Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

b0rhui
post Dec 22 2016, 12:58 PM

689 posts

What are the chances of super fine #0000 steel wool scratching the windshield? Can it remove water streaks also or just chips/dirt?
b0rhui
post Jan 4 2017, 03:51 PM

689 posts

Stuff like this is yay or nay?

http://www.fastwax.com/fw1-wash-and-wax-1/

fastwax FW1... Claims to remove scratches like those near door handle, and whiten the headlamp. It's selling for 60 per bottle. Demo-ed to my car at the petrol station. IT worked by removing scratches at the door handle there but how did it work I also dunno laugh.gif

I'm not a detailing guy so had to ask here laugh.gif Please provide some input guys

This post has been edited by b0rhui: Jan 4 2017, 03:52 PM
b0rhui
post Feb 20 2017, 03:15 PM

689 posts

I'm trying to polish this windshield with steel wool (cleaned it with invisible glass prior hand) and racoat it with rain x. However I am not able to get these off. I understand some of these are stone chips but what about the other white dots, are they all will stick to the windshield permanently?

b0rhui
post Aug 17 2017, 08:33 PM

689 posts

So I did my first time waxing today laugh.gif since it has been quite some time since last car wash I spent around 5-7 hours just for it sweat.gif

Routine: Rinse > touch wash (since no foam gun) with 2 bucket method > dry off > claying > touch wash 2 > dry off

Materials used:
1. PG car wash (have meguiars ultimate wash and wax but didn't use since I'm gonna wax it anyway),
2. PG quick shine detailer and clay
3. turtlewax carnauba cleaner wax
4. rain X
5. meguiars microfiber cloth and water magnet microfiber cloth
6. microtex wash mitt

Challenges
During my first time claying-waxing I had several issues:
1. Detailer is greasy. Had to give second car wash after claying, despite some saying buffing it is sufficient
2. The detailer dried off even before finish claying one section. Weather was windy. It left patches so I had to keep buff it off
3. Clay dropping on the floor. I had split my clay into 3 pieces yet first 2 dropped on the floor. Quite challenging to handle those clay I'd say laugh.gif
4. Clay gets dirty so easily. I mean like SO EASILY. I've seen past comments here stating that his 3-part clay could be used for one year. IDK. I suspect my first car wash wasn't clean enough..
5. Carnauba wax is damn tough to be buffed off. Unlike rainx. When the wax dries it is so dusty. And it required medium-hard back forth rubbing with microfiber cloth. Am I doing it wrong? Would too much force actually removes the wax layer also? sweat.gif
6. WATER SPOTS. Since it's been quite some time since last car wash water spots accumulated on the front windshield (rainx already worn off). Unlike rear windshield is still perfect coz rainx layer is still there.

I couldn't remove the water spots. I tried: claying with detailer, applicator foam pad with toothpaste, steel wool, steel wool with toothpaste, stoners invisible glass all won't work. I also tried isopropyl alcohol last time

How? 3M sanding sponge?

Would appreciate if any sifus here could point out any comments on my issues? Newbie here. Thanks in advance and happy detailing!

This post has been edited by b0rhui: Aug 17 2017, 08:34 PM
b0rhui
post Aug 18 2017, 12:47 AM

689 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Aug 17 2017, 09:18 PM)
Hmm, got a few points that could help:

1. Detailer is greasy. Had to give second car wash after claying, despite some saying buffing it is sufficient: Usually quick detailers are a little bit oily, this is to help lubricate the clay movement, else claybar will grip on paint.
2. The detailer dried off even before finish claying one section. Weather was windy. It left patches so I had to keep buff it off: Spray more, do in covered shade preferably and make sure surface is cool. Alternatively, try just your car wash soap water, plain water, or even Optimum No-Rinse.
3. Clay dropping on the floor. I had split my clay into 3 pieces yet first 2 dropped on the floor. Quite challenging to handle those clay I'd say: If u find using claybar frequently slip from your hand, maybe u wanna consider using clay cloth instead.
4. Clay gets dirty so easily. I mean like SO EASILY. I've seen past comments here stating that his 3-part clay could be used for one year. IDK. I suspect my first car wash wasn't clean enough..: If your claybar gets dirty easily, that means your car surface has a heavy amounts of contaminants. Fold and reopen more frequently.
5. Carnauba wax is damn tough to be buffed off. Unlike rainx. When the wax dries it is so dusty. And it required medium-hard back forth rubbing with microfiber cloth. Am I doing it wrong? Would too much force actually removes the wax layer also?: Did u follow the instructions written on the wax box? Some waxes can apply on whole car before buff off, some require to buff off immediately after each section application. Try following the instructions from your box and see if same issue happens.
6. WATER SPOTS. Since it's been quite some time since last car wash water spots accumulated on the front windshield (rainx already worn off). Unlike rear windshield is still perfect coz rainx layer is still there.: For water spots on windshield, the most effective method I know is using a polish cream that contains cerium oxide. You can try using other forms of car polish cream also, but try on small spot first.

