QUOTE(more2teayap @ Dec 28 2021, 08:10 PM)
if it's just the clear coat that is being off then nothing to worry, what i fear is that the chip could be deeper or near the bare metal =(Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance
Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance
Dec 29 2021, 05:34 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
2,309 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
Dec 30 2021, 05:21 PM
QUOTE(more2teayap @ Dec 30 2021, 02:07 PM) It's abit hard to judge from the picture, but if its really deep, you'll probably will see its primer/undercoat or even bare metal. gawd damn that's deep Here's mine circle in red, got hit by a big rock on highway. You can really see the exposed metal in the middle of the darkgrey undercoat [attachmentid=11067215] |
Jan 3 2022, 01:41 PM
quick question, can you actually clay a paint which has ceramic coating applied on it?
did some random google search and the results were a mixed bag. some say it's a bad idea while some say to only use iron / tar remover and some say it is perfectly fine to clay |
Jan 10 2022, 02:58 PM
QUOTE(denzel88 @ Jan 6 2022, 02:16 PM) Hi all. Need some here figuring best and easiest way to clean up the dark stains that appear on white car. Car is coated. Tried shampoo wash but it does help. Any idea how to clean it? Thanks in advance. I saw a video advertisement on fb and it cost rm70 to wash it off. Attached screenshot below for stain on bonnet. ![]() same deal with my Accord previously, car is not coated but waxed and can confirmed that the dark film stains are contaminants. it is not noticeable until you accidentally rubbed off some part where it shows the discrepancies and that is when the anxiety kicks in. the clean spot (upper left) is after i "cleaned" it using a clay bar. apparently, if the car is coated/waxed then contaminants tends to stick on the surface more than it isn't but the saving grace is that the contaminants does not invade the clear coat and then the paint, once you remove the wax, the stains also gets removed. wash, clay, wash and then wax - used to be my routine every 6 months or so. hard work this. |
Jan 10 2022, 03:42 PM
QUOTE(denzel88 @ Jan 10 2022, 03:08 PM) you are welcome but i'm not sure if my routine will be applicable to your car since your car is coated and i'm sure the coating comes with warranty so best not try to do anything hasty lest you get your warranty voided.furthermore, coating layers are a few hundred times "harder" than wax so i don't think you'll be able to remove them just by using your arms. if you really need to, you'll probably need a DA to "cut" them off. |
Mar 3 2022, 06:46 PM
Mar 3 2022, 06:50 PM
QUOTE QUOTE(Brandis @ Feb 28 2022, 03:21 PM) the leather on my steering wheel too has these minor wrinkles (more like stretch marks) on the end and edges but i don't really bother them unless they started tearing. i just apply leather lotion on them and leave it be. given Honda's track record, i doubt they will entertain your warranty and will treat it as "wear and tear" unless you pointed out to them the day you collect your car. |
Mar 3 2022, 06:52 PM
QUOTE(sonotme @ Mar 3 2022, 06:47 PM) either your mirror was not properly prepped when you apply the zero coating OR your snow foam is too high in alkaline rating then again, you should buy ULTRA GLACO instead, that thing is more durable than the zero coating. |
Mar 3 2022, 11:14 PM
Mar 21 2022, 06:56 PM
QUOTE(jAsOs @ Mar 17 2022, 10:16 PM) if your car is not coated then you can consider using this:-» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « relatively cheap and quite a good car shampoo too because it can reduce those dreadful black streaks that you often find on white colored cars but take note though, it's alkali based so it can remove waxes that you have applied on the car. so for good measure, wax your car once every fortnight. |
Mar 21 2022, 07:04 PM
QUOTE(bonez_xy @ Mar 10 2022, 10:26 PM) hye should i put gloss wax on top Soft99 Fusso Coat F7? or it should be the other way around. isn't the Fusso F7 already a form of wax by itself and what is this "gloss wax" that you are referring to?thinking to diy to put cleaner wax this time. if both are also car waxes but only in different form then the one that you applied straight on a clean paint surface will be sufficient, any other type of wax that gets layered on top of the first layer will not bond well and "washes away" pretty quickly. so prepped your paint surface properly and then apply a good durable wax - something like this:- » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « i've used these previously and they last for around 6-7 months before you start noticing the hydrophobic properties starts to wear off. |
Mar 23 2022, 09:42 AM
Apr 13 2022, 12:14 PM
QUOTE(sonotme @ Apr 10 2022, 06:48 PM) Yup i recommend to start off with osren as they have everything u need. Their Nano Wash is pretty good, have been buying their 4L for RM65 and then finally decided to buy the 20L for RM120 earlier this year I also started off with osren. Can just do bucket method with Bubble wash. If u want more details, can visit their store at Kepong. They sell in bigger, cheaper volume too. QUOTE(xDjWanNabex @ Apr 11 2022, 11:04 AM) yeap, did that. They managed to polish it to make it slightly less resistant, but alas the paint has been slightly eaten in some places and the rings are visible when you go upclose. Bird poops are mostly acidic in nature and when left unattended to for a long period of time especially if the car is parked under the perils of weather (hot sun etc), it will corrode through almost all paint protections, be it ceramic, graphene etc and when they are done with that, it will go for the clear coat and then eventually the paint itself.not only bird poops that can do such harm, water spots from rain can have such effects as well. i reckon that the reason why the "ring" of the stain is still visible is because the detailers did not want to cut too deep into the layers (illustration; if the stain corrodes through 4 layers of protection, your detailer "cuts" only 3 perhaps). |
