4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

INTEL P4/PM 478/479 THREAD, >>V3<<, The Journey Continues Here!

Compelica
post Apr 28 2007, 01:02 AM

dozing off. zzz.
1,463 posts

QUOTE(k!nex @ Apr 28 2007, 12:38 AM)
i'm using northwood 2.4C.my stock fan reported in Everest can reach till 3.6k rpm.actually it doesn't depend on CPU temperature if i'm not mistaken.its due to ur mobo temperature.when my mobo hits 50++ degrees,the fan will rotate surpass 3k rpm.for me,not so much of noise,my case fans are much noisier but i put the tower on the floor,so it doesn't bothers me much.

currently doing burn-in for my CPU.FSB 250X12=3.00Ghz now running 1:1 wif KVR PC2700.boot time much better than stock :-D. u guys are right,1 ghz FSB really helps but i notice that HT doesn't contribute much.i just wish i've 2Mb L2 cache on my Northwood.aihzz.
I just read here that the fan speed is based on the ambient temperature of the air in your casing. This was tested by blowing hot air onto the fan, and the fan's RPM bumped up considerably. tongue.gif
Compelica
post Apr 28 2007, 09:58 PM

dozing off. zzz.
1,463 posts

A bit of my results for CPUMSR...

Enabling Fast Strings and disabled options on CPUMSR did not improve any performance on Sisoft Sandra, but the program claims to increase performance on applications that utilise it. smile.gif
Compelica
post Apr 29 2007, 12:19 AM

dozing off. zzz.
1,463 posts

QUOTE(yukihatsu @ Apr 28 2007, 11:49 PM)
old school P4 Willamette 1.7GHZ user here... haihz... cry.gif just asking, what's the fastest processor i can upgrade to for 478 socket type?
If I'm not mistaken it's the P4 Extreme Edition at 3.6GHz, if your motherboard supports it. smile.gif

Added on April 29, 2007, 12:36 amMy humble SuperPI results. Specs in my sig. smile.gif

This post has been edited by colinwong89: Apr 29 2007, 12:36 AM
Compelica
post May 5 2007, 02:05 AM

dozing off. zzz.
1,463 posts

Just buy a new battery then. smile.gif
Compelica
post May 8 2007, 01:11 AM

dozing off. zzz.
1,463 posts

QUOTE(sang_karim @ May 8 2007, 12:04 AM)
waa...where everybody goes?? hehe...just wanna share...just trying to add some 80mm fan to my pc....so 1 fan at side panel exhaust and 2 fan at rear exhaust...all 80mm fan... then mouse hang ... cannot click but can move around .... seems need to get higher power psu  sweat.gif ..after cabut one fan connector...back to normal.... hehe.. 400W cap ayam psu can't handle to much fan la i think....  sweat.gif
Very obvious that your PSU's the culprit. If it's possible, get a high quality one. I have an Enermax 350W which is powering my PC very nicely, which has four 80mm casing fans, two hard drives and the rest listed in my signature. smile.gif
Compelica
post May 9 2007, 12:40 AM

dozing off. zzz.
1,463 posts

QUOTE(BurgerRI @ May 8 2007, 11:03 PM)
At 3.77Ghz the SuperPI was 38.578s, I reckon it should be able to clock higher, will give it another go tonight...thumbup.gif
Haha, close to 3.8GHz is already a very good achievement. Let's see how much more pressure it can take biggrin.gif

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ May 9 2007, 12:03 AM)
hoho, i wish i have a E cpu. tongue.gif
Lazy set to 3.2GHz...laugh.gif running at 3ghz with stock vcore now, real life not really having different in real life with 3.2GHz. 7300GT not compatible to my mobo. so just use back the old g3.  sad.gif lego-ing the 7300GT. haiz.....i think when i enjoy playing game then it should be on new rig already next time maybe next year.  yawn.gif
kabukiawie, how much are you planning to sell your 7300GT? tongue.gif
Compelica
post May 10 2007, 10:17 PM

dozing off. zzz.
1,463 posts

QUOTE(harusame @ May 10 2007, 03:08 PM)
hey all p4 sifus notworthy.gif i need help  icon_question.gif i just change from a s478 p4 northwood 1.8GHz to a s478 prescott 2.8GHz. the original hsf that comes with the 1.8Ghz proc is not enough. what hsf should i get if i m not into OC??? my peak temp now is 65C  shocking.gif when i saw all your rig with OC just less than 55C. i worry my proc will spoil. cry.gif
My peak temperature is at 65C, if there's no air-conditioning running smile.gif

In my opinion, getting a new cooler for the 478 isn't future-proof, so I'd rather not waste money on that laugh.gif
Compelica
post May 11 2007, 02:17 AM

dozing off. zzz.
1,463 posts

QUOTE(edministrator @ May 10 2007, 10:22 PM)
What do you mean not future proof? current socket 478 compatibles mostly include brackets for 775/939 etc. Transferable heatsink when you get a new rig...
QUOTE(kabukiawie @ May 10 2007, 11:10 PM)
right, now most of the cooler having multiple bracket. but newer cooler didnt come with 478. mostly is 775, k8 and am2 bracket. sad.gif
There are a few recent aftermarket heatsinks that do support the 478s, along with the newer sockets. But, what I meant in a sense that the newer heatsinks aren't compatible with the 478, and you have to get an old cooler which might not be efficient enough to cool the latest processors.

