Monthly Installment Payment for iMAC

neekun
post Jan 8 2007, 07:37 AM

I'm a Mac
2,573 posts

QUOTE(macball @ Jan 7 2007, 09:21 PM)
shakehead.gif Standard Chartered also 2%?? We are charged 79.98 for the iMAC ( RM3999 ). Meaning each month we pay extra 6.665 for the iMAC.

What u guys think?

So overall, there aren't any 0% ; no hidden-charges kind of monthly payment thus far, unless u pay by cash! ohmy.gif
Macball,

U r right. It's jz a matter of which bank has the lowest processing fees = interest :-)

So you bought the mac already?

TSmacball
post Jan 8 2007, 09:05 AM

259 posts

When I finally bought my iMAC, i will show off it here ; the picture will be for you guys to enjoy...hahaha....

madstone
post Jan 8 2007, 09:12 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(azxel @ Dec 29 2006, 04:34 PM)
How Citibanks works, if I'm not mistaken is that you buy the item and then give a call to Citibank informing them that you want that particular item to be process and converted into 0% installment. Well, that's how they explain on TV a couple of years back. If they haven't changed it then that's how it's done. It shouldn't be difficult to find out if you're a Citibank Credit Card member...
It's work like this
If your CC balance got the balance more than the amount u want to purchase
then the bank will allow you to do so
let say, the iMac cost your around RM5K
make sure you have the balance in your Credit Card of RM5K

TSmacball
post Jan 8 2007, 10:25 AM

259 posts

QUOTE(madstone @ Jan 8 2007, 09:12 AM)
It's work like this
If your CC balance got the balance more than the amount u want to purchase
then the bank will allow you to do so
let say, the iMac cost your around RM5K
make sure you have the balance in your Credit Card of RM5K
Dun think so , MAD. sweat.gif Cuz I have called the Citibank officer, and they repeatedly telling me that they offered any monthly payment scheme from any APPLE store reseller. however it is like u purchased any item using Credit card, and pay them back as of monthly by the interest of 9.88%. sad.gif
carpathia
post Jan 8 2007, 10:45 AM

2,619 posts

Macball, im shocked to hear about stan chart processing fee. however, the charge is considered low and acceptable! RM7 a month for interest? its like one movie ticket...pretty good deal.
im thinking of getting the stan chart card now......
tinkerbel
post Jan 8 2007, 11:38 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

macball,
It's a matter of time before u get the iMAC - we're all waiting for the pictures *grins* rclxms.gif

carpathia,
M sure the processing fees are different depending on banks and merchants. But if you're planning to get an Apple, then yups, I do agree that Stan Chart offers pretty good 'rates'. Plus i don't think it's too difficult to get a CC from the banks so as long as one's working oredi laugh.gif
madstone
post Jan 8 2007, 01:02 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(macball @ Jan 8 2007, 10:25 AM)
Dun think so , MAD.  sweat.gif  Cuz I have called the Citibank officer, and they repeatedly telling me that they offered any monthly payment scheme from any APPLE store reseller. however it is like u purchased any item using Credit card, and pay them back as of monthly by the interest of 9.88%. sad.gif
Are you 110% sure about this??
coz so far as i know and in my 2 experience before using 0% interest, they have some rules in it
the thing is, our amount must be extra than the amount we want to use for 0% interest
how come they easily give u amount that your CC has already reach it
my 2nd experience is, my officemate bought Canon DSLR using Direct Access Credit Card
Direct Access gave him RM8K credit limit
so, of course, he can use it to buy the camera using 0% interest installment

for example, your credit limit is RM3K, how come they can give you RM5K amount of an item for 0% interest?
it beyond your credt card limit isn't it?

IF that so, me also want to apply for that CC rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by madstone: Jan 8 2007, 01:03 PM
tinkerbel
post Jan 8 2007, 01:12 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

madstone,
Yes, u are right. There are T&Cs attached to the instalment plans. For Citibank, there's a separate credit limit for purchases made under 'instalment' plan. Say for example, current credit limit entitled on the card is:-

Credit Limit (Cash) = RM5000 (X)
Max Limit (Instalment Plan) = RM5000 (Y)
Total Credit Limit = RM10000 (X+Y)

You can use up to a maximum of RM5k to buy Item X under the instalment plan. It shouldn't affect the Cash Credit Limit you're entitled to. Any value above RM5k will not be allowable, since limit's set at RM5000.

Please also note that for Citibank CC holders, there's also a fee imposed should you decide to pay up your instalment plan ahead of time (i've no idea how much is chargeable so pls check with the bank).

I hope all is clear on this. If not, best is to contact the bank and get information - different account holders have different limits and credit standing.
TSmacball
post Jan 8 2007, 02:14 PM

259 posts

After I successfully get a Standard Chartered CC, I will share the agent's phone number with u GUYS and GIRLS...

They just call me , telling me that I have to wait for 2 weeks for the result to come out. So, waiting time again....hopefully before CNY ??? I have a new mac at home?? Actually, now everything depends on this application.

