6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Credit Cards Balance Transfer (BT) Plans V4 - Banks Offer List, Credit card debt consolidation

justanovice
post Jan 19 2017, 12:13 AM

2,526 posts

QUOTE(lilsunflower @ Jan 18 2017, 08:00 PM)
This is ultra helpful. Thanks, I'm sure many people will find this useful.

How does this work when you have retail purchases as well? Do you still pay just the minimum statement amount?
I have spoken to HSBC CS on their BT. The CS told me to avoid using this card when there is BT as all retail transactions using this card will NOT have the 20 days interest free period. In other words, once you do any transaction the HSBC card, it will incur interest (unless you make payment to the card immediately after performing a transaction - I believe)
So conclusion is, do not use the credit card if there is a BT on it.
justanovice
post Jan 25 2017, 05:43 PM

2,526 posts

QUOTE(celaw @ Jan 25 2017, 10:06 AM)
I had tried it follow the suggestion and hopefully can get a good news from MBB.

Thank you very much for your help. biggrin.gif
Lilsunflower has superb helpful tips.. but i lazy to do multiple orders to CS (being told each requests SLA is 8 days) so i requested a lump sum of > 15K to be transferred at 1 go.
The CS say will submit my request. Not sure will get blocked or not later.

justanovice
post Feb 3 2017, 01:14 PM

2,526 posts

QUOTE(celaw @ Feb 3 2017, 08:56 AM)
FAQ mentioned savings account. How about if u provide debit card 16digit when BT? Does it able to successfully bank in?
EDIT: I tried to instant transfer from CIMB to my Maybank CC, it will show the screen to key in TAC. When I change it to 16 digit of my Maybank Debit Card, it shown error.
Debit card is just a card for you to withdraw money from your Savings account. The number on the card is not really an account number, so it is not possible to transfer any money to a debit card because it is not even an account technically.
justanovice
post Feb 3 2017, 10:57 PM

2,526 posts

QUOTE(celaw @ Feb 3 2017, 10:51 PM)
I have an offer of 36k 12 mths 0% to BT, unfortunately, all my credit card balance is cleared and I do not have any big expenses planned.

I want to cash out this 36k, except Maybank, any others bank easier to transfer balance to savings account? Because amount is more than 10k, it would be a bit troublesome with Maybank. Btw, I have 3 Maybank credit cards including Maybank 2 cards. Need sifus to guide. Thanks.
Similar case as yours. I'm lazy to do 3-4 times requests of < 10K with MBB so I have requested MBB CS to transfer 1 big lump sum to see the result. It's been 4 working days since my request. Will update if it works or when I get rejected. smile.gif

This post has been edited by justanovice: Feb 3 2017, 10:58 PM
justanovice
post Feb 7 2017, 09:40 PM

2,526 posts

QUOTE(celaw @ Jan 27 2017, 12:40 AM)
Yesterday request 4k overpayment transfer to my AMEX to settle tha statement balance. Today saw the transaction. Just now request to transfer balance 8k to my savings account, CS proceed without any issue.
Hi bro. May i know if the transfer from Card balance to savings already done? Thanks
Just to see how long they process yours.

This post has been edited by justanovice: Feb 7 2017, 09:42 PM
justanovice
post Feb 7 2017, 10:34 PM

2,526 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Feb 7 2017, 10:27 PM)

Thanks bro you have eagle eyes!
My Experiment failed as i requested big lump sum to be transferred and now has entered 7 working days and yet to be transferred. sad.gif
justanovice
post Feb 8 2017, 12:08 AM

2,526 posts

QUOTE(celaw @ Feb 7 2017, 10:57 PM)
I had just request another 5.8k to savings account last Saturday, yet to receive fund.
Just checked, my excess was available in my savings today. took 7 working days, perhaps quite long due to CNY holidays and also FT day. Less hassle as I only need to request 1 time, no need to write email to them. But actually 2 calendar weeks has past since my request. sweat.gif
justanovice
post Feb 8 2017, 12:51 AM

