How to maintain my new DLSR?, my new Canon 400D

TSinkle
post Jan 6 2007, 10:20 AM, updated 19y ago

178 posts

hi all,

just bought my Canon 400D last 2 weeks ago.

still clueless about how to maintain my camera, my friend told me to buy a "dry box" to prevent the lens and camera from growing fungus. so whats a "dry box"? can a normal tupperware box be use as a "dry box" for keeping my camera??

and how often do i have to clean my camera? once every 3 months?

can anyone give me a few pointers on this??

inkle.
TSinkle
post Jan 6 2007, 11:19 PM

178 posts

thanks for the fast reply, i gone and bought a tupperware and put a lot of drying agent pack into it. much cheaper than buying a "drypod". cheaper alternative tongue.gif

the UV light is definitely the best solution for Fungus, camera feels more like a living organism. cool!

the 400D is definitely a fantastic tool, but the problem is it's a bit dark when taking photo at semi-low light. like inside a house with windows open ard 4pm oledi too dark and need to use flash.

is this bcoz of lens or the camera itself? if can help by lens, then i'm planning to get a 100mm Macro lens sooner.

inkle

This post has been edited by inkle: Jan 6 2007, 11:21 PM
TSinkle
post Jan 6 2007, 11:59 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(R a D ! c 4 L @ Jan 6 2007, 11:38 PM)
set a higher ISO should solve it, but beware of increase in noise levels biggrin.gif

and the 100mm macro lens is a good lens too, faster get it then show us your photos! biggrin.gif
thats the problem, i dont want to use higher ISO because then noise level will be too high. ISO set to 800/1600, noise level is unbearable.

i wonder if there's a difference if i get a better lens, my ISO mayb can stay below 400, and i can still get a better exposure photo?

inkle.

PS: the 100mm is definitely good yah! drool.gif but quite expensive, will have to rethink hard b4 buying. after doing alot of research, this lens is almost an all in one lens. Macro/Portrait/Infinity, yet still get sharp image. Die liao!! sweat.gif

This post has been edited by inkle: Jan 7 2007, 12:02 AM
TSinkle
post Jan 7 2007, 12:57 AM

178 posts

QUOTE(R a D ! c 4 L @ Jan 7 2007, 12:21 AM)
lol. try asking the sifus here la, they should know how to solve your problems smile.gif

why not go for the Tamron SP90? It's a good macro lens too! Check out Nonblood's gallery, he's using it to shoot macro, very sharp pictures smile.gif cheaper by 1k too(if im not wrong) biggrin.gif
how to ask the sifus?? PM them??

SIFUS!!! Help!! Need some comments on the EF 100mm Macro USM Lens!! SIFUS!! cry.gif

hope they can hear me. sad.gif

anyway, today i went to the oldest running camera shop here, but i forgot to ask them wheter they have Tamron brand lens, Stupid!! doh.gif i'm from Sabah, so dont know if they sell this brand of lens at all. and u say it's RM1K cheaper!! Woh!! Good Price loh!! sweat.gif might get it, if they got sell here.

inkle.

TSinkle
post Jan 7 2007, 01:42 AM

178 posts

QUOTE(R a D ! c 4 L @ Jan 7 2007, 01:27 AM)
lol, just post more and ask more, you'll learn in time de smile.gif im no pro here, but i can give comments too, depends on what kind of style of photography that you prefer lo tongue.gif

Yeah the lens is called Tamron SP AF90mm F/2.8 (Di) Macro 1:1, it's a very good lens(to me), Im sure others will say the same too biggrin.gif

here are some samples: Click here!

Oh, do i mentioned that you can choose another way of doing macro too? With close up filters, you can do so biggrin.gif here's how!

have fun biggrin.gif
Wow Thanks for ur links!! now i have a few more sample to see, atleast i'm now even more confident in buying the lens. now i know i'll be getting the photo i want with the lens. drool.gif now harder to resist buying. Die!!

i saw ur photos profile, very good skill, one of the sifus. will need some guidance from u in the future. notworthy.gif

inkle.
TSinkle
post Jan 8 2007, 04:46 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(cjtune @ Jan 7 2007, 11:55 AM)
A lens is only very good in its usage with respect to a photographer's (read: your) style and skill set... if you cover a lot of live indoor events candidly, a fixed focal may be very inconvenient to use than a zoom that covers the same focal length range. On the other extreme, if you go wildlife watching a lot, a fast, long focal length prime lens is good.

Canon 400D high ISO unbearable? Then my Oly E330 noise must be torture but I do find it usable for action pics at low light. Hey, it's either you miss it totally or have something which may or may not be salvageable using Photoshop.

