11 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Fundsupermart.com v14, Happy 牛(bull!) Year

xuzen
post Jul 27 2016, 03:43 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jul 26 2016, 10:38 PM)
^
This thumbsup.gif

Before u ask the question of whether your fund is beating it's benchmark/index, ask yourself - DO YOU HAVE (A CONVENIENT/AFFORDABLE) ACCESS TO THE BENCHMARK/INDEX?

If no, as long as your fund beats it's peers and delivers returns acceptable to you, then it is a good fund.

Yeah, in a hindsight, I could have dumped my UT portfolio and deployed all the money to wonderful effect in my stocks portfolio, but there are also times when my stocks kaboom-ed and my (mainly foreign-exposed) UTs cushioned the effect on my overall investment portfolio. Yeah, overall IRR-wise, my stocks portfolio still wins hands down (21% vs 6.4%). But hey, I manage my stocks portfolio quite actively, while I largely leave my UTs on autopilot. And the "cushioning" effect of some diversification gives me peace of mind. innocent.gif
well said! well said friend.

I don't use benchmark, I set for me a target rtn of 10% exclude fees. Previous years = no problem. This year will be a bit challenging. Portfolio YTD is around +2.XX%, recovered from the red since Jan-2016.

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Jul 27 2016, 03:45 PM
xuzen
post Jul 27 2016, 03:51 PM

4,436 posts

@Dasecret,

Local UT company need not reinvent the wheel by creating a fund just to invest in foreign assets. Just create a feeder fund and buy into well established mat-salleh funds lar. Simple, no need to crack head. Example for US equity, why not just create a UTF that buys into Spyder500 that in indexed to S&P which is well know for its ultra low MER of 0.10% p.a.. Let's say this local UT earn another 0.5% for doing absolutely nothing. Even with 0.1 + 0.5 = 0.6% MER, we M'sian investor still gain because industry standard here is charging a whopping 1.5% for all UTF!

In reverse, manage mat-salleh's money when they come into Malaysia.

Goijng forward, with MSCI reducing M'sia percentage in its index, less foreign fund will be coming in. We have to look outside our cocoon to cari-makan liao.

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Jul 27 2016, 03:53 PM
xuzen
post Jul 28 2016, 11:51 AM

4,436 posts

Go go India!

Go go US!

Go go Asia Pac!

Time to tambah nilai.

Xuzen
xuzen
post Jul 29 2016, 06:07 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jul 29 2016, 05:19 PM)
well maybe because you're the sifu here.

cannot cheat one  devil.gif

u want I still have the PM..

fyi the person who send is active now  sweat.gif  whistling.gif
ramjade stick to your ASX.... These skim cepat Kaya not suitable for little boys. rclxs0.gif

Xuzen

xuzen
post Jul 30 2016, 10:19 AM

4,436 posts

India fund naik 7% in one month blink.gif ohmy.gif The volatility is scary!

Xuzen
xuzen
post Aug 1 2016, 09:01 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Aug 1 2016, 08:57 AM)
yeah.. i notice too.. Should take profit...?

Just like buying in slowly.. should also sell slowly?
Yeah, I will be skimming the profit slowly.

Xuzen
xuzen
post Aug 3 2016, 10:59 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Aug 3 2016, 10:28 AM)
But then if you only chose 1, very unlikely to choose CIMB small cap right? Kenanga Growth Fund and EI Small cap 10 year return is so much higher compared to CIMB small cap, in fact, all durations also better than CIMB small cap

No offense, just trying to say sometimes fundhouse diversification may not work... there was a term for it right? to describe over diversification
DeWORSIfication.

Xuzen
xuzen
post Aug 3 2016, 11:07 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Aug 3 2016, 11:02 AM)
Wow. From 5th July (last updated) to end July, funds are on steroid.

China/HK, emerging market, ALL...

IRR: 6.6%
I am skimming my profit liao.... from my supplementary port, not the core.

Taking profit from Manulife India and TA Tech. Putting them into RHB Asian Income (a moderate risk UTF).

To answer a question a while back why KWSP is so heavy in Asia, most likely answer is because PER in Asia stock market is below historical average and in the region of single digit PER, in another word, the stock-market in Asia region is cheap after the Jan-16 sell down.

