Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

douglas_tong
post May 8 2016, 08:49 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ May 8 2016, 06:16 PM)
My dog vomitted all over my interior, especially the hard to reach places. And now my car stunk of the smell. Feel like puking too!

My upholstery is the fabric type. How do I get it fixed?

Tried Febreze, but all it does was to mask the smell, haih.
If you have a steamer it would help.
Else diluted degrease .
To play safe, can go for fabric cleaner.

Tools you need : vacuum(wet dry vacuum preferred), steamer(or hot pail of water), microfiber clothes, brush to agitate

1.Vacuum and remove as much Gunk's or vomit as possible
2. Choice of cleaner : APC/diluted degreaser/fabric cleaner
3. Steam or wipe with hot microfiber towel
4. More cleaner and agitate with brush
5. Remove as much soap from seat as much as possible with dry microfiber clothes
6. Repeat if necessary
7. Air dry/ or pet dryer if you have it
douglas_tong
post May 9 2016, 12:37 AM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ May 8 2016, 10:48 PM)
Tkx! i do not have a steamer, though.

Alright, progress so far.... I have removed most of the gunk using ma bare hands. Not a good idea, as I may have pushed the stain further into the fabric.

I used the cheapo fabric cleaner (ones i could get at Tesco) and followed the instruction on the bottle.

Now the car is with the windows open... it works, but the smell still lingers...
btw, the fabric cleaner should be okay to used at the non-fabric areas too, right? plastic/vinyl panels around the upholstery?
No steamer can always opt for iron, of course the kind that produces steam.
just don't steam too long.
No choice but to make few passed. Vomits are very acidic. So it wouldn't be an easy one.

If you want to go more hardcore, sprinkle baking soda. do it dry. let sit for an hour and vacuum it. You will have to clean it later. it also neutralises acids. SO it's good.

if you have silica packs, just place it on top of your seats to remove moisture.

Yes, fabric cleaner are usually mild, formulated not to discolor fabrics. you can use it on plastic/vinyl too.

QUOTE(therain01 @ May 8 2016, 11:15 PM)
Not sure if you got your answer yet.

I have been using PG sealant for many years. The product works amazingly as a very light polisher where it removes tough stain and fine scratches. It is not really a sealant.  I would say it is a cleaner wax.

It last longer than wax where you only need to apply it once every 3 months for optimum result and no claying will be needed.  If you find paste wax is easy to buff off,  PG sealant is just as easy as paste wax. Quick detailer is easiest to buff off though follow by liquid wax.

The end result is of course not as good as quick detailer or wax where it gives very good reflection. It is very dependent on the quality and appearance of your paint indeed.
Pg quick detailer can be used like bsd too. just saying i've experimented with it and it actually last up to 2 weeks.
It streaks a lot, so best method is to dry car, use a damp microfiber towel to spread and another to buff. Like how you would apply carpro reload.
Currently still using it on my family car and it's good. gives very good shine. it's super economical too.

douglas_tong
post May 9 2016, 05:51 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ May 9 2016, 05:32 PM)
Been a few days already, but the smell still lingers. It got annoying as we are feeling nauseous and annoyed with the smell.

Will try to use baking soda, but to confirm, baking soda would not affect the upholstery, right? Plan to let it sit for a few hours if it is okay.
Wonder if charcoal would help?
an hour would be more than enough. But make sure your seat is dry prior to sprinkling the baking soda. just to make sure it isn't absorbed to your seats.
vacuum thoroughly after.
Personally, I would go with another round of cleaning with fabric cleaner.
If this doesn't work, go to a shop that cleans with extractor.

charcoal would be more of absorbing moisture rather than "cleaning", but for the time, yes, it would help with minimising the smell.
douglas_tong
post May 16 2016, 01:09 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ May 16 2016, 12:37 PM)
Osren is good ka?
Not bad. I haven't actually use any of their polishes, but solutions such as degreaser, car shampoo, fabric cleaners are actually affordable compared to many brands and it works.

