How to maintain my new DLSR?, my new Canon 400D

TSinkle
post Jan 6 2007, 10:20 AM, updated 19y ago

178 posts

hi all,

just bought my Canon 400D last 2 weeks ago.

still clueless about how to maintain my camera, my friend told me to buy a "dry box" to prevent the lens and camera from growing fungus. so whats a "dry box"? can a normal tupperware box be use as a "dry box" for keeping my camera??

and how often do i have to clean my camera? once every 3 months?

can anyone give me a few pointers on this??

inkle.
wkcheang
post Jan 6 2007, 10:28 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(inkle @ Jan 6 2007, 10:20 AM)
hi all,

just bought my Canon 400D last 2 weeks ago.

still clueless about how to maintain my camera, my friend told me to buy a "dry box" to prevent the lens and camera from growing fungus. so whats a "dry box"? can a normal tupperware box be use as a "dry box" for keeping my camera??

and how often do i have  to clean my camera? once every 3 months?

can anyone give me a few pointers on this??

inkle.
A dry box is a humidity controlled container. The low cost solution is an air tight container with silica gel acting as a desiccant. The more elegant but costly solution is a electrically powered dry cabinet which actively reduces humidity.

As for lens care, storage in a dry box is useful when it is subject to long periods of storage. Lenses which are used often (weekly or so) usually wont be affected by fungus as exposure to UV from the sun kills or inhibits the growth.

Basically, don't keep your camera and lenses in a dark damp place for extended periods of time. Take it out and make good photos, the 400D is a fantastic tool.
shinchan^^
post Jan 6 2007, 10:30 AM

K66
21,256 posts

if u got bring ur camera go 'action' always
no need drypod la
TSinkle
post Jan 6 2007, 11:19 PM

178 posts

thanks for the fast reply, i gone and bought a tupperware and put a lot of drying agent pack into it. much cheaper than buying a "drypod". cheaper alternative tongue.gif

the UV light is definitely the best solution for Fungus, camera feels more like a living organism. cool!

the 400D is definitely a fantastic tool, but the problem is it's a bit dark when taking photo at semi-low light. like inside a house with windows open ard 4pm oledi too dark and need to use flash.

is this bcoz of lens or the camera itself? if can help by lens, then i'm planning to get a 100mm Macro lens sooner.

inkle

This post has been edited by inkle: Jan 6 2007, 11:21 PM
R a D ! c 4 L
post Jan 6 2007, 11:38 PM

Linc | Nox
4,744 posts

QUOTE(inkle @ Jan 6 2007, 11:19 PM)
thanks for the fast reply, i gone and bought a tupperware and put a lot of drying agent pack into it. much cheaper than buying a "drypod". cheaper alternative tongue.gif

the UV light is definitely the best solution for Fungus, camera feels more like a living organism. cool!

the 400D is definitely a fantastic tool, but the problem is it's a bit dark when taking photo at semi-low light. like inside a house with windows open ard 4pm oledi too dark and need to use flash.

is this bcoz of lens or the camera itself? if can help by lens, then i'm planning to get a 100mm Macro lens sooner.

inkle
set a higher ISO should solve it, but beware of increase in noise levels biggrin.gif

and the 100mm macro lens is a good lens too, faster get it then show us your photos! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by R a D ! c 4 L: Jan 6 2007, 11:38 PM
TSinkle
post Jan 6 2007, 11:59 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(R a D ! c 4 L @ Jan 6 2007, 11:38 PM)
set a higher ISO should solve it, but beware of increase in noise levels biggrin.gif

and the 100mm macro lens is a good lens too, faster get it then show us your photos! biggrin.gif
thats the problem, i dont want to use higher ISO because then noise level will be too high. ISO set to 800/1600, noise level is unbearable.

i wonder if there's a difference if i get a better lens, my ISO mayb can stay below 400, and i can still get a better exposure photo?

inkle.

PS: the 100mm is definitely good yah! drool.gif but quite expensive, will have to rethink hard b4 buying. after doing alot of research, this lens is almost an all in one lens. Macro/Portrait/Infinity, yet still get sharp image. Die liao!! sweat.gif

This post has been edited by inkle: Jan 7 2007, 12:02 AM
kitman
post Jan 7 2007, 12:08 AM

2,691 posts

this is what i do ......

get an air tight container with silica gel (<10 per pack) and put your camera in it when not using
get clear filter to protect lens - keep lens cover on at all times when not taking pics
learn how to hold the camera properly - ie strap must always be on you neck
get a nice quality camera bag like lowepro/tamrac ...... it's worth it. no point trying to save $ by getting budget caplang bag and then find you want to upgrade becos not good enough
make sure you put a plastic bag (enough to wrap the bag) in your camera bag - this is incase rain and you got no shelter
buy a cleaning set (for me a brush and blower good enough) and lens cloth
be smart when taking picture - avoid water droplets on camera, becareful of sand at beach
minimise changing lens especially in open area - this is to avoid getting dust onto the sensor
buy magazine like digital camera malaysia - cheap and very informative

lastly - pls be careful when using dslr to take pics of sunset/sunrise DO NOT look at the sun directly from the view finder as it will injure your eye. the view finder is looking at a mirror directly through the lens.

