Crap... I have close to 10k utilities per month charged to my amex... Guess have to go for cashback card... Any options to recommend?
Credit Cards Maybank 2 Cards Premier V2, Fastest Air Miles Conversion
Mar 17 2016, 08:22 AM
1,577 posts Joined: May 2005 From: USJ |
Crap... I have close to 10k utilities per month charged to my amex... Guess have to go for cashback card... Any options to recommend?
Mar 17 2016, 08:53 AM
Cos malaysian banks are not competitive enough unlike US banks..
From 50k tp to 10k tp... Geesh. What a big drop. |
Mar 17 2016, 10:20 AM
in actual sense, our m2p card earning rate has dropped quite abit after factoring in all the categories that don't earn 5x on amex.... even VI don't give x2 on those categories anymore..
the way i see it, it's like RM 4.77 to 1 mile... it's as good as increasing the redemption point requirement for m2p. |
Mar 23 2016, 10:00 AM
guys, i've called the cust service to check on a few things.
They told me Telco such as telekom, maxis, p1 all is considered under utilities. When asked for black and white, say don't have b&w, it all depends on the code on the CC terminal. Gawd, hate this kind of uncertainty. it's like playing jackpot when we're paying our bills. Strike jackpot, you get 5x. if not then it's x1. |
Mar 23 2016, 10:55 AM
yea.. that part i know.
but if you're paying bills like autopay with telekom, maxis, digi and celcom, it'll be treated as utilities and hence x1 only.. well have to try out for 1 month to confirm this. If this is really the case, just gonna switch out the autobilling to other VI cards. |
Mar 23 2016, 12:40 PM
After calculation, cashback tbh is lower value to me than airmiles. So applying for alliance vi. Hope they approve me asap.
Mar 23 2016, 01:53 PM
QUOTE(Wongchoy @ Mar 23 2016, 12:53 PM) From what I'm told, the impacted category for utilities will be MCC4900-utilities which affect water and electricity. Telco services with MCC 4814 is not affected. guess just have to try it out after 15th april and see.. even the CS themselves are in the dark and not fully briefed. |
Mar 24 2016, 07:31 AM
Apr 3 2016, 11:15 PM
anyone tried paying utilities using posmalaysia online payment? can use the Amex or VI card to get at least 2x TP?
Apr 15 2016, 05:25 PM
anyone knows if telekom (unifi and streamyx) and maxis is considered utilities earning x1 or normal transaction earning x5? i usually pay these bills on m2u.
From M2U bill payment, Maxis is under broadcasting & telecommunication while Telekom is under utilities. Have to re-plan bill payments.. those earning only x1 have to shift to other cards like HLB Mach Signature.. At least it's RM 3 = 1 Enrich. |
Apr 16 2016, 10:07 AM
Can use the payonline uob portal to pay tnb with VI and earn 2x points?
Apr 19 2016, 05:27 PM
that's a huge amount of miles missing.. sure u didn't use to exchange to enrich?
May 9 2016, 03:32 PM
QUOTE(zeronuker @ Apr 24 2016, 09:48 AM) Hello Guys and Girls, that would depend on whether ur company will allow you to claim in the actual charged amount (in ringgit currency) or the amount paid (usually for foreign company it's in USD). While overseas transaction do get 5x points, you'll also get charged on higher conversion rates and foreign transaction fees. I'll be leaving the country soon for greener pastures. I need advice on my keeping the Maybank 2 Premier cards. Would it be better in terms of treatspoints, benefit, currency rates etc etc if I were to maintain these cards i.e use it as I normally would in Malaysia in the new country. Also, My new job will have me travel all over the world very frequently. I'm just weighing out the currency rates and overseas transaction fees (if any) between Maybank 2 Premier Cards to Local Cards. Not to mention that local cards with almost the same benefits with Maybank 2 Premier Cards (initial comparison) has annual fee of almost rm3000. Settling outstanding balance should not be a problem with Maybank2u. Needless to say that the local cards/bank are not available at Malaysia. Only HSBC and Citibank. Knowing where'll be based will narrow down a little further. US cards have better benefits such as high sign up bonus and earning rates. Not to mention they are usually 1 to 1 point transfer to airlines. |
May 24 2016, 05:06 PM
QUOTE(genkis3 @ May 24 2016, 04:00 PM) herc, suggest you to use HLB Mach Signature or HLB Visa Infinite if you can qualify for it. i had this dilemma too when MBB implemented the devaluation... So far only HLB Mach Signature fits me cos banks don't recognize commission as income even though i easily qualify for VI cards...pls update me if got any other cards offer good benefit to pay tnb. mine is 20k and i don't want to pay 40x at sam... thx It's not 5x like amex, but at least it's about RM 2.8 = 1 mile to RM 3 = 1 mile... This post has been edited by raist86: May 24 2016, 05:07 PM |
May 25 2016, 06:27 PM
Cilaka.... If they offering like this, chances are the tp to miles range are going to be revised soon... Once redemption rate starts to go up and becomes unsustainable they'll review the transfer rates.