Eh, don't go putting your camera under the sun or a UV tube light. UV damages plastic and rubber.
Well, i mostly shot portrait/macro, i find DOF is very important to me, thats y looking at the 100mm. sharpness is definitely my prime concern.

hehe.. since this is my first DSLR, i have very high hope for my "precious". was expecting less noise from high ISO on low light scene, but still can accept lah(almost). thats y i seldom go above ISO 400.

definitely wont giv my 400D sunbath, mayb nearby window, indirect weak sunbath. hehe...

inkle.
TSinkle
post Jan 8 2007, 04:48 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jan 7 2007, 12:41 PM)
Is it? Worst than Fuji F31fd?

http://www.camerahobby.com/Digital_High_ISO.htm

You can try shooting RAW.
well, i always shoot in RAW after i first try it on my 400D, i tell u, i wont go back to JPEG anymore, the controlability with RAW is awesome when doing post processing!!

inkle.
TSinkle
post Jan 8 2007, 04:52 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(R a D ! c 4 L @ Jan 7 2007, 08:55 AM)
i think i just poisoned you ohmy.gif laugh.gif once you got the lens, apply a good close up filter on it la, then apply kenko's extension tube too biggrin.gif go beyond life size biggrin.gif

no no no, dont call me sifu -x-" but ill be happy to help out nod.gif
nolah, u didnt poison me, u just add a little bit more poison only. drool.gif been wanting to buy the lens since i test out the 60mm, u just "help" me out only. tongue.gif

wah, got extension tube some more, like that really die liao!! more poison!! sweat.gif
must tahan!!

inkle.

PS: whats a close up filter?? UV filter a?? aiyo!! more poison!! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by inkle: Jan 8 2007, 04:54 PM
TSinkle
post Jan 8 2007, 10:26 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(cjtune @ Jan 8 2007, 08:46 PM)
Close-up filters are basically magnifying glasses. They permit normal lenses to go closer to the subject to take macro shots but at the price of more image distortion at the edges. Best way to take macro is still a proper macro lens + extension tube (or bellows). The reversed lens technique is also powerful and easy to start with (just need to make or buy a reversing adapter ring) but very cumbersome.
Extension tube? guess i'll do some more research on it. reverse lens technique, u mean reverse the lens, so the inside facing the outside, and the outside lock into the body? i better go research. blink.gif

inkle.

TSinkle
post Jan 9 2007, 07:06 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(d_scientist @ Jan 9 2007, 03:35 AM)
yeah yeah... i also looking for silica gel..... anyone knows where i can find any in penang???
u know where i found those silica gel? in a shop selling plastic bags and price tag. u should go look for this kind of shop, they should have it.

inkle.
TSinkle
post Jan 15 2007, 04:33 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(jrhew @ Jan 14 2007, 07:04 PM)
hmm, must it be silica gel? i gave up looking for silica gel to put in my box which safe keep my camera and lens.
i resorted to "Thirsty Hippo" instead. biggrin.gif easier to find. so far no problems.
where to buy "thirsty hippo"?? do they sell it every where in camera shop??
TSinkle
post Jan 15 2007, 11:56 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(VincC454 @ Jan 15 2007, 04:59 PM)
no no..
i suspose to have a silica gel already

i just asking what kind of shop does he mean only..
actually not that hard to find silica gel wo
it's a shop mostly selling those price tag in rolls one, where u put into a 'stapler' & just tag it on the product, besides that, the shop also sell all sizes/color of plastic bags, & some bakery items like cup cake mold & etc...

the closer term of describing this shop should be "plastic rubber shop' sweat.gif

bcoz here in kk, hard to find selica gel, if u get from camera shop, for sure they sell expensive, & it might be the same thing u get from the 'rubber shop'. hope this helps, if u still need more description, i can go take a picture of the shop.

inkle.
TSinkle
post Jan 26 2007, 11:44 AM

178 posts

QUOTE(porkchop @ Jan 26 2007, 12:26 AM)
yea they collect water at the bottom of the container.....i also have mine, no sipping no problems...maybe yours got cockroach bite a hole at the bottom??

edit:

just wanna know, normal PnS camera do not easily have fungus, what makes it so special that dslr can catch fungus la? Nowaways , kindaa lazy to maintain my dslr already, just treating it like a pns camera...but stupid thought of fungus making me stress........anyway daily activity, sometime bring out without bag, jsut carry around, then bcome home just leave on table...air-con room..then in day time the room no aircon, kinda hot....but camera lieing inopen..duno how easy i can get fungus le?
u staying in KL?? i know the air there is dryer, i not that easy lah. if like me u r staying at Kota Kinabalu, where we r located beside the see, the humidity here very ganas one. if the camera not take out for sun bath in 1.5 month, for sure kena fungus liao.

thats y i put 10+ selica gel pack in my camera bag.

inkle.

0.0191sec    0.78    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 09:35 AM