7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

gfwong
post Feb 26 2017, 04:39 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Feb 26 2017, 01:36 PM)
I do have the osren glass polish , cream type. But laziness always gets the best of me. That's why opted for ag, suppose to be the lazy way out in removing tough stain and oil/film. Just to make sure subsequent application of rainx/osren glass cost bonds properly.

Give me tips for handling rotary polisher....Please wahahaha
Scrape the glass like Larry. I followed his channel but haven't scrape my glass before.

https://youtu.be/q4WwOrkgXlc
gfwong
post Mar 14 2017, 11:27 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Mar 12 2017, 11:49 AM)
The 15mm too exp, out of my budget bro
I got this from Aliexpress.See here.

And here's is my hands-on opinion.
gfwong
post Mar 15 2017, 07:55 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(tampin @ Mar 14 2017, 06:36 PM)
I checked with the shop detailer. He said clay, polish or thing like tar removal will "remove" the coating.

When I 1st got my car, I send for coating. Rinse with water and then wash with car shampoo. Then rinse again and finally dry it. I do that every weekend. Then notice black sports on roof and bonet. Can't be washed off by shampoo.

After much analysis, my conclusion is after a rain, dirt stick to the car surface. When not wash away immediately and leave the car under the hot sun for 2-3 days, then the dirt will get "bond" deep into the glass coating. So, I'm wondering any sifu have similar problem and know how to remove the black spots. Any proven car liquid that can do this and yet not harm/damage the glass coating (already paid a lot of $$$ on it :-))
There was a coating test conducted a blogger (I think bro KrisMas was there during the test). However, the author stopped writing before the results. You can read about the issues on etching under the comments. See here.

I am attaching screenshots of the comments.

gfwong
post Mar 15 2017, 06:12 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Mar 15 2017, 04:46 PM)
Those DA is good compare to osren one?
I never used Osren's before. So it's hard to tell.
gfwong
post Mar 27 2017, 02:51 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(cawan @ Mar 22 2017, 11:34 PM)
I'm looking for interior details. For dashboard, and maybe that can use together with leather seat cover. looking in Lazada, below price range from Rm60-70. Which you guy can suggest?

QUIK INTERIOR DETAILER
http://www.meguiars.com/en/automotive/prod...ailer%E2%84%A2/

NATURAL SHINE PROTECTANT
http://www.meguiars.com/en/automotive/prod...otectant-16-oz/

SUPREME SHINE PROTECTANT
http://www.meguiars.com/en/automotive/prod...reg-protectant/
Might I suggest visiting here for my opinion on Quik Interior Detailer and Natural Shine Protectant as well as some other products. biggrin.gif
gfwong
post Mar 29 2017, 07:59 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(cawan @ Mar 28 2017, 01:42 PM)
rclxms.gif wow blog! i love to read blog. Thanks.
You can start one too smile.gif
gfwong
post Apr 2 2017, 09:43 PM

135 posts

My 2 sen on glass care here.

I was testing out Fireball Premium Easy Coat earlier and got some of them on my windscreen that caused my wipers to jamming some funky disco moves! So I had to polish the windscreen and thought of sharing what I usually do with glass. The steps are just my personal preference.
gfwong
post Apr 4 2017, 07:51 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(sherman_h @ Apr 3 2017, 11:29 PM)
I am using the easy coat also, not really sure on the wiper juddering issue part as existing wiper already have the issue. And also not sure is due to my windscreen coating.
the dark stains and "bleeding" marks, don't really notice due to black color car:) will check on this later.

But i think you apply way too much products in one session, I applied twice on my car, still left more than half bottles..
Yup, I might have applied too much smile.gif

gfwong
post Apr 7 2017, 07:49 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(darkueki @ Apr 7 2017, 07:38 AM)
Thanks blurcase, will start with claying first.

Any members know where has sell clay bar in Penang mainland?
Try Aeon or Tesco. Look for PG's clay bar. They are pretty decent.
gfwong
post Apr 7 2017, 02:21 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(darkueki @ Apr 6 2017, 06:29 PM)
Any sifu or member know how to get the black spot off?
Not sure what  they are.
QUOTE(darkueki @ Apr 7 2017, 12:12 PM)
Too bad then, don't know how it occur.
Anyone know what is it and how to settle it?
Seems like some corrosive liquid has "eaten" thru the clear coat.
gfwong
post Apr 11 2017, 08:09 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(clickNsnap @ Apr 10 2017, 12:10 AM)
Great blog about car caring you have!