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Aug 3 2016, 11:09 AM
xuzen
post Aug 3 2016, 11:14 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Aug 3 2016, 10:52 AM)
Yes. U r right....after having holding cimb sc...i observed it moves most of the time with the fbmscap index......looks like it hold high % in index stocks. Will be switching out of this under performing fund ( compared with its peers) most probably next portfolio target realignment......maybe Jan 2017. Any other small cap other than kgf & eiscap? That i should observes?
See image below:

But why choose other when you have ESISC?

This post has been edited by xuzen: Aug 3 2016, 11:15 AM

xuzen
post Aug 3 2016, 03:03 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 3 2016, 01:17 PM)
What disrespect...original creator of the original FSM portfolio returns calculator u tak tanya, ask that Crystal Ball™ man dry.gif

IRR = Internal Rate of Return

which in a more layman term, means "annualised rate of return". Say, if u invested for only a month and u managed to get a 10% increase of value, "IF" u managed to get that rate of return CONSISTENTLY over 12 months, your annualised rate of return and thus IRR = 119.99%.

Similarly, let's say u invested RMx now, year 1 your fund is up 10%, year 2 up 5%, year 3 up 2%, your IRR = 5.62%.

Look at the bottom of post no. 1, there is an explanation of what is IRR@Annualised Rate of Return
Coz crystal ball™ man, pandai buat advertisement. Itu Beruang Kutub Utara hanya pandai buta excel worksheet, tak pandai buat marketing lah!

Xuzen
xuzen
post Aug 3 2016, 06:44 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Aug 3 2016, 03:28 PM)
Why not seek d advise frm crystal ball man.

His fortune telling is very accurate!

Thank you Bro Xuzen

Lately he keeps stressing on Rhb Asian Income.
Ha ha ha balls-licker! (pun intended) rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by xuzen: Aug 3 2016, 06:46 PM
xuzen
post Aug 3 2016, 06:53 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Aug 3 2016, 04:42 PM)
No pun intended...just for sexy talk.... tongue.gif

isn't that almost the same like going to Sun Complex?...
the guys keep stressing the latest "good" performers...

i guess i will have to try it out to see how it goes....
i try not to chase the current trends as i think his crystal ball can change prediction very frequently too...
as by the time he said it here..it may be too late.....

buy and hold....see how it goes for a year or two...
you tak perasan meh, itu pak nujum aka orang bola kristal chase after auntie type UTF. Dia suka yang boring-boring punya (low volatility). Makwe-makwe yang panas-panas dia tak sentuh pun!

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Aug 3 2016, 06:55 PM
xuzen
post Aug 3 2016, 09:10 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(spiderman17 @ Aug 3 2016, 09:05 PM)
Anyone here going to FSM luncheon on Private Equity?
RM 100K minimum investment woh! Lock in for 7 years woh....

Means for seven years can only see, cannot touch at all....

Macam those HLA saving plans only! At least those HLA saving plans give you life coverage and are creditor proof.

Xuzen
xuzen
post Aug 3 2016, 09:12 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Aug 3 2016, 08:07 PM)
Bro Xuzen

Dont bring me to Holland. I m tailgate you very close. tongue.gif
Beware of tailgating me too closely. Mine is wrap account, that is, all my switchings are free of charge (unlimited times). If you are not on wrap account and each time you move your fund around you incur charge, then my actively managed portfolio is not suitable for you.

Xuzen
xuzen
post Aug 4 2016, 11:56 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 4 2016, 10:27 AM)
er.. academic BS coming:
Lower correlation may not equate to lower returns.
There's a very nice BUT long youtube video
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8rTBEZSL7-4
Fuyoh! The youtube vid is awesome! bruce.gif rclxm9.gif

Brings out my geekiness to the max!

This post has been edited by xuzen: Aug 4 2016, 11:57 AM
xuzen
post Aug 6 2016, 02:49 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Aug 5 2016, 10:11 PM)
Even putting money in CMF2 beats GTF for the last 12 months.
You need to compare apples to apples; oranges to oranges.