I am a fan of their aio paint cleaner 51, and have many of their detailing tools. What I like best is their dedication in servicing their customers.
douglas_tong
post May 16 2016, 02:22 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ May 16 2016, 02:08 PM)
My car is coated and I park my car inside my house whereby the root could not cover the whole car, leaving part of the front to raining especially the raining drops from balcony. Part of the bonnet has dust/water mark which could not be cleaned by wash.

Any recommendation?
I am experiencing the same problem as yours, my porch only covers half of my car.

and i have a black car, so watermarks are quite apparent on my car. You would want to try the mildest solution to start with, from claying -> acid based water removal -> polishing -> compounding
But I do weekly washes, and sometimes weekly waxing depending on my available free time.

For your case, try orsen's paint restorer, it is a paint cleanser that contains solvents that cleans and abrasives that somewhat cuts a little, might be able to remove those embedded dust and watermarks.
Else, polishing will always do the job. For more serious watermarks, ie: type 3 watermarks, you would need some compounding.

Liquid waxes that contain petroleum-based ingredients contains solvent that can actually "clean" a little on paint. Which is why i top up my wax very often. My gf's car is white, i find it very often that i have to re-wax on her front hood because of embedded dirt.

edit: just read that your car is coated, missed out on that. you can opt for coating-reactivator or straight to watermarks removal for that. don't recommend polishing it unless you know what you are doing. but you can still use any paint cleaners like orsen's paint restorer on it.

This post has been edited by douglas_tong: May 16 2016, 02:25 PM
douglas_tong
post May 16 2016, 04:34 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ May 16 2016, 02:53 PM)
Ya, it is coated and the vendor told me don't use any products on top on it other than wash will do. Should there be any issue, bring back to them and they will settle for me for free.

The issue is, they are too far for me. If I can do it myself for just 10-15 mins for it, I prefer to do myself.

coating-reactivator or straight to watermarks removal are free/safe for coated surface?
what is your car coated with?
I wouldn't be too worried la if i were you, as long as no polishing or compounding steps are taken.
Most coatings are able to withstand generic chemicals. waterspots removal like meguiars is quite safe. for coating reactivator, usually best to stick to reactivator that contains sio2/silica based products as most coatings are based on those.
douglas_tong
post May 18 2016, 12:30 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ May 16 2016, 05:57 PM)
FOC Crystal Coating is a new generation Nano technology coating that protects and enhances the appearance of automotive paint in one step.

There are many copies of products also called "glass coating" in the market.

However, they are creamy looking and never actually turn to glass or never harden, even after they have been left for a few weeks.

We import our coating liquid from Japan, which is packed in small bottles, it is an inorganic glass liquid and has a crystal clear colour, solidifies on contact with air to enclose your car in hard glass.

Superior protection against UV rays, pollution, chemicals, bird droppings, paint fading, dirt, dust and etc.

From Restoration to Prevention

So feel free to drop-by our outlet and make yourself fully understand our products and we are welcome you to let us know what you think.
checked their facebook, did not disclose the coating that they are using.
But again, almost all are silica based. so pretty safe to use waterspot removal
douglas_tong
post May 25 2016, 04:42 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

If it's chrome, better use metal finishing polish. Chrome may be too easily scarred.

QUOTE(LightningZERO @ May 25 2016, 01:16 PM)
I think I got some stains resulting from aircond water dropping from building. I just went to the automatic car wash and the stain still there. What can I do to remove it? Wax polish? Any suggestion?
try clay first.
if not, waterspot removal
Polishing would be last resort because to me it's removing a micron of clear coat
douglas_tong
post Jun 5 2016, 01:01 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(takemethere @ Jun 4 2016, 03:31 PM)
hi everyone, i recently got some bird poop which ate into my car's white paint... waxing and polishing didn't work... any suggestions on how to remove it?
Picture to see the extend of etching?
What polisher did you use?
douglas_tong
post Jun 13 2016, 11:46 AM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

6 hours is considerably fast....it took me two full days to settle my brother in law's car, on an intermediate detailing.
I usually like taking my time, so i can sometimes go all crazy and spend my entire weekend just detailing a car.