I tried to do waxing with soft99 (blue bottle) once on my solid paint car (Khaki colour) and the result was bad, at last... I sent the car to car care centre to do the job.

If I have two cars, one is pearl white (metalic), the other one is khaki (solid), do I need to get two sets of wax/polisher car care products?

My pearl white car is full of dirt, marks and scratches, I may have to do clay, polishing, compounding and waxing...not sure I can handle these process smile.gif
It is best to keep different polishing pads - one for lighter cars and one for darker cars to prevent cross contamination. As for compounds and polishes, they are the same for lighter and darker cars. Same goes for wax and sealants but there are some manufacturers that differentiate the products like Fusso Wax and Meguiar's White/ Black wax. However, a general good wax or sealants (like Finish Kare 1000P, Autoglym EGP or Meguiar's Ultimate wax) would suffice unless you are really OCD.

If the car surface is really bad, do clay it first. Happy detailing smile.gif

This post has been edited by gfwong: Apr 11 2017, 11:15 AM
gfwong
post Apr 12 2017, 06:41 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(JML @ Apr 11 2017, 06:35 PM)
My persona experience of cheap so called 3M claybar available from online website (i got 5pcs for rm100 i think) compare to osren claybar 1pc about rm40 is:
I stop using the 3M ones.
Osren one is more effective and less effort conpare to 3M ones. U will be using a lot of ur elbow strength
So make sure u choose a good claybar..
Happy detailing
QUOTE(blurcase @ Apr 11 2017, 07:07 PM)
Agreed. The so-called 3M claybars are really rubbish. I tried them before also, performance far worse than clay cloths. Locally consumer level either go for PG or Meguiars or Osren.
There are many fake 3M clay bars online. Just be careful. PG clay bars are quite decent for the price and could be easily found in Parkson, Aeon, Tesco.

This post has been edited by gfwong: Apr 12 2017, 06:45 PM
gfwong
post Apr 13 2017, 02:03 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Apr 12 2017, 06:54 PM)
wow ...@gfwong became super sifu ed ...so good
No lah. Just sharing my thoughts. All are welcome to share smile.gif. I'm still a noob and learning.
gfwong
post Apr 13 2017, 07:14 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(JML @ Apr 13 2017, 03:08 PM)
Too many fake 3M and that makes it hard to find a genuine one. So better go for other brand.
Many ppl including me enjoy reading ur blog. To keep them up *thumbs up*
Thank you.

QUOTE(g88 @ Apr 13 2017, 03:28 PM)
but u have ROB, RB...but saw u also have alot consumer range product ? just wondering why not try professional series or event coating coz the x amount $$, and product (different wax) does it 'beat' a single coating result ?
I only have an ROB and DA. No RB as not pro yet.
For products, I just go for what I like and easily available and not overly priced. For some spray waxes, I do buy those bulk (professional) versions as I use them a lot. But for waxes, polishes and compounds, I use them less so I just stick to consumer range.

As for coating, I'm more of a traditional guy and after reading a blog from Kenneth Tang aka Fishbonezken, I'm still a little doubtful of the pros and cons. See here. Unfortunately there's is no official result but do read through the comments by the author.

This post has been edited by gfwong: Apr 13 2017, 07:15 PM
gfwong
post Apr 17 2017, 08:35 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Apr 14 2017, 11:12 AM)
btw sifu gfwong. wat wax u have now ya ?
No sifu lar...
I only have sealants (synthetic wax): FK1000P, Autoglym EGP, Fusso 12 Months Wax, Meguiar's Ultimate Paste Wax. I guess they would last me years smile.gif
I do have a bottle of Meg cleaner wax though but seldom use it.

This post has been edited by gfwong: Apr 17 2017, 08:35 AM
gfwong
post Apr 17 2017, 04:30 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Apr 17 2017, 11:41 AM)
can review which one is the best or worst...in term durability, ease of use..pros and con..etc
Coming soon smile.gif

This post has been edited by gfwong: Apr 18 2017, 09:09 AM
gfwong
post Apr 19 2017, 10:45 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(clickNsnap @ Apr 18 2017, 10:11 PM)
You are right! It took me almost 9 hours to complete the tasks by hands smile.gif ... wash>clay>wash>sealant (using GP clay & polymer sealant), the claying part took about 6 hours - my white car was super dirty, i am quite please the end result, but some scratches and marks were not removed, i did not do the compounding and scratches fixing.