In a similar exposed fund, i.e,, global, GTF is still the undisputed king in terms of risk-adjusted return for 3 years average period. You cannot use 1 year period, it is just too short time frame to make a judgement call.

CMF2 consistently will give you 3.XX% p.a., and that is it. There will be no upside potential nor downside risk. It will be a very boring and cannot beat inflation UTF.

GTF is not underperforming, it is just inline with its peer.

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Aug 6 2016, 02:50 PM
xuzen
post Aug 6 2016, 02:57 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Aug 6 2016, 12:05 PM)
I exited GTF in early Feb this year. Nothing is fair when it come to our hard earned money.
Most awesome move of the year: Sell 100% GTF on 20 Jun 2016 to move to US. Brexit vote on 23rd June 2016. Brexit won! Euro tumbled. US up. bruce.gif cool2.gif

Xuzen
xuzen
post Aug 8 2016, 11:12 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(xpmm @ Aug 8 2016, 08:14 AM)
thinking of dumping all my saving 300k into kenanga growth fund for retirement . is this wise thing to do? thanks .
Such a simple straight-forward question, but so difficult to answer as seen from the many responses below.

My simple answer is IT IS UNWISE! Not because KGF is no good, it is unwise because you may lack the financial literacy for it. Don't rush, read more, hang around this forum for a little while more. Understand Unit Trust and investment in general before rushing in.

Xuzen
xuzen
post Aug 8 2016, 02:21 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(xpmm @ Aug 8 2016, 12:17 PM)
age 48 already retired. yes im a risk taker, plan to invest long term to generate passive income
thank you.  notworthy.gif
my investment objective is to generate passive income, generally a risk taker la.
its not peanuts, its my rice bowl .  notworthy.gif
yes correct, i dont invest in anything else.
thanks for the advice notworthy.gif
ok thanks very much. yes true i dont know much about unit trust. will read learn more,  notworthy.gif
Let me summarise your situation:
1) The RM 300K is you total savings. It is your retirement fund.
2) You are 48y/o, 12 years more to retirement.
3) You have no other investable asset.

I will take a general template (the PRS) as a guideline. At 48 y/o PRS template will put you under moderate account, that is, a balanced fund. A balance fund will be either 40% stock market; 60% bond or 40% bond or 60% stock market.

Let's take that you are a risk taker as what you have stated. Then let's put you as 60% stock market; 40% bond.

let's put 40% of RM 300K into Libra Asnita Bond = RM 120K and Libra Asnita Bond is giving a 5% ROI, this will give an annual income of RM 6,000.00 or RM 500.00/mth

The remaining 60% (RM 180K) let's say you put in into RHB Asian Income fund ( a moderate Unit Trust Fund), and earn a ROI of 5% p.a. = RM 9K p.a. or RM 750/mth worse case scenario or ROI of 18% p.a. = RM 32.4K p.a or RM 2,700/mth in best case scenario. In a neutral scenario, it is ROI 11.5% = RM 180K x 11.5% = RM 20,700 or RM1,725/mth .

Let me recap, if you put 60% in RHB Asian Income and 40% in Libra Asnita Bond, you MAY get an income that look something below:

I) Optimistic outcome: RM 500 + 2700 = RM 3,200.00/mth

II) Neutral Outcome: RM 500 + 1725 = RM 2,225/mth

III) Pessimistic outcome: RM 500 + 750 = RM 1,250/mth.

The fund will fluctuate between these figures, but most of the time will be in between them and most likely at the neutral outcome.

How does this look to you?

========

If you put 40% into RHB Asian Income and 60% into Libra Asnita Bond:

IV) Optimistic outcome: RM 750 + 1800 = RM 2,550.00/mth

II) Neutral Outcome: RM 750 + 1150 = RM 1,950/mth

III) Pessimistic outcome: RM 750 + 500 = RM 1,250/mth.

How does this look to you?

Xuzen

p/s The above are information that is current to now. Over time, the information may change and you need to monitor your fund to be certain they perform.

xuzen
post Aug 9 2016, 12:16 PM

4,436 posts

Old man wanna jack up his IRR.

Are you feeling lucky punk? [sig Dirty Harry, Clint Eastwood]

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Aug 9 2016, 12:17 PM

11 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top