Credit Cards Maybank 2 Cards Premier V2, Fastest Air Miles Conversion

Catalyst86
post Apr 13 2019, 12:17 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(Rooivalkx @ Apr 11 2019, 05:17 PM)
when will the 5x TP from MU winning be posted to credit card account usually? extra points from the match on March 30th still not in...
It seems like 5x TP from 30/03 match is in already.

And yeah regarding tonight I'm still not sure if go 100% or partial
Catalyst86
post Apr 13 2019, 01:03 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Apr 13 2019, 12:27 PM)
How to check TP in Maybank app? I couldn't find where is it hidden
I can't find it in the app as well. Normally I login to my account via browser on my phone.
Catalyst86
post Apr 13 2019, 06:40 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(lilsunflower @ Apr 13 2019, 06:31 PM)
No choice.  Bought flights this morning on Singapore airlines, which were denominated in SGD.

Was debating whether I should use Amex Reserve (to get guaranteed 5x TP, but pay high forex conversion charges), or load BP with MUVI (taking gamble to get 2x or 5x) and pay using BP to enjoy lower forex rate.  Ended up choosing the latter and now at the mercy of MU.
Yeah if MU wins can get the best of both forex and TP. Will be praying for a win as I just decided to reload 70%.
Catalyst86
post Apr 14 2019, 02:25 AM

88 posts

Haha lucky win. Nail biting second half
Catalyst86
post Apr 14 2019, 10:52 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(lilsunflower @ Apr 14 2019, 05:31 PM)
Yepp. I've never had a problem booking SQ with BP. The only complaint I have is that I have to split my booking into tranches if cost is more than RM10,000. But other than that, the forex rate is superior to any other card.

What websites did you encounter problems with? I do a lot of overseas online shopping (especially US and Europe) and never encountered a problem. As a rule of thumb, I will use BP for all my overseas online purchases because of the forex, and I feel it is safer as fraud is limited to the balance in the card (which I freeze if balance is high and not in use).
I did some searching both in the BP thread and CC exchange rate thread but found different answers. Does BP charge 0% fees for forex exchange (similar with MasterCard rate)? I use VI for overseas transactions for 5x TP and BP for 0x or 1x TP.

I'm a bit conflicted on this issue. For example, I'm planning to go overseas near the end of the year and estimate spending would be around 60k. So assuming BP 0% charges, I would need to pay additional RM1350 if I use the VI instead of BP (VI forex fees 2.25%). However I would get additional ~68,000 miles (306,750TP). So meaning to say I would gain those miles at around 2 cents per mile.

I think 2 cents is good value.
Catalyst86
post Apr 15 2019, 08:30 AM

88 posts

Very interesting. I would adopt the same strategy once I can accumulate more miles than I can burn. Just got my M2P cards last December so currently my plan is to maximize TP
Catalyst86
post Apr 21 2019, 09:28 PM

88 posts

Erm, chances aren't good for the next 2 match also...
Catalyst86
post Apr 25 2019, 04:41 PM

88 posts

Huddersfield is next month. Still got some quota left this month, so hopefully can defeat Chelsea
Catalyst86
post Apr 29 2019, 12:21 AM

88 posts

Lately even my mother can play goalkeeper better than De Gea
Catalyst86
post May 5 2019, 11:01 PM

88 posts

Don't worry bro, with this form next week also no 5x TP.
Catalyst86
post May 7 2019, 02:27 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ May 7 2019, 02:04 PM)
Nobody actually spend own money on j tickets lah....lol
Well I redeemed one J ticket for wife and bought mine with cash. Started too late with this air miles thing.

10% devaluation is still okay I think. Way better than what HSBC did a year ago
Catalyst86
post May 8 2019, 02:01 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(tohff7 @ May 8 2019, 01:48 PM)
I just googled and found out that they are sending a QSuite-equipped A350 to KL starting 15 July. Ok no need to consider others already  biggrin.gif

Redeem AM or EM better in this case?