This post has been edited by kitman: Jan 7 2007, 12:10 AM
R a D ! c 4 L
post Jan 7 2007, 12:21 AM

Linc | Nox
4,744 posts

QUOTE(inkle @ Jan 6 2007, 11:59 PM)
thats the problem, i dont want to use higher ISO because then noise level will be too high. ISO set to 800/1600, noise level is unbearable.

i wonder if there's a difference if i get a better lens, my ISO mayb can stay below 400, and i can still get a better exposure photo?

inkle.

PS: the 100mm is definitely good yah!  drool.gif  but quite expensive, will have to rethink hard b4 buying. after doing alot of research, this lens is almost an all in one lens. Macro/Portrait/Infinity, yet still get sharp image. Die liao!!  sweat.gif
lol. try asking the sifus here la, they should know how to solve your problems smile.gif

why not go for the Tamron SP90? It's a good macro lens too! Check out Nonblood's gallery, he's using it to shoot macro, very sharp pictures smile.gif cheaper by 1k too(if im not wrong) biggrin.gif
TSinkle
post Jan 7 2007, 12:57 AM

178 posts

QUOTE(R a D ! c 4 L @ Jan 7 2007, 12:21 AM)
lol. try asking the sifus here la, they should know how to solve your problems smile.gif

why not go for the Tamron SP90? It's a good macro lens too! Check out Nonblood's gallery, he's using it to shoot macro, very sharp pictures smile.gif cheaper by 1k too(if im not wrong) biggrin.gif
how to ask the sifus?? PM them??

SIFUS!!! Help!! Need some comments on the EF 100mm Macro USM Lens!! SIFUS!! cry.gif

hope they can hear me. sad.gif

anyway, today i went to the oldest running camera shop here, but i forgot to ask them wheter they have Tamron brand lens, Stupid!! doh.gif i'm from Sabah, so dont know if they sell this brand of lens at all. and u say it's RM1K cheaper!! Woh!! Good Price loh!! sweat.gif might get it, if they got sell here.

inkle.

R a D ! c 4 L
post Jan 7 2007, 01:27 AM

Linc | Nox
4,744 posts

QUOTE(inkle @ Jan 7 2007, 12:57 AM)
how to ask the sifus?? PM them??

SIFUS!!! Help!! Need some comments on the EF 100mm Macro USM Lens!! SIFUS!!  cry.gif

hope they can hear me.  sad.gif

anyway, today i went to the oldest running camera shop here, but i forgot to ask them wheter they have Tamron brand lens, Stupid!!  doh.gif i'm from Sabah, so dont know if they sell this brand of lens at all. and u say it's RM1K cheaper!! Woh!! Good Price loh!! sweat.gif  might get it, if they got sell here.

inkle.
lol, just post more and ask more, you'll learn in time de smile.gif im no pro here, but i can give comments too, depends on what kind of style of photography that you prefer lo tongue.gif

Yeah the lens is called Tamron SP AF90mm F/2.8 (Di) Macro 1:1, it's a very good lens(to me), Im sure others will say the same too biggrin.gif

here are some samples: Click here!

Oh, do i mentioned that you can choose another way of doing macro too? With close up filters, you can do so biggrin.gif here's how!

have fun biggrin.gif

TSinkle
post Jan 7 2007, 01:42 AM

178 posts

QUOTE(R a D ! c 4 L @ Jan 7 2007, 01:27 AM)
lol, just post more and ask more, you'll learn in time de smile.gif im no pro here, but i can give comments too, depends on what kind of style of photography that you prefer lo tongue.gif

Yeah the lens is called Tamron SP AF90mm F/2.8 (Di) Macro 1:1, it's a very good lens(to me), Im sure others will say the same too biggrin.gif

here are some samples: Click here!

Oh, do i mentioned that you can choose another way of doing macro too? With close up filters, you can do so biggrin.gif here's how!

have fun biggrin.gif
Wow Thanks for ur links!! now i have a few more sample to see, atleast i'm now even more confident in buying the lens. now i know i'll be getting the photo i want with the lens. drool.gif now harder to resist buying. Die!!

i saw ur photos profile, very good skill, one of the sifus. will need some guidance from u in the future. notworthy.gif

inkle.
R a D ! c 4 L
post Jan 7 2007, 08:55 AM

Linc | Nox
4,744 posts

QUOTE(inkle @ Jan 7 2007, 01:42 AM)
Wow Thanks for ur links!! now i have a few more sample to see, atleast i'm now even more confident in buying the lens. now i know i'll be getting the photo i want with the lens.  drool.gif now harder to resist buying. Die!!

i saw ur photos profile, very good skill, one of the sifus. will need some guidance from u in the future.  notworthy.gif

inkle.
i think i just poisoned you ohmy.gif laugh.gif once you got the lens, apply a good close up filter on it la, then apply kenko's extension tube too biggrin.gif go beyond life size biggrin.gif

no no no, dont call me sifu -x-" but ill be happy to help out nod.gif
cjtune
post Jan 7 2007, 11:55 AM

Melancholic frog
3,544 posts

A lens is only very good in its usage with respect to a photographer's (read: your) style and skill set... if you cover a lot of live indoor events candidly, a fixed focal may be very inconvenient to use than a zoom that covers the same focal length range. On the other extreme, if you go wildlife watching a lot, a fast, long focal length prime lens is good.