I think I will apply for HSBC CC. Now. :*
tinkerbel
post Jan 8 2007, 06:28 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

macball,
Another 2 weeks wait?! Er, well at least u know how long ur wait time is going to be. I don't ! vmad.gif

Maybe I should stay off AppleByte and come back only when I finally am a real Apple user rclxub.gif (quickly make call to mom asking her to buy apples from pasar malam!) doh.gif

This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Jan 8 2007, 06:29 PM
goldfries
post Jan 8 2007, 07:26 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jan 8 2007, 01:12 PM)
madstone,
Yes, u are right.  There are T&Cs attached to the instalment plans.  For Citibank, there's a separate credit limit for purchases made under 'instalment' plan.  Say for example, current credit limit entitled on the card is:-

Credit Limit (Cash) = RM5000 (X)
Max Limit (Instalment Plan) = RM5000 (Y)
Total Credit Limit = RM10000 (X+Y)

You can use up to a maximum of RM5k to buy Item X under the instalment plan.  It shouldn't affect the Cash Credit Limit you're entitled to.  Any value above RM5k will not be allowable, since limit's set at RM5000.
this might be different for other cards, not sure which card you refer to.

mine's a clear card.

so say if my credit limit was 5k and if i spend like RM 1.3k on a camera, that RM 1.3k is immediately blocked from my credit limit. so my credit limit is now effectly 3.7k only until the 1.3k is totally cleared.

i know about this because i bought a camera and a notebook (not a mac) and it blocked up quite a portion of my credit limit. biggrin.gif thus lead to a Q&A session with a citibank officer who explained the above to me.
tinkerbel
post Jan 8 2007, 07:34 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

goldfries,
I'm on the Clear Card too but I've got the X,Y,Z on my monthly bills. But I suppose those without the Y columns will basically use up the credit on their X column.

Guess I should be lucky I've got X+Y = Z on my Citibank Clear card huh? Then again, I'm probably much older than u so ....... tongue.gif

goldfries
post Jan 8 2007, 07:39 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

but anyway that was before the X + Y part was introduced. who cares, just make sure check everything with them Citis before using the CC.

i think they explained about the X + Y part (no, not chromosomes) but don't remember what is it.......... tongue.gif maybe later if my memory can dig back those stuff.

EDITED : you're not the only one that has the X + Y on the card.

This post has been edited by goldfries: Jan 8 2007, 07:55 PM
tinkerbel
post Jan 8 2007, 07:42 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

goldfries,
I just explained it in a summarised version above!!!! U want me to kill u or what?! I'm still at the office so I'm not too far from where u are tongue.gif

Yes, it's important to know what ur getting urself into. And, bear in mind there's also a charge if u wish to pay up your instalment earlier yah?
goldfries
post Jan 8 2007, 07:54 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jan 8 2007, 07:42 PM)
goldfries,
I just explained it in a summarised version above!!!! U want me to kill u or what?!  I'm still at the office so I'm not too far from where u are  tongue.gif
oh teh noes!!! please don't!!!

aiyah i'm not referring to what you explained la, i'm referring to what the Citi officer explained to me which doesn't sound like the one you explained.

ok, your murderous threads made me remember.

the Y part is some form of loan the can allow you to have to help clear your debt, but you have to pay them back in installments. smile.gif it's call CTB Loan On Phone.

yeah, i thought the X + Y was the way you explained too but it wasn't.

EDITED : so yeah, your limit is still X.

This post has been edited by goldfries: Jan 8 2007, 07:56 PM
tinkerbel
post Jan 8 2007, 08:07 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

goldfries,
*sigh* Make it simple for people lah - Y go complicate things?! I'd never used the (Y) before also can explain proper proper u pulak.. *sigh* [nothin to say oredi lah me] tongue.gif

macball,
I hope GOLDFRIES hadn't confused u. If he has, just knock him on his head, not mine biggrin.gif

rclxub.gif goldfries after confusing everyone else, plus himself rolleyes.gif

goldfries
post Jan 8 2007, 08:25 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

hehe. it's cos i have personal encounter with Y already that's why can explain. smile.gif

btw i'm not confused but i'll be glad to un-confuse you. biggrin.gif hehe nmind. easiest, just call up citibank and get them to explain to you the Y part and how it works.
tinkerbel
post Jan 8 2007, 08:58 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

goldfries,
I don't need to utilise the Y part yet so no need to call Citibank. I think macball's not gonna go with Citibank, and I wouldn't too, at 9.88% interest. It's craZzzY *emoticon of eye popping out*
TSmacball
post Jan 8 2007, 09:18 PM

259 posts

Of course, getting the 0% interest payment scheme. Aiks...dun argue, dun fight, in the end, I am the onli one getting the iMAC....hahaahahaha
tinkerbel
post Jan 8 2007, 11:01 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

macball,
So when u GETTING it lah?! Nolah, goldfries and I not fighting, we're just uhm, getting to know each other that's all biggrin.gif

And, in doing that he can buy me lunch one of these days, as long as it's not what I don't eat and he oredi knows what it is!! :pPpPp

10 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0194sec    0.49    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 10:23 PM