75 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Bottom

So you're interested in ARCHITECTURE?, An academic guide to become an Architect

TSazarimy
post Jul 11 2007, 04:55 PM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

QUOTE(BridgestoneRE711 @ Jul 11 2007, 12:34 PM)
hi mr.azarimy , i am in PSZ library now ... the comps are crappy ...hehehhee ...
but still can use lah .

i told u, didnt i? hahahha...

the PCs in PSZ has been there for god knows how long. during my time, it was like "wow, new PC! got internet summore!" and everyone from the entire university when there using IRC. then it was banned, but people get around it somehow. but yeah, that's some very old, classic PCs.

we have similar PCs for FAB students' use in the faculty. go to B05 block (opposite 1st year studio), ground floor, just beside the smartclassroom. u can use those PCs for internet as well. if u need to use more advanced PCs capable of handling decent 3D applications, goto architecture's computer lab in B11 block (across the road), where they also have several mid-range plotters, colour laser printers etc. remember, it's FREE to use, but u gotta pay for printing. but i guess they shouldve told u by now wink.gif. the staff that handles there is a good guy, but u gotta pandai bodek. he looks garang, but actually he's not. make friends with him, and u can get lots of benefits in terms of printing, like priority in reservation for printing queue! (he's a student of my dad back in the 70s...)

anyway , my PA is pn.raja something . and my studio tutor is dr.rashid .

i didnt know pn. raja nafida is back from her PhD... have u met her? she's more known as puan jess (sounds like jazz). everybody calls her that, even the students. maybe dr. jess now... hahahhaa. great lecturer, very passionate and very, very concerned about the welfare of her students. great lecturer to have as a PA.

is dr. rashid still fundamental units studio master? dr. rashid is one of the radical, left-wing (in terms of architecture, not politics) who loves trying something new, especially something that never been done before. dont worry, he will ask his students to volunteer for his studies or experiments. dont worry about the experiments too. a great lecturer consistently adds his knowledge from time to time. oh by the way, on paper, he is one of the lecturer with the highest academic achievement. he scored best designer several times with a first class degree. great mentor!

seems u're off to a good start in UTM! who else in LYN got in with u? have u guys went for the trip "masuk jurus" yet? it should be this weekend. have the seniors come get to know u people yet? they usually have small events at night, where u can hangout and get to know the seniors.

BridgestoneRE711
post Jul 12 2007, 03:03 PM

♦ ♣ ♥ ♠
3,429 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Jul 11 2007, 04:55 PM)
i told u, didnt i? hahahha...

the PCs in PSZ has been there for god knows how long. during my time, it was like "wow, new PC! got internet summore!" and everyone from the entire university when there using IRC. then it was banned, but people get around it somehow. but yeah, that's some very old, classic PCs.

we have similar PCs for FAB students' use in the faculty. go to B05 block (opposite 1st year studio), ground floor, just beside the smartclassroom. u can use those PCs for internet as well. if u need to use more advanced PCs capable of handling decent 3D applications, goto architecture's computer lab in B11 block (across the road), where they also have several mid-range plotters, colour laser printers etc. remember, it's FREE to use, but u gotta pay for printing. but i guess they shouldve told u by now wink.gif. the staff that handles there is a good guy, but u gotta pandai bodek. he looks garang, but actually he's not. make friends with him, and u can get lots of benefits in terms of printing, like priority in reservation for printing queue! (he's a student of my dad back in the 70s...)
i didnt know pn. raja nafida is back from her PhD... have u met her? she's more known as puan jess (sounds like jazz). everybody calls her that, even the students. maybe dr. jess now... hahahhaa. great lecturer, very passionate and very, very concerned about the welfare of her students. great lecturer to have as a PA.

is dr. rashid still fundamental units studio master? dr. rashid is one of the radical, left-wing (in terms of architecture, not politics) who loves trying something new, especially something that never been done before. dont worry, he will ask his students to volunteer for his studies or experiments. dont worry about the experiments too. a great lecturer consistently adds his knowledge from time to time. oh by the way, on paper, he is one of the lecturer with the highest academic achievement. he scored best designer several times with a first class degree. great mentor!

seems u're off to a good start in UTM! who else in LYN got in with u? have u guys went for the trip "masuk jurus" yet? it should be this weekend. have the seniors come get to know u people yet? they usually have small events at night, where u can hangout and get to know the seniors.
i am surfing lyn in B11 coputer lab ... i am using the no.86 computer .
hahahah ...
hmm ... dr.rashid said avoid Celeron and AMD ..i have no idea why he said avoid AMD , becasue basically AMD's sempron is macam celeron , if we are considering AMD Athlon X2 , i personally dont think it is a problem as AMD athlon X2 64 bit is good for graphics .

