Credit Cards Maybank 2 Cards Premier V2, Fastest Air Miles Conversion

aspartame
post Oct 2 2019, 09:49 AM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(charlesj @ Oct 2 2019, 07:48 AM)
I like the map page from booking.com, can easily search for available hotel at your budget.
Agoda, the map feature is somehow less user friendly.
Occasionally after confirm the room i wanted from booking.com, i will counter check from Agoda and hotel.com.
Agoda, most of the time it is the same price, but i agree they do have promo from time to time.
Hotel.com, I just started to explore few months ago, I noticed the availability is somehow less than booking.com and nothing too special with the rate.
For those with booking.com Genius 10% discount, always login to compare the price, initially I thought this is just a gimmick, but recently I learnt that the price I get is lower than my wife is getting.
How to register for Genius? Btw, I find that booking.com is the same but often times higher than Agoda.....nowadays, I also find that if we book way ahead with free cancellation, the prices are not low at all unlike last time...
aspartame
post Oct 2 2019, 09:54 AM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(digidigi @ Oct 1 2019, 10:44 PM)
It is like hotel.com actually belong to Expedia...

Actually hotel.com is the best overall la....
Oh.,, u find hotel.com has better rates than Agoda?
aspartame
post Oct 2 2019, 09:56 AM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(mr_tuzki @ Oct 1 2019, 10:35 PM)
I haven't tested on TNG, but are you sure?? Thought it's on the list of e-wallets with no TPs.
Are you sure 8x TP!?
I like to book in advance (or even kiasu book a few), since they're refundable, then closer to the date once everything confirmed, I'd cancel them and rebook non-refundable ones as they're somewhat cheaper.
Is Agoda the best? Many times I see there are say credit card promo tie in with Agoda, maybe the listed rate is lower, but ultimately the final price even including the discount is the same as booking.com. I always use booking.com as my go to accommodation aggregator.
Just remember to cancel.. lol .. and in the unlucky event of death or whatever, all those bookings will be charged when the time comes ...
aspartame
post Oct 2 2019, 10:23 AM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(digidigi @ Oct 2 2019, 10:10 AM)
actually really depend, pricing varies across diff hotel on diff dates, but on average agoda give better price at first glance.

Hotel.com rewards give one night free for every 10 night u book with them ( average value), and hotel.com if u able to hit gold status, in the event that u book the non refundable rate but u want cancel it u can call them to request for cancellation (it reported works).

With hotel.com when u book u can book through ShopBack.com, it works with the hotel.com rewards scheme, so u get additional cash back, for agoda or booking.com, the cash back offer at ShopBack is higher but if u opt for it u can’t combine with another cash back( correct me is I wrong)

Nowaday when I choosing hotel I will look at tripadvisor plus google rating plus blogger site, then filter with the location I want. If I have really no idea abt the place I want stay stay at particular city, I will check the search engine map that show the pricing of diff hotel for that region, for this booking.com works better, and booking.com search engine if somehow better if u are search for large group of people, like 4 adult.
Ok, thx. I usually just read the comments at Agoda and booking to see for positive and negative things. Their ratings also quite accurate but but beware some ratings are artificial....also, sometimes I book direct with hotels as they are cheaper on a few occasion
aspartame
post Oct 22 2019, 04:42 PM

3,165 posts

Anyone can confirm using Favepay linked to Amex gets 5 points? If yes, Favepay is my favourite eWallet
aspartame
post Oct 22 2019, 04:59 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 22 2019, 04:53 PM)
If Grab transactions (not GrabPay) can, so Favepay should be too. It charges directly to the card, not by storing any amount in any wallet.
Oh... all the while I assume GrabPay “top up” with Amex won’t earn 5 points.... am I wrong? If GrabPay with Amex can earn 5 points, then it is my favourite eWallet ...but note that GrabPay is “top up” but FavePay is direct deduct exact amount ...

Hope for some clarifications. Thx
aspartame
post Oct 22 2019, 05:13 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 22 2019, 05:11 PM)
GrabPay top up will not earn anything. What I meant was if you pay directly for your Grab rides or GrabFood and charge straight to AmEx, you will get 5x. Don't use GrabPay e-wallet.
Oh ok.. FavePay should be ok right?
aspartame
post Oct 22 2019, 05:16 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 22 2019, 05:15 PM)
Yes.
Ok, thx. Just now u said , use GrabPay but pay direct,,, can it be set to pay direct when paying to merchants just like FavePay?
aspartame
post Nov 20 2019, 03:10 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 19 2019, 02:45 PM)
Don't forget every increase, you may need 6 months. laugh.gif 5 years for you then. laugh.gif
Now 30k is because you applied M2P, that's the minimum CL. That's why I always encourage people to apply higher tier cards for MBB if want higher CL, they will auto upgrade for you. At least for my case yes. Back in 2011 when I first got my M2C Gold, they gave me 5k and I asked for increase, upgraded to 8k. Then I upgraded my cards to Plat about 3 years later, it was auto upgraded to 15k. After that I applied VS, upgraded again to 20k. Before I applied for M2P, I requested for two rounds of CL increase and blessed with above 30k. I didn't request for CL increase when I got my M2P but I did it two months ago and granted with 10% increase. laugh.gif
Maybank so stingy... years ago I got this free annual fee world mastercard from CIMB ... straight give 100k... I called them up to reduce to 50k... had to write letter to reduce I think .. ha ha

