Credit Cards Maybank 2 Cards Premier V2, Fastest Air Miles Conversion

isaacchew
post Apr 14 2019, 02:55 AM

134 posts

Yeah super lucky game. WH deserved at least a draw, if not a win. Referee decisions also went MU's way. But a 3 points is 3 points no matter how you get it.

QUOTE(charlesj @ Apr 14 2019, 02:27 AM)
Phew. 5x thanks to referee and their damn luck.
If MU not staying in top 4, they gonna lose a few good players and it is even harder to earn 5x next season.
Definitely lots of players are gonna leave and many new players will be signed. Gonna be a huge (and expensive) summer of rebuilding. Too many deadweight and 'okay' players in the team, not enough world class players / game changers. Definitely to shore up the defence. Look how much difference signing a solid CB like Van Dijk made to Liverpool.

This post has been edited by isaacchew: Apr 14 2019, 02:57 AM
isaacchew
post Apr 15 2019, 02:10 AM

134 posts

QUOTE(Catalyst86 @ Apr 14 2019, 10:52 PM)
I did some searching both in the BP thread and CC exchange rate thread but found different answers. Does BP charge 0% fees for forex exchange (similar with MasterCard rate)? I use VI for overseas transactions for 5x TP and BP for 0x or 1x TP.

I'm a bit conflicted on this issue. For example, I'm planning to go overseas near the end of the year and estimate spending would be around 60k. So assuming BP 0% charges, I would need to pay additional RM1350 if I use the VI instead of BP (VI forex fees 2.25%). However I would get additional ~68,000 miles (306,750TP). So meaning to say I would gain those miles at around 2 cents per mile.

I think 2 cents is good value.
Interesting discussions. Yes, first off is make full use of BP as much as possible. You still get points to your VI when you top up BP (and since you're only travelling year end, you should search some of the previous posts, and change your VI to MUVI for more TPs). Also, each of your family member can apply for their own BP cards, which can be topped up either by your transferring BP to BP, or getting sup cards so you have more options to top up.

From my calculations, 1 Enrich Mile for economy redemptions is worth about 4 cents (more for business class), so I guess it's still worth while.

Also, I know this thread is related to M2P, but just putting it out there. AMB WMC is also a good card for overseas spend. It used to be a superb card and I used to use it all the time overseas, but recently it has been devalued. In the T&Cs they state that they cap forex markup at 1% (as opposed to BP at 0% and VI at 2.25%). Plus, you used to be able to earn RM1 overseas spend = 1 Airmile, but as of Jan 2019, it has been devalued to RM1.40 overseas spend = 1 Airmile. sad.gif

QUOTE(lilsunflower @ Apr 15 2019, 01:21 AM)
Just sharing my own strategy below, but ultimately the choice of cards depends on timing, circumstances and nature of your expenses.

I go on one family to Europe every year but most of my expenses are actually pre-paid. Bulk of expenditure will be for flights, accommodation and other tickets (e.g. tourist attractions, trains etc), which I will book as early as possible and also time it so that I can maximise the combination of MUVI (top up BP with MUVI on match days and hope for 5x, as well as other CB cards) and BP. For example, my husband and I have BP cards, so if we book flights and accommodation over 2 months, we effectively have RM40k of BP quota to play with.

If I'm lucky, I can enjoy the MUVI 5xTP (if MU wins!) coupled with the lowest forex rates through using BP on my prepaid expenses.

While we are on holiday, RM10k x 2 is usually enough to pay for food and other non prepaid expenses, as we do not shop for big ticket items.  If your RM60k is for shopping, then you have to find another card for RM40k.  For me, my back-up plan (in theory) would be to ask my parents or siblings to top up their BP (with their MUVI and other CB supp cards) and P2P transfer the cash to my BP if our RM10k x 2 quotas are exhausted. But based on my spending pattern (i.e. no shopping spree while on holiday), this would be highly unlikely to happen in practice.