Hope this helps.
Thanks for going through my post and giving feedbacks accordingly! notworthy.gif

In terms of efficiency in removing residues, does clay bar > clay cloth or they are the same?

In the instruction section of the wax it only says buff it out after haze appears which I did not notice. It's like dried powder bonded to the paint. What I did was sort-of "knuckle/scratch" it out with microfiber cloth. Was it over-dried?

I'll repeat the whole process again - clay and apply thinner layer of wax this time, two layers.

Would you suggest a good clay brand, and the polish cream with cerium oxide please? Osren glass polish abrasive cream?

Also if a car is coated with ceramic pro coat can I clay and wax another 2 layers onto it?

QUOTE(windskill @ Feb 18 2014, 01:38 AM)
Need some help here. Just now I was using 3M microfine sanding sponge along with glass abrasive polish powder to remove watermarks on my car's windscreen (using light pressure). Prior to the sanding, glass prep such as washing and claying have been done.

It ended up with some minor scratches and marring....
Was searching online and found that CQuartz Ceriglass, which contains cerium oxide, is able to remove mild to medium scratches on glass.

Does anyone use this before?

Appreciate your help
I'm planning to combine the cerium oxide cream with 3M microfine sanding sponge to remove watermark on windscreen but found your comment wink.gif. How did you remove the scratches in the end?

I thought of using 3M microfine sanding sponge coz I see some garage sales seller mentioned it too. Bad idea?

This post has been edited by b0rhui: Aug 18 2017, 01:26 AM
b0rhui
post Aug 19 2017, 02:32 PM

689 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Aug 18 2017, 01:23 AM)
I havent used clay cloth, but would be trying soon, since most of the reviews been good.

clay would only remove wax and sealants but not the ceramic coat, unless it is weakened towards end of life
QUOTE(blurcase @ Aug 18 2017, 01:38 AM)

Thanks a ton guys. Will do consult the coating dealer first.

Blurcase, do you know what's the difference between CeriGlass and Spotless? Product by same company.
b0rhui
post Aug 20 2017, 12:53 AM

689 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Aug 19 2017, 02:59 PM)
Ceriglass is a polish cream specifically formulated for glass polishing. It contains cerium oxide, the recommended ingredient in a glass polishing cream to break down and remove water spots safely. This is especially effective on water spots that have etched into the glass windshield.

https://www.carpro-us.com/glass/carpro-ceri...polish-kit-5oz/
http://www.detailingworld.co.uk/forum/show...ad.php?t=243434

Spotless is an acid based water spots remover. It is a liquid, not cream, and is sprayed on and wipe off method usage. It is mainly good for breaking down fresh water spots, but generally acid-based water spot cleaners are NOT recommended to be used on glass, ESPECIALLY front windshield. There is always a medium to high risk of the acid permanently etching into the windshield, thereby rendering your windshield blurry and unusable.

https://www.carpro-us.com/paint-decontamina...-1-liter-32-oz/

Personally, I have only used glass polish and regular polish cream before in removing water spots from windshield, never used acid as I am not willing to take that risk.
I was deciding real hard between this two, mainly due to people saying that spotless managed to remove aged water spots while the ceriglass failed. Ceriglass does offer to remove minor swirls and scratches tho so I placed an order for it at last laugh.gif

Carpro mentioned spotless is meant for car body coating. Wondering what it means hmm.gif
b0rhui
post Aug 22 2017, 07:58 PM

689 posts

While doing claying, how do y'all clay on the stone chips/dents area that was scratching the clay when going back and forth? Especially front bumper bottom area. What can I do about them?

Also during my second time doing basic claying-waxing I noticed some marring probably due to previous "bangla" washes laugh.gif Hopefully those aren't caused by the clay (PG wonder clay no2 medium abrasive).

b0rhui
post Aug 24 2017, 12:12 AM

689 posts

What's some cool hybrid coating/sealant with super hydrophobic effect?

