51 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

New Apple MacBook 12-inch 2016 User Thread, Skylake processor and rose gold option

tishaban
post May 30 2016, 08:57 AM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(stevenlee @ May 29 2016, 09:02 PM)
Giving the budget you hv .. Which will you consider between MacBook 2016 and MacBook Pro?
I getting MacBook as my daily usage as well as my only pc at house ... For work , I already hv pc from Dell.. Thus I looking for portability as well as able to do light gaming like Dota 2 and csgo ..
Would you guy think MacBook 2016 good buy ??
I bought the MacBook 2016 (1.2ghz/512GB version) a few weeks ago and am very happy. Bought some extra USB Type C to Type A cables and the Sandisk Ultra dual drive on Amazon and have not looked back. I briefly considered the MacBook Pro but portability, physical size and weight was far more important to me. I don't play dota or csgo, but have tried Civ V on it at HiDPI and it works great.

The only minus to the new MacBook is that the battery doesn't last as long as the MBA 13 but I'm willing to give up some for the portability. No issues with performance at all so far although I don't do anything super intensive.

blstz
post May 30 2016, 03:04 PM

832 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ May 30 2016, 08:57 AM)
I bought the MacBook 2016 (1.2ghz/512GB version) a few weeks ago and am very happy. Bought some extra USB Type C to Type A cables and the Sandisk Ultra dual drive on Amazon and have not looked back. I briefly considered the MacBook Pro but portability, physical size and weight was far more important to me. I don't play dota or csgo, but have tried Civ V on it at HiDPI and it works great.

The only minus to the new MacBook is that the battery doesn't last as long as the MBA 13 but I'm willing to give up some for the portability. No issues with performance at all so far although I don't do anything super intensive.
did u get your USB-C to USB-A adapters from Apple?
TSwestlife
post May 30 2016, 06:17 PM

14,323 posts

QUOTE(stevenlee @ May 30 2016, 12:23 AM)
I know the MacBook 13 is coming up but the pricing is even expensive than 12".. They probably plan to remove MBA line
Where is your source of info that MacBook pro will be more ex. MacBook pro priced the same as 12-inch MacBook. 256Gb rMBP and 256 rMB are same price.

Likely that for 2016 rMBP will price the same.
tishaban
post May 30 2016, 06:22 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(blstz @ May 30 2016, 03:04 PM)
did u get your USB-C to USB-A adapters from Apple?
I stated that it's from Amazon, to be absolutely clear I bought one Spigen and one Axxbiz type C to type A cables, from Amazon shipped to Malaysia. Both working great.

This post has been edited by tishaban: May 30 2016, 06:30 PM
funnyface
post May 30 2016, 06:38 PM

696 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ May 30 2016, 06:22 PM)
I stated that it's from Amazon, to be absolutely clear I bought one Spigen and one Axxbiz type C to type A cables, from Amazon shipped to Malaysia. Both working great.
Beware:
knn Fedex

Avoid Fedex at all cost
tishaban
post May 30 2016, 07:29 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(funnyface @ May 30 2016, 06:38 PM)
Beware:
knn Fedex

Avoid Fedex at all cost
Thanks for the heads up. So far my multiple shipments from Amazon in the US has not included Fedex (yet) thankfully. I did notice the same RM485 shipping charges for Aramex when they sent my previous package though...

blstz
post May 31 2016, 02:02 PM

832 posts

QUOTE(funnyface @ May 30 2016, 06:38 PM)
Beware:
knn Fedex

Avoid Fedex at all cost
so far DHL no such nonsense yet. but their service fee for duty/tax declaration is RM53 instead of the RM5 charged by Fedex.

but in the Kastam letter, it says that this minimum shipping value applies to all courier service...not sure whether DHL will be affected or not.
TSwestlife
post May 31 2016, 07:56 PM

14,323 posts

13-inch MacBook coming up. Which makes a better choice I guess.
funnyface
post May 31 2016, 08:08 PM

696 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ May 31 2016, 07:56 PM)
13-inch MacBook coming up. Which makes a better choice I guess.
nothing is certain, until it is launch biggrin.gif
Decky
post Jun 1 2016, 06:51 AM

1,190 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ May 30 2016, 06:17 PM)
Where is your source of info that MacBook pro will be more ex. MacBook pro priced the same as 12-inch MacBook. 256Gb rMBP and 256 rMB are same price.