Since my car worth only RM20+k, I decided to DIY myself and save some money, the GP clay, sealant, a few pcs of MF & wax cloth...cost me less than RM70.

I will follow gfwong's advise apply spray wax (Turtle express shine) after each car wash, hope this keep up the car well smile.gif

1st pix: before and after claying (left side with clayjng)
2nd pix: end result...
Great job! thumbup.gif

QUOTE(knwong @ Apr 19 2017, 10:24 AM)
I saw video in my FB that there's new washing type call steam car wash, basically using only steam.

First time I know of it, anyone know whether is it a gimmick or real deal?
If you Google, steam are pretty good cleaner. I've seen it done on engine bays and interiors (google for larry at ammo nyc vids). I do use steam to clean my leather seats - car and home. Really effective without using any harsh chemicals. I haven't tried steam cleaning car body though tongue.gif

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Apr 19 2017, 10:31 AM)
I don't trust all these "new age" car wash method. It just doesn't sound right especially those "waterless car wash" laugh.gif it literally means "scratch your car".
Reputable rinseless wash like Optimum No Rinse wash works quite well without scratching the surfaces.
So do reputable waterless washes from Meguiar's, Ultima, Optimum.
I've tested all of them with no problem though on moderately dirty surface.

But there is nothing wrong sticking with the old 2 bucket wash method, as long as you feel comfortable and enjoy doing it. Those are the safest method. smile.gif

This post has been edited by gfwong: Apr 19 2017, 10:46 AM
gfwong
post Apr 19 2017, 10:59 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Apr 19 2017, 10:50 AM)
:haha: maybe i'm very "uncle" but I just can't bring myself to trust all these "new age" washing method.

I just cannot brain how can a car paint not scratch if there are loose particles (ie. loose sands) on it and when you literally just wipe it over (no matter with what liquid) it will not graze against the paint =/

Unless the solution applied can dissolve these particulars prior to the wipe then yeah T___T
As long as you feel safe bro, old uncle ways are the proven ways biggrin.gif
I still go for old uncle ways when time permits. Rinseless wash and waterless wash are not meant to replace them. Just a supplement.

Just so if you are interested, waterless wash won't dissolve the particles but rather suspends and encapsulates them. Use them on moderate dirty car and not after a car had been through a rally tongue.gif
I've did some write-ups about them here and here

This post has been edited by gfwong: Apr 19 2017, 11:04 AM
gfwong
post Apr 19 2017, 01:17 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Apr 19 2017, 12:16 PM)
Nope, no coating on the car.

Any mild cleaner wax that won't hurt the paintwork to recommend?

I think i'm going to try removing it and see whether it works or not then after that reapply the fusso coat again.
Cleaner wax can try Meguiar's Cleaner Wax.
Or for mild abrasive paint cleanser (cleanser only, no wax) can try Dodo Juice Lime Prime.

This post has been edited by gfwong: Apr 19 2017, 01:18 PM
gfwong
post Apr 20 2017, 10:59 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(clickNsnap @ Apr 19 2017, 10:11 PM)
Hi gfwong, how often can we do claying and apply PG Polymer Sealant? Thanks.
We clay only as needed. Put your hand in a plastic bag. Feel the car surface. If it's rough, then need to clay.

I think PG polymer sealant has some abrasives in it. It's a 1 step all-in-one product. If you clayed your car, then it's good to use something with abrasives to remove the minor marring from claying. If no clay is needed, and the paint is not dirty try to use a sealant without abrasives. Pure sealants usually last longer than those all-in-one sealants. But if the paint is dirty, then you'll still need a paint cleaner with mild abrasives. So clean and seal. 2 step. Hope that make sense. But overall PG polymer sealant is a good 1 step product. I'd used it before last time.

As for how often, that will depend on the car condition. It's your call. Sealing every month is good but do you have the time? Strike a balance. I believe with spray wax every wash, we could easily drag 2-4 months with a good sealant.

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0387sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:54 AM