goldfries
post Apr 23 2007, 04:41 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(ac98 @ Apr 23 2007, 04:22 AM)
I posted one pic and mentioned the settings on my camera, attracted some smart-elek as well. I never look down on newbies, reason being why so many 'big camera and big lens' owners look down on newbies is that the hassle of answering their twenty questions is unbearable and seeing them fiddling with their small lil' kit lens is disgusting. If you wanna learn, you have to ask, that's a normal practice. Keep quiet and you learn nothing. Give you a big lens also you shoot nothing. I will try to help as much as I can, I also cannot answer everyone coz I dun claim to know everything.

ok. so the hassle to answer newbie questions is unbearable BUT for newbie to learn, newbie have to ask. biggrin.gif

so you have to face the unbearable!!

My tip to you all is ... spending 30% of the time shooting and 70% of the time in front of the PC tweaking your work won't make you a better photographer, it only makes more a software guru out of you at the end of the day. Learn to get it right the first time, if you dun get it then ask, and shoot, and ask, and shoot ... that's how everyone should learn and we shall learn from each other.
software is limited anyway. when pictures are bad, they're beyond touch-up already.
TSmaRx
post Apr 23 2007, 06:41 AM

241 posts

I posted one pic and mentioned the settings on my camera, attracted some smart-elek as well. I never look down on newbies, reason being why so many 'big camera and big lens' owners look down on newbies is that the hassle of answering their twenty questions is unbearable and seeing them fiddling with their small lil' kit lens is disgusting. If you wanna learn, you have to ask, that's a normal practice. Keep quiet and you learn nothing. Give you a big lens also you shoot nothing. I will try to help as much as I can, I also cannot answer everyone coz I dun claim to know everything.

My tip to you all is ... spending 30% of the time shooting and 70% of the time in front of the PC tweaking your work won't make you a better photographer, it only makes more a software guru out of you at the end of the day. Learn to get it right the first time, if you dun get it then ask, and shoot, and ask, and shoot ... that's how everyone should learn and we shall learn from each other.
thanks for posting up your pics and also the settings, but the long EXIF blink.gif haha. i think i gotta spend more time asking and also testing out my camera settings, at lease now i understand how to set it.
CompMac
post Apr 23 2007, 03:39 PM

世界見てください
1,573 posts

QUOTE(maRx @ Apr 22 2007, 09:34 PM)
firstly, thanks for your advice.. but i think i already understand all of those.

i already set my arpeture to the biggest, iso already boost up to 800.. i dun wanna go to 1600 coz the image will appear very noisy. shutter speed i cannot go low, first reason coz those models dont pose there for a long time.. and secondly, my hand aint that steady anyway..

and dont tell me not to shoot at a fashion show, coz i go there to learn.. no to shoot for some magazine or anything  rclxub.gif  , by saying that.. meaning all noobs must shoot lens cap at home? cannot go out and shoot events and learn from them?  doh.gif
Let me rephrase that on a bit more technical terms. Looking at the EXIF data of your pictures, all your pictures are taken at ISO1600 and at F29. Some more the WB is way off. Do you look at the EXIFs of your own pictures?

Next time, try to use auto WB as a start and test the lighting before the show starts. Do manual WB if needed. Don't use such high aperture values. You want to make the model as the subject and you are not taking landscapes. Try some F values like 2.8, 3.2 up to 5.6 if possible. Use a focal length of about 100mm (35mm equivalent) if you are near at a nice location or use shorter focal length. ISO should not go above 400 and shutter speed should be at least 1/100s.

If you are not that familiar, do use the P mode and fix your ISO at somewhere between 200 and 400. Let the camera set the aperture and shutter speed for you.

Please learn to walk before you run.
shinchan^^
post Apr 23 2007, 03:41 PM

K66
21,256 posts

Manual
F29
shocking.gifshocking.gifshocking.gif
nairud
post Apr 23 2007, 03:50 PM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

kit lens can go to F29?
kjin
post Apr 23 2007, 03:55 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(nairud @ Apr 23 2007, 03:50 PM)
kit lens can go to F29?
hmm.gif even if you could, why do you need f/29? hmm.. that would surely underexpose your pic right?
shinchan^^
post Apr 23 2007, 03:57 PM

K66
21,256 posts

notice the shutter,
it is 1/500

TSmaRx
post Apr 23 2007, 04:00 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Apr 23 2007, 03:41 PM)
Manual
F29
shocking.gifshocking.gifshocking.gif
i know, i know.. thats why when i was there, i was cracking my head.. why the hell is my pics so dark, when i came home.. then only i realize that the bigger the number, the smaller the arpeture..