2,526 posts

QUOTE(celaw @ Feb 8 2017, 12:17 AM)
Shall I balance transfer 36k offered by UOB into 4 Maybank credit cards thay I hold (9k each) or 36k into 1 credit card account?
Reading the feedbacks from other veterans, seems smaller amount will be processed faster.
i tested 1 shot 30K+ took 7 working days, 2 weeks calendar days.
maybe you want to test multiple account option? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by justanovice: Feb 8 2017, 12:51 AM
justanovice
post Feb 8 2017, 03:41 PM

2,526 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Feb 8 2017, 02:56 PM)
as expected, some ppl will begin to use this method to extract large sum of money via BT.

mind you, this is not luck, this is taking advantage of process loophole. do it at your own risk.
I don't agree it's a process loop hole. It's more on understanding the product & timing your actions.
But yes i definately agree is very RISKY. I'm almost certain there are more people ended up paying more interest (over spent BT cash, not paying promptly etc) compare to those who 'earn' petty cash from it.

justanovice
post Feb 8 2017, 05:27 PM

2,526 posts

QUOTE(Progineer @ Feb 8 2017, 04:27 PM)
Yes, as i have previously mentioned. This is a loophole that shouldnt be considered safe. The person who exposed this just opened a can of worms. Now everyone going to be using it and sooner or later, the banks will notice it and close it off if they havent already started doing so already.
It is a loophole.. balance transfer is only meant for credit payments. Not to be withdrawn as interest free, fee free loan.

Imagine everyone uses this exploitation.. there will be no need for personal loans. Just apply a BT and then you get a free loan.. no need to overdraw credit as cash also. The banks are losing out big time.

If i was a bank officer, i would be looking into this with urgency and finding out ways to close it off, even punish the offenders for essentially, "robbing the bank". Bank not earning interest is a big time lost.
Perhaps you can check with your friends in banking industry on how banks make money and from what type of people.
Each step that the bank make, is to make potential profit.
If banks can lose money so easily, why they have contests to give free BMW, Condo, etc.
So funnie ... take it easy bro.

justanovice
post Feb 8 2017, 06:03 PM

2,526 posts

QUOTE(Progineer @ Feb 8 2017, 05:53 PM)
People are unable to repay due to not having the cash. But if you are doing the exploit, with the excess money that enter your savings account. It means you technically have the money to repay. If you didnt spend it. So it is still a net loss to the bank and furthermore, makes other they offer products not attractive.
The money is mine. If i put it in the bank. The bank is loaning out that money at a huge risk. If the bank goes bankrupt due to this loophole becoming more and more common, it punishes real savers tbh.
Worst of, maybe the rules for balance transfer is change because of this or becomes harder to apply for... then you are punishing the people who use bt honestly and properly.. a feq bad apples can ruin it all.
I have checked. Most have never heard of this loophole before. They are surprised that got such methods.

I agree, the banks make money, alot of it. but they are also terrified of exploitation. So i wouldnt be surprised they are not considering closing this off.
To be honest. If it gets closed down, it's due to you. smile.gif

This post has been edited by justanovice: Feb 8 2017, 06:03 PM
justanovice
post Feb 8 2017, 11:51 PM

2,526 posts

QUOTE(lilsunflower @ Feb 8 2017, 11:40 PM)
For a long time already. From memory:

PBB proudly advertises their no statements policy

MBB doesn't require statement through M2U applications

Ambank BT doesn't even need a form - just call CS and tell them amounts

AEON is strict and requires statements or online screen shots.
HSBC also no statement required. Actually i called them to enquire about my new card status, and the CS keep on telling me to take their promo of 0% bt or 2.88% Cash advanced. And up front calculate the total i can Bt from my card, and when i say i do not need to settle any balance, he offer me to think and he will back back tomorrow.
Since the bank is pushing the 0% bt so hard, i cant decline.
Win for me
Win for cs (sales commission)
Win for hsbc (credit card usage high - good mgmt biz)
And they locked me for at least 6 months. Else i may cancel this card right. And seeing i can take up high credit limit, i am a 'potential customer'. Bank dont see short term, they identify and keep potential customers
Don't know who lose here seriously.
justanovice
post Feb 9 2017, 12:32 AM

