Games [Definitive] Gears of War v2, 3 million-units-sold!!!

stringfellow
post Jan 27 2007, 04:47 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Not meaning to avoid inviting any of the pros into a noob match, but we noobs are scared that the pros would come into the match and starts changing the pace of the game from our slow and steady pace, to the fast and ferocious like just now.

I wont name any names, but the hesitancy of the noobs inviting the pros is because the laidback and relaxed nature of the noobs games, i enjoyed being clunky and awkward and making mistakes without people screaming behind my back for missing a shot. Instead we laughed at our miserable awkwardness of shooting ourselves in the face with our own Hammer, or mistargeting the boomshot too close, and missing our enemies altogether. Sometimes, it's just a crazy round of hammerbursts and pistols only.

So i hope the pros would understand. Maybe someday, the noobs would move from being this crappy to a little bit better, already i see improvements and the noobs encouraged to improve when they see themselves registering kills among each other. I consider myself very lucky to be even able to register a kill just now with you pros, but you gotta admit, you feel "semangat" when you see yourself registering kills, even if the kill is among noobs only. A zero kill is just disheartening and brings down one's spirit to continue trying to improve , especially when the ones you're playing with are of higher calibre. Some would say that playing with pros would improve one's game greatly, but when one noob trying to keep up with all pros, he would get left behind, and as the others are having fun, he's feeling miserable and worthless. I felt that way when i was playing just now, but i played on so that people dont think im leaving because i hate you guys, it is rather i hate myself for not being any better for you guys. sad.gif

Im not asking anyone to lower the pace/skill level to accomodate a noob, that would be more degrading and insulting to the noob itself, it is just that sometimes it takes a little bit more encouraging and time vested to turn a noob into a pro. It certainly wont take a single night.
stringfellow
post Jan 27 2007, 01:37 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Commando, im in! And im sure all other boobs are in as well. Ayusmi, LordAshe, IonStorm, Shaft, malam ni kul 8, amacam?

Leenaz, you can add me in already, friends list dah trimmed.

@Ghostdevice,
If everyone play lancer+chainsaw, im sure the match will be short as well, chainsaw-fest too is a matter of luck, since who revved the saw first most probably gets the opponent. If depend on lancer bullets only, i agree the match is gonna take long.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jan 27 2007, 01:39 PM
stringfellow
post Jan 27 2007, 03:32 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Warzone or Execution, both also okay. I love the panic moments when you set the bleed time to 5 secs, and the franticness that happens when the bleeding victims starts to revive. biggrin.gif
stringfellow
post Jan 27 2007, 03:53 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Guys, you guys play ahead tonight, i most probably wont be in until late, several items are arriving for me from the States, and i have to verify and pick them up tonight. Invite any other noobs/boobs to fill in the quota, if still got spot then, if you want, then invite me in, otherwise carry on. I suggest we make this a regular outing, and once everyone is confident enough with the weapons handling, maybe we can move to shotguns gradually, but only on everyone's consentual agreement.
stringfellow
post Jan 27 2007, 10:59 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Sorry Commando47, i came in late. By the time i was in, i was tired, and i got shotgunned in the ear at point blank by own teammate, not in a battle, but while i was standing not doing anything, or was in anybody's way. That was the last straw, so thanks Effret! Enjoy your GOW, guys.

EDIT: Commando47, did the match went as planned? No shotties and everything else on?

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jan 27 2007, 11:15 PM
stringfellow
post Jan 27 2007, 11:20 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

That sounds like too much fun, and i missed it! cry.gif

Im working tomorrow, so i cant join you guys. sad.gif Going to Melbourne.
stringfellow
post Jan 27 2007, 11:52 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(Hitman190 @ Jan 27 2007, 11:24 PM)
Ohh cry.gif ..listen bro string if and when i see you online will invite you alright man??? icon_rolleyes.gif
Appreciate the thoughts, bro. Thanks. smile.gif

QUOTE(zio @ Jan 27 2007, 11:44 PM)
Heh I knew string wasnt really enjoying himself when he was so quiet tongue.gif Not to mention the fast pace game we had...

Sorry la bro, I was running so fast because I had to find Quaker before he finds me tongue.gif
Not your fault, you dont have to say sorry. I wasnt measuring up to the skill level needed for the game.

Two matches just now, thanks for the invite LordAshe. Sorry, wasnt in the state of mind to play, but i had to show up to lend some support when a fellow noob invites. Apologies to my teammate Knight111 and Ericvan360 as well, i wasnt much of a help there too, either in the spirit of things in the game, or even providing support to you guys. You guys have fun.

Ayusmi bro, aku mintak maaf banyak2. Aku tau ko nak main Coop tadi, tapi dalam keadaan aku cenggini, i dont think i would be of much help. Raincheck yea bro, skali lagi aku mintak maaf.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jan 27 2007, 11:55 PM
stringfellow
post Jan 29 2007, 01:42 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Sorry to whoever invited me, i was not having fun so might as well i contain my disinclination to have fun within myself,rather than spoil you guy's punya fun.

