75 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Bottom

So you're interested in ARCHITECTURE?, An academic guide to become an Architect

sleep_walkerz
post Mar 20 2007, 10:02 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(xtracooljustin @ Mar 20 2007, 04:59 AM)
For ur info, NUS architecture course is one of the best in the region. unfortunately the course is not accredited at all wif Part 1 or 2 of the PAM exams.

that means, upon graduation, u'll certainly need a good portfolio and lots of working experience before taking the Part 1 exams followed by Part 2 and Part 3.

Regarding the interview, im not sure about that. Do check up on the Architecture faculty website of NUS to get more infomation.
gah.....if its once of the best?...y is it not accredited?....btw, will taking part1 , 2 n 3 exams be hard / very long prosedure/ menyusahkan ?

matrics is shorter, yes, but not everybody can enter. also, u will be learning non-related stuffs to architecture.

if u're given a chance to choose matrix n diploma...which will u chose?

RIBA accreditation is a complex process, but very open and actually not hard to do. currently UTM has several of their ex-students in london working on organizing the accreditation process (the ex-students' contribution to the school), so the target is 2010. but then again, UTM graduates have already been working overseas without the need of RIBA. i know there are atleast 30 working in the UK, 10-15 in european countries, about 10 in china/hongkong/korea and a whole bunch of them in singapore. if u ask them, they'll answer "RIBA? no need one!" biggrin.gif

so....how important is RIBA????.... now it seems less important than i though it used to be . izzit RIBA is important for those who wanted to work in malaysia only? or RIBA is the world class recognisation? rclxub.gif

yup, NUS is one of the best schools of architecture in the region, but i'd say hongkong university (HKU) is far superior than NUS. the stuff that they've produced are evolutionary, but NUS markets their products better.

mind telling more detials bout it?

i'm not sure about the interview process though...
the number's an estimate, give or take 2 or 3 students per year.

??????....2 or 3 student per year??.....in 1 class there's only 2-3 students...
i definately get the wrong idea,,,,,correct me.

thanks in advance
TSazarimy
post Mar 20 2007, 10:43 PM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

QUOTE(sleep_walkerz @ Mar 20 2007, 10:02 PM)
gah.....if its once of the best?...y is it not accredited?....btw, will taking part1 , 2 n 3 exams be hard / very long prosedure/ menyusahkan ?

it is accredited by RIBA. when u finish ur degree in NUS, u can come and work in msia. u just need to get ur license from LAM, which is where the interview will be.

if u're given a chance to choose matrix n diploma...which will u chose?

diploma definitely. no questions about it!

so....how important is RIBA????.... now it seems less important than i though it used to be . izzit RIBA is important for those who wanted to work in malaysia only? or RIBA is the world class recognisation? rclxub.gif
mind telling more detials bout it?

well, not really important in msia. if u plan to work in msia, u need PAM. RIBA is useful bcoz it's an internationally recognized standard for architects. so if u have RIBA, u can work virtually anywhere in the world, especially commonwealth countries. for most schools in msia, they would do better with RIBA. but currently PAM is more than enough, and even recognized in most commonwealth countries already.

??????....2 or 3 student per year??.....in 1 class there's only 2-3 students...
i definately get the wrong idea,,,,,correct me.

thanks in advance
i said give or take 2 or 3 students from the 1:15 intake ratio. meaning sometimes it can be as low as 1:12, sometimes as high as 1:18. we're not talking about lecturer:student ratio here.

xtracooljustin
post Mar 20 2007, 11:33 PM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

QUOTE(europology @ Mar 20 2007, 09:44 PM)
well, is it hard and difficult to switch? like how well i must do in the exams in order for me to be eligible?
dun bet ur life on it... i would say its a very long shot to try switching courses. dun take chances man.

u can always study engineering and then pursue architecture later. it'll make u a better architect. the world famous Santiago Calatrava is an engineer by profession but he bcame an architect.

the famous Geoffrey Bawa is a trained lawyer, but turned architect during mid life.
lucky1
post Mar 21 2007, 08:06 AM

64 posts

after complete my civil & structural engineering draughtsman ,can i enter architecture course??

