Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

shaniandras2787
post Mar 30 2021, 06:34 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(rylim @ Mar 30 2021, 02:13 PM)
My car somehow has a spot which looks like micro cracked paint and do you guys know what caused this?

Also, how can I get rid of it?

run your finger through it - what does the texture feels like?
shaniandras2787
post Mar 31 2021, 09:46 AM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(rylim @ Mar 30 2021, 09:55 PM)
Felt like crack, not smooth at all.
oh gawd. automotive paint don't normally cracked like that. was that area subject to any abuse before or you just woke up one day and realized the cracks just suddenly appeared?

basing entirely on the picture you shared, it does seem like the issue goes beyond the surfaces of the paint. the visible black linings looked like the metal sheet itself =/
shaniandras2787
post Mar 31 2021, 11:40 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(rylim @ Mar 31 2021, 10:43 PM)
If I'm not mistaken, there was a stain that sticks on the surface and I removed it using Meguair's Scratch 2.0. This is how I found out this cracking spot.

Should I continue to use the polishing compound to remove the spot?
I would avoid doing anything else on it for now lest risking any other possible damage since we are all unsure what originally caused the crack to appear in the first place. compound polishing may just unnecessarily thin the layers without any betterment.

the best advice now is to send your car to a reputable detailer and have a professional diagnose the issue and hopefully identify the cause and then prescribe to you a solution.

your case intrigued me much because automotive paints are engineering to be very flexible to accommodate the constant change in temperature (expansion and contraction) therefore paint cracking (unless grossly neglected) is a very rare occurence hmm.gif

This post has been edited by shaniandras2787: Mar 31 2021, 11:42 PM
shaniandras2787
post Apr 8 2021, 05:03 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

#throwback

is it only me or does everyone who uses the Soft99 Fusso Wax suffers from this. no matter how much the surface was prepped prior, a "dark" layer will develop on top of it few months into its application. it is not obvious and is not visible until you take a clay bar against it.

because i re-apply the wax every 8 months or so, claying the car becomes a ritual.

what gives?

This post has been edited by shaniandras2787: Apr 8 2021, 05:05 PM
shaniandras2787
post Apr 9 2021, 09:30 AM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(more2teayap @ Apr 8 2021, 09:19 PM)
could it be the wax is picking up the residue from the clay and leave it on your surface?
QUOTE(sonotme @ Apr 8 2021, 11:55 PM)
I also think maybe the buffing action makes the contaminants/dirt appear.. probably thats why they say better clay/ipa before putting on new wax?
Don't think so this is what happened. i prepped the surface (ie: clayed and wiped down with IPA solution) before applying the Fusso Wax and the surface looks white (upper left) after application. The darken layer just magically develops over the course of the months and because it develops gradually, you'll hardly see it until you take a clay bar against it.

Strangely enough, despite the appearance of the "darken film" on top of the surface, it does not affect its hydrophobic properties which means the wax is still intact hmm.gif very strange.
shaniandras2787
post Apr 12 2021, 12:26 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Apr 12 2021, 11:37 AM)
Bro, why don't just give Osren Rinseless Pro a go? Support local sikit ma since the swiss knife ONR no stock now haha (though I still got like half bottle aiya).
actually, is Osren's Rinseless Pro good?

i have been looking for a solution to ease my wipe down of those water beads on my car after rain and couldn't find any that i could really put my trust into.

shaniandras2787
post Apr 12 2021, 12:49 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(sonotme @ Apr 12 2021, 12:37 PM)
Cheaper compared to ONR. I started pre-wash using rinseless and wipe it off with soaked rinseless.

After rain, maybe use leaf blower instead? Hehehe
blush.gif i really REALLY did consider wanting to get a leaf blower but spending that amount of money just for this one purpose seems, wasteful, overkill as well.

i just want something that is portable that i can just chuck into the boot and then use it anywhere i find appropriate. i figured it would be too dramatic for me to whip out a leaf blower in a (let's say) parking lot of a shopping mall and then just blow away :haha:
shaniandras2787
post Apr 12 2021, 01:36 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Apr 12 2021, 01:22 PM)
You want to buy my leaf blower anot? brows.gif

Bought last year from Ace Hardware but only used once. LOL.

Using up storeroom space along with my unused rotary and hardly used DA. laugh.gif
thanks for the offer but i think i'm officially off with the idea of getting a leaf blower - i just figured that there's absolutely NO WAY that it is possible or even practical to keep the car spotless if it's a daily driver and i have already come to terms with it mad.gif i'll just probably do "my best" whenever possible/convenient to minimize these water spots and then send the car for a full detailing after 5 or 6 years down the road.

feels like being enslaved by the car otherwise.