I usually spend some time thinking about how to play with my card inventory depending on timing and other expenses, so I don't really have a fixed strategy. But just sharing my usual way of thinking. I know some people may laugh and think this is just counting pennies and wasting time.... but I am from a middle income family and every bit of saving really matters to me.
Good strategy, spreading out spending (though, over those few months, forex fluctuations could be more than the 2% forex spread. haha biggrin.gif ).
Also, if you want to maximise it even further, you could apply for M2P sup cards for your family members. Or even get them to apply as principal and sup to you. There's no rule saying that one can't hold 2 (or more) of the same cards from the same bank.

This post has been edited by isaacchew: Apr 15 2019, 02:22 AM
isaacchew
post Apr 15 2019, 06:58 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(brogress @ Apr 15 2019, 03:59 PM)
Sifus, has anyone used the MU Visa Infinite Concierge service. Am heading to Japan, and want to get a table at one of those closed door private sushi bars. Was told they don't entertain non-Japanese speaker requests.

Has anyone tried using this concierge service and can share your experience?
As an alternative, I haven't tried it, but my friends all have had success using https://www.tableall.com/. Of course they charge a markup but it's supposedly the least compared to other sites.
isaacchew
post Apr 25 2019, 03:51 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Apr 25 2019, 09:55 AM)
Same here. Devastating... sad.gif
I need as many 5x as possible but what they are doing is not helpful at all. Hopefully MBB will not do revision at the same time..
Use these sites (especially for those that don't follow football) so you can better plan when to use / topup. I believe in stats:
https://www.oddschecker.com/football/english/premier-league
https://www.aceodds.com/bet-calculator/odds-converter.html (to convert to percentage probability).

Man C was a 13% winnning chance so I didn't bother

Upcoming winning odds:
Chelsea 37%
Huddersfield 73%

isaacchew
post May 4 2019, 11:25 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(Achilles @ May 4 2019, 10:49 AM)
Thanks, that’s useful. Every RM1 + 5 TreatsPoints, 400k equivalents to 80k spending too.. same 🤭

Just wondering is worth to pay if don’t achieve and keep the card or cancel before they charge ...
Use Big Pay card, topup with M2P card, then withdraw from ATM. Can reach 80k/year.
Do some research, lots of info out there including on Big Pay thread in this forum.
isaacchew
post May 12 2019, 04:24 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ May 10 2019, 11:51 AM)
I have no passport when I enter travelling domestic....lol....don't recall they ever asked for IC....I just pass the BP, cc, and arrture card to them.....
What's the Arrture card for? I also got keep giving them but I dunno what's it for. I assume collect some points. Any value to those points?
isaacchew
post May 14 2019, 05:02 PM

134 posts

Is there any way to show the amount of taxes & surcharges for Asia Miles if you do not have sufficient AM? Seems like you need enough miles to proceed to the next step where they'll show you the total taxes.

isaacchew
post May 14 2019, 06:13 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(tohff7 @ May 14 2019, 05:09 PM)
Can, just search one-way. Once you click the flights, will show the indicated taxes/surcharge below before you click Next

EDIT
Works for return as well. I use Cathay Pacific website to search

I tried, only works for Economy. But I can't get taxes for Business.
And also only works for CX but not if I search on the Asia Miles website and on other partners like Qatar.

I'm tabulating a comparison of different FFP redemption amounts and destinations here:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1woO...Loc0/edit#gid=0
It's editable for now, if anyone wants to help populate the data. tongue.gif
I know amount varies by date, and availability is always uncertain. But I've taken the lowest miles required such as Saver on KF, to get a benchmark.

Also, maybe it's better we keep this solely to M2P related stuff, and move all frequent flyer discussion over here?
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3812482/+1500&#entry92676918

This post has been edited by isaacchew: May 14 2019, 07:51 PM
isaacchew
post May 15 2019, 08:57 PM

134 posts

Okay, I completed the Comparison table between EM/KF/AM for some popular destinations:
Frequent Flyer Comparison

Lots of you were asking many pages back which is the best FFP to redeem.
Have a look at the table and decide for yourselves.
All amounts are for return flights, based on the cheapest redemption ticket (Basic on EM, Saver on KF, Standard on AM). No doubt these miles required might not be available when you book due to availability / wishlist issues, but it serves as a good benchmark.
(p.s. I don't have sufficient miles in my AM account that's why I'm unable to check the taxes required for J class redemption)

My conclusions are:
1. EM is good for Economy Class if you want direct flights out from KUL, but only to the rather limited routes it flies to. EM is poor value if you're redeeming Business Class
2. KF & AM is good in that you can fly to many other cities, but the downside (or maybe an upside?) is that there's an additional transit.
3. AM has way higher taxes. (Some of you have mentioned that AM requires less miles than KF, but I don't see too much of a difference, unless perhaps it's because I'm comparing the baseline cheapest redemption amounts?).
4. KF there's potential to redeem their impressive Suites Class & AM you can get Qatar QSuites or JAL Suites.

