Fundsupermart.com v14, Happy 牛(bull!) Year

dasecret
post Aug 6 2016, 12:20 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Aug 5 2016, 10:11 PM)
Even putting money in CMF2 beats GTF for the last 12 months.
Not fair right? In previous year GTF gives u 20+% in a year n u never complain

QUOTE(David83 @ Aug 5 2016, 10:53 PM)
Let's compare the Ponzi funds:

[attachmentid=7259032]

Seems like Ponzi 2 is very strong after Brexit poll result is announced.
3 months is a very short time. If you look at 1 year return ponzi 1.0 did much better
dasecret
post Aug 6 2016, 12:22 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Aug 5 2016, 10:56 PM)
I want to dump this fund: Affin Hwang Select Asia (Ex Japan) Opportunity Fund
QUOTE(aoisky @ Aug 5 2016, 10:58 PM)
Why ? I top up this fund. but will switch to ponzi 1.o soon
This fund always lag behind ponzi 1.0. I switched for >1 year and never looked back. So far affin hwang I only like 2 funds - ponzi 1.0 and select bond.
dasecret
post Aug 6 2016, 11:19 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Aug 6 2016, 09:54 AM)
10 Years also same results......
if reset from 2009 (after the GFC)...same results too
(unless you picked 27 Feb 2009 at HSAO lowest point of entry)

hmm.gif I think you topped up the wrong horse from affin this time ... tongue.gif
Lol. U guys r funny. On the topic of diworsification, I admit I'm guilty of that. I have more than 4 funds for Asia Pac. But I do trim off those that r utterly hopeless like HSAO, pheim Islamic asia, rhb GEYF after holding them for 1 year or more. Was supposed to sell off amasia pac income, but the fund seem to have came back alive, so that fund is on watchlist for now

On hwang select bond. It's not comparable to HSAO la, it's a pure bond fund. There's another problem, FSM no longer distribute it zzz....
dasecret
post Aug 8 2016, 10:13 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(xpmm @ Aug 8 2016, 08:14 AM)
thinking of dumping all my saving 300k into kenanga growth fund for retirement . is this wise thing to do? thanks .
QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 8 2016, 09:20 AM)
Spread it over 6-12 months, don't put in one shot.

And don't put all in 1 fund, just my opinion.

At least

Kenanga Growth
1 Global Equity
1 Asia ex Japan Equity
1 Asian bond
When you say 'all my savings' I assume you don't invest in anything else. Then what pink spider advice is a good place to start

It's not a small amount, at least to me, so I would take the time to study and put in gradually. FSM offers lots of articles for beginners. The recommended portfolio is not a bad place to start too. Definitely put in funds that invest in different sector instead of just 1 star fund

I would go for 1 local bond fund + 1 asia bond fund though....
dasecret
post Aug 8 2016, 03:40 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(xpmm @ Aug 8 2016, 03:02 PM)

my expected ROI p.a is 8% so that i can have 2k income per month.
unfortunately other than this money i have no other fund nor insurance, no EPF too.

This is a bit OT, more relevant on retirement planning thread really. But I thought it's important for someone to tell you that, so I'd do it anyway

I don't think it's realistic to expect the RM300k to last you a lifetime, especially when you do not have medical insurance

If I'm you, I'd go get a job (part time/freelance/full time) while I'm still able to work
dasecret
post Aug 8 2016, 08:05 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(lukenn @ Aug 8 2016, 06:37 PM)
At a withdrawal rate of 5-8%, and if the portfolio is sustainable, you might just get away with it, but remember that this number is not inflation adjusted. Withdrawals, especially at the beginning, will put you at a disadvantage.

5-8% is quite a realistic number, however do bare in mind that most portfolios will not be able to to achieve this every single year. During bad years, you may be required to dip into capital.

On top of that, there maybe some incidental expenditure (servicing of car, repairs to house etc) which are not yet accounted for. All this is on top of that fact that I'm assuming that you are debt and liability free.

As some of the old timers here have suggested, continuing to work, full time or otherwise, at the very least to delay drawing down on your savings is probably the best way to go.

