So you're interested in ARCHITECTURE?, An academic guide to become an Architect

arcanawar
post Jul 3 2007, 06:05 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Jul 2 2007, 01:44 AM)
here's what i know:

up until now, LAM does not recognize any twinning programmes. to them, when u do part 1, u do it full in one school, and when u do part 2, u do it full in one school. no switching.

what taylor's provide is some sort of a loophole:

3 years diploma after SPM (non part 1). melb U will accept diploma holders from taylor's into 3rd year (final year) of part 1. meaning u'll do 1 year part 1. later u'll do a part 2 in melb U as well.
at the moment, unless u reveal that u're from taylor's, there's no way for LAM to know that ur part 1 is a twinning programme. i believe on the certificate it'll state "Bachelor of Science in Architectural Studies" or something. so when u apply for part 1 and 2, usually u'll just show LAM the two degrees. but ofcourse, if they check ur portfolio, u might kantoi there. i'm not sure what the consequence are, bcoz i've never met anyone in this situation yet.

if u're going to RMIT with a taylor's diploma, similar problem might occur. but since RMIT does not have a partnership with taylor's, u'll join 2nd year instead.
owh..like that eh ? well..one of my studiomate was from taylors and after 2 years in taylors..he switched to UiTM..so does that mean he'll be facing a prob when it comes to getting the part 1 ?
arcanawar
post Jul 15 2007, 04:39 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(jubina @ Jul 13 2007, 12:15 AM)
will it too late for guy at 29 to pursue his dream as a architect from 0?
actually you're not..one of my studiomate is 34 if am not mistaken..she studied in UTM before but stopped..and now shes in the studio 02 (Sem 2) ehehe.. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(kazasho @ Jul 13 2007, 07:30 PM)
in the induction month
damn seniors
hahaha

anyway
my dean of fspu said that the degree of architecture will be upgrade into master?
and uitm also trying to get recognize from RIBA
prof amran said la
in this year..

hahaha !!! you shud be thankful ur not in Seri Iskandar Campus..if not..hahaha..i heard that the shah alam induction are not as bad as here in seri iskandar..i shud warn you earlier about this..but nah.. tongue.gif

plus..induction is just not one month..may i correct you..its the whole sem..so good luck.. thumbup.gif

so whats ur trademark and nickname eh ? hahahahaha !!!

we ady got RIBA..thats why its BSc of Architecture now instead of Diploma in Architecture smile.gif

This post has been edited by arcanawar: Jul 15 2007, 04:56 PM
arcanawar
post Jul 16 2007, 10:58 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Jul 15 2007, 09:49 PM)
when was this?

i was informed that UiTM didnt manage to get it in may. btw, they changed it to BSc of Architecture so that they could get RIBA, not the other way around wink.gif.
bohahaha..i made a mistake doh.gif ..sorrysss !! biggrin.gif

Added on July 16, 2007, 11:15 amerm..i need help if anyone can help me..

i've been looking for mario botta's casa rotonda (the round house) plan, section, elevation, etc on the internet since theres no books on him here in the library..does anyone know where i can get info of the building on the net ?

and owh yea..we were asked to choose a 2 storey building, and the round house have 3 levels being the ground floor empty ie. no rooms whatsoever if am not mistaken..but it has a stairs that leads to the first floor and 2nd..can i still consider it as a 2 storey ?

anyways, a look on the dictionary tells that : storey - a structure consisting of a room or set of rooms at a single position along a vertical scale,

and since the ground floor is empty, and if ever the lecturer decide to raise an issue about this, do you think i can win by using the info above ? hmm.gif

thanks smile.gif

This post has been edited by arcanawar: Jul 16 2007, 11:15 AM
arcanawar
post Jul 20 2007, 10:39 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(Pumpkin_G @ Jul 20 2007, 12:51 AM)
hey, for all the Archi Students.. plz pay a visit to the Archi Student Exhibition in 1 Utama.. is fun and im sure you will be able to learn something from their work! have fun! it ends this Sunday (22 July 07)
*sigh..i'm gonna miss that event sad.gif