Likely that for 2016 rMBP will price the same.
Actually, the current 2015 rMBP is the same price as the 2016 12inch macbook BUT the rMBP model is the 128GB model while the 12' MB is a 256GB model.

Planning to get the 2016 MB, how's the performance for you guys? I'm currently using a Surface Book but really really think MacOs is superior for my academic needs, was thinking of upgrading to the 15 inch retina with graphics card but I cannot justify the size and the price of that beast. I note that I can actually afford a separate gaming rig and a macbook for work needs.

How does it hold up for web browsing (multiple tabs open) and MS Office? I'll generally be using it for heavy word processing and reading journal articles from PDF. Need to be able to swap in between these apps quickly.
vostro78
post Jun 1 2016, 06:58 AM

6,804 posts

QUOTE(Decky @ Jun 1 2016, 06:51 AM)
Actually, the current 2015 rMBP is the same price as the 2016 12inch macbook BUT the rMBP model is the 128GB model while the 12' MB is a 256GB model.

Planning to get the 2016 MB, how's the performance for you guys? I'm currently using a Surface Book but really really think MacOs is superior for my academic needs, was thinking of upgrading to the 15 inch retina with graphics card but I cannot justify the size and the price of that beast. I note that I can actually afford a separate gaming rig and a macbook for work needs.
How does it hold up for web browsing (multiple tabs open) and MS Office? I'll generally be using it for heavy word processing and reading journal articles from PDF. Need to be able to swap in between these apps quickly.
I am using office 365 on my MacBook 2015. So far no problem.

But I think if u want multiple tabs open and can swap easily like Windows below the bar.... I personally think Windows still lead here. For Mac I need to press F3 to switch between apps.

By the way, I am new in Mac world. Everyday is a learning and exploring for me. Shi fu here mayb got other idea.

Decky
post Jun 1 2016, 07:27 AM

1,190 posts

QUOTE(vostro78 @ Jun 1 2016, 06:58 AM)
I am using office 365 on my MacBook 2015. So far no problem.

But I think if u want multiple tabs open and can swap easily like Windows below the bar.... I personally think Windows still lead here. For Mac I need to press F3 to switch between apps.

By the way, I am new in Mac world. Everyday is a learning and exploring for me. Shi fu here mayb got other idea.
I used to own a MBA in 2013, so I think you can swap between tasks using touchpad gestures?

Everyone complained about the keyboard, but when I tried it out when my iPhone was being serviced at a genius bar, I got to play with the rMBP and the MB and realized that I actually prefer the MB typing experience because it is faster haha
TSwestlife
post Jun 1 2016, 08:42 AM

14,323 posts

QUOTE(Decky @ Jun 1 2016, 07:27 AM)
I used to own a MBA in 2013, so I think you can swap between tasks using touchpad gestures?

Everyone complained about the keyboard, but when I tried it out when my iPhone was being serviced at a genius bar, I got to play with the rMBP and the MB and realized that I actually prefer the MB typing experience because it is faster haha
A lot of ppl complaint about the rMB keyboard mostly due to the fact that either they totally never use it before commenting and just purely base on other's saying or picture. Or a lot of them do not really own one to use the keyboard long enough to comment. The keyboard is definitely not bad. Fast keyboard to use.
TSwestlife
post Jun 1 2016, 08:44 AM

14,323 posts

QUOTE(funnyface @ May 31 2016, 08:08 PM)
nothing is certain, until it is launch  biggrin.gif
Less than two weeks time wait. It is worthy to hold on any purchase now for it at least.
TSwestlife
post Jun 1 2016, 08:49 AM

14,323 posts

QUOTE(Decky @ Jun 1 2016, 06:51 AM)

In US the 256 rMB and 128gb rMBP are priced the same. Just in sg or Malaysia the price varies. 512Gb rMB and 512gb rMBP are similar price in sg.