QUOTE(sonotme @ Apr 12 2021, 01:23 PM)
How about waterless wash then?
I have one from purewax. Other brands also got (depends on budget).
But i usually use diluted rinseless coz its cheaper.

U wash/dry car in a parking lot of a shopping mall is also lebih2 hahaha
i just need a solution/lubricant that would lift those particles off the surface so that it will not scratch the paint work when i glide my MF cloths over cause right now, i blot them and blotting is very tedious.

if i could find a suitable solution/lubricant, i'll just spray it all over the surface and then drag the MF cloth from one to the other - would probably take me less than 5 minutes.

:haha: drying car in shopping mall parking lot memang very lebih but so far i don't think i did that even once (yet) cause i feel that my maruah worth more.

This post has been edited by shaniandras2787: Apr 12 2021, 01:38 PM
shaniandras2787
post Apr 13 2021, 01:29 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

anyone here used/uses the graphene flex wax?

shaniandras2787
post Apr 14 2021, 12:19 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(Momo33 @ Apr 14 2021, 11:53 AM)
yes  used on my avita  for 1 months now..
still beading water.  plus i like it cos  so easy to apply .  spray and wipe on with no force needed and only need to layer the liquid thin  on the paint surface. .  thumbsup.gif

yesterday  i  did a lite reapply  on half my  bonnet  just to see  in the coming days the water  b performance.

this is much better than meguire ceramic  wax  in terms on surface smoothness  ..  my  previous .
hmm.gif do you have any existing LSP on your car?
shaniandras2787
post Apr 20 2021, 01:41 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

really respect your parallel parking!
shaniandras2787
post Sep 20 2021, 01:25 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(alexander.ch_1992 @ Sep 4 2021, 10:50 AM)

Any sifu can advise any good detailing shop that can clean this? Long story short, I parked my car for three mths during MCO and mould started growing inside.

Currently based in KL.

Someone suggested Hoven Clean but they say they can't do it for door to door service.
oh gawd puke.gif

that aside, you may want to consider replacing all the seats that has mold growing on it because they are very hazardous as they are toxic in nature. even if you can clean the surface off it but you'll never be able to know if they are truly indeed thoroughly eliminated.

there was a video of a youtuber where the insurance company "totalled" his Honda Accord because the SC discovered mold in the air filter.
shaniandras2787
post Oct 5 2021, 11:49 AM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(faujc99 @ Sep 30 2021, 09:44 AM)
as for watermark, ceramic coatings are prone to it. try graphene coatings (real ones, there are a lot fake in the market without graphene effect), watermark issue will not be there. i get insider info that Cerakote's Graphene Coating has solved watermark issue once and for all, tried and tested in Korean and Malaysian weather, and they are about to launch it on 1st oct. 2 variants, 3 and 5 years warranty, and the warranty comes from Cerakote itself! no other brand dare to do it, it is always the detailing shops that is giving you warranty on their coatings. Anyhow, they are the world No.1 when it comes to ceramic coating, focusing on heavy duty industry, so automotive should be small potato for them. I cant wait already
i am skeptical on the claims that graphene coatings will eliminate watermarks, further alleviate yes but definitely not eliminate since graphene is just more efficient in disbursing heat hence reducing the time contaminated water beads has to "bake" onto the paint surface then again will have to wait and see its real time application.

what is confirmed is that it is going to costs a BOMB on its first few years of launching.
shaniandras2787
post Oct 5 2021, 05:53 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(phernut @ Oct 5 2021, 04:34 PM)
hmm has anyone here tried it before? how is the result?
don't think so graphene coating is already widely available here in Malaysia and has only started to gain traction over in the US. Most of the reviews you can watch in youtube of reputable detailers applying these coating is that they never once claims that graphene coatings can eliminate water spots.

not even Pan the Organizer.

i bought the Turtle Wax's Graphene Flex Wax after watching his recommendation and although one may argue these "quick wax" isn't pure but after application, i cannot see any obvious difference between this and the ceramic coating I have on my car hmm.gif

shaniandras2787
post Oct 5 2021, 08:59 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(newhouseowner @ Oct 5 2021, 07:18 PM)
Yup, graphene is just reduced water marks where ceramic coating suffered even for top branded. Today technology still can't beat the nature of torture haha...
mother nature always wins bruce.gif

QUOTE(faujc99 @ Oct 5 2021, 08:03 PM)
it is more complicated than just "disbursing heat", but i am no expert, donno how to answer u
wrong on the "bomb" part though, it is priced at medium range, as far as i know from detailers
well, as far as everyone is concerned - the no.1 cause of water spots on paintworks is heat so be that as it may that the graphene coating can have a million and one technologies on it, if it cannot reflect heat at 100% rate, water spot WILL happen.

so what is this said "medium range"? reputable detailers out there are already charging between RM2k to RM3k for ceramic coating on sedans.

