz old liao.
4,503 posts

QUOTE(Lumiaaa @ Oct 25 2017, 07:29 PM)
Im looking for something to edit the RAW images from my camera when traveling
Not the suitable device.
mr_zobody
post Oct 26 2017, 10:04 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Oct 25 2017, 06:26 PM)
Personally I have issues with Adobe Photoshop, if you want to draw, I guess you go get the Lenovo Miix 5XX/7XX series.
Because for some unknown reasons my units are a lot of GUI delays. [Using Adobe Photoshop CC on Trial Reset].

Also the stylus isn't really accurate.
I work in an creative agency and among the many Macs here, I have a Surface while others have the Acer Switch, Lenovo Mixx and Dell Venue, etc.
I think for the price, the Switch isnt too bad. The best is still the Surface, of course. Microsoft has really perfected the pen + screen combo, imo.

PS: Using Adobe CC 2015

This post has been edited by mr_zobody: Oct 26 2017, 10:05 AM
TSiSean
post Oct 26 2017, 12:40 PM

iz old liao.
4,503 posts

?
QUOTE(mr_zobody @ Oct 26 2017, 10:04 AM)
I work in an creative agency and among the many Macs here, I have a Surface while others have the Acer Switch, Lenovo Mixx and Dell Venue, etc.
I think for the price, the Switch isnt too bad. The best is still the Surface, of course. Microsoft has really perfected the pen + screen combo, imo.

PS: Using Adobe CC 2015
Do you encounter GUI and Graphics delays when panning in and out ?
mr_zobody
post Oct 26 2017, 01:41 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Oct 26 2017, 12:40 PM)
?
Do you encounter GUI and Graphics delays when panning in and out ?
Yup, slightly for my Surface, but not super irritating. I think its due to the integrated graphics. All the others i mentioned (Acer and Lenovo) also get the same with the worst being from the Venue Pro.

Considering the price for a Wacom tablet + PC with GPU combo, this is a small tradeoff, tbh
TSiSean
post Nov 1 2017, 05:56 PM

iz old liao.
4,503 posts

If anyone intend to replace your broken Acer Switch Alpha 12 charger, can try purchasing Lite-On Technology's Model PA-1450-26.
< 500g

I've replaced mine for <RM 40 smile.gif
I was quoted RM 100 by the people over at Acer AMA tho :/

This post has been edited by iSean: Nov 1 2017, 05:57 PM
thirumaran
post Nov 2 2017, 04:53 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Nov 1 2017, 05:56 PM)

If anyone intend to replace your broken Acer Switch Alpha 12 charger, can try purchasing Lite-On Technology's Model PA-1450-26.
< 500g

I've replaced mine for <RM 40 smile.gif
I was quoted RM 100 by the people over at Acer AMA tho :/
You can also get a compatible USB-C charger (more convenient I think)
TSiSean
post Nov 2 2017, 05:02 PM

iz old liao.
4,503 posts

QUOTE(thirumaran @ Nov 2 2017, 04:53 PM)
Given one USB Type-C and one USB 3.0 are the provided ports by the Switch Alpha 12, rather use their provided charger than brick a Type C port.
Zul_XT
post Nov 23 2017, 05:11 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(thirumaran @ Nov 2 2017, 04:53 PM)
my self have been using an USB C Charger bought from ebay. It replaced the big power brick with the power cable.
Have been using this charger for almost 6 months..

Helper USB Type C Wall Charger Fast Charging Power Adapter for MacBook MateBook

so far no issue...

This post has been edited by Zul_XT: Nov 23 2017, 05:12 PM

20 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0237sec    1.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 12:27 PM