This post has been edited by arcanawar: Jul 21 2007, 03:18 PM
arcanawar
post Jul 20 2007, 10:43 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(kazasho @ Jul 19 2007, 07:24 PM)
welcome to architoture!!!
wahaha kena lagi dgn senior

yup
UiTM xdpt lagi la dr RIBA

Ermm
i dont see any archi students from UiTM shah alam
where ha?
tu akak SI, x nak pindah Shah Alam?
hehe..yea..welcome to Architorture..am sure you'll get along well with ur seniors..in fact when you do..they're actually are a lot of help..if asked..they'll even show you on how to do the drawings, model building or even lend you their stuff.. wink.gif

well..we'll be going to SA in our Studio 07..i'll see you then kid.. smile.gif
arcanawar
post Jul 23 2007, 05:24 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(kazasho @ Jul 22 2007, 06:54 PM)
akak arcanawar
dtg SA x?
part 7?
byk sgt dh g
part 7 blum lg g kot
haha
find me la
hehe..xnk ngaku..
last g part 8
new syllabus is diff maa..we'l be going to SA in Sem 07..
haha..tak nak ngaku ? akan dapat cari jugak !! tongue.gif

aquarterduckpam..i think UTM does have those 5 years BArch prog la.. hmm.gif not sure..
arcanawar
post Jul 27 2007, 10:31 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(kazasho @ Jul 27 2007, 09:31 PM)
hahaha
cari laaa
weeaak tongue.gif
bistu skrg sem bape?sume mau tuka SA ka?apsl?SI kecik studio?
bkn ke ade wifi?bez tuh
SI studio besar okays..each sem has 2 big studios..muahaha..i heard the studios in SA are not sufficient enuff for the archi students there..true ka ? I heard the sem 1 and 2 takdak studio..

Added on July 27, 2007, 10:39 pmowh yea..about the part-time course..whats the duration like ? 5 years also or longer then the full-time ?

This post has been edited by arcanawar: Jul 27 2007, 10:39 PM
arcanawar
post Jul 28 2007, 10:13 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Jul 28 2007, 06:40 AM)
longer, obviously. since u can only take a maximum of 12 credits per semester (normally 14-16). UiTM have a different way to calculate credits (different from the entire world apparently haha), so dont get urself confused here wink.gif.

so for a 5 year course, it would usually take about 8 years part time.
is it ? ahaha.. tongue.gif thats werid..how diff ? in what way ?

wahhh..so freaking long..8 years ?
arcanawar
post Nov 20 2007, 11:21 PM

96 posts

hello coysmith..for uitm..we'll be having our crit on the 21st..but its for the perak branch..not sure about the shah alam ones..mebbe same kut..hehehe..sowiee..mebbe can go there tomm if you want too.. sweat.gif

and yea..for all those interested in architecture..you guys should really visit the respected schools (if in malaysia la) to see what they've been doing and so on and so forth..it'll actually give u a head start on things.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by arcanawar: Nov 20 2007, 11:42 PM
arcanawar
post Nov 21 2007, 11:14 AM

96 posts

yea..stuff like chem and physics are the basic ones only..like those learned in form 5..nothing to be worried about..owh..theres econs too..haha..dunno why we have to study econs.. tongue.gif anyways..physics like what mr aza said are applied to structure more..its like physics+add math..

the lects will basically teach you everything..some of cuz you gotta learn by yourself..you'll learn basic autocad the first sem itself..but just basic..will be learning more by 2nd year..all those computer aided design..but..if you want..you can do like what yawhong suggested..

QUOTE(Authentic.Chic @ Nov 21 2007, 10:33 AM)
Really? yea RIBA is so important though. Do anyone know any inexpensive uni/college in US that is RIBA accredited? what about japan? thinking of getting a scholarship too.. cuz my parents sure cant afford sending me abroad.. =(
i've check riba site..hurm..only University of Maryland is accredited..are there any else ? smile.gif
arcanawar
post Nov 24 2007, 06:41 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(greyskyster @ Nov 24 2007, 04:46 PM)
what's the difference between architecture and interior architecture?
perhaps i can help answer..interior architecture focuses only and only the interior of a building..whereas architecture focuses on the building itself..although..architect do have the ability to do other things such as the interior..landscape..and so on and so forth..however..interior architect cannot do the architects work..

hope that helps..

correct me if i'm wrong..