Apr 21 2022, 01:52 PM
QUOTE(minizian @ Apr 21 2022, 01:32 PM) I also got mine but was shared that this product will be discontinued due to product line streamlining ouh ... if they did decide to discontinue this product and not release an equivalent or better replacement for it then it's really a shame Maybe i need go back there to get the waterless cleaner concentrate so I can make my own bird poop cleaner to place inside the car |
Jun 7 2022, 11:20 AM
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « unless your friend's cars are used cars or they had it repainted with cheap quality paints, it is very unlikely that factory automotive paint will deteriorate in just 2 or 3 months even under extreme weather condition (which Malaysia doesn't have). there are several layers of paintworks on the surface and ultimately the clear coat which also has heat radiation repellant properties (UV/IR). there must be other underlying causes if your friend's car's white paint deteriorated so fast. COATING it is best to do some reading up before going for it otherwise you'll end up with major disappointment because you will be promised by unscrupulous salespersons with unreal expectations as to what coating can do. in essence, coating is just another layer of clear coat applied on top of your car's existing layers of paintwork. the purpose of coating is to just make the paint "thicker" so that it becomes more susceptible and "that is all". imagine an onion, applying a coating is just adding more layers to that onion which can and will be "peeled off". introducing a "sacrificial layer", if you will. oxidation is the root cause for why white paint becomes yellow so unless the coating has good heat dispersion properties or seals the original paintwork nicely, chances are it will do very little to prevent this. currently there are so-called "graphene-coatings" which claims to have better heat conductivity but these are relatively new in the market with very little real world statistics to back them up. therefore i don't think you can assign a specific time frame as to when your paint will "turn yellow" since the weather and the time you exposed your car to it is variable. the best way to approach this is taking preventive maintenance (eg):- 1) wash your car on weekly basis and if not possible, fortnightly; 2) park your car in shaded areas as often as possible (but avoid trees): and 3) wax your car every 3 months (or when the wax wears off) but if lazy then send for coating application (which is much more expensive) but you get the benefit of convenience. ... and for the rest of the time, just use your car like how it is intended to be used otherwise you'll basically be a slave to it. langstrasse and Waliuuu liked this post
Jun 8 2022, 09:09 AM
QUOTE(shinjay @ Jun 7 2022, 11:29 PM) Good info there good PPFs don't turn yellow in just a few months - your friend has opted for cheap quality PPFs which you can probably get for a few hundred to cover the entire front hood. |
Jun 11 2022, 10:39 PM
Jul 4 2022, 06:52 PM
QUOTE(minizian @ Jun 20 2022, 01:55 PM) Just a quick question for those with foam gun. it's normal for dirt/mud to still be present on the car after the foam spray, the purpose of it is to rinse off loose particles before you do any contact washing. this will minimize the chances of you introducing scratches or swirl marks on the paint surface. I had my foam gun and realized that after using foaming + pressure washing. I notice that the dirt still present on the car even after leaving it a while. I would still need to do 2 bucket method to properly wash off. Not sure if it normal or my foam gun mixing is wrong. There a knob on top that from the manual is saying mixing air/water ratio. Tried to search on the net and there is not really a direct answer other than the part where mixing soap and water into foam canon container. not sure if mix ratios are universal or not but for Osren's Nano Wash, the ratio is 1:10 for foam lance so as long as you're about the range, you are good. to simplify the function of the knob, it's to adjust whether you want a thick or runny foam. for me, i'll have it runny for my rinse and then slightly thicker for my contact wash (but not too thick else there is no lubrication). so i basically go like "rinse > runny foam > rinse > slightly thicker form > contact wash > rinse". |
Jul 5 2022, 09:20 AM
QUOTE(minizian @ Jul 5 2022, 08:53 AM) The folks at Osren did suggest me the recommended ratio for foam wash (i cant remember it now as I am away) i don't foam spray the entire car before i do the contact wash, i did it in panels. left side + rear + right side and then the front.So for you actually used the foam canon twice. One for pre-contact wash which and another round is right before actual contact wash. I considered to use it right before contact wash but I notice my foam will start to dry up in like 5-10 minutes, so I can imagine it will be dried up (i washed under shaded area) halfway during my contact wash. Perhaps my water/air mix ratio was wrong, i am still experimenting at the moment as I only wash once per week & sometime two weeks if there no rain. that way, i have the maximum possible lubricant at any given time and i don't need to rush against time to reach all panels before the foam dries up. |
Jul 5 2022, 11:00 AM
QUOTE(minizian @ Jul 5 2022, 09:59 AM) Ah, now this make sense as I did the same method when washing the wheel & wheel well but never thought of doing the same on the body. Once done foam & contact wash on a specific area, do you wash it off with water or you only do it once you done the entire wash? i do the rinsing after i've finished the contact wash - letting the shampoo work its magic but only if the car is cool but if it's still a little bit warm then i'll usually rinse it off almost immediately after each panel. don't want the suds to stain. QUOTE(bat11 @ Jul 5 2022, 10:02 AM) Hi just got my new car. Thinking to wrap or coat? Any suggestion from all the sifu here? Thanks a lot! unless you hate the color, no wrap, just coat. |
| Change to: | 0.0512sec
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:43 AM |