queenc
post Apr 13 2016, 12:17 PM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(serigala @ Apr 13 2016, 12:16 PM)
Grey who?
I'm new here..
Its takes 2 minutes to register a new email address, and another 2 minutes to register for an account here, and probably another 3 minutes to get a validation email before you start posting. It takes us 2 seconds to ban the offending account.
*We can do this all day, seriously.
RoyBlue
post Apr 13 2016, 12:57 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Apr 13 2016, 11:09 AM)
reposting:
Anyone up for ride this weekend? sat/sunday.
Tentatively going bukit tinggi

so far tentatively got 2 riders. (+1 but -2 previous guys sad.gif )

let's firm up attendance/destination as the weekend approaches! 3 more days guys! biggrin.gif

mADmAN
your side apamacam jek?
i may need to visit workshop after sat morning ride, iswara minor electrical issue sad.gif
Heads up - big operasi 16/17th of April 2016. Bukit Aman folks targetting superbikes Karak-Genting Sempah.

JPJ and possibly JAS will be there too.

This post has been edited by RoyBlue: Apr 13 2016, 12:59 PM
Aesthetica
post Apr 13 2016, 01:08 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Apr 13 2016, 11:09 AM)
reposting:
Anyone up for ride this weekend? sat/sunday.
Tentatively going bukit tinggi

I'm pree on Sunday! Also slow rider here, so go easy on me. console.gif

xemoboyx
post Apr 13 2016, 01:49 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Apr 12 2016, 01:50 AM)
on the commuting side, i'd lean to the r25.

but if you have the budget and getting b full anyways, rc390 seems like a better choice.
i personally don't like it's looks so i slashed it off my list however since you mentioned it i would assume you like it.

it seems odd to me that the 250 have a slipper clutch while the 390 doesn't or am i missing something here?
http://www.ktm.com/my/supersport/rc-250-2016/
http://www.ktm.com/my/supersport/rc-390-2016/
yea, the looks is due to personal preference. My friend says it looks like a mountain bike. 390 has a slipper clutch iinm. saw it on a yt review somewhere. went throught this thread, seems like you own a r25. what about the r3. i heard its similar, but just a little more torque?

QUOTE(deadwolf @ Apr 12 2016, 11:09 AM)
I've test ridden the RC200 before, basically the same chassis but with a smaller engine. The RC bikes have a real 'supersports' position so you have to lean forward a lot. The handlebars are right on the triple clamp (the big plate connecting the front wheel and forks to the bike frame). This could mean more strain on your back and neck as well. The position makes it a bit harder to look around because your torso and head are low over the bike. On the other hand the RC bikes are really narrow and light as well, good for ciloking traffic. Fuel consumption is quite economical as well. Feels like riding a bicycle!

R25 has a more neutral riding position. The handlebars are raised above the triple clamp. This position is usually more comfortable for most people who are commuting. Your head is also higher above the bike so its easier to look around in traffic, though not as much as a full upright position like on a Versys. The R25 is also larger and heavier so you get more of a 'big bike' feeling on one. For most ppl the higher weight makes the bike feel more stable at high speed.

Hope that helps  thumbsup.gif
I've heard rumours that modern superbikes are so powerful that it is nearly impossible for ordinary people to ride them without TC. Dunno how true that is.Here is a video of traction control being demonstrated by a ZX10-R being ridden offroad. The technology is pretty amazing nowadays.