Canon 400D high ISO unbearable? Then my Oly E330 noise must be torture but I do find it usable for action pics at low light. Hey, it's either you miss it totally or have something which may or may not be salvageable using Photoshop.

Eh, don't go putting your camera under the sun or a UV tube light. UV damages plastic and rubber.
SUSgogo2
post Jan 7 2007, 12:41 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(inkle @ Jan 6 2007, 11:59 PM)
Is it? Worst than Fuji F31fd?

http://www.camerahobby.com/Digital_High_ISO.htm

You can try shooting RAW.

This post has been edited by gogo2: Jan 7 2007, 12:45 PM
cjtune
post Jan 7 2007, 12:51 PM

Melancholic frog
3,544 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jan 7 2007, 12:41 PM)

It's not a RAW vs JPEG issue when it comes to noise. JPEG might even make the noise look better due to its lossy compression method!

TSinkle
post Jan 8 2007, 04:46 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(cjtune @ Jan 7 2007, 11:55 AM)
A lens is only very good in its usage with respect to a photographer's (read: your) style and skill set... if you cover a lot of live indoor events candidly, a fixed focal may be very inconvenient to use than a zoom that covers the same focal length range. On the other extreme, if you go wildlife watching a lot, a fast, long focal length prime lens is good.

Canon 400D high ISO unbearable? Then my Oly E330 noise must be torture but I do find it usable for action pics at low light. Hey, it's either you miss it totally or have something which may or may not be salvageable using Photoshop.

Eh, don't go putting your camera under the sun or a UV tube light. UV damages plastic and rubber.
Well, i mostly shot portrait/macro, i find DOF is very important to me, thats y looking at the 100mm. sharpness is definitely my prime concern.

hehe.. since this is my first DSLR, i have very high hope for my "precious". was expecting less noise from high ISO on low light scene, but still can accept lah(almost). thats y i seldom go above ISO 400.

definitely wont giv my 400D sunbath, mayb nearby window, indirect weak sunbath. hehe...

inkle.
TSinkle
post Jan 8 2007, 04:48 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jan 7 2007, 12:41 PM)

well, i always shoot in RAW after i first try it on my 400D, i tell u, i wont go back to JPEG anymore, the controlability with RAW is awesome when doing post processing!!

inkle.
TSinkle
post Jan 8 2007, 04:52 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(R a D ! c 4 L @ Jan 7 2007, 08:55 AM)
i think i just poisoned you ohmy.gif laugh.gif once you got the lens, apply a good close up filter on it la, then apply kenko's extension tube too biggrin.gif go beyond life size biggrin.gif

no no no, dont call me sifu -x-" but ill be happy to help out nod.gif
nolah, u didnt poison me, u just add a little bit more poison only. drool.gif been wanting to buy the lens since i test out the 60mm, u just "help" me out only. tongue.gif

wah, got extension tube some more, like that really die liao!! more poison!! sweat.gif
must tahan!!

inkle.

PS: whats a close up filter?? UV filter a?? aiyo!! more poison!! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by inkle: Jan 8 2007, 04:54 PM
cjtune
post Jan 8 2007, 08:42 PM

Melancholic frog
3,544 posts

QUOTE(inkle @ Jan 8 2007, 04:48 PM)
well, i always shoot in RAW after i first try it on my 400D, i tell u, i wont go back to JPEG anymore, the controlability with RAW is awesome when doing post processing!!

inkle.
Depends on whether you actually have time to develop all of your RAWs and your RAW developer: do you have the 'standard' RAW reader that came with your DSLR kit or the 'pro' or 3rd-party version that you have to pay extra for?

Some pro photogs, especially those who cover events and weddings, just shoot in JPEG because there is no time for them to do all the post-processing that RAW permits before the deadline for submitting their shots to the customer.

cjtune
post Jan 8 2007, 08:46 PM

Melancholic frog
3,544 posts

QUOTE(inkle @ Jan 8 2007, 04:52 PM)
nolah, u didnt poison me, u just add a little bit more poison only.  drool.gif  been wanting to buy the lens since i test out the 60mm, u just "help" me out only.  tongue.gif

wah, got extension tube some more, like that really die liao!! more poison!!  sweat.gif
must tahan!!

inkle.

PS: whats a close up filter?? UV filter a?? aiyo!! more poison!!  thumbup.gif
Close-up filters are basically magnifying glasses. They permit normal lenses to go closer to the subject to take macro shots but at the price of more image distortion at the edges. Best way to take macro is still a proper macro lens + extension tube (or bellows). The reversed lens technique is also powerful and easy to start with (just need to make or buy a reversing adapter ring) but very cumbersome.

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0206sec    1.21    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 07:20 PM