Good luck !
QUOTE(xpmm @ Aug 8 2016, 07:06 PM)
:thumbsup: good post , i agree with you.
If you agree with him you should consider buying from him. Since he say 5%-8% is realistic n doable
dasecret
post Aug 8 2016, 09:21 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(xpmm @ Aug 8 2016, 09:02 PM)
yes thats right, now age 48 already retired. yes wanna live on the passive income.
ohh he sells UT?
QUOTE(T231H @ Aug 8 2016, 09:14 PM)
I think he can also dun sell...you can either buy from him or from others of you choice....he will service you buy analyzing and recommending for you the funds selection.....up to you to get it from him or others.....
I think that is more professional.....
just like a Doctor....can prescribe the medication...you can either buy from him or outside.... :thumbsup:
Yes, he's our so called resident UTC. The only one who didn't get kicked away for giving half past six responses in the thread
dasecret
post Aug 8 2016, 10:26 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Aug 8 2016, 09:32 PM)
hmm.gif any reason(s) as to why it had not happened?  notworthy.gif
Hmm, good question. Why don't you try? Must be valid argument la. If you read the previous version you would probably understand better. He hasn't been very active lately, much to my dismay

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 8 2016, 09:34 PM)
I thought xuzen was a exUTC too? hmm.gif hmm.gif
Xuzen is very generous in sharing his views, but I'm not sure if he sells

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Aug 8 2016, 09:43 PM)
da heck. you calling me an old timer when I'm barely 30 lol. it's not about the age it's about the sense to worry about the future and plan ahead. one that most people do not have
Err, don't terasa sangat. I think he's referring to me 😅
dasecret
post Aug 8 2016, 11:07 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(lukenn @ Aug 3 2016, 04:16 PM)

Heres a quick apple to apple comparison:
Current portfolio = 50% RHB Bond, 50% RHB SCOUT
Smart Balanced = 40-60% FI, 40-60% equities (less than 1B valuation)

[attachmentid=7234307]
QUOTE(yklooi @ Aug 8 2016, 08:52 PM)
still have 3 1/2 months till end of year....
portfolio still stuck at 4% IRR.
gambling bigger this time...
switched ATR and China-India to RHB Small Cap (13.5% of portfolio)....
hopefully MO1 will still be out of sight ....
QUOTE(T231H @ Aug 8 2016, 08:59 PM)
oh-oh....now you have 5 funds from 5 FHs investing in the same market.... notworthy.gif
if 4 UTs from 4 FHs investing in the same market is like putting a gun on your head and pulling the trigger...than this time will be like ....... shocking.gif  console.gif
Uncle Looi, I don't know what to say other than good luck.
I do not believe taking risks means you would be rewarded with high returns. But we obviously believe in different things
dasecret
post Aug 9 2016, 11:25 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(lukenn @ Aug 8 2016, 11:45 PM)

Lets assume you want to push your IRR up by 2% to ~6%, by May 2017. Total of 4 years. You would need your ENTIRE portfolio to be up at least 12%.

So to achieve this in 3.5 months, you would need to to be up ....  icon_question.gif sorry my brain cannot do this calculation icon_question.gif

Anyway, to be practical, every single fund in your portfolio has to average out to this, to get your desired results. I honestly have to say that this is quite hard to achieve, especially with funds and and our current economy being like this.

QUOTE(yklooi @ Aug 9 2016, 10:36 AM)
in a nut shell,..with other things remains status quo, do you think RHB Small Cap will have a better prospect than RHB China-india + ATR to achieve (getting closer) to the objective in this 3.5 mths?
Pls rate in the scale of 1 to 10 (10 being extremely likely)
I think he's trying to say, mathematically it doesn't look possible. I'd rate it as both fund composition also extremely unlikely. You have very unrealistic expectation as to what unit trust funds can do

However, mathematically there's something that would work. Put in more capital in your portfolio. If you double the amount in your portfolio, then instead of ROI has to increase by 12% you would only need to increase your ROI by... I don't know how much, a lot less for sure.... say if your ROI is 4% for 4 months, that'll be 12% annualised IRR, and when you offset against the 4% IRR for existing portfolio, probably can achieve your magical 6%?