ABS is useful as a backup, it's just an additional layer of protection. There seems to be lots of argument in the superbike world over how helpful it is. Some people claim that ABS encourages poor braking habits since it is always there to save your ass. I still think it's good to have it around just in case but riders should still know how to emergency brake properly without locking a wheel.
r25 is larger and heavier than rc390? I just want a easy to handle bike, i heard the r25 can adjust the handle to a lower position, can the rc390 do that? Well, the review i read says that ninja more stable than r25 in corners, not sure why.
queenc
post Apr 13 2016, 01:56 PM

1,853 posts

Imho best +nimble bike i ever riden s1000rr 2015
RoyBlue
post Apr 13 2016, 02:11 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(queenc @ Apr 13 2016, 01:56 PM)
Imho best +nimble bike i ever riden s1000rr 2015
I'd say the RSV4 RF, is also on the similar level as the S1000RR

adibyusoff
post Apr 13 2016, 02:16 PM

work smart, play hard.
787 posts

QUOTE(RoyBlue @ Apr 13 2016, 02:11 PM)
I'd say the RSV4 RF, is also on the similar level as the S1000RR
rsv4 not good. position too extreme. friggin hot as hell. not comfortable at all. if you're a track junkie good for you la.
mADmAN
post Apr 13 2016, 02:18 PM

10,530 posts

OK... need another shop that does Dynos for bikes around shah alam/Subang/Pj.

Bike-Tech dyno is closed for internal use... and Nabil wont be around anyway....

Cyphereza
post Apr 13 2016, 02:18 PM

Jedi Cat™
2,311 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Apr 13 2016, 02:18 PM)

Bike-Tech dyno is closed for internal use... and Nabil wont be around anyway....
Closed until when...? unsure.gif
queenc
post Apr 13 2016, 02:26 PM

1,853 posts

Moto dynamic or Sunvay cycle.

This is where i tuned my bike
deadwolf
post Apr 13 2016, 02:42 PM

QUOTE(xemoboyx @ Apr 13 2016, 01:49 PM)
yea, the looks is due to personal preference. My friend says it looks like a mountain bike. 390 has a slipper clutch iinm. saw it on a yt review somewhere. went throught this thread, seems like you own a r25. what about the r3. i heard its similar, but just a little more torque?

r25 is larger and heavier than rc390? I just want a easy to handle bike, i heard the r25 can adjust the handle to a lower position, can the rc390 do that?  Well, the review i read says that ninja more stable than r25 in corners, not sure why.
R3 has a slightly larger engine (320cc or something like that) with more torque and higher top speed. TBH I would skip R3, Ninja 300 and Z300 and just go straight to a bigger bike because you still need full B for a 300cc bike and their current prices are too high for their engine size IMO.

You can change the level of the handlebars on any bike to a different position but that involves modifications. I'm not actually sure of any bike that allows handlebar level adjustment from stock. Judging from how the R25's handlebars are connected, you might be able to change the angle of the handlebars but you'll have to confirm with a R25 rider.

RC390's handlebars bolt directly into the triple clamp (the big flat piece of metal with four shiny circles in it). Looks neat at first but I can imagine it getting a bit weird if you want to change to clip-on handlebars below the triple clamp or raise the handlebars above the triple clamp:

Heavier bikes can actually feel more stable and easier to handle, even at slow speeds and when filtering through traffic. I think the extra weight helps to damp any destabilizing effects caused by riders' body movements while moving at low speeds.

Both R25 and RC390 are easy to handle.
Quazacolt
post Apr 13 2016, 02:43 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(RoyBlue @ Apr 13 2016, 12:57 PM)
Heads up - big operasi 16/17th of April 2016. Bukit Aman folks targetting superbikes Karak-Genting Sempah.

JPJ and possibly JAS will be there too.
JAS apa?
i think i should be ok kot, passed by like 6+ road blocks never tahan.
even that day ride up, batang kali got road block as recorded on my video lol

QUOTE(Aesthetica @ Apr 13 2016, 01:08 PM)
I'm pree on Sunday! Also slow rider here, so go easy on me.  console.gif
jom jom

you familiar with MOS (ministry of superbike group)? not sure if i can ride with them haha
got a friend who's acquainted with them can extend out invite, so if he's back in kl riding with them, i'll probably join them instead. should be no problem further extending invites i believe.