Nowadays I dunno lah
aspartame
post Nov 24 2019, 09:18 AM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(Alec.Yong @ Nov 23 2019, 10:33 AM)
No no no, Islamic and conventional different CL...
May I know why u dun switch to Visa Infinite? Isn’t the benefits better than Visa platinum ?
aspartame
post Nov 24 2019, 09:55 AM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 24 2019, 09:48 AM)
He has.. Just that he showed screenshots of his Plat cards. laugh.gif
I think he has almost all Premier cards.
Oh ok, thx smile.gif
aspartame
post Dec 13 2019, 08:46 AM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(whyip1988 @ Dec 13 2019, 08:36 AM)
anyone's of here ever request new replacement card ?
my amex reserve cvc faded,actually already gone from my card.

card plastic also peeled off become 2 layer.
Ya, walk in card centre and ask for replacement foc.. I think like 1 or 2 days can collect alresdy .. the new card quality much better .. no more peeling off after like 1 year..
aspartame
post Dec 13 2019, 09:32 AM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(whyip1988 @ Dec 13 2019, 09:10 AM)
the card number remain same is it ?
because my current card number quite nice, haha
Ya.. everything remains including expiry
aspartame
post Dec 13 2019, 09:33 AM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Dec 13 2019, 09:31 AM)
Change card only the number will be the same, but the CVC will change....

Change account (eg fraud) then number will change....
Ah.. yes
aspartame
post Dec 13 2019, 03:50 PM

3,165 posts

Can anybody confirm that using Favepay tagged to Amex earns 5 TPs? Thx
aspartame
post Dec 13 2019, 04:23 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Dec 13 2019, 04:09 PM)
For payment at merchant, yes.....for top up wallet, no....
Ok.. I just pay at merchant .. never top up before .. thx
aspartame
post Dec 14 2019, 05:17 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(mr_tuzki @ Dec 14 2019, 12:30 PM)
Saw advertisement in newspaper for the Maybank Amex Platinum card. Good RM1 = 1 Airmile. Can transfer to many FFPs. Access to many airport lounges. But high eligibility requirement, and high annual fee.

https://www.maybank2u.com.my/maybank2u/mala...tinum_card.page

[attachmentid=10373093]
This card looks nice but annual fee very high... still prefer m2u
aspartame
post Dec 18 2019, 11:15 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(peigeng @ Dec 18 2019, 03:56 PM)
5tp vs 2tp is not relevant because amex acceptance rate is still low
Amex acceptance is quite high la....I use more of Amex than VI locally
aspartame
post Dec 18 2019, 11:32 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(Anson Wong 412 @ Dec 18 2019, 11:19 PM)
Hi, do you try using M2C to enter PPL before? And you choose normal VI or MUVI? I need some advise  biggrin.gif
Yes, just show them your VI at the PPL counter to register and enter for free. I use MUVI.
aspartame
post Dec 19 2019, 07:04 AM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(skty @ Dec 19 2019, 12:16 AM)
pls share what's your usual spending places  biggrin.gif
QUOTE(mr_tuzki @ Dec 19 2019, 12:24 AM)
I also try as much as possible to only swipe Amex. Most of the big retailers / restaurants in shopping malls accept Amex. If small kiosks accept FavePay it's also Amex. Book Grab rides / Grab Food is Amex. Pay utilities like Astro / Maxis using Maybank 2 U with Amex. Most supermarkets accept Amex (though MUVI also gives you the same 5x TP). Big ticket items like electronics, hospitals, luxury goods, flight tickets, usually can pay Amex also.

I have not had the opportunity yet (it's a blessing I guess) to claim hospital insurance. But I'm thinking even with a medical card, I'll rather opt to swipe Amex first then claim back from insurance.
Ya, big items normally can use Amex. Small spending usage of Amex increased with FavePay. Misc items like pharmacy, some restaurants (many covered by FavePay, else GrabPay will score some GrabPoints), electricals, Ikea, clothings and shoes etc.

9 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.2288sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:33 AM