QUOTE(trencher10 @ Jan 12 2019, 05:38 PM)
Aiyoyo.
Why lah all these routine blood test results not explained clearly by the doctors who ordered them for their patients. And then nonchalantly advise 'scanning', whatever that means.
Typical.
In the event of what I can only
ASSUME to be an asymptomatic patient history with an
ASSUMED no KNOWN family history of related conditions to a sustained bilirubinaemia or other conditions affecting/presenting in the liver function tests,
an ASSUMED FIRST TIME result of 23.9v umol/L is hardly "high".
And yeah, the cholesterol level is not high, its actually borderline high.
In terms of 'scanning', the most likely that was recommended is an abdominal ultrasound scan, and generally they'll be looking at the bile duct, and looking for gallstones in the gallbladder. Which even if found, depending on number and size and general gastroenterologist judgement (how many is too many, how big is too big from an ultrasound image no less), only notification and observation (and patient-learning) is most preferred in the context of an asymptomatic patient.
Maybe is my bad for not asking clearly what type of scanning is. He got issue a referral letter but just tick the area need to be scan.
If trace back my medical checkup report, it is increasing across the years.
2014: 0.9 mg/dl or 15.5v umol/L
2016: 1.1 mg/dl or 18.8v umol/L
2018: 1.4 mg/dl or 23.9v umol/L
abdominal ultrasound scan would be sufficient and less intrusive i think. If I do it in government hospital, do I need to queque very long? I should refer to gastroenterology specialist?
QUOTE(slimey @ Jan 12 2019, 10:01 PM)
I won’t bother with such a blood test result.
Hmm, perhaps I give it a check when free.
QUOTE(powerlinkers @ Jan 12 2019, 10:15 PM)
consult an internist: medical specialist.
Through history need to be taken to conclude a diagnosis.
I would suggest for you to consult a private internist(should cost RM 50-250/consultation): if you have money. Once you have a working diagnosis: they could refer you to government hospital for further management(i.e. surgery is indicated).
If you have fever and abdominal pain at any point: go to Emergency Department directly.
Hmm, what should be the division name? gastroenterology specialist?
This post has been edited by Holyjolly: Feb 23 2019, 03:57 PM