Carpro Hydro2 lite
Carpro Reload
TAC system Mystic Water Repellent (MWR)
EZcarcare Fusion/Granite silica coating

Any recommended ones? Do we do the hydrophobic coating below or above normal carnauba waxing for better protection?

BTW my ceriglass has just arrived. Can't wait to try to polish on the long-waited water spots.
b0rhui
post Aug 24 2017, 02:29 PM

689 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Aug 24 2017, 01:18 AM)
I have Carpro Reload, but havent started using. It was recommended by douglas_tong. I did some research and comparison and found that Carpro Hydro2 have some issues. Numerous ppl reported that the rinse-spray-rinse sometimes creates streaks on the surface, and its abit difficult to remove. Reload is safer cuz can spray on cloth and buff surface then buff off.

Usually carnauba wax is the last layer as it is the glossiest but also weakest wax in the market.
I think most hydrophobic coating especially rinse off type may cause streaking issue.. Can buff off the streak with damp cloth. I actually prefer apply and buff off type coz feel like they are more tahan lasak tongue.gif

Hydro2 lite cheapest among all tho. 1 litre RM1XX

QUOTE(breekachu @ Aug 24 2017, 02:18 AM)
"SONAX Xtreme Brilliant Shine Detailer"

Use this one. Super crazy hydrophobic ever. Easy to apply

You want more crazy? More fun? Than use

"SONAX polymer net shield"

For polymer net shield please let professional Detailer handle it. Very hard to apply the coating.
Where can we get these? Tried looking online but it seems like mostly ship from overseas

QUOTE(lkoky @ Aug 24 2017, 08:42 AM)
I tried the Duragloss Enviroment Shield, but for some reason the hydrophobic effect gone with in a week, worst than normal wax. Suspect the coating bonding process was not complete, but heck i tried two times... same results

1st time
1. wash
2. clay
3. polish 2 passes
4 IPA wipe down
5 apply coat

after 1 week, seeing the water sheeting on paint surface like no coating at all
2nd time
1. wash
2. use the squeky clean in the package to clean whole car surface.
3. wash
4. apply the coating again

Again within a week, the hydrophobic effect all gone.
Too bad. How much did it cost?
b0rhui
post Aug 24 2017, 02:32 PM

689 posts

PG quick shine detailer kit 500ml with PG clay RM33
Meg ulti quik detailer 650ml RM55+

Which one more worth? UQD really worth the extra?
b0rhui
post Aug 24 2017, 08:05 PM

689 posts

QUOTE(breekachu @ Aug 24 2017, 05:23 PM)
I buy it from facebook. You can search it. The shop locate at pj iinm. The owner name mr redza
QUOTE(breekachu @ Aug 24 2017, 05:27 PM)
I also use PG quick shine and clay. Just use it for lubricate for claying

Imho buy UQD. PG quick shine detailers very oily. Thays why i only use it for lubricate only for clay
Reza from the autopfledge/sonax msia distributor? Aite will try asking thanks smile.gif

PG is indeed oily. Application wise i almost finished a 500ml bottle after 2 car claying. Maybe i was using too much but it needed the lubrication. And always have to give second car wash
b0rhui
post Aug 27 2017, 03:59 PM

689 posts

QUOTE(wunan90 @ Aug 27 2017, 03:23 PM)
Hi guys,

anyone got experience replacing door visor?how to remove the double sided tape completely yea..some of the residue is still attached to my window..

appreciate any advice on correct way to remove & attach back the visor.
To remove tape residue.. Wipe with IPA (isopropyl alcohol. Itll come off easily
b0rhui
post Aug 27 2017, 07:04 PM

689 posts

QUOTE(mot88 @ Aug 27 2017, 04:35 PM)
Second tht Goo Gone works wonder even though it is expensive. Brought a spray bottle type and used till now (close to 10 years). I also use it to remove road tax glue residual on frt windscreen with tint.

For stubborn glue residual, buy those plastic scrapper from Daiso DIY section or use an expired credit card.
QUOTE(blurcase @ Aug 27 2017, 06:42 PM)
For Goo Gone more effective need to leave it soak longer. Almost guaranteed to get through most forms of sticker glue.