I can search and look at availability on Cathay Pacific / AM websites, but MAS don't have ley
Definitely redeem AM instead of EM. For me I prefer AM over KF as well. Based on some research, it's easier to find award flights availability and the cost in miles is also a lot cheaper. You pay more in fuel surcharge but still worth it since miles also cost money. Singapore is also a short and cheap direct flight away. I much prefer to stayover in other home bases like Hong Kong or Japan so no advantage of KF there. And as mentioned, Qsuites from KUL soon haha.
Catalyst86
post May 8 2019, 02:12 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(digidigi @ May 8 2019, 02:09 PM)
The simple rules is
Those have million miles to burn, kf
Limited miles , am
I disagree, even if I have 100 million TP I would still convert to AM. But preference for others of course would vary. Some prefer SQ or *A partners I guess

This post has been edited by Catalyst86: May 8 2019, 02:12 PM
Catalyst86
post May 9 2019, 06:28 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(act one @ May 9 2019, 04:48 PM)
Bro
Mind to share the experience of booking AM using point?
Just create AM account then you can search for award availability either at AM/CX/JL/BA website. My last redemption I had to call AM call centre because I wanted to include a stopover in HK. Their call centre is pretty rubbish. I think on average maybe 30-60 minutes before someone would answer. Needed 70% of required miles before they can hold your booking.

Anyways, I just did a search on AM website and I could see a lot of availability for KUL-LHR for 140k return. Can try Qsuites which is the best J class product for now.

This post has been edited by Catalyst86: May 9 2019, 06:29 PM
Catalyst86
post May 12 2019, 03:10 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ May 12 2019, 02:21 PM)
I already spent more than 15k today, hopefully it gives us good ROI tonight. For the last match. rclxms.gif
Hopefully we can celebrate tonight haha
Catalyst86
post May 15 2019, 06:23 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(peigeng @ May 15 2019, 06:11 PM)
How does this 30% off works?
From what I see spontaneous escape not really practical 95% of the time. SQ already stingy with award space, requires you to book before the end of this month and travel next month.
Catalyst86
post May 15 2019, 10:55 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(propusers @ May 15 2019, 10:21 PM)
wow... thank you for spending your personal time to compile this...

may I know
KF = always transit at Singapore?
AM = always transit at Hong Kong?

if i use AM redeem ticket from KL to Sydney, it will fly from KL->Hong Kong->Sydney ??  sound like not so efficiency...
If you exchange KF with SQ and AM with CX in your question then yes. But there are so many partner airlines to choose from, with different home bases for both AM and KF
Catalyst86
post May 16 2019, 07:14 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(negayem @ May 16 2019, 06:01 PM)
Hi sifus, my wife and I plan to visit New York late next year. We intend to fly SQ. I checked the website but no miles was given. Only information available was SGD7K+ one way. Anyone know the approximate KF miles required for return flight New York on business class? Need to convert points before 1st June or not rugi! Thanks.
Based on the award chart it's 198k KF miles return per pax in J. And please follow previous poster advice to book 355 days before, because it's hard to get award ticket for this route.
Catalyst86
post May 29 2019, 09:10 AM

88 posts

For me it's a no brainier. Redeemed all to AM again

1) Availability
More availability compared to KF, not sure about EM though.

2) Miles required
Most routes requires less miles in AM, sometimes by a lot.

3) Cash required
I'm based in Miri so I always need a positioning flight to KUL or SIN. Using AM allows me to add MYY to KUL in J for free (flying MH) or additional 15k miles (mixed carrier). So this offsets the higher taxes for AM compared to SQ. So cheapest is EM followed up AM then KF.

No brainier.
Catalyst86
post Jun 7 2019, 12:07 AM

88 posts

Jeez, does anyone really follow the guy? The way he writes in his blog... People spend money on that?

Anyways in my opinion, this forum is the best place to learn how to accumulate miles. I've learned so much from this thread and also from others.

Also browse flyertalk forum. There are many knowledgeable people there. Can read on the ways how to spend your miles.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.2774sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:46 PM