This post has been edited by isaacchew: May 15 2019, 08:58 PM
isaacchew
post May 15 2019, 10:06 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(db07mufan @ May 15 2019, 09:50 PM)
I still think KF is the best
Yea i'll probably redeem KF.
The only advantage of AM for me is redeeming Qatar to Europe. Allows you to break the trip in the middle in Doha
isaacchew
post May 15 2019, 10:28 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(propusers @ May 15 2019, 10:21 PM)
wow... thank you for spending your personal time to compile this...

may I know
KF = always transit at Singapore?
AM = always transit at Hong Kong?

if i use AM redeem ticket from KL to Sydney, it will fly from KL->Hong Kong->Sydney ??  sound like not so efficiency...
Yes correct. AM will take you KUL-HK-SYD on Cathay, which is inefficient.
The other option is to redeem on their partner airlines

This post has been edited by isaacchew: May 15 2019, 10:29 PM
isaacchew
post May 16 2019, 06:10 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(negayem @ May 16 2019, 06:01 PM)
Hi sifus, my wife and I plan to visit New York late next year. We intend to fly SQ. I checked the website but no miles was given. Only information available was SGD7K+ one way. Anyone know the approximate KF miles required for return flight New York on business class? Need to convert points before 1st June or not rugi! Thanks.
QUOTE(isaacchew @ May 15 2019, 08:57 PM)
Okay, I completed the Comparison table between EM/KF/AM for some popular destinations:
Frequent Flyer Comparison

Lots of you were asking many pages back which is the best FFP to redeem.
Have a look at the table and decide for yourselves.
All amounts are for return flights, based on the cheapest redemption ticket (Basic on EM, Saver on KF, Standard on AM). No doubt these miles required might not be available when you book due to availability / wishlist issues, but it serves as a good benchmark.
(p.s. I don't have sufficient miles in my AM account that's why I'm unable to check the taxes required for J class redemption)

My conclusions are:
1. EM is good for Economy Class if you want direct flights out from KUL, but only to the rather limited routes it flies to. EM is poor value if you're redeeming Business Class
2. KF & AM is good in that you can fly to many other cities, but the downside (or maybe an upside?) is that there's an additional transit.
3. AM has way higher taxes. (Some of you have mentioned that AM requires less miles than KF, but I don't see too much of a difference, unless perhaps it's because I'm comparing the baseline cheapest redemption amounts?).
4. KF there's potential to redeem their impressive Suites Class & AM you can get Qatar QSuites or JAL Suites.
See my table above. But I think New York is a very difficult route to score redemption J Class. Like pillage said above, need to book 1 year in advance, which you can try do since you're travelling late next year.

This post has been edited by isaacchew: May 16 2019, 06:11 PM
isaacchew
post May 26 2019, 07:07 PM

134 posts

Anyone knows if I can use M2Amex / Visa to make payment for SSPN-i? Is it counted as a government transaction?

Also, a bit off topic, but just researching now and it seems like such a good way for people to lower their tax payable since there's an 8k tax deductible, plus there's no penalty or age limit for withdrawal, unlike say EPF.

This post has been edited by isaacchew: May 26 2019, 07:18 PM
isaacchew
post May 27 2019, 09:47 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(daifeigo @ May 27 2019, 09:28 PM)
when it comes to calling CS for redemption, I always triple confirm my kf account:lol:
TP deducted instantly, all 0
To assuage your worries, when you do redemptions, just like for Internet banking, the KF / FFP account name has to match your name. So not likely that the Miles can go to the wrong account.
isaacchew
post May 27 2019, 10:41 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(muscaa @ May 27 2019, 10:10 PM)
I hope they can double check the account number and account name rclxms.gif
Yes, that is the reason that you cannot redeem into someone else's FFP, as they verify the name must be matching the principle cardholder name.