Actually, I thought of getting a second-hand aftermarket cooler myself, but after seeing how you can't go far with a 478, I just felt is wasn't worth it. No matter how much you push the processor with the best cooler you have, the performance isn't gonna be on par with the C2Ds or X2s. smile.gif

Might as well, save up that money to invest on my next PC. smile.gif
Compelica
post May 13 2007, 12:49 AM

dozing off. zzz.
1,463 posts

Just made a small check. My processor runs at 70C when running SP2004 at 3.6GHz on stock voltage laugh.gif

BurgerRI, what are your temps on 3.88GHz, full load? And what HSF are you using as well? smile.gif
Compelica
post May 15 2007, 11:11 PM

dozing off. zzz.
1,463 posts

@sang_karim

Any reduction in temps after opening the 5 1/2" bays? And also, just noticed that you're gonna be a father this month biggrin.gif Congrats happy.gif

Today, I tried removing my side processor air duct. The processor fan started running up to 3300 RPM from the usual 2700 RPM, however temperatures were still 70C. laugh.gif

Shows how an air duct could really help in the cooling process. biggrin.gif
Compelica
post May 16 2007, 11:16 AM

dozing off. zzz.
1,463 posts

@kabukiawie

I know 70C is on the high side, but I usually do tests on worse case basis. smile.gif I usually run my PC in a cold environment, so the temps usually drop down to about 62C.

I just did a bit of rewiring today to clear the airflow, now stress testing the processor without the duct and cold air to see the maximum temperature achieved laugh.gif

One of my RAM cooler fans just failed on me, will get a new one soon to replace them. No wonder my RAMs are hot to the touch; that must be the reason too why I fail SP2004's Large FFT tests when the air conditioning isn't on. sweat.gif

Compelica
post May 17 2007, 01:42 AM

dozing off. zzz.
1,463 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ May 16 2007, 05:29 PM)
you have ram cooler?? wao..... nice. haha....

62C still acceptable. but not too nice for me. tongue.gif Well, it is personal preference. I wont  allowed cpu temp >60C full load. 
smile.gif nice. your case can put 80mm fan, mine only can put 60mm. sad.gif
A 60mm fan? A 5 1/2" bay is 40mm tall, which is shown in sang_karim's picture, his 120mm fan took three bays to fit in.

How did you get one and a half bays free? laugh.gif

As for the RAM cooler, the fans are slowly dying down... Luckily the cheapo fans can be replaced, so I'm planning to get better quality ones. biggrin.gif
Compelica
post May 17 2007, 11:31 AM

dozing off. zzz.
1,463 posts

QUOTE(sang_karim @ May 17 2007, 08:12 AM)
correction bro .. that not my fan la...  sweat.gif  just refering the picture about how i'm gonna do to my open bays cover ... hehe ... laugh.gif
LOL oops didn't notice that tongue.gif

But a 5 1/2" bay is 40mm high, I slotted three 40mm fans into the opening in my old PC to cool things further. smile.gif

This post has been edited by colinwong89: May 17 2007, 11:32 AM
Compelica
post May 28 2007, 11:43 PM

dozing off. zzz.
1,463 posts

In my book, random crashes and hangups ARE major problems.

I guess what shinjite meant was a component in your PC, which I suspect to be the motherboard might have failed, eg. leaking capacitors, failing MOSFETs, and such.

My old computer also has this problem, but it can be solved temporarily by switching off the PC for a little while, then switch it back on again. smile.gif
Compelica
post May 30 2007, 05:29 PM

dozing off. zzz.
1,463 posts

QUOTE(pengster @ May 30 2007, 03:39 PM)
actually i don't mind sticking to my P4..just that sometimes during intense gaming the  low fps really gets to my nerve.that's when i wish for a C2D + 8800GTS laugh.gif laugh.gif
@pengster
What graphic card are you currently using with your P4?

@kabukiawie
Sleep in the dustbin? I smell a new motherboard coming up laugh.gif

Underclocking might save a lot of power and might make your processor last longer, but I always prefer to run my PC at max speed. biggrin.gif

Compelica
post Jul 21 2007, 04:01 AM

dozing off. zzz.
1,463 posts

fylon, how's your PC doing in the Large FFT test in SP2004? Is it stable with your current stable setup?

Mine gives me errors when the heat builds up, but if done in an cold room, it goes error free. smile.gif

Lucky for you, you have a Hyper6+ installed. My processor on full load used to reach 70C-72C, but now after cleaning the heatsink plus a bit of lapping it has gone down to 65C. biggrin.gif
Compelica
post Jul 22 2007, 12:34 AM

dozing off. zzz.
1,463 posts

Wow, 270FSB, real sweet. My D43s could only run at 260FSB with 3.3v pumped in. tongue.gif

About heatspreaders, I don't know if it actually works or anything, but I used to put individual heatsinks on each of the RAM chips and put a RAM cooler over it. It did cool down things though biggrin.gif
Compelica
post Aug 1 2007, 02:05 PM

dozing off. zzz.
1,463 posts

Guys, any cheap S478 coolers to recommend? I feel I shouldn't let my 3.0E take the heat all the time tongue.gif
Compelica
post Aug 7 2007, 07:13 PM

dozing off. zzz.
1,463 posts

It's best not to get any video card with 64-bit memory datapaths, no matter how fast the memory or core runs, it's all limited by it.

My Radeon 9700 PRO still serves me nicely, although old but with the 256-bit memory datapath, it is still able to play the latest game albeit with mid-range settings. smile.gif
Compelica
post Aug 7 2007, 07:37 PM

dozing off. zzz.
1,463 posts

QUOTE(karim_effendy @ Aug 7 2007, 07:27 PM)
but mr colin, i think problem will arise like my 9600pro cannot play cmrdirt because my card din support sm 3.0 adoih... i think its time for pcie already la...
That's kind of true, but still most upcoming games nowadays rarely utilise SM3.0, and usually have SM2.0 as a minimum requirement. smile.gif

And if you wanna change your graphic card, you have to change your rig. Man, stuck between a rock and a hard place... laugh.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0485sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 11:01 PM