I also took very long time to use finish use 1 bottle. Expensive but long term very economical.
Wont IPA get rid of them too? laugh.gif
b0rhui
post Aug 28 2017, 04:19 PM

689 posts

QUOTE(Theeban @ Aug 28 2017, 03:26 PM)
Guys where can i buy clay bar
Lazada > PG quik shine detailer kit with clay bar is a good choice to start off with. It comes with PG wonder clay no.2 150gram medium abrasive. RM40 kit with 15% discount, it costs only 33 after discount.
b0rhui
post Sep 5 2017, 01:42 PM

689 posts

QUOTE(Theeban @ Sep 5 2017, 01:31 PM)
Tq for your help much appreciated ✌🏻
Too bad it's now 50+ on LZD and 11st. You can try checking out AceHardware I got them for around 42.

LZD after 20% is about 44.
b0rhui
post Sep 9 2017, 12:58 AM

689 posts

Since LZD is currently having some promo. I am getting meg UC and UP. Should I also get APC. What's the usual uses of the APC? laugh.gif

Also can recommend some leather/trim/plastic protectant please wink.gif meg's ultimate protectant?

Would the protectant restore the finish like below? Sometimes like rubber seals those turns white-ish after some time - cleaning it doesnt work

EDIT: Seems like meg's malaysia carry natural shine protectant, supreme shine protectant and ultimate protectant. So.. which one ? icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by b0rhui: Sep 9 2017, 01:18 AM
b0rhui
post Sep 18 2017, 01:55 PM

689 posts

When velcro backing pad goes wrong laugh.gif here goes my day. Where can I get a new one in store? Osren?

QUOTE(windskill @ Sep 15 2017, 10:55 PM)
Wah cannot resist the poison  drool.gif  drool.gif

I heard Aikka has an aerosol type 2k clearcoat for headlamp. Not sure how reliable it is. And if I am not mistaken, you have to use up all within 4 hours.
I'm looking for acrylic clear coat for my headlamp too. Freaking yellowish must wet sand and compound it. Lelong got this brand "samurai" 2k clearcoat but i doubt its quality. Ezytouch up also got clear coat but it's comes in 20ml doh.gif
b0rhui
post Sep 25 2017, 07:59 PM

689 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Sep 25 2017, 04:38 PM)
Soooo, I had been having an annoyance with my relative's Myvi headlights whenever I see the car. It is quite an old car, about 2006-2007 model. Today she managed to spare abit of time for me to polish it while she attended her class. Just sharing some pics of the work:

[attachmentid=9171767]
This is how it looked like at the start. Both sides are almost equally faded and whatever film protecting it long gone.

[attachmentid=9171776]
Started with 1000 grit wetsanding by hand using forward-backward motion. Alot of brown water dripped off cuz I didnt wash or clay before starting.

[attachmentid=9171780]
Followed up with 2000 grit wetsanding by hand using left-right motion.

[attachmentid=9171782]
Final wetsanding by hand with 3000 grit using forward-backward motion.

[attachmentid=9171769]
Just to show the left one after completing the same wetsanding process.

[attachmentid=9171773]
For compounding, I used Meguiars m105 with microfiber cutting pad. For polishing I used Meguiars m205 with black finishing pad.

[attachmentid=9171784]
Finished result under semi cloudy daylight. Didnt have any appropriate protection product to apply, so left it as it were.

For this short detailing work I used the following products:

1) Machine: Rupes LHR21MkII, 5" backing plate and washer mod, mostly running speed 3 throughout the process.
2) Sanding: 1000, 2000, 3000 grit sandpaper
3) Compounding: Meguiars Microfiber cutting pad and Meguiars m105 Compound
4) Polishing: Meguiars Black finishing pad and Meguiars m205 Polish
5) 3 regular microfiber towels

Overall had only about 3 hours to get this done cuz she needed the car back after that. All the work was done within 1.5 hours. I think the lights came out okay considering its age. When turn on the headlamp lights can still see the little hairline cracks inside but cant do anything about that.
Looking good thumbsup.gif My headlights are still pending since I'm lacking of the clear coat paint.

QUOTE(slk @ Sep 18 2017, 06:47 PM)
get Meguiar's or Flexipad's BP. My Meguiar's BP since 2006 still working fine
Megs BP is crazy expensive dude sad.gif Around 150+

Damage today: osren 5" BP around rm50, lake country MF cutting pad around RM80, rayon pad around RM30 (for glass polishing, just like carpro rayon pad)
b0rhui
post Sep 26 2017, 12:45 AM

689 posts

QUOTE(slk @ Sep 25 2017, 11:36 PM)
but lasted until now...... LC backing plate will deteorize in our weather
Let's see how long will this osren BP last.. this is looks like some chinese cheapo BP. I suspect they all are the same biggrin.gif

0.1736sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 08:20 PM