This post has been edited by lucky1: Mar 21 2007, 08:09 AM
jamesngui
post Mar 21 2007, 05:15 PM

148 posts

if luct's degree is awarded by curtin which is an accredited institute, doesnt that mean it has been granted part 1?so students will automatically have part 1 after graduationg from luct with a curtin degree?
BridgestoneRE711
post Mar 21 2007, 06:09 PM

♦ ♣ ♥ ♠
3,429 posts

jamesngui ,
well it depends ,students last year didnt get the part 1 . i dont knwo why , my lecturer told us .
TSazarimy
post Mar 21 2007, 06:42 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(lucky1 @ Mar 21 2007, 08:06 AM)
after complete my civil & structural engineering draughtsman ,can i enter architecture course??
yes, ofcourse. what level would ur certificate be? diploma?

u can arrange for a credit transfer to exempt urself from several subjects that usually are similar in architecture.

QUOTE(jamesngui @ Mar 21 2007, 05:15 PM)
if luct's degree is awarded by curtin which is an accredited institute, doesnt that mean it has been granted part 1?so students will automatically have part 1 after graduationg from luct with a curtin degree?
LUCT's 1st degree is not awarded by curtin, but uses curtin's syllabus. LUCT now is awarding their own degree, which is equivalent to Part 1. it is not a twinning programme anymore, bcoz LAN and LAM wont recognize twinning programmes. currently they're still finishing up on the accreditation by LAM to get the full exemption for Part 1. at the moment they're being awarded part 1 on assessment/examination basis.

but if the students opt to continue straight for their 2nd degree in curtin, australia, then they will get accreditation for part 2.
jamesngui
post Mar 21 2007, 09:43 PM

148 posts

but no point getting part 2 accreditation right?because without part 1, your part 2 will be useless in msia also right? hmm, im pretty sure the certificate is curtin's for the architecture science degree. if i heard right i think the course advisor did mention its from curtin.
TSazarimy
post Mar 22 2007, 12:38 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(jamesngui @ Mar 21 2007, 09:43 PM)
but no point getting part 2 accreditation right?because without part 1, your part 2 will be useless in msia also right? hmm, im pretty sure the certificate is curtin's for the architecture science degree. if i heard right i think the course advisor did mention its from curtin.
u can sit for the part 2 degree, and when u come back, u will sit for the part 1 examinations. with part 2 in ur hand, part 1 exam is kacang goreng laa.

anyways, i'll ask zatur (LUCT's head of architecture) about this later. i'm pretty sure they cant by-pass LAN's refusal to accredit twinning programmes...

Added on March 22, 2007, 1:44 am
QUOTE(lilballa @ Mar 16 2007, 10:39 PM)
ya i need to know about architecture course at utm, such as ukur bahan and ukur bangunan wats the difference? some1 enlighten me pls..thx
i've just consulted a colleague, a fellow lecturer of QS from UTM.

she iterated that ukur bahan (QS), as i've mentioned before, is the accountants and economists of the built environment. they can do estimation of the project, costing and economic management, assisting the architects who will be very busy figuring out the designs of the building.

ukur bangunan (commonly refered to as bangunan) are project managers who works mostly on site. they are the people who makes sure the building is built according to plans, as well as manage the flow as the projects as well.

