Hardware The iPhone, First Mac OS based phones

OmniAtlas
post Sep 16 2007, 04:53 AM

946 posts

QUOTE(irwan6179 @ Sep 16 2007, 03:21 AM)

anyone know how to disable edge? i tried using Deedge but it didnt work. anyone has success with it. AT&T charge me 1.5 cent per KB without the package. sad.gif
How is AT&T charging you? Did you open an AT&T account? Are you roaming from Malaysia (??!!)

OmniAtlas
post Sep 17 2007, 11:09 PM

946 posts

Informative post hokiannu, perhaps someone should sticker this post until a solution comes out of it. Does maxis realize that they will lose customers if this isn't fixed? Can they fix their hardware? I doubt they will for such a minority group of people.

QUOTE(hokkianu @ Sep 17 2007, 10:13 PM)
i found some articles from net related to the maxis receive call problem:

I haven't been in the telecom field for a while now; but I remember than NOM (Network Operation Mode) refers to the GPRS Capabilities.

NOM1: Mobile phones can have multiple packet/circuit connection; which allows the phone to recieve calls while using EDGE/GPRS.
NOM2: Mobile phones can be 'attached' to the gprs network; but it can't recieve data and voice simultaneosly.
NOM3: Mobile Phones can not have both services connected; it must be either data (packet) or voice (circuit).

Applying the NOM theory to the logic of the iPhone not operating on the zain/maxis network: if we completely disable edge (or just stop using it), it should work. However, that isn't the case .. as the phone still won't recieve calls. This is also supported by the inability to recieve calls while having another line (its rings once then the call fails); since the initial calls

OmniAtlas
post Sep 17 2007, 11:13 PM

946 posts

BTW, anyone know if you can transfer your phone number to another provider? I know its possible in the States, not too sure about Malaysia -- i'm only dreaming smile.gif
OmniAtlas
post Sep 18 2007, 05:52 PM

946 posts

The london show means a no show for 3G this fall! oh well, maybe and most probably next year.

OmniAtlas
post Sep 19 2007, 02:57 AM

946 posts

That website you reference is from 'Harro' who stole some code and took original credit from the Iphone hacking development team.

I would go to the hackint0sh forums for your needs:

http://www.hackint0sh.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=123
OmniAtlas
post Sep 20 2007, 09:39 AM

946 posts

QUOTE(aladdin @ Sep 20 2007, 07:47 AM)
just wait until apple release iphone in malaysia..at that time sure can use 1
I doubt that will happen for awhile. It seems steve jobs likes to lock up his iphone with telcom companies such as AT&T, O2 and T-mobile. Sources say he shares the pie by as much as 40% with the carrier fees. Can you imagine, iphone locked up with Celcom! (I had the worst experience with celcom and am now happy with maxis)

Why wait? The unlock is here and the iphone is finally affordable.

OmniAtlas
post Sep 22 2007, 01:28 AM

946 posts

QUOTE(yaosiang @ Sep 22 2007, 12:04 AM)

Yea.. iTunes Is So Slow Now.. I Just Tested The Free Tracks.. The 1st Track Is Downloading At Around 2 kb/s While The 2nd Track Is At The Speed Of 11 kb/s... The Speed Of The 1st Track Just Stay Constant Although After The 2nd Track Is Done..  sad.gif
Anyone know why Tmnet is throttling Itunes? This isn't some kind of P2P application so it shouldn't have this kind of problem.

OmniAtlas
post Sep 23 2007, 01:29 AM

946 posts

I'd like to know how apple would like to negotiate with the hundreds of telco companies around the world. Its no easy undertaking, esp. when the iphone has special needs, e.g. visual voicemail.

IMHO, apple is shooting themselves in the foot if they don't open their phone soon. They have the hottest gadget in the market -- keeping it binded with the telco companies will result in massive loss of sales.

As for now, they have to play it nice with the hackers & the telco companies, we'll see who eventually wins, but my bet is on the hackers smile.gif
OmniAtlas
post Sep 23 2007, 04:29 PM

946 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Sep 23 2007, 03:04 PM)
Forget about the online contact form. You can't even filled it up nicely as there's no Apple & no iPhone listed. Even if you did emailed, all you get its sales rep telling you there's no support because it's not official in Malaysia, blah blah blah.

Just hold on for few more days, I should get update from insider.
I would e-mail them just to let them know how many users are frustrated!

Hopefully, the more people write in to complain, the faster the problem will be fixed.

This post has been edited by OmniAtlas: Sep 23 2007, 04:32 PM
OmniAtlas
post Sep 23 2007, 05:39 PM

946 posts

You guys are making me jealous!

Have you tried out the 3rd party fake gps system yet that works out your coordinates through your internet connection/wi-fi/cell-tower?