QUOTE(xemoboyx @ Apr 13 2016, 01:49 PM)
went throught this thread, seems like you own a r25. what about the r3. i heard its similar, but just a little more torque?
yes i do.
we don't get the r3, so lol.

generally about 70 cc more, more hp/torque. and everything comes in earlier since they have 2k less rpm to work with. (the tacho only goes until 13k as opposed to r25 15k)

=edit=
oh actually about 70 cc more lol

oh noes, so sabtuday plan hangus?
besides getting the new bike that is

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Apr 13 2016, 02:44 PM
Cyphereza
post Apr 13 2016, 02:46 PM

Jedi Cat™
2,311 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Apr 13 2016, 02:43 PM)
JAS apa?
i think i should be ok kot, passed by like 6+ road blocks never tahan.
even that day ride up, batang kali got road block as recorded on my video lol
jom jom

A friend of mine named JAS. laugh.gif
Jabatan Alam Sekitar lah.

Anyway, road blocks are a hit and miss yo. It's better to prevent than cure.
Later if still they want to kacau, claim visor too dark lah, plate number senget lah dry.gif

This post has been edited by Cyphereza: Apr 13 2016, 02:47 PM
mADmAN
post Apr 13 2016, 02:48 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(Cyphereza @ Apr 13 2016, 02:18 PM)
Closed until when...? unsure.gif
not sure... Nabil will only be back next Tuesday anyway...

QUOTE(queenc @ Apr 13 2016, 02:26 PM)
Moto dynamic  or Sunvay cycle.

This is where i tuned my bike
Any idea on cost for health check dyno run for 250cc?

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Apr 13 2016, 02:43 PM)
JAS apa?

oh noes, so sabtuday plan hangus?
besides getting the new bike that is
JAS = Jabatan Alam Sekitar

sabtuday plan still on for the jacket/gloves hunting.. i might go B&G Riding Gear Accesories while washing the bike at MotorCity Spa Auto Detailing...theyre basically the same place.

After that go Ibike... or i may go Ibike first then only head to B&G for the wash.

only Dyno still unsure.

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Apr 13 2016, 02:51 PM
xemoboyx
post Apr 13 2016, 02:52 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(deadwolf @ Apr 13 2016, 02:42 PM)
R3 has a slightly larger engine (320cc or something like that) with more torque and higher top speed. TBH I would skip R3, Ninja 300 and Z300 and just go straight to a bigger bike because you still need full B for a 300cc bike and their current prices are too high for their engine size IMO.

You can change the level of the handlebars on any bike to a different position but that involves modifications. I'm not actually sure of any bike that allows handlebar level adjustment from stock. Judging from how the R25's handlebars are connected, you might be able to change the angle of the handlebars but you'll have to confirm with a R25 rider.

RC390's handlebars bolt directly into the triple clamp (the big flat piece of metal with four shiny circles in it). Looks neat at first but I can imagine it getting a bit weird if you want to change to clip-on handlebars below the triple clamp or raise the handlebars above the triple clamp:

Heavier bikes can actually feel more stable and easier to handle, even at slow speeds and when filtering through traffic. I think the extra weight helps to damp any destabilizing effects caused by riders' body movements while moving at low speeds.

Both R25 and RC390 are easy to handle.
reason why i dun wanna a bigger bike is because im scared of falling. 300cc is like the balance between 250 and 600, not too slow, and still can catchup with a few 600 (from my youtube review opinion sweat.gif )

r3 now a days go for 20-23k, ninja 300 go for about 25k ish.. seems okay. bigger bike like z800 start at 35k used. While it might seem like a bargain, i just don't wanna fall.
Cyphereza
post Apr 13 2016, 02:55 PM

Jedi Cat™
2,311 posts

QUOTE(xemoboyx @ Apr 13 2016, 02:52 PM)
reason why i dun wanna a bigger bike is because im scared of falling. 300cc is like the balance between 250 and 600, not too slow, and still can catchup with a few 600 (from my youtube review opinion  sweat.gif )

r3 now a days go for 20-23k, ninja 300 go for about 25k ish.. seems okay. bigger bike like z800 start at 35k used. While it might seem like a bargain, i just don't wanna fall.
Nope. Beginners will not catch up with any 600cc. Heck. Beginners will not even catch up with riders riding the same bike.
Quazacolt
post Apr 13 2016, 03:00 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Cyphereza @ Apr 13 2016, 02:46 PM)
A friend of mine named JAS. laugh.gif
Jabatan Alam Sekitar lah.