To Rezal, i wasnt having fun just now either, so i turned off the game. Sorry. It's no fun getting shotgun at when i dont have a way to defend against it.

stringfellow
post Jan 29 2007, 02:44 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Im glad you're happy Slayer, you played great tonight. smile.gif Winning isnt everything.

stringfellow
post Jan 29 2007, 03:10 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Im glad you think that way. smile.gif
stringfellow
post Feb 2 2007, 04:17 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(Merdeka @ Feb 2 2007, 03:29 PM)
yo bro judge-the!

wanna pencen izzit?...ha ha mana boleh..sure the GOW nicotine gonna pull u back in.. laugh.gif
OT: That's a nice sig, Merdeka bro. Jaguar Paw offering the best part of the wild boar....for reproduction purposes! laugh.gif Saw it in Melbourne at their Half-pipe session in Hoyt, no cinema in Malaysia can compare to them. Plus the fact that Apocalypto will never get past censorship without being mangled entirely.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Feb 2 2007, 04:18 PM
stringfellow
post Feb 4 2007, 01:17 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Pleasures all ours , Ayusmi bro. Plus, i think we all got PSP_Boy addicted already. One more addition to the GoW crowd. rclxms.gif
stringfellow
post Feb 9 2007, 02:06 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(Merdeka @ Feb 9 2007, 09:55 AM)
ha ha...

nice games guys last nite... biggrin.gif

Bro Rezalid, thanks for the invts. smile.gif

yo bro Seeking Peace!!! what ur lowyat nick?..
Saw an invite from you, but wthe console was set as away downloading stuff from Marketplace. Appreciate the invite, but was away watching Saw III. Thanks bro kerana masih mengingati and still inviting. smile.gif
stringfellow
post Feb 10 2007, 05:04 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Trade in your modded 360 and get a unmodded one. I support good games by buying them and giving them money that i bought for them to the ones making them. I dont give them to pirates.

Added on February 10, 2007, 7:02 pmGears Of War Dominates At AIAS Awards

Epic Games' Gears of War emerged as the evening's big winner last night at the 10th Annual Interactive Achievement Awards hosted by The Academy of Interactive Arts & Sciences (AIAS), taking eight Interactive Achievement Award statues, including Game of the Year honors.

Nintendo's Wii Sports pulled in the second most awards with three wins at the event hosted by comedian Jay Mohr at "The Joint" in the Hard Rock Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas, NV, and attended by Gamasutra representatives.

The results of the major awards for the night are as follows:

Game Of The Year Awards
Game Of The Year: Gears Of War (Epic/Microsoft)
PC Game Of The Year: Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion (Bethesda, 2K Games)
Console Game Of The Year: Gears Of War (Epic/Microsoft)
Handheld Game Of The Year: Brain Age (Nintendo)

Achievement/Innovation Awards

Innovation In Gaming: Wii Sports (Nintendo)
Achievement In Art Direction: Gears Of War (Epic/Microsoft)
Achievement In Story and Character Development: The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess (Nintendo)
Achievement In Game Design: Wii Sports (Nintendo)
Achievement In Animation: Gears Of War (Epic/Microsoft)
Achievement In Soundtrack: Guitar Hero 2 (Activision/Red Octane/Harmonix)
Achievement In Sound Design: Call of Duty 3 (Activision/Treyarch)
Achievement In Online Play: Gears Of War (Epic/Microsoft)

A full list of winners for all awards, including specific individuals honored, are available via an official press release from the AIAS.

In addition, for the first time, the AIAS honored former president of Nintendo of America, Minoru Arakawa, and chairman emeritus of Nintendo of America, Howard Lincoln with Lifetime Achievement Awards. The AIAS also inducted video game pioneer Dan Bunten (known later in life as Danielle Bunten Berry) as the tenth member of its Hall of Fame.

"Last night, we recognized the brightest and most innovative in video games in what can be considered one of the best years the video game industry has seen," said Joseph Olin, president, AIAS.
This post has been edited by stringfellow: Feb 10 2007, 07:02 PM
stringfellow
post Feb 17 2007, 01:18 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(Merdeka @ Feb 17 2007, 11:28 AM)
Hi you guy!!!...

from across the causeway...in the hall of justice laugh.gif

to my MY bros

GONG XI FA CAI!!!...XING NIAN KWAI LE!!..SELAMAT TAHUN BARU CINA thumbup.gif

Jumpa lagi di LIVE... laugh.gif
Happy CNY to you too, enjoy the hols!
stringfellow
post Feb 24 2007, 12:39 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Bro Merdeka, thanks for the nice voice message. Thanks for still remembering me as well, sorry couldnt join coop with you, im breaking-in a good friend of mine from UK into the habits of playing Gears of War on his new 360,playing co-op with him, so he needs to be convinced that he made a worthwhile purchase with his hard-earned money. Needless to say, he's helplessly hooked. tongue.gif

Thanks for being a friend, bro. smile.gif

7 Pages « < 5 6 7Top

0.0382sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:24 PM