btw , yeah . life over here is kinda ok . i was told that the interview actually do look into the student's financial status , if good finanacial status most likely they will get the offer . that is becaue arc. students will have to spend alot during the university life . i am not sure how real is this but ... i think so , because most of my arc. friends are 'speaking' type ... macam english educated and their financial background also not bad .

regarding the studio , i understand what u mean why LUCT students never fully use their studio in their way. i think that arc students never really use the studio like their house is because their studio is basically shared among all year 1 2 3 students . that is why persnoalize the studio is not a very good way .

hmm.... when are u coming back ? i saw you in the on leave staff list ...hahahha ...
TSazarimy
post Jul 12 2007, 04:39 PM

10,672 posts

AMD X2 64 is good for graphics, but pentium dual core is much better. i'm an AMD user myself, and have been using AMD since after cyrix wrapped up their business. but dr. rashid is a hardcore pentium guy, so cant blame him laa hahaha.

there are 4 lecturers specializing in architectural computing in UTM: dr. rashid, ramli J, dino and me. i'm not sure if dino's still around, coz he almost retired when i left for my PhD. so u got those two to refer to on computers, and u're better off asking LYN people than me, for the time being biggrin.gif.

glad u've seen how the real architectural studio is like. hangout around senior's studio (snap a few pictures and put it here if u can) especially the 6th year studio, u'll see the environment is absolutely different from LUCT's studio. u'll also realize they'll "curik" virtually anything they can around the campus and brings it back to decorate the studio - from banners to posters to pakguard's skittles and varieties like that. imagine burung tempua buat sarang.

closer observation would reveal more things about the architectural studio. it's both a space for working, as well a style of working. cool eh?
xtracooljustin
post Jul 12 2007, 06:02 PM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

cant wait to b back to torture the new comers wua ha ha!

Yo Bridgestone, any good looking 1st year ladies there? cool2.gif
jubina
post Jul 13 2007, 12:15 AM

59 posts

will it too late for guy at 29 to pursue his dream as a architect from 0?
TSazarimy
post Jul 13 2007, 12:45 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(jubina @ Jul 13 2007, 12:15 AM)
no, but it really depends on what qualifications u already possess.

assuming u really dont have any basics in architecture, no degree or diploma and no experience relating to architecture at all, yes, it will be harder, but it's not too late. thing is, learning architecture is independent of age. ofcourse, at older age, u will be less driven by intuition and more keen on using deductive reasoning, logic and experience. so u dont see the radical moves attempted by younger students (which usually is interpreted as immature, shallow decision).

at 29, ur main concern is competing with youth. younger students have endurance, concentration and less concern over other things in life. these are needed for an architecture student to survive the course. but lets assume u're a physically fit 29 year old with strong mind concentrations and have no wife or children or the need to support/sustain himself financially - yes, u should be able to compete.

ur main advantage over the younger students will be maturity and experience. unless u've been in a coma for the last 10 years, u should atleast be able to use ur advantages one way or the other. in most other courses, maturity and experience doesnt count much when u're studying. but in architecture, it carries a LOT of weight. do not underestimate it.
jubina
post Jul 13 2007, 05:36 PM

59 posts

Added on July 13, 2007, 5:37 pm
QUOTE(azarimy @ Jul 13 2007, 12:45 AM)
no, but it really depends on what qualifications u already possess.

assuming u really dont have any basics in architecture, no degree or diploma and no experience relating to architecture at all, yes, it will be harder, but it's not too late. thing is, learning architecture is independent of age. ofcourse, at older age, u will be less driven by intuition and more keen on using deductive reasoning, logic and experience. so u dont see the radical moves attempted by younger students (which usually is interpreted as immature, shallow decision).

at 29, ur main concern is competing with youth. younger students have endurance, concentration and less concern over other things in life. these are needed for an architecture student to survive the course. but lets assume u're a physically fit 29 year old with strong mind concentrations and have no wife or children or the need to support/sustain himself financially - yes, u should be able to compete.

ur main advantage over the younger students will be maturity and experience. unless u've been in a coma for the last 10 years, u should atleast be able to use ur advantages one way or the other. in most other courses, maturity and experience doesnt count much when u're studying. but in architecture, it carries a LOT of weight. do not underestimate it.
thanks azarimy, i think i'll give it a try, hopefully my application will be accepted. another thing i would like to ask is, if i get lucky, after PAM Part1, can i continue my Part 2 at another U, UTM perhaps?

