4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Credit Cards Maybank 2 Cards Premier V2, Fastest Air Miles Conversion

raist86
post Oct 19 2016, 02:41 PM

1,577 posts

1st year waive. 2nd year, call in to ask waiver. MBB is quite lenient on AF if you have enough spending on the card.
raist86
post Oct 19 2016, 05:18 PM

1,577 posts

QUOTE(Jack128 @ Oct 19 2016, 03:36 PM)
Raist, are you being awarded miles for TNB and Gov Transactions (Assessment etc)? Been screwed twice by credit cards, once by 2CPremier when they changed their T&C and second time by HL VI which suddenly decided to give ZERO points for transactions through JomPay  ranting.gif
After March, no more miles awarded for TNB and GOV Transaction. I stopped using VI or Amex for these two transactions immediately and switched over to HL mach Signature. Mach Sig still earns points cos it's direct conversion of total spending to Enrich at end of statement. I did use some jompay on mach sig, and that time i still earn enrich miles. Stopped using Mach Sig as of August. Now using Krisflyer for these transactions and i can confirm that all spending on Krisflyer amex earns miles as it's direct conversion to miles.

QUOTE(tishaban @ Oct 19 2016, 04:13 PM)
Best to read up the prior posts here and check the Krisflyer website yourself. There's more to an award redemption than how many points for a flight, including availability of award tickets, number of award seats per flight etc.
You need to know which FF you wanna park your miles to before committing on the card. I've tried Enrich and i got fed up with the YO-YO customer service & marketing. There's no way to capture my spending on utilities & gov transactions for Asia Miles redemption. Hence the final and only way is to use MBB Krisflyer card. I'm doing this only because i have >RM10k a month on utilities and gov transactions.
raist86
post Oct 19 2016, 08:10 PM

1,577 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Oct 19 2016, 07:03 PM)
I strongly advise against collecting more than one type of FF if you can help it. Krisflyer is a fine program to park all your miles under, especially if you can use it on other star alliance flights eg. Thai or ANA in this region.
As tishaban said. Its better to accumulate on one FF program. Do note that since its a monthly automatic transfer to krisflyer, you have up to 3 years from the first transfer before your points starts to expire. It is also advisable to use the earn and burn method instead of keeping miles for long term due to devaluation like in the case of Enrich. I kept my miles in hopes of using for enrich discount time only to have enrich removing the 15% redemption discount which devalued my miles. In the end it's cheaper to redeem on other one world carrier than enrich.

Btw, just to chk with those who are familiar with *A, do they have something like OW multi carrier award? I didn't really understood this award system until recently and am knocking myself over it. With the same amount of miles, i could've redeemed a roundtrip flight WITH stopovers included.. it's like being able to visit 2-3 countries on one ticket... damm

This post has been edited by raist86: Oct 19 2016, 10:05 PM
raist86
post Oct 20 2016, 03:47 PM

1,577 posts

QUOTE(Berkshire Breakaway @ Oct 20 2016, 12:00 PM)
which airline miles did you convert your points to?
TP converted to Enrich. then from Enrich, i used One World partner redemption to redeem flight on CX. JUst need to call customer service to do the redemption. Before call, do homework to find available flights and dates first. Need to specifically tell CS which dates to search for.

raist86
post Oct 20 2016, 10:17 PM

1,577 posts

QUOTE(mr.thinkpad @ Oct 20 2016, 04:07 PM)
does Enrich imposed expensive YQ surcharges for One World partner redemption? never tried before for One World partner redemption, but for MAS itself the YQ surcharges is super expensive
Taxes charged depends on the carrier you're redeeming from. for example, CX does not charge YQ (before september) hence my redemption cost was very low. in total the taxes enrich charged to me is just RM 1000. If redeem using asia miles, the total tax charged after conversion is about RM 800+ so i believe MAS takes some too.

Qatar & Emirates charge ridiculous amount on taxes. IIRC, other than Cathay, JAL has very very reasonable tax charge on air ticket. You can also redeem their flights via one world.

That said, i have a feeling the one world redemption cost will be revised pretty soon as it doesn't make sense for their own redemption to cost more than One World. On top of the stupid YQ charged by MAS.

You can check out carrier's YQ and Tax charges by doing dummy booking on their FF program. MAS charges will just be slight higher to take into account currency exchange and margin.

This post has been edited by raist86: Oct 20 2016, 10:19 PM
raist86
post Oct 21 2016, 04:48 PM

1,577 posts

asiamiles, krisflyer and enrich also can. same rate.
raist86
post Oct 21 2016, 05:01 PM

1,577 posts

yes.. krisflyer amex only used for utilities and gov agencies.

insurance don't take amex, otherwise, will have a big chunk there also.
raist86
post Oct 21 2016, 05:13 PM

1,577 posts

QUOTE(Jack128 @ Oct 21 2016, 05:06 PM)
Do they automatically provide you with a Krisflyer membership when you apply for the card?
they do, but it's more advisable to create your own one and give them the krisflyer acc number. The acc they create for you might have problem logging in.

It's a 5 min process, you can do it on your own.
raist86
post Oct 27 2016, 03:19 PM

1,577 posts

QUOTE(Morning_Star @ Oct 27 2016, 02:28 PM)
Sorry to be off-topic but I couldn't find any LY forum topic on Maybankard SG Air Krisflyer Gold.

The spend min RM 60k (to get 1KF from RM1 spend) applies to calendar year (Jan 1-Dec 31) or from the month of issuance of the card eg. Sept 2016 ?

Any other forumer with the KF card can kindly direct me to a LYN forum topic on KF card.

Thank you in advance.
Should be 1 year of card anniversary, not calender year. according to MBB CS.