2,526 posts

QUOTE(lilsunflower @ Feb 9 2017, 12:09 AM)
Currently those are the 2 Im using. PBB is the best as you can keep applying for multiple BT as long as you have sufficient CL.

HSBC has one for new customers (which is limited to 10k, but only need to pay 5% every month and then balance at end of BT period). Ambank may have one for new customers too, but I don't know the details.

MBB promo just ended but it seems like it occurs annually.
Hsbc 12 month 0% bt for new customers, need to apply together during card application (which the agent did not inform me) but the CS over the line offered 6 mnth 0% bt, up to 60% credit limit.
Ambank 12 month 0% for new card holder, up to 100% credit limit but capped at rm30k

This post has been edited by justanovice: Feb 9 2017, 12:32 AM
justanovice
post Feb 15 2017, 07:05 PM

2,526 posts

QUOTE(sendohz @ Feb 15 2017, 05:02 PM)
Because the CIMB CC that i used is Enrich Platinum card.
That's why it's foolish to use that card to pay bill since the benefit is minimal compared to CIMB CR.
Does cimb transfer the entire 6k or only the 1k after offset the credit card balance?
justanovice
post Feb 17 2017, 04:40 PM

2,526 posts

@sms2u she is top officer in office .. and not to mention most likely cfo at home too
justanovice
post Feb 22 2017, 09:50 PM

2,526 posts

QUOTE(katopunk @ Feb 22 2017, 06:55 PM)
aikss.. it doesn't work bro. it's my first call tho. i haven't do a second call yet.

i called say i wanna cancel cause my BT just finished. And i would like to have another BT, but she offered me the BT with interest. Then I said I'm looking for 0% BT. the fella said sorry, don't have. then i said nvm, please proceed to cancel my card. she said ok. she will put a temporary block at my card.

that's it.  blink.gif should i make a second call?
No harm trying bro. See if it works then we follow the procedure smile.gif
justanovice
post Feb 23 2017, 02:02 PM

2,526 posts

sms2u , MGM, he is talking about HSBC's card

This post has been edited by justanovice: Feb 23 2017, 02:02 PM
justanovice
post Feb 26 2017, 01:43 PM

2,526 posts

QUOTE(ay@m @ Feb 26 2017, 11:59 AM)
hi all...
I'm new to this BT thing...i got a question....so maybe continue from blahbleh's question above...

for Aeon cc, the BT needs statement from the other bank, and Aeon claim they will take up to 15 BUSINESS days to pay...

so does that mean if we want to BT from another creditcard, we need to quickly submit the application form to Aeon once we get the credit card statement? will there be a risk of late payment to the bank we plan to BT from?

Yes to all your questions. you need to ensure adequate time for aeon to send over the funds to your existing bank with balance. And they are not responsible for any losses in the event they fail to send you the money within 15 days or after.
justanovice
post Mar 1 2017, 09:06 PM

2,526 posts

celaw lilsunflower & All, just to share that the current Alliance Bank new-to-bank promo gives 0% 6 month 'reducing balance' BT, which means same like the HSBC BT, only pay 5% on balance till final month must settle entire balance leftovers to avoid interest charged.
Good for new to bank customers

This post has been edited by justanovice: Mar 1 2017, 09:07 PM
justanovice
post Mar 1 2017, 09:09 PM

2,526 posts

QUOTE(celaw @ Mar 1 2017, 09:07 PM)
is it in their website?
http://www.alliancebank.com.my/EnjoyBalanc...rwithCreditCard

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top