But to be honest, all these for the illusioned 6% IRR, is it worth it? Give your portfolio some time (most important ingredient), and segment diversification instead of fundhouse diversification... it will get there at some point. Why the rush and take irrational actions?
dasecret
post Aug 9 2016, 01:33 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Aug 9 2016, 11:36 AM)
hmm.gif if i double the the investment,...in this short period, if there is some gains, the IRR value will be freaky high....
playing with mathematic to achieve the target?.... hmm.gif

why rush?...bcos, i think the longer one waits, the higher ones ROI needed to gets to the targeted IRR.
Let me summarise what we've been talking

Your strategy - Take monstrous amount of risk in hopes to boost IRR in a short time; put all eggs in one basket (Msia small cap)

My proposal - Instead of increasing the risk variable, decrease it by putting in less risky assets; tweak the base, add more capital and give it more time

Why such proposal? I think balanced allocation, time and continuous investments play a more important role in contributing good returns.

I think in the beginning of this version, we spoke about getting professional help. Would you seriously consider that now?
dasecret
post Aug 9 2016, 01:43 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(ronho @ Aug 9 2016, 12:32 PM)
isn't bond funds totally boring ??
QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Aug 9 2016, 01:28 PM)
Bond funds will b your saviour during bad times
Actually even during not so bad times also
Let's see my funds with returns >10% (all funds invested for >1 year)
1. Ponzi 1.0 - 10.99%
2. KGF - 11.1%
3. RHB ATR - 16.57%
4. RHB Asian Income - 10.08%

Pretty balanced wor, 2 EQ fund and 2 balanced/bond fund. In fact the highest is the bond fund

But of course my risk appetite is not like the others in this thread, so I won't have anything near 70% IRR

dasecret
post Aug 9 2016, 02:08 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Aug 9 2016, 01:45 PM)
70% IRR is awesome as my portfolios generate 7% IRR ony  cry.gif
QUOTE(nexona88 @ Aug 9 2016, 01:58 PM)
70% IRR is really good  thumbsup.gif  thumbsup.gif
70% IRR itu KimYee one la...

To be fair, I never design my portfolio to pick up anything that can make so much, and therefore no chance for me.
The weirdest part? I'm totally ok with it cool2.gif
dasecret
post Aug 9 2016, 04:21 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Aug 9 2016, 04:13 PM)
I think you are mixing up CAGR and IRR... and yklooi who monitors his portfolio daily (and getting a feel of real numbers in action) knows it better.

That 4 funds with their percentages are either the CAGR on a lump sum purchase or the IRR on a group of purchases on the same fund.

On the other hand, IRR is on the whole portfolio, or on a group of different funds, or on a group of many transactions on a single fund.

A 70% CAGR on a single transaction, depending on its time-value (and also its volume) - which is most likely less than a month held due to its high figure - will have little influence in boosting up the portfolio IRR.
I guess the comment is quite confusing for the non-regulars. Let me try to explain a bit more
The returns for my funds are calculated using XIRR formula. My portfolio IRR is quite average in the group, around 7%

The 70% I believe, is also IRR, achieved not by myself but someone else. It's believable because he also told us what fund he bought

There's a great excel spreadsheet in post 1 that most of us use to help calculate IRR automatically, hence why we are usually on the same page
dasecret
post Aug 10 2016, 10:55 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Aug 10 2016, 10:48 AM)
ya, OIC.
36% in Developed mkts...my mind stuck with GTF.  biggrin.gif

btw, i think if MY strengthen abit RHB ATR will be down abit liao.......
Yeah, forex would have more direct effect on the foreign bond funds than equity funds

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 10 2016, 10:51 AM)
Not gonna top up bond funds anymore, IRR a bit too high to be realistic/reasonable sweat.gif
IRR too high also want to complain ka...
I sold off 1/3 of my holdings earlier on, find it too volatile for a bond fund
dasecret
post Aug 10 2016, 03:07 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(jayzshadower @ Aug 10 2016, 02:55 PM)
Hey, newbies here. All of you buy UT through fundsupermart.com.my ?
Want to ask for eg. CIMB Titan, will it be better if i buy with my CIMB savings account or buy through fundsupermart.com.my? Why ?
not sure if you are referring to buying from the bank in person or buying from cimbclicks. Cimb clicks sales charge is comparable to FSM I believe.

However, FSM has a much better platform I feel, where you can read up on articles, have more funds for you to choose from. And a responsive online help as well

Would also recommend that instead of buying one single fund, if the amount is quite big, you should consider setting up a portfolio of funds and/or buy in batches to reduce the risk of buying at a high price
dasecret
post Aug 10 2016, 03:21 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Aug 10 2016, 03:00 PM)
also nowadays bank officer in charge keep changing faces. Six mth down the line a new officer will be assigned to you. Better buy from FSM because there is no agent, it is a DIY platform. You are your own agent and you will never abandon yourself.