QUOTE(faujc99 @ Oct 5 2021, 08:13 PM)
spray coating (quick wax is a different thing) is water based, it has the properties of ceramic coatings, but when applied, it is comparably much thinner and, as the name goes, soft. from naked eyes it will look the same, but good ceramic coatings are much longer lasting and helps with swirl mark and light scratches as it is a layer of hardened material.

of course, top of the line coatings has a better shine and brings out the color better etc

if bydget is there, go for a proper top brand coatings, otherwise better go for spray coating rather than some china made cheap coatings, removing existing coating will cost a bomb, ended up paying more
i'm talking about the Turtle Wax's Hybrid Solution Graphene Infused Flex wax - is this essentially a ceramic coating based quick wax?
shaniandras2787
post Oct 5 2021, 09:14 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(faujc99 @ Oct 5 2021, 08:00 PM)

tried and tested, 6 months in, very minimal water mark which can be removed without polishing, factoring in 3 months mco without car wash and car left outside exposed to rain and sunlight. it is not just the graphene alone of course, i believe it is Cerakote's coating that does the trick (not sure about this part). this is very different from ceramic coatings. hydrophobic is still like new, and surface is still smooth

blink.gif why did you leave your ES outside exposed to the elements for 3 months?

shaniandras2787
post Oct 11 2021, 09:43 AM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

anyone knows what would be able to get rid of these scuff marks - will Soft 99 Cleaner Liquid Wax do?
shaniandras2787
post Nov 10 2021, 06:24 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(Ken_Lee @ Nov 9 2021, 11:54 AM)
Hi Sifu,

Are there really so much different to reduce scratching and cleaning power compare Foam Wash + Bucket Wash vs Spray Prewash(Car Shampoo) + Bucket Wash only ?

As I see mostly bucket wash using much less shampoo 1:400

And nowadays equipment are not so expensive like foam cannon so everyone will foam car wash every week ?

Im still doing 2 bucket wash every weekend at non coated car so plan to upgrade to foam cleaning method if can reduce more scratch and have more cleaning power
pre washes be it via foam lance or anything else is to get rid of loose particles that can be washed away before doing contact washes - this will reduce the amount of particles left on the paintwork when you are doing your contact washes (which is unavoidable). so just make sure that when you are doing your contact washes, your wash mitt and the car is sufficient lubricated, that is as far as you can do without going crazy.

i'm using a K5 + the foam lance from MJCC and my weekly routine will be:-

spray water > foam (leave on for the foam to flow down) > spray water > foam > contact wash in single bucket.

so far, i haven't yet notice any obvious swirl marks or scratches on the paint yet.

shaniandras2787
post Nov 16 2021, 05:52 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

understanding the cause of water spots would be your first step into preventing them - TLDR: dirty water or water on dirty car left to dry on the paint under a hot sun and when that happens, the dissolved dirt/elements just etched into the clear coat (but only by just a little bit) - coating prevents (read: prevent and not eliminate) water spots because it is assumed that it makes water beads and then falls off the paint but when the heaven decides to drizzle, not even Moses can save you.

water spotting is part and parcel of car ownership.

if you want to totally prevent water spots then:-

1) always parked your car under cover;
2) dab dry/wash your car every single time after it rains/drizzles (which is nonsense to be honest); or
3) drive your car only when the weather forecasts sunny all day long biggrin.gif

my advise, don't get too hung up on water spots because it's going to happen eventually whether you like it or not. drive the car like how it is meant to and then send the car for a full spa annually.

removing these water spots with chemical is fine but for every removal, you are also removing a thin layer of the coating that you got so you need to take that into consideration.

just always find a covered car park when possible.

shaniandras2787
post Dec 27 2021, 10:54 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

does anyone know what "layer" is this "white base" in the car paint composition?

got hit by a big arse rock this morning, kicked up by the tires from a car in front of me. if there is no danger of developing rust then i'll just leave it at it is until it is time for a complete touch up.

11 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0530sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 08:19 PM