This post has been edited by jubina: Jul 13 2007, 05:40 PM
kazasho
post Jul 13 2007, 07:30 PM

カザショ!
1,964 posts

in the induction month
damn seniors
hahaha

anyway
my dean of fspu said that the degree of architecture will be upgrade into master?
and uitm also trying to get recognize from RIBA
prof amran said la
in this year..
xtracooljustin
post Jul 13 2007, 08:24 PM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

QUOTE(jubina @ Jul 13 2007, 05:36 PM)

thanks azarimy, i think i'll give it a try, hopefully my application will be accepted. another thing i would like to ask is, if i get lucky, after PAM Part1, can i continue my Part 2 at another U, UTM perhaps?
not sure bout UTM cos UTM course is a straight 5 year course.

UM and USM do open their applications for Part 2 degree provided you hav a Part 1 Degree alredi. Though you gotta check in da newspapers regarding this intake.
TSazarimy
post Jul 13 2007, 08:37 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(jubina @ Jul 13 2007, 05:36 PM)

luck has nothing to do with ur options to join other universities after part 1. however, as justin have said, applying into part2 in UTM might pose slight problem, as it is currently a 5 year course. but last i recall (when i was still back in UTM), u could apply directly into 4th year.

QUOTE(kazasho @ Jul 13 2007, 07:30 PM)
in the induction month
damn seniors
hahaha

anyway
my dean of fspu said that the degree of architecture will be upgrade into master?
prof amran said la
in this year..
the conversion to masters isnt something new. the idea have been around since several years ago. however, PAM is not very keen on the idea, which is the very reason why the idea is still not being implemented yet. at the moment, i know UTM, UiTM, USM and UM are proposing the same degree+masters structure as well.

i think UiTM have already finished the RIBA accreditation process earlier this year, and i was told they didnt manage to get it. I didnt know they could apply for another accreditation the same year...
Carrielyn
post Jul 13 2007, 09:08 PM

69 posts

thank you Azarimy.what u say is really true.i juz released my knot in my heart.hahaha. actually i'm thinking too much n also worrying too much. so now i had decided to take 13-15 credit hours n it's ok 5 subjects.

luckily i dint made a decision of taking 6 subjects if not i'm putting the black history for myself in studying architecture.haa.process is most important......

thank you so much azarimy.maybe of too freshie too.haha. i juz finished my 1st sem n goin to start my 2nd sem in nex week.hee.thnk u!
BridgestoneRE711
post Jul 14 2007, 12:40 AM

♦ ♣ ♥ ♠
3,429 posts

ya, my seniors told us about the 6th year's studio macam house .
well , LUCT studio is not like the utm lor... basically it is shared among year 1 2 3 students , you cant blame them for that . but we can blame it for the crappy facilities they have provided .

Added on July 14, 2007, 12:42 ambtw , lots of rambutan trees at UTM , damn enjoy plucking rambutans when i am free.

This post has been edited by BridgestoneRE711: Jul 14 2007, 12:42 AM
arcanawar
post Jul 15 2007, 04:39 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(jubina @ Jul 13 2007, 12:15 AM)
actually you're not..one of my studiomate is 34 if am not mistaken..she studied in UTM before but stopped..and now shes in the studio 02 (Sem 2) ehehe.. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(kazasho @ Jul 13 2007, 07:30 PM)
in the induction month
damn seniors
hahaha

anyway
prof amran said la
in this year..

hahaha !!! you shud be thankful ur not in Seri Iskandar Campus..if not..hahaha..i heard that the shah alam induction are not as bad as here in seri iskandar..i shud warn you earlier about this..but nah.. tongue.gif

plus..induction is just not one month..may i correct you..its the whole sem..so good luck.. thumbup.gif

so whats ur trademark and nickname eh ? hahahahaha !!!

we ady got RIBA..thats why its BSc of Architecture now instead of Diploma in Architecture smile.gif

This post has been edited by arcanawar: Jul 15 2007, 04:56 PM
Pumpkin_G
post Jul 15 2007, 09:43 PM

348 posts

QUOTE(BridgestoneRE711 @ Jul 14 2007, 12:40 AM)
ya, my seniors told us about the 6th year's studio macam house .
well , LUCT studio is not like the utm lor... basically it is shared among  year 1 2 3 students , you cant blame them for that . but we can blame it for the crappy facilities they have provided .
speaking of crappy facilities.. Taylors College Petaling Jaya chose to locate themselve at Leisure Commerce Square *Kurnia Building* is just about the crappiest place for students.... i dont understand why taylors made such a bad decision... Lecturers are ok, so Thank God...