Anyway, road blocks are a hit and miss yo. It's better to prevent than cure.
Later if still they want to kacau, claim visor too dark lah, plate number senget lah dry.gif
dafuq jas involve on what, catch exhaust mods? i dont think i've ever encountered them, like ever lol.

well, my bike/gear lengkap.
at most kacau my front plate because no black background dry.gif

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Apr 13 2016, 02:48 PM)
not sure... Nabil will only be back next Tuesday anyway...
Any idea on cost for health check dyno run for 250cc?
JAS = Jabatan Alam Sekitar

sabtuday plan still on for the jacket/gloves hunting.. i might go B&G Riding Gear Accesories while washing the bike at MotorCity Spa Auto Detailing...theyre basically the same place.

After that go Ibike... or i may go Ibike first then only head to B&G for the wash.

only Dyno still unsure.
firm up plan so i can adjust morning ride around it, then i can come kepoh lo haha

last saturday ride (2 weeks before) also end up riding the entire day, 8am until 5pm lol
selayang/kepong > sg tua > ulu yam > batang kali > gohtong > karak > seri kembangan > puncak jalil > cheras > selayang/kepong
xemoboyx
post Apr 13 2016, 03:02 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(Cyphereza @ Apr 13 2016, 02:55 PM)
Nope. Beginners will not catch up with any 600cc. Heck. Beginners will not even catch up with riders riding the same bike.
so beginners should go for what bike? 250cc? my only experience with 2 wheel is a bicycle and short distant with suzuki v100
Cyphereza
post Apr 13 2016, 03:06 PM

Jedi Cat™
2,311 posts

QUOTE(xemoboyx @ Apr 13 2016, 03:02 PM)
so beginners should go for what bike? 250cc? my only experience with 2 wheel is a bicycle and short distant with suzuki v100
This is subjective. If you ask me, go with a second hand 250. Later dah terrer, sell the 250 and upgrade.
If you want to get 600cc-800cc-1000cc, its okay too. Just have to know your limit. Even with a litre bike, doesn't mean you can straight do knee down like Rossi (unless you are really talented).
Quazacolt
post Apr 13 2016, 03:06 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(xemoboyx @ Apr 13 2016, 02:52 PM)
reason why i dun wanna a bigger bike is because im scared of falling. 300cc is like the balance between 250 and 600, not too slow, and still can catchup with a few 600 (from my youtube review opinion  sweat.gif )

uh, any bike fall also, can be fatal.
kapchai can certainly hit 100kph, a crash at 100kph wont be pretty no matter how you see it.

then going on the 250, not hard to reach >150kph
crash at 150kph + any vehicle squishing you after you're on the ground, chances are you're a goner anyways. no difference on a liter bike if you ask me, maybe >300 kph crash, straight die without feel/pain, better kot.

i doubt R3 will be that cheap because non HLY official import, but if you got lobang, by all means la.
i didn't really pay much attention to R3.

QUOTE(xemoboyx @ Apr 13 2016, 03:02 PM)
it's ENTIRELY up to you. everyone got their opinions. ask most of my friends they will call me sohai because get b full and stick with 250cc. a lot of people especially richer ones straight get liter bike as first bikes also. license terus buy je no need bother jpj.

their choices, their call.

QUOTE(Cyphereza @ Apr 13 2016, 02:55 PM)
xemoboyx

i can attest to that.
even in the r25 group, those experienced riders on karak wont even bother to brake, sweeping corners at >180kph

they were pulling away or even disappearing from my vision in just a corner or 2, i look at my speedometer also 160kph already.

my experience/capability gap between them are as clear as day lol.

128 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Top

0.0180sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 10:21 AM