OmniAtlas
post Sep 24 2007, 04:01 PM

946 posts

QUOTE(tarpaucase @ Sep 24 2007, 11:58 AM)
Good lord.. can everyone who come over here read a few post back before posting excessively-frequently-asked-questions like..

can maxis work (call in cannot work..gawd! for the 12783278913th biliionth gazillionth times!)
e-mail maxis and complain, i threatened that I would leave their network if they didn't fix the problem, no response so far, lol.
OmniAtlas
post Sep 24 2007, 10:23 PM

946 posts

QUOTE(zekrycortez @ Sep 24 2007, 04:06 PM)
OmniAtlas, if u leave the network also, there millions other users out there, unless all the phone in malaysia is iphone then maybe its possible for them to take action asap and reducing customers to run to other network. haha!
Anyone wanna start an online petition? 8)

OmniAtlas
post Sep 25 2007, 01:06 AM

946 posts

QUOTE(trixx316 @ Sep 25 2007, 12:29 AM)

unlocking service?? pm me..
trixx: goto http://www.hacktheiphone.com/ (apparently its down now, try again later), it has a great step-by-step guide.
OmniAtlas
post Sep 25 2007, 03:43 PM

946 posts

Perhaps the new firmware will fix the problem, or has it already been said that its not a firmware problem but a NETWORK problem?

Added on September 25, 2007, 3:47 pmUh Oh:

---

Apple has issued a statement today that programs available for the iPhone to SIM unlock it could cause "irreparable damage" to the device.
Apple has discovered that many of the unauthorized iPhone unlocking programs available on the Internet cause irreparable damage to the iPhone's software, which will likely result in the modified iPhone becoming permanently inoperable when a future Apple-supplied iPhone software update is installed.

Apple plans to release the next iPhone software update later this week which will include the iTunes Wi-Fi Music Store.

It appears the statement only refers to SIM Unlocking your iPhone to allow it to use networks outside of AT&T. It would appear that 3rd party hacks (Ringtones, Applications) would not cause the same problems.

One forum user indicates it is possible to reverse the SIM Unlock by reflashing the firmware but must be done manually at this time.

This post has been edited by OmniAtlas: Sep 25 2007, 03:47 PM
OmniAtlas
post Sep 25 2007, 08:15 PM

946 posts

Clarification from apple:

Apple's Phil Schiller was quoted by an Associated Press article about today's announcement that SIM Unlocked iPhones may become permanently disabled by upcoming iPhone updates.

Schiller clarifies that this is not an intentional move to disable unlocked iPhones:
''This has nothing to do with proactively disabling a phone that is unlocked or hacked,'' Phil Schiller, Apple's senior vice president of worldwide product marketing, said in an interview. ''It's unfortunate that some of these programs have caused damage to the iPhone software, but Apple cannot be responsible for ... those consequences.''

To clarify, this appears to affect iPhones that have been specifically SIM Unlocked to use other carrier SIM cards besides AT&T. iPhones otherwise "hacked" to install 3rd party applications are unlikely to be affected in the same manner.

This post has been edited by OmniAtlas: Sep 25 2007, 08:18 PM
OmniAtlas
post Sep 26 2007, 07:15 PM

946 posts

Hm, I'm going to the states soon, maybe I should buy a couple, how much will you guys be willing to spend on the phone?

OmniAtlas
post Sep 29 2007, 12:05 AM

946 posts

QUOTE(tarpaucase @ Sep 28 2007, 12:35 PM)
Say.. you know someone said earlier we should harassed the CTO?

I'm willing to give try and spam various alternatives of his mailbox..can't be that far off right? wink.gif
jon.hoffman@maxis.com.my
jon-hoffman@maxis.com.my
hoffman-jon@maxis.com.my
hoffman.jon@maxis.com.my..
etc etc..

You get my meaning.. heh.

If he doesn't fix it.. well.. we could always help him subscribe to a couple of issues of <removed> or Spam-dailies.. whistling.gif
Well, I've e-mailed all of them telling him of our problem. Here we are waiting for...no response!

Added on September 29, 2007, 12:06 amAll bounced mail!

This post has been edited by OmniAtlas: Sep 29 2007, 12:06 AM
OmniAtlas
post Sep 29 2007, 09:15 PM

946 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Sep 29 2007, 03:26 PM)
At this point, no.
You could probably look up US markets, its just a plug-in, if i stand correctly its like an applet dash-board for the mac and accesses information via the internet.

Added on September 29, 2007, 9:22 pm
QUOTE(wei @ Sep 29 2007, 10:34 AM)
Guys, just a note to you all, all the iPhone shipping from Apple from yesterday onwards are all firmware 1.1.1, meaning they can't be unlock at the moment.
can you 'downgrade' the kernal/firmware to 1.0.0.2?

I won't be getting my phone until next month and I'm afraid it'll probably be version 1.1.1.

This post has been edited by OmniAtlas: Sep 29 2007, 09:22 PM
OmniAtlas
post Sep 30 2007, 12:15 AM

946 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Sep 29 2007, 10:28 PM)
maybe tat time is 1.2.1 biggrin.gif

Added on September 29, 2007, 10:54 pmWoW

look at tis site biggrin.gif

http://www.appleiphone.com.my/
what a rip. RM 2500! if i was reselling the phone RM 2000 would be my price to my customers, you still make a nice profit.
OmniAtlas
post Sep 30 2007, 12:37 AM

946 posts

Hey guys, we can start an online petition to let Maxis know that we mean serious business. If they don't fix the problem we'll have no other choice but to leave their network:

http://www.petitiononline.com/petition.html

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0202sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:30 PM