Only Malaysia MacBook certain models even after conversion is a lot more ex than sg.

This post has been edited by westlife: Jun 1 2016, 08:52 AM
Decky
post Jun 1 2016, 09:04 AM

1,190 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jun 1 2016, 08:49 AM)
In US the 256 rMB and 128gb rMBP are priced the same. Just in sg or Malaysia the price varies. 512Gb rMB and 512gb rMBP are similar price in sg.

Only Malaysia MacBook certain models even after conversion is a lot more ex than sg.
given current values or what ah? I'm going down to SG on my summer break and my money is mainly in british pounds. If Britain doesn't leave the EU, I think I hope I can save on the MB!

But must wait after WWDC, I'm speculating that Apple will launch the new rMBP to be as thin as the MBA given skylake chips. If that happens, Idm getting it if it's fairly priced! Though I must say that the keyboard on the MB still special
TSwestlife
post Jun 1 2016, 09:22 AM

14,323 posts

QUOTE(Decky @ Jun 1 2016, 09:04 AM)
given current values or what ah? I'm going down to SG on my summer break and my money is mainly in british pounds. If Britain doesn't leave the EU, I think I hope I can save on the MB!

But must wait after WWDC, I'm speculating that Apple will launch the new rMBP to be as thin as the MBA given skylake chips. If that happens, Idm getting it if it's fairly priced! Though I must say that the keyboard on the MB still special
Check out apple website.

Speculation said that retina MacBook pro will adopt the same butterfly mechanism keyboard as retina MacBook. It will not be something that is unique to the retina MacBook.
Casey Joo
post Jun 1 2016, 09:58 AM

332 posts

QUOTE(vostro78 @ Jun 1 2016, 06:58 AM)
Been a long long time windows user, and switched to mac for 5 years now.

If you're familiar with Windows, switching apps can be done with alt+tab, or Windows+tab.

In Mac, command+tab works exactly the same as alt+tab in windows, and you don't even need to have your right hand leaving the touch pad to press f3, swipe up with 3 fingers you can see all apps.

There's also a function you can enable in touchpad, swipe down with 3 fingers you can see all tabs within the same app. Let's say you have many Finder window opened along other apps and want to see only all the Finder tabs, swipe down with 3 fingers.

The touchpad gesture is what makes me a convert, haven't experience anything like that in Windows environment.

The work flow is much better than windows since I switched which was around windows 7 time. Now I dunno if windows improved, but Windows 10 on my dad's desktop sure looked complicated...

This post has been edited by Casey Joo: Jun 1 2016, 09:59 AM
vostro78
post Jun 1 2016, 04:54 PM

6,804 posts

QUOTE(Casey Joo @ Jun 1 2016, 09:58 AM)
Been a long long time windows user, and switched to mac for 5 years now.

If you're familiar with Windows, switching apps can be done with alt+tab, or Windows+tab.

In Mac, command+tab works exactly the same as alt+tab in windows, and you don't even need to have your right hand leaving the touch pad to press f3, swipe up with 3 fingers you can see all apps.

There's also a function you can enable in touchpad, swipe down with 3 fingers you can see all tabs within the same app. Let's say you have many Finder window opened along other apps and want to see only all the Finder tabs, swipe down with 3 fingers.

The touchpad gesture is what makes me a convert, haven't experience anything like that in Windows environment.

The work flow is much better than windows since I switched which was around windows 7 time. Now I dunno if windows improved, but Windows 10 on my dad's desktop sure looked complicated...
oh thanks shi fu here... i lear something again today....
vostro78
post Jun 1 2016, 04:57 PM

6,804 posts

i read an article that they predict WWDC will launch the new mbp, another product will be mac pro, icloud might revise pricing & airport time capsule.

i wish icould can gv free 10gb. good enough for my 4 iOS backup.

51 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0309sec    1.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 06:44 PM