Jul 24 2016, 09:32 PM
erm.. who says... i just received my replacement 2C premier and there's visa wave on the VI card. This replacement is for the Chip & Pin thingy.
Sep 6 2016, 05:22 PM
spent more than RM 57k for that month.. but didn't get anything...
looks like malaysia still alot of rich flers. |
Oct 19 2016, 09:02 AM
IMHO, 2CPremier is only worth it if you can earn enough points to exchange to air miles due to its best conversion rate and TP earning rate (though not as good as last time). Even with VI card, you get 2TP for every RM1 spent.
2 years worth of collecting points allowed me to fly business on cathay pacific by just paying RM 1k on taxes for 2 pax. Cash purchase value of the ticket is about RM 34k for 2 pax. Think of it as having a big treat once awhile. Some people prefer monthly cash rebates. I prefer having being rewarded with big treats once awhile. 2 years of RM 50 - 100 cash rebates does not give the equivalent value as flying J class. For those who want to optimize earning, i suggest to pair this card with either HLB Mach Signature or MBB Krisflyer Amex to take advantage of points earning from Utilities and Government. If you can get HLB VI or Alliance VI, all the better. Just stay away from HSBC cards even though their advertised conversion rate looks good. They come with lots of T&C and limitation. I had a big headache trying to figure out when to use the card and when not to. CIMB VI or World Mastercard while has good potential miles earning rate, the AF is too expensive and to get a waiver is a bi**h. Have to spend like RM 1Mil to get automatic waiver. There's also a limitation on the number of miles earned a year. This post has been edited by raist86: Oct 19 2016, 09:08 AM |
Oct 19 2016, 12:20 PM
QUOTE(aromachong @ Oct 19 2016, 08:26 AM) QUOTE(Jack128 @ Oct 19 2016, 11:55 AM) I share the same sentiment as you Raist86. In just 1 year of using the 2CPremier, I was able to collect close to 1 Mio TP. It used to be alot easier before they imposed stupid restrictions. Having said that, MAS Enrich redemption is also getting ridiculous so you have to wait for their promotion to score some great deals on their business class seats. Nice way to give a treat to the family Yea, my bad, it's the world enrich. both have ridiculous t&c. BTW I think you meant CIMB World Enrich because their World MAstercard is free for life. Trick is to do the exchange to Enrich when they have 10% extra promotion, then redeem via one world redemption or one world multicarrier redemption. The problem is maybe restriction on seats by partner carrier or fresh call center staff who does not know how to do the redemption. I had to try several times to finally secure my seats. I'm now putting my miles to Krisflyer considering that MBB still have the krisflyer card to earn miles at almost RM 1 = 1 mile. |
Oct 19 2016, 01:40 PM
i only use krisfler for transactions that don't qualify for x5 on 2CP amex (tnb, gov transactions etc).
Krisflyer earning is RM 2 = 1 mile for local spend. but if spend RM 60k> a year, there's a bonus of 1 additional mile for every RM spent. That amount is hit easily for me hence i factor in the bonus earning to become RM 1 = 1 Mile. So far haven't done redemption on krisflyer. I'm using this card to capture all the miles that would've otherwise gone to waste. Ideally if there's a card that can earn the same rate for Asiamiles, i'd have gone for it as CX has better redemption availability and lower tax charges. SQ tax charges can sometimes be eye watering. For example, the same destination i redeemed on CX J would've cost me RM 3.5k in taxes on SQ... But some forumers have found loopholes that cut the taxes which requires starting the flight from certain location (MNL etc). |
| Change to: | 0.0858sec
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:30 AM |