If you are truly noob, then go for Unit Trust Agents or Licensed Financial Planners. Pay them fees to learn about this method of investing and when you think you are good and ready, disengage them and DIY yourself.

Many of us started from agents initially. Only later we move to DIY. A baby needs to learn how to crawl before running.

Xuzen
Kinda surprised you suggested using agent. But yes, WHEN SELECTED CORRECTLY, agent or planner can really make a difference. But I've not met many good ones, bankers even worse

That day the UOB RM tried selling me a new wholesale fund. I checked the mother fund on FSM SG, told her the returns and strategy doesn't look good enough, she told me 'oh, you must have checked the wrong fund', turn out the fact sheet she refers to is quite outdated. And she's asking her clients to buy in blocks of RM100,000 sweat.gif
dasecret
post Aug 11 2016, 03:06 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Aug 11 2016, 01:59 PM)
market up abit, thinking of selling some , later mart down buy back.
any suggestions which to sell to  lock in the profit?
Don't have information on IRR is quite hard to make good decisions.

So the comment below is strictly on personal preference of the funds
I would dump the following funds (and probably never to buy them again)
- Affin Hwang Asia Opportunity fund - switch to ponzi 1.0
- EI global emerging markets - highly correlated to asia pac equity funds and forever lagging
- Pacific Global Stars - dumped this long time ago, performance even worse than GEYF

If you are a 100% equity funds person, may as well just sell RHB asian total returns, it's kind of moving side ways these days
dasecret
post Aug 11 2016, 10:53 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Aug 11 2016, 07:17 PM)
got some la, i see u very good at shares, share some tips la if buying .
must follow what you buy next.
i dont know how to use that, better follow you guys who have done alot of calculations, research etc..
thanks, i am keeping your views in mind.. the 3 Ut u singled out for sale.

attached is the IRR table from polarsbearz's

But if i look at the IRR in there,

the Affin Hwang Asia opportunity is 7.64%, is this not good?
Pacific Globar star IRR also 6.25%
Eastspring Investment Global emerging market IRR 19.17%!,
now i really dont know how useful is this IRR ....
( i have bought and sold and bought back those UTs)

But if look at virgin UTs in my portfolio, the ones i bought once, never sell yet and no re-buy.

RHB Asian Total returns IRR 2.06%
Eastspring Investment Asia Pac Ex japan target IRR 2.66%

Am i right to conclude they are not productive? better sell off..
The IRR information is a lot more meaningful and I agree with ur conclusion to dump that 2 funds with low IRR while you can
I noticed you have the same funds that u put in both inactive and current holding. What I would do is as long as I still hold those funds, I'd put them all in active so that I can calculate the effective IRR for that fund. Kinda help to monitor if overtime u end up buying high n selling low also

In terms of diworsification that we spoke lately, you do have a lot of funds for a single segment. Consider to consolidate them, that for each segment you only put in 1 or 2 strongest performance funds. I'm guilty of that too actually

I would use chart center function and put all those funds in the same segment n compare their performance for mid-long term to decide which one to go for. IRR very much depends on your entry price but there may be better performance funds in the same segment

Edit: On laptop can show you the chart centre graph

Since you held most of the funds for quite a while, I used 5 years annualised for a comparison. Remember I say I don't like EI global emerging market fund? Look at the annualised return, only 6% compared to the rest mostly double digit returns.
As to HSAO, it's a lot less than ponzi1.0. I was cursing AmAsiaPac Eqt income earlier, but recently it's regaining lost grounds, so I'm playing 'wait and see' for now

You should do the same for your global and local funds to help you decide what to keep n what to dump

This post has been edited by dasecret: Aug 12 2016, 10:37 AM
dasecret
post Aug 12 2016, 04:38 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Aug 12 2016, 04:34 PM)
Can anyone spoonfeed me or provide me links on how to pick funds.
There are so many funds available and the choices are overwhelming.
Sounds to me like you need professional help cool2.gif
If you read the last few pages, the pros and cons of DIY vs using agent/planner is discussed

9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0592sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 02:08 AM