I'm still pissed at them for not transferring the bonus 3k miles after RM 3000 spend.
raist86
post Oct 29 2016, 12:03 AM

1,577 posts

QUOTE(Morning_Star @ Oct 27 2016, 03:43 PM)
Where does it say in TNB website that limitation of combined 5k per week is limited to several TNB accounts or limited to 1 credit card (be it KF or the 2Cards Premier/Plat/Gold, etc )
since when does TNB have this limitation? I've paid 10k combined on one credit card with no issues. This is done over counter though.. Their website does not allow for combined payments of multiple accounts. Have to do individually... Kind of a pain if have more than 10 accounts..
raist86
post Oct 29 2016, 12:04 AM

1,577 posts

QUOTE(Morning_Star @ Oct 27 2016, 03:40 PM)
Perhaps raist86 should be given the honour of opening the topic "Maybankard SG Airlines Krisflyer Gold" thread.

I have not open a Krisflyer account yet.
Haha... i dun think many would be using the Krisflyer card though.. unless you have tons of utilities to pay for...

for normal spending, MBB 2C Premier is still the best
raist86
post Nov 2 2016, 10:43 AM

1,577 posts

QUOTE(Jack128 @ Nov 2 2016, 10:08 AM)
Hi sifus, sorry for asking the same question repeatedly but I still don't know which credit card to use to maximize my points for Enrich redemption. I know we discussed about Krisflyer but I have decided to stick with Enrich for various other factors. I switched from MBB 2CPremier to HL VI but they too have started awarding ZERO points for utility payments using JOMPAY. My highest monthly charges are from utility bills

Please advise! Thanks
Don't use JOMPAY to make payment then. HL VI still earns points for counter payment IIRC. Banks will start to remove benefits for online payment due to cost cutting..
raist86
post Nov 2 2016, 11:19 AM

1,577 posts

QUOTE(Jack128 @ Nov 2 2016, 11:01 AM)
Yes counter payments is possible but it is rather inconvenient  sad.gif Just getting a parking spot is a real pain.
Anyone knows if the CIMB Enrich Platinum is any good? Can collect points for online payment of utility?
a quick glance at their T&C does not say that Utilties DOES NOT award bonus miles... hence it should earn based on normal rate.

However, the earning is RM 4 to 1 mile... quite bad actually.
raist86
post Nov 2 2016, 04:21 PM

1,577 posts

QUOTE(Jack128 @ Nov 2 2016, 02:48 PM)
Raist, do you get charged an annual fee with the Krisflyer Gold Amex? I gather that if spending is adequate it will be waived?
So far i've not been charged AF by any bank by virtue of my spending. If card has AF, i'll call 1 month ahead to get the waiver. Usually a threat of cancelling my card and taking my business to another bank is enough for them to waive. Just started to use the KF Gold 2 months, ask me again in 10 months time biggrin.gif.

BUT... the only bank that i cannot get waiver even though with high spending is CIMB.. bloody hell want me to spend RM 1 mil to waive the AF.. go fly kite la...

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Nov 2 2016, 03:08 PM)
discussion of converting to miles are relevant in this thread..
However, what to redeem with miles(e.g. flight route, flight class) and how to get best of the miles should be in frequent flyer thread..

agree?
Aiaya, it's very messy to switch back and forth between the two topic just to ask and answer questions that are closely linked.

Btw, who's the TS for this thread ya? maybe can add the Krisflyer Amex Gold card also to this topic as it's very similiar. Anyone who is using Krisflyer will only use it for air mile redemption.
raist86
post Nov 3 2016, 11:05 AM

1,577 posts

Jack128 is spot on. the whole point of this thread is like what the title says "Fastest Air miles Conversion"... The purpose of this card is not how much rebate/cashback one can get.. but it's about maximizing it for mileage conversion. The fact that this card converts to Asiamiles, Enrich and KF means that most people are clueless on which is the best way to optimize the redemption.

The conversations so far has been linked to this 3 programs and it's pros and cons.

A little bit of common sense would be refreshing TBH.
raist86
post Nov 3 2016, 11:12 AM

1,577 posts

fruitie, if you look back the questions asked in this thread is about M2CP is always linked to award flight redemption. you want us to reply back one part here, and another part in the FF thread?

IDK, if it's going to be such a hassle, good luck to those who are seeking info about this card and how to use it properly.
raist86
post Nov 3 2016, 11:50 AM

1,577 posts

well. maybe let's all take a step back before it gets personal.

Fruitie, we do appreciate the work of mods doing the unseen and unappreciated work to keep forum clean and tidy. By all means clean up the thread if the topic goes really off hand or when unrelated post crops up. Just asking for abit of common sense to prevail alright? smile.gif

i propose that anything related to the M2CP (application, waiver of AF, which FF program to credit to and matters relating to the 3 FF programs) be allowed to be discussed in this thread. If related to other programs / hotels then discussion goes to Frequent Flier thread.

All in all, we just want to enrich the community with knowledge.
raist86
post Nov 3 2016, 01:24 PM

1,577 posts

alright back to topic.. i think MBB is not very upfront with the introducer campaign.. i recommended 2 ppl to MBB to get the card, they were approved and have received the card but no TP was credited to me... called the CS and apparently there's no way to track who introduced who... sleep.gif;
raist86
post Dec 14 2016, 04:26 PM

1,577 posts

QUOTE(digidigi @ Dec 14 2016, 03:56 PM)
Any idea how to pay more than 10k TNB using Maybank card? As seems like m2u only allow max 10k per month
go to TNB Station to make payment via counter.
raist86
post Jan 11 2017, 09:34 AM

1,577 posts

If you have Premier Wealth / private banking status from the bank, you can call your RM and request for waiver. I've done that for someone who has less than 20k spending on the card but has large amount of FD parked in the bank.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0334sec    0.17    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:57 AM