Children of Men, like Half-Life 2 minus the aliens

TSQuickFire
post Dec 31 2006, 12:50 PM, updated 19y ago

The more you sin the more you win
2,867 posts

HL2 sprang into my mind when I watched this. The setting from HL2 is very much alike here, with no aliens of course. The combine are replaced with the totalitarian British government, London looks a lot like City17, rebels are everywhere.

The year is 2027 and there is global infertility -- the last time a baby was born was 18 years ago, a boy named "baby" Diego. He's the youngest person on the earth, and he's just been killed. Now that is a seriously messed up world. Riots and bombings occur everywhere. If infertility rate does reach 100% in the future, I am sure the world will be exactly what is portrayed in the film.

The direction by Alfonso Cuaron is really top-notch throughout the film, but one scene is really stands out. More than 6 minutes of urban warfare in just a single shot. Awesome.

The film actually plays out like a chapter out of a book. It's never explained why women suddenly became infertile, or what happens after the movie ends. It leaves way too many questions unanswered, but perhaps that's not the focal point here. What we see here is what the main character Theo (brilliantly played by Clive Owen) sees around him, again like HL2 where we see everything through Gordon Freeman.

EDIT: After rewatching I'll have to give this a 9.5/10. Simply brilliant.

This post has been edited by QuickFire: Jan 2 2007, 10:16 PM
navilink
post Dec 31 2006, 03:49 PM

【ツ】
10,783 posts

do we get to see any crowbar? or maybe Alyx?
azarimy
post Dec 31 2006, 10:28 PM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

well, theo doesnt go shooting people or fight against sinister forces in this film. wink.gif

what i love about his movie is that it takes the current issues that exists in the UK and amplifies it nth time. currently we have unspoken tension about the muslim migrants from pakistan/bangladesh as well as middle east in the UK. it's even projected that by 2020, muslims will become a majority in britain.

so in this film, they took the issue and give it an evil twist: the rest of the world are torn by war, refugees flooded the UK. the UK gvment had to put their foot down and legally declare the refugees/immigrants as enemy of the state. militaries were actually shown to hunt the fugees down like dogs.

in order to cope with the growing numbers, the british gvment issued that every citizen carry passports (like our NRIC), and non-citizens without them will be deported to south britain (where the main influx of fugees came from france).

in this film, there are 3 major factions: the government, the refugees and the rebels. all fighting for their own cause. the gvment fights to keep order and preserve its citizens; the refugees trying to flee from their war-torn countries; and the refugees fighting for equal rights (with an agenda of their own).

and the story is about how theo, the main character, tries to keep his sanity while trying to save a life of a woman who bears the first baby that will ever be born in the world since 17 years ago.

AWESOME film.
Cheesenium
post Jan 1 2007, 11:09 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

Wow,this movie sounds good to me.Really no Striders meh?The story do sound a bit like HL to me.
king99
post Jan 1 2007, 02:59 PM

1,188 posts

Well....Where's Dr.Breen !
TSQuickFire
post Jan 1 2007, 07:05 PM

2,867 posts

No aliens or combine at all, just brutal oppressive totalitarian government and warring nationalistic rebels. biggrin.gif
cajun2de
post Jan 1 2007, 07:18 PM

de Reaper
2,791 posts

the movie is more to drama then action.....
TSQuickFire
post Jan 1 2007, 07:29 PM

2,867 posts

QUOTE(cajun2de @ Jan 1 2007, 07:18 PM)
the movie is more to drama then action.....
True, but the few actions scenes were brilliant.
TSQuickFire
post Jan 2 2007, 11:42 AM

2,867 posts

and btw did you know that the baby was actually CGI? My god I thought it was real.
DDSFan8
post Jan 2 2007, 11:50 AM

1,278 posts

I deleted the movie because sound so soft. I think I will get the DVD la, I like Clive Owen.

This post has been edited by DDSFan8: Jan 2 2007, 11:51 AM
syyang85
post Jan 2 2007, 01:04 PM

982 posts

i watched it. damn meaningful. imagine children are so important that everyone stop fighting, when they heard a baby cried. the gun fighting stops. this world wud be a far more better place.
TSQuickFire
post Jan 2 2007, 01:46 PM

2,867 posts

QUOTE(DDSFan8 @ Jan 2 2007, 11:50 AM)
I deleted the movie because sound so soft. I think I will get the DVD la, I like Clive Owen.
The DVD I got had the same prob. Picture quality is very clear but the sound (dialogue only) was soft. Had to set my volume to the max to get what they were talking. laugh.gif

Makakeke
post Jan 3 2007, 01:04 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Jan 2 2007, 01:46 PM)
The DVD I got had the same prob. Picture quality is very clear but the sound (dialogue only) was soft. Had to set my volume to the max to get what they were talking. laugh.gif
Hei I had the same problem man... hands.gif

I really like this movie alot. The storyline was good bt the action scenes were superb. If you look back at the scene where Theo went to save the pregnant lady in the building after she was caught by the dreadlock guy, it was only 1 camera shooting Theo all the way until he meets her again. Awesome thumbup.gif
TSQuickFire
post Jan 3 2007, 08:35 PM

2,867 posts

QUOTE(Makakeke @ Jan 3 2007, 01:04 PM)
Hei I had the same problem man... hands.gif

I really like this movie alot. The storyline was good bt the action scenes were superb. If you look back at the scene where Theo went to save the pregnant lady in the building after she was caught by the dreadlock guy, it was only 1 camera shooting Theo all the way until he meets her again. Awesome thumbup.gif
Yea that scene was brilliant. So was the scene where the rioters started attacking their car. Oh and the first scene in the movie was awesome as well.

The funniest moment for me was

BTW the dvd I got isn't full widescreen 16:9. icon_question.gif
maximus85
post Jan 6 2007, 11:28 PM

O.M.F.G~!!!
605 posts

i just watched this movie and wow.....wat a movie.....it's a shame it din make it to our cinema here.....

damn brilliant movie i must say......especially the warzone scene near the end there.....great directing there i must say.......

i can't imagine living in the world portraited by the director.......it's chaotic everyway......

Clive Owen did a fantastic job...... thumbup.gif
TSQuickFire
post Jan 6 2007, 11:38 PM

2,867 posts

The end battle was brilliant, a single 6.5-minute shot. But my favourite scene

maximus85
post Jan 6 2007, 11:51 PM

O.M.F.G~!!!
605 posts

the bike was actually CGI??

wow.... i really can't notice that.......
TSQuickFire
post Jan 7 2007, 10:48 AM

2,867 posts

QUOTE(maximus85 @ Jan 6 2007, 11:51 PM)
the bike was actually CGI??

wow.... i really can't notice that.......
Yea from what I read both the bike and the baby were CGI.
maximus85
post Jan 7 2007, 12:14 PM

O.M.F.G~!!!
605 posts

the baby was so real when she was borned........

incredible.....
Foxngn
post Jan 8 2007, 09:28 PM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

Man, just finished watched it , I'm so loved this movie. Too bad it didn't explain about why women became infertile, & why does Kee can pregnant.

I liked the last war scene, which was when Theo coming down with the girl & baby, the peace moment until a rocket/missle strike down.

0.0191sec    0.41    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 11:01 AM