Added on November 24, 2007, 8:52 pmeh..i just realised..theres an explanation on this in the previous post.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by arcanawar: Nov 24 2007, 08:52 PM
arcanawar
post Nov 26 2007, 08:10 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(mfaizalzul @ Nov 26 2007, 07:07 PM)
nop..
i am interested in engineering..
heeeheh
then ur at the wrong thread..
arcanawar
post Nov 28 2007, 01:20 PM

96 posts

cool..

i'm more interested in this..
Visiting Student-One Year
hehe.. icon_rolleyes.gif

arcanawar
post Dec 7 2007, 07:55 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(Benjamin911 @ Dec 7 2007, 07:39 PM)
I would need to gain two years of working experience after I have graduated, before I would be able to practice Architecture...Hmmm...
If i'm not mistaken..to be able to practice architecture..you would need part 3..and in malaysia..for you to be able to apply fer part 3..you would need minimum of 2 years working experience with one year being in malaysia..am i correct mr aza ? but..as i know..getting part 3 aint easy..it mite take you years before you can start ur own practice..

QUOTE(Benjamin911 @ Dec 7 2007, 07:39 PM)
BTW, I would also like to know which Universities in Peninsula Malaysia are offering Architecture. (For my case, preferably recommended private universities since I took the SAT instead.)
for private universities in peninsular..theres LUCT, ALif, taylor, UCSI..bro aza has listed it all in the first page..but fer the ones thats recommended..i'll let bro aza answer this..lol..me not sure oso tongue.gif

good luck.. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by arcanawar: Dec 7 2007, 08:02 PM
arcanawar
post Dec 14 2007, 06:08 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(Benjamin911 @ Dec 14 2007, 05:49 PM)
Is Taylor's School of Architecture accredited? (Their website stated that their course is accredited, but I would like a confirmation.)

http://www.taylors.edu.my/courses/arc/arc_landing.php?id=212
accredited by LAN..not PAM/LAM
arcanawar
post Dec 14 2007, 10:47 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(clayclws @ Dec 14 2007, 07:10 PM)
Yes. Passion keeps you on. The questions that my employers (work as trainee in several firms) always ask is, "Why do you take up Architecture?" or "Why do you want to be an Architect?" There is no correct answer but one of my boss did mentioned that he took up architecture because he wants to build better living structures for mankind...guess that's a good answer.
yep..I do agree on that..i read somewhere in a thread that all thats important is the pay..which i sorta disagree..i mean..if u have passion for it..the thing that you do will feel a lot more rewarding..

owh..i've just ended my internship and heck..its tiring..loads of work to help with..stayed till 10 sumthing..and if u dun have passion for it..ur not going to enjoy ur job..

QUOTE(Benjamin911 @ Dec 14 2007, 09:05 PM)
Does that mean...something... "Not too good..."?  unsure.gif

BTW, what do you all think about "UCSI" University for Architecture? (Its Diploma Architecture course seems to only have Provisional Accreditation though...if that means something not too good as well?) No sign of any form of Accreditation for its Bachelor of Science (Hons.) in Architectural Technology... unsure.gif

FINALLY,

I think LIMKOKWING University looks the best to me thus far...(I am actually very impressed by their website.)

Their programmes looked good (Seems to be more technical orientated than others BTW);

http://www.limkokwing.edu.my/v6/academic/archi_as.asp
Some advice would be appreciated.

EDIT: Oh yeah, it is recognized by PAM too!  thumbup.gif
if i'm not mistaken..bro aza has explained about LAN and PAM/LAM..

check it on the previous post smile.gif

This post has been edited by arcanawar: Dec 14 2007, 10:49 PM
arcanawar
post Dec 14 2007, 11:15 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(clayclws @ Dec 14 2007, 11:12 PM)
"Practice" is a big word.

If you complete the architecture program in LUCT (not sure if you need to be sent to Curtin in Australia), you qualify for Part 2...as long as you finish their twinning/partnering program with Curtin. So, you don't need to sit for any Part 2 exam in Malaysia, if you want to qualify to sit for Part 3 exams.

If you don't get any Part 1 or Part 2 in Malaysia, you can still work here. Only when you get Part 3 would you be eligible to call yourself a Registered/Professional Architect. But to get Part 3, you must finish part 1 first, then Part 2...
exactly..do you mean 'practice' as in having your own firm with u as the principal architect ?

0.0446sec    1.18    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 02:26 AM