Paste wax is meant for hand application. Liquid wax is designed to use on machine.

My first time i did some horrible mistake by not cleaning my pad often..end up some spots having pig's tail marks.
Learn that mistake and quickly diy a pad cleaner using 2 grit guards and a specific bucket. cleaning pad often sure makes a lot of difference in cutting and polishing.

Hope you enjoy detailing with your navara!

douglas_tong
post Jun 13 2016, 02:21 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(qboy123 @ Jun 13 2016, 12:09 PM)
2 days.. wow.. my car isn't that dirty and only 4 yrs old car. All the time maintain good only that once happened I parked at my office, workshop area ppl were spraying paint and landed on my car bonnet. The clay didn't turn out to be very dirty.

I have consulted Meguiar technician b4 I started the detailing job. The technician said I could use machine + paste wax  and he did demo using his pad. Meguiar has some small pads to fit in the past wax tin but I didn't realize until I used mine. According to Meguiar technician, liquid wax n paste wax are the same. Depends on user. He only highlighted liquid wax + machine will consume more than paste, therefore the liquid wax giving extra oz for compensation. Basically same results. Well, I can't argue that cos this is my first time. Will try liquid wax once my paste finish.  rolleyes.gif

I watched in utube, a guy using a nylon brush to remove the residuals before cleaning the pads. I do the same. After finished, I use normal washing soap to wash n rinse it. So far can restore look like new. No bad spots on the surface. rclxms.gif
Meguiars' gold class carnauba wax attracts dirty easily....thats why i still have a bottle unfinished.
basically, paste and liquid is more or less the same, just the amount of solvent in it that keeps the wax in liquid form. Real natural waxs are actually hard.

Between paste and liquid i prefer liquid, it contains more petroleum solvents that help clean the pores..not that it should matter because the paint is suppose to be clean, but between cleaner wax in paste and liquid form, the liquid one thrives in theory.

you wouldn't be able to finish your paste wax. most detailers i know have too much waxes, and rarely finishes one. HAHAHAHAHA

This post has been edited by douglas_tong: Jun 13 2016, 02:22 PM
douglas_tong
post Jun 13 2016, 04:41 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(derail @ Jun 13 2016, 04:06 PM)
No, paste waxes can be used for machines, it just inconvenient because the pad might have to be removed or could be too large to fit the can. Liquid waxes/polishes can be used for hand application.
that's true. seen someone using butter knife to scoop from the can to apply on pads. as a general guide, most will opt liquid for machine application.

douglas_tong
post Jun 14 2016, 12:06 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jun 14 2016, 01:22 AM)
fair enough smile.gif

so would you still recommend coating?
the thing i worried about is just scratch and maybe the residue after raining
Cost effective method : wash after rain
Less cost effective method : coating
Cost ineffective method : clear bra
douglas_tong
post Jun 20 2016, 04:33 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(derail @ Jun 20 2016, 11:32 AM)
Has anyone tried Gyeon cure (available through Waregem)? Its supposed to be similar to Carpro Reload which isn't available for retail here.
The specs for Gyeon cure's durability(6wks) are about the same as Reload 2013, and Reload had improved versions in 2014, 2015 (12wks).

I found out that with BSD, the flat surfaces collect dirt even if I wash regularly. Water beading isn't the same as protection in BSD's case. BSD was meant as a topper for Sonax coating where it probably works much better and doesn't work for me as a standalone.
Heard from him that both are of the same manufacturer. I'm using carpro and absolutely loving it. Especially with car pro essence topped with reload, maximum shine. Both cure and reload also contains sio2.