QUOTE(nairud @ Apr 23 2007, 03:50 PM)
kit lens can go to F29?
nope, wasnt using my kit lens.. using my 55-200

QUOTE(kjin @ Apr 23 2007, 03:55 PM)
hmm.gif  even if you could, why do you need f/29? hmm.. that would surely underexpose your pic right?
yup.. it really did underexpose my pic.
nairud
post Apr 23 2007, 04:02 PM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

scotty was there with you. you could've asked him or me when we had a drink that Nautica's show
TSmaRx
post Apr 23 2007, 04:10 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(nairud @ Apr 23 2007, 04:02 PM)
scotty was there with you. you could've asked him or me when we had a drink that Nautica's show
yeah.. thinking back to yesterday, now im asking myself why i didnt open my mouth and ask.. maybe that time i thought my settings were correct and didnt bother to ask. cry.gif
goldfries
post Apr 23 2007, 04:15 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

sometimes on LCD it looks fine. wink.gif
TSmaRx
post Apr 23 2007, 04:23 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 23 2007, 04:15 PM)
sometimes on LCD it looks fine. wink.gif
i thank all of you for spotting my mistakes and trying to help me correct my mistakes.. in a way, i think it was good that i went to shoot and the fashion show and posted up my pics here.. coz if i didnt do that, i dont think anyone would realize my mistakes.. thank you all very much smile.gif
goldfries
post Apr 23 2007, 04:29 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

i had a lot of wasted shots too. after some fine tuning it worked out pretty ok but it there's always room for improvement.
ed7x2
post Apr 23 2007, 04:36 PM

50 posts

you are so quiet yesterday, i tot im the most quiet 1.
i think you must be rush to shoot, that why forgot you set your camera, like what i did last time. exposure +0.7 to shoot model , all photo burn LOLz
never mind lah, learn frm mistake , still got alot fashion to shoot
TSmaRx
post Apr 23 2007, 04:38 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(ed7x2 @ Apr 23 2007, 04:36 PM)
you are so quiet yesterday, i tot im the most quiet 1.
i think you must be rush to shoot, that why forgot you set your camera, like what i did last time. exposure +0.7 to shoot model , all photo burn LOLz
never mind lah, learn frm mistake , still got alot fashion to shoot
haha.. who are you? lanchau? ya, i learn from my mistake now.. next time can shoot better shots. i quiet coz i first time go out with you all, after awhile.. when i start opening my mouth, you might realize im quite annoying coz i talk alot.. haha tongue.gif

This post has been edited by maRx: Apr 23 2007, 04:41 PM
TSmaRx
post Apr 23 2007, 04:56 PM

241 posts

Here is one more of my shot, i know its underexposed.. but for me.. somehow the underexposure makes it quite nice. Feel free to comment, not too harsh please smile.gif

ed7x2
post Apr 23 2007, 04:58 PM

50 posts

LOLz they all spoil my name here .....
TSmaRx
post Apr 23 2007, 05:12 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(ed7x2 @ Apr 23 2007, 04:58 PM)
LOLz they all spoil my name here .....
haha.. lanchau nice name what, hahah.. go outside public also call you lanchau laugh.gif
shinchan^^
post Apr 23 2007, 05:26 PM

K66
21,256 posts

QUOTE(maRx @ Apr 23 2007, 04:56 PM)
Here is one more of my shot, i know its underexposed.. but for me.. somehow the underexposure makes it quite nice. Feel free to comment, not too harsh please  smile.gif
Doesnt work for me
goldfries
post Apr 23 2007, 05:27 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(maRx @ Apr 23 2007, 04:56 PM)
Here is one more of my shot, i know its underexposed.. but for me.. somehow the underexposure makes it quite nice. Feel free to comment, not too harsh please  smile.gif
me no likey.

10 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 >Top

0.0200sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 10:51 AM