This post has been edited by azarimy: Mar 22 2007, 01:44 AM
jamesngui
post Mar 22 2007, 10:33 AM

148 posts

so u mean once i have the part 2 already, i wouldnt have to sit for it anymore? i will just have to sit for part 1 once ive completed?
Sensui
post Mar 22 2007, 10:47 AM

482 posts

Why are most buildings in Malaysia so boring and "grey"?
Jesse_17
post Mar 22 2007, 12:35 PM

725 posts

doEs studyinG iN LUCT a gooD choiCE??and does it easY to gEt anY loan/PTPTN loaN??? I m wonderring whEre to Study ArchitecTure thE beSt....i meaN for PriVate College/U....
xtracooljustin
post Mar 22 2007, 02:39 PM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

QUOTE(Jesse_17 @ Mar 22 2007, 12:35 PM)
doEs studyinG iN LUCT a gooD choiCE??and does it easY to gEt anY loan/PTPTN loaN??? I m wonderring whEre to Study ArchitecTure thE beSt....i meaN for PriVate College/U....
it really depends on you. if u like da studying environment, by all means go n study there.

im not being biased here but you should give Aliff Creative Academy some consideration too. I have mixed around wif lots of private college archi students and i find that Aliff students are the best of them all.

Added on March 22, 2007, 2:41 pm
QUOTE(Sensui @ Mar 22 2007, 10:47 AM)
lots of factors... from the lack of budget to direct instructions from client themselves.

and also gray was the 'in' colour bcos of the usual aluminium/alucobond cladding that you always c that gives a building a high tech feeling.

Added on March 22, 2007, 2:46 pmjamesngui, r u a sarawakian?

This post has been edited by xtracooljustin: Mar 22 2007, 02:46 PM
lucky1
post Mar 22 2007, 03:45 PM

64 posts

[quote=azarimy,Mar 21 2007, 06:42 PM]

u can arrange for a credit transfer to exempt urself from several subjects that usually are similar in architecture.

is certificate lvl 2. cry.gif may i know which college approve this certificate? coz nowaday all coll min requirement at least 5 credit and above

This post has been edited by lucky1: Mar 22 2007, 03:45 PM
jamesngui
post Mar 22 2007, 03:58 PM

148 posts

xtracooljustin,
yes
xtracooljustin
post Mar 22 2007, 05:22 PM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

QUOTE(jamesngui @ Mar 22 2007, 03:58 PM)
xtracooljustin,
yes
any relation wif timothy ngui? also from UTM?
TSazarimy
post Mar 22 2007, 07:02 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(jamesngui @ Mar 22 2007, 10:33 AM)
so u mean once i have the part 2 already, i wouldnt have to sit for it anymore? i will just have to sit for part 1 once ive completed?
yes. that is IF they deem ur part 2 is satisfactory. meaning, if u're grades arent good enough, they might require u to sit for both part 1 and 2 exams.

QUOTE(Sensui @ Mar 22 2007, 10:47 AM)
there are lots of factors to this. as justin said, it might be bcoz of the material itself. in architecture, there's a concept of "material honesty", where architects use the real colour of the material and NOT using paint. if concrete is grey, u dont paint it any other colour, same as timber, plaster, bricks and everything else.

it could also be contributed by grey being the most neutral/universal colour. u can put grey against any colour in the background or foreground. grey goes with EVERYTHING.

would u rather buildings in KL are red? probably all blue? hehe... the ultimate GREY city is aberdeen. go look up on the internet. the building regulation REQUIRES all building to be grey, including ur own private house!

QUOTE(lucky1 @ Mar 22 2007, 03:45 PM)
QUOTE(azarimy @ Mar 21 2007, 06:42 PM)

is certificate lvl 2. cry.gif may i know which college approve this certificate? coz nowaday all coll min requirement at least 5 credit and above
u're at certificate level, meaning ur not doing a diploma?

that would mean u'd have to start from 1st year. i dont think u can transfer any credits, but atleast u could skip foundation/STPM/a-levels.

This post has been edited by azarimy: Mar 22 2007, 07:03 PM
xtracooljustin
post Mar 22 2007, 08:40 PM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

sensui, if u like red, u can consider Malacca historical zone as ur new home.
jamesngui
post Mar 22 2007, 09:24 PM

148 posts

xtracooljustin, nope..
Sensui
post Mar 23 2007, 10:06 PM

482 posts

I didn't mean grey as in colour. I mean grey as in boring. Or is it spelled gray? Sorry about that.

75 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0277sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 11:55 AM