I am not sure about gyeon cure, but carpro reload too collects dirts, compared to synthetic wax, definitely less and have since stopped using wax.
durability wise....12 weeks hard to achieve...imo.
2 months yes. 3 months...maybe? I would have "reload my reload" on the 6th weeks.

if you are keen, look up fireballmalaysia.com
they having promotion till end up this month and their ultimate coating wax is similar to cure and reload. price wise also cheaper than reload and cure.
Although it mentions wax, it is actually a topper and a standalone sealant like how cure and reload is. actually in short, same la. also same manufacturer...lol

Definitely must have for cure/reload/ultimate wax coating. Save time and really shines. plus durability is way longer than synthetic wax given our weather

douglas_tong
post Jun 20 2016, 06:28 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(vindroid @ Jun 20 2016, 06:21 PM)
Fireball malaysia got shop address?
afaik, nope. It's a start up and still actively looking for distributors.
Bought their drying towel...fantastic. similar to gyeon's drying towel as well...twisted microfiber towels, one pass dry like sahara.

But he is based in Johor. that's what i got from him since i last spoke to him
douglas_tong
post Jun 21 2016, 11:55 AM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(derail @ Jun 20 2016, 09:47 PM)
I did some searching and found that the Gyeon spray on sealant is similar to reload and is generally well reviewed. Another similar locally available product is Tacystem quartz max (also Korean) https://kalexcardetailing.blogspot.my/
Fireball looks like the newest brand coming out. I wish the TS would compile these names/links to make it easier for people to search/buy products.

From what I read, Carpro has had problem with Korean companies who oem for them ripping off their products and Gyeon is one of them.
It's common...contract manufacturer will always take advantage of that. They wouldn't want to solely depend on one customer. unless you have huge volume of orders that allows you to sign exclusivity, they always rip you off.
Or just buy enough stake of that company and get their own ass protected. They have RnD to adhere to and to fund.

It's good for us as customer though. But carpro only waxson malaysia carries it and they are selling it at rates my wallet would have to puasa with fellow malaysians.

Malaysia banyak kereta, but not many washes their own car, so naturally everything is pricey when it comes to buying detailing products.

douglas_tong
post Jun 23 2016, 01:42 AM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(derail @ Jun 22 2016, 01:04 PM)
I surprised you got anything out of Wankson, he gave me the runaround 2 years ago with no stock excuse, have to wait, not for retail etc.

I doubt Korean companies did any of the RnD, they were just the oem iirc.
Not saying I'm right, but usually that's how the manufacturing industries are. Especially big ones. For value added purposes. Suggesting someone to incorporate this formula, concoction or recipe. Or at a minimum, a technical know-how/what guy.

Also for purpose of risk mitigation. Manufacturer will be liable for distributing less than quality product or banned ingredients to other countries.

I end up getting it from Waregem. Had to wait La no choice...plus so expensive...

BTW meguairs having mega sales now. Some products are discounted heavily like paint protect 365 on lazada. Only RM 69.90 and can get further discount with maybank cards. Eligible for voucher discount or shop back some more. Wahhhh

This post has been edited by douglas_tong: Jun 23 2016, 01:43 AM
douglas_tong
post Jun 23 2016, 01:49 AM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

Cheap le...but I don't have a need for this. So I share with you guys lor
douglas_tong
post Jun 23 2016, 09:49 AM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(linkin182 @ Jun 23 2016, 09:02 AM)
Wow, still can apply voucher code?
Want to top up my MEGs supply but cannot seem to be able to apply any codes?
Wait till buka puasa tonight. Then use the same code of buka30. Alternatively search in lalalaxx.com

Compare the prices with meguiarsdirect.com.my first, ongoing 20% discount. I only find this paint protect worth buying from lazada at the moment, rest is still expensive

This post has been edited by douglas_tong: Jun 23 2016, 09:50 AM
douglas_tong
post Jun 23 2016, 11:45 AM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(linkin182 @ Jun 23 2016, 10:39 AM)
Yeah I did, wanna buy Wash & Wax and planning to top up my UQW.
But Megs Direct out of stock  blink.gif

Both out of stock  bye.gif  bye.gif  bye.gif
http://www.autogeek.com.my/meguiars-g17748...ct-1527808.html

ultimate quick wax also got!

This post has been edited by douglas_tong: Jun 23 2016, 11:57 AM

26 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.5185sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:02 PM