TSazarimy
post Jul 15 2007, 09:49 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(arcanawar @ Jul 15 2007, 04:39 PM)
we ady got RIBA..thats why its BSc of Architecture now instead of Diploma in Architecture smile.gif[/b][/color]
when was this?

i was informed that UiTM didnt manage to get it in may. btw, they changed it to BSc of Architecture so that they could get RIBA, not the other way around wink.gif.
kazasho
post Jul 16 2007, 09:39 AM

カザショ!
1,964 posts

hohoho
got angklong practice this evening
anyway, btul ke ejaan angklong?
mari nyanyi lagu senibina
hahaha

yalah2
induction part 5 ok saje..
just introduce urself plus something
damn
i got to introduce myself with friends with an 1 minute made acapella group
haha
arcanawar
post Jul 16 2007, 10:58 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Jul 15 2007, 09:49 PM)
when was this?

i was informed that UiTM didnt manage to get it in may. btw, they changed it to BSc of Architecture so that they could get RIBA, not the other way around wink.gif.
bohahaha..i made a mistake doh.gif ..sorrysss !! biggrin.gif

Added on July 16, 2007, 11:15 amerm..i need help if anyone can help me..

i've been looking for mario botta's casa rotonda (the round house) plan, section, elevation, etc on the internet since theres no books on him here in the library..does anyone know where i can get info of the building on the net ?

and owh yea..we were asked to choose a 2 storey building, and the round house have 3 levels being the ground floor empty ie. no rooms whatsoever if am not mistaken..but it has a stairs that leads to the first floor and 2nd..can i still consider it as a 2 storey ?

anyways, a look on the dictionary tells that : storey - a structure consisting of a room or set of rooms at a single position along a vertical scale,

and since the ground floor is empty, and if ever the lecturer decide to raise an issue about this, do you think i can win by using the info above ? hmm.gif

thanks smile.gif

This post has been edited by arcanawar: Jul 16 2007, 11:15 AM
TSazarimy
post Jul 16 2007, 03:50 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(arcanawar @ Jul 16 2007, 10:58 AM)
bohahaha..i made a mistake doh.gif ..sorrysss !!  biggrin.gif

Added on July 16, 2007, 11:15 amerm..i need help if anyone can help me..

i've been looking for mario botta's casa rotonda (the round house) plan, section, elevation, etc on the internet since theres no books on him here in the library..does anyone know where i can get info of the building on the net ?

and owh yea..we were asked to choose a 2 storey building, and the round house have 3 levels being the ground floor empty ie. no rooms whatsoever if am not mistaken..but it has a stairs that leads to the first floor and 2nd..can i still consider it as a 2 storey ?

anyways, a look on the dictionary tells that : storey - a structure consisting of a room or set of rooms at a single position along a vertical scale,

and since the ground floor is empty, and if ever the lecturer decide to raise an issue about this, do you think i can win by using the info above ?  hmm.gif

thanks smile.gif
i'm not sure where u can get mario botta's stuffs, but i know people who does. when he came to UTM few years back, i'm pretty sure he left a lot of things to the students. logon to tanggam and ask there.

a house on stilts (which i imagine urs to be) wont be counted as a multi-storey house, unless it has atleast 2 floor stacked ontop each other. just as u've defined it, a storey is basically a floor with a room or usable space. even a 2 storey house with a mezanine floor is still considered 2 storey. so yes, u'd win the argument if he/she so happens to bring it up.
jubina
post Jul 17 2007, 12:12 AM

59 posts

since the course fee is quite high for study architecture, can we apply full course fee loan from PTPTN? (normally max 16k limit from PTPTN per year). anyone who has getting PTPTN loan which more than 16k can share your suggestion/experience how to increase the loan limit? thks.
BridgestoneRE711
post Jul 17 2007, 12:28 AM

♦ ♣ ♥ ♠
3,429 posts

why dont u consider form6 or matriculation ?
my friends in luct some cant get the ptptn loan... dont know why their ans is that it is not under accreditted programme . that's why . i dont know much on it .
by th way ... hmm....

i met xtracooljustin today ... this afternoon , same class with me on the hubungan ethnic class ... ...

75 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Top

0.0285sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 08:32 PM