Btw, above someone was asking whether miles can be redeemed to supplementary holder's name. For separation of TPs, firstly, the card has to be individual statements, instead of joint statement. Whether supplementary name can redeem, there's conflicting answers. Like you said, card centre says can, but call centre says only can redeem other things, except for airmiles must still be in principal's name.

I'm inclined to think the call centre answer is right, but if someone has evidence / experience otherwise please share.

This post has been edited by isaacchew: May 27 2019, 10:45 PM
isaacchew
post May 28 2019, 02:52 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ May 28 2019, 02:12 PM)
Actually they don't verify. I've people transferring their points to my account before. So be wary of your number and ask them to reiterate when you make the call.
Are you sure? Coz if that works that would be very useful for me, as I would rather redeem to another name rather than the principal cardholder's name.
But customer service said if you give a non matching account, it would bounce back with a reject code.
isaacchew
post May 28 2019, 05:18 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(tarvalslain87 @ May 28 2019, 04:58 PM)
Just checked my KF account, got it already.. Really fast... Unlike citibank PM where it took almost 1 month plus to get it reflected...
Yeah, maybank real efficient. Very fast. AmBank also takes ages to redeem miles, though not as bad as 1 month.

Btw, what's the best way to pay things like TNB, Majlis Bandaraya etc? Both Amex & VI gets you 1x TP. I guess best option is just to transfer to BigPay and pay using BP right?

This post has been edited by isaacchew: May 28 2019, 05:19 PM
isaacchew
post May 28 2019, 07:54 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(yoonyin @ May 28 2019, 07:26 PM)
One of the method is top up into BP and pay the TnB / government bill. Another option which I shared in previous post, paying your TnB bill using Express Autopay. https://www.americanexpress.com/my/network/...ss-autopay.html

Download the form and subscribe to Amex auto billing and can earn 5x TP.
I did see some discussion on this but it didn't register in my mind. lol. Thanks!!
Seems weird though why it gives 5x TP when it's utilities / govt spending, unless it's a different MCC code.
isaacchew
post May 29 2019, 02:05 AM

134 posts

QUOTE(yoonyin @ May 28 2019, 07:26 PM)
One of the method is top up into BP and pay the TnB / government bill. Another option which I shared in previous post, paying your TnB bill using Express Autopay. https://www.americanexpress.com/my/network/...ss-autopay.html

Download the form and subscribe to Amex auto billing and can earn 5x TP.
QUOTE(Coconut @ May 28 2019, 08:46 PM)
sorry to burst your bubble, this method only earn u 1x tp for TNB
QUOTE(digidigi @ May 28 2019, 09:17 PM)
Is it? U tried before?
yoonyin, maybe you can check your statements to verify if it is indeed 5x.
I called Customer Service to check. They also said that it is only 1x TP for TNB, even using this Amex Express Autopay method.
isaacchew
post May 30 2019, 02:18 AM

134 posts

QUOTE(skty @ May 29 2019, 07:16 PM)
just my 2 cents after my recent study to avoid giving impression to other people that AM is a no-brainer in all situation.

I don't like the uncertainty of SQ and CX and personally dislike MH soft and hard product. But I still can't decide which to go because I don't know about the surcharge + tax of AM/KF/EM partner airlines/MCA. If anyone got apple to apple comparison, please share ya? Many thanks!
I shared this previously: FFP Points Comparison
It's Fuji Apple to Washington Apple comparison. Just for simple comparison purposes, how many Miles & Taxes needed for each Airline. But doesn't account for availability of those award tickets, waitlisting issues, flying partner airlines, etc. Gives you a good ballpark though.

QUOTE(tansam @ May 29 2019, 08:53 PM)
Just redeem all tp half to Asia miles and half to KrisFlyer. Surprisingly 1u card centre staff say can redeem all the points include m2platinum with the rate of 4500tp=1000. Also the staff say tnb autopay is 5x tp.
Can someone who has done this autopay method verify if it is indeed 5x TP? It's not the first time card centre & call centre give conflicting answers. A few people in here already said it is only 1x.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0317sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:18 PM