26 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

douglas_tong
post May 19 2017, 02:12 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(kalvinkhoo @ May 19 2017, 01:43 PM)
I use CG smile.gif I use ButterWetWax, i like it a lor. Make the car gloss more. smile.gif
Anyway, where do you guys buy Sonax product from? Can't really find in the market much in malls.
Usj 1?
There are bundles up for promotion by sonax now. Seems very worth it
douglas_tong
post May 19 2017, 04:42 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

douglas_tong
post May 22 2017, 11:32 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

Just wondering how often do you guys clean Tara off your car?

I haven't been doing it for close to a year. Lol

Are protected car better off with tar bonding to the paint?
douglas_tong
post May 23 2017, 01:59 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(N33d @ May 23 2017, 12:49 PM)
damn that thing smell like sh!t or puke or anything bad
so far did not notice obvious tar sticking on my car
I clay my car like twice a year, might be that removed all those tar
I definitely clay more than twice a year. Ask cause I was inspecting my car last night and notice it was still ok (except for waterspot). Then I realised I haven't been cleaning tar off for quite some time.

Maybe protected sealed cars are less prone to it? Could be perhaps mine is a black car and tougher to see?

douglas_tong
post May 23 2017, 02:01 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

Look what I found

Masking tape for car detailing at only rm2.5?
douglas_tong
post May 24 2017, 10:56 AM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(N33d @ May 24 2017, 10:24 AM)
i am using their osren degreaser and compare to OPC
i like OPC more, the osren degreaser smell like they put too much fragrance. OPC smells like chem but more subtle. when both used undiluted., OPC clean sealant off better(how clean my brush after used to clean my pad and go thru both). Currently, they have more versatile cleaner called 'multi cleaner'. Too bad i still have 3/4 of the degreaser left
Always had an impression that degreaser Is meant to degrease oily substance and shouldn't have much cleaning abilities in it (detergent/dirt encapsulation properties)

I usually use it to clean wheel and tyres and occasionally the engine bay.

For everything else I use household APC which gives extra kick in cleaning...

I've seen some other detailers use degreaser to clean seats and leather seats as well...

I'm confused
douglas_tong
post May 24 2017, 09:36 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ May 24 2017, 07:11 PM)
i've been thru the journey. Still have 'alot' product' and STILL kinda of passion in detailing but due to family time commitment, durability - EASY of use become very important....
that's why i rely on my spray sealant and nothing else.

back then use to try different liquid wax la, this la that la.
now, spray wipe and call it a day.

it's good since it can last up to 2 months with proper prep. else usually every 3rd week just give it another spray.
wanna apply liquid wax now also lazy
douglas_tong
post May 26 2017, 08:51 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(hebehow @ May 26 2017, 07:40 PM)
btw...how u handle ur interior detail like dashboard, leather seat..? alway talk bout exterior only...haha...
Light cleaning = onr + mf tower
Thorough clean = orsen fabric cleaner + detailing brush + mf tower

Sealed with interior lotion

Only do thorough cleaning every 6-7months
douglas_tong
post May 31 2017, 02:20 AM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ May 30 2017, 10:34 PM)
since u all talking about claybar , i do actually see Clay Block or Clay cloth on net , from youtube they claim that clay cloth and block is more save time compared to claybar , even there is a clay pad for DA , any sifu here try using them before besides claybar?
clay cloth cleans fast.

clay bar cleans better.

was only highlighted to me after blurcase demonstrate to me.

so now my practice is such:

to polish , use claybar.
to re-wax for better bonding and lasting application, use clay cloth.

This post has been edited by douglas_tong: May 31 2017, 02:20 AM
douglas_tong
post Jun 1 2017, 01:03 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

Larry from NYC ammo have been stressing the need to minimise claying practice.

In his reflex video, he mentioned that if there isn't a need to clay, don't clay and straight to application.

There are several more videos of him urging that claying isn't needed as popular as it has become

In his latest video of 12 steps of preparing a new car, again he stress on the need to hold back the urge to clay. And he mentioned that claying an entire car takes 10-12mins.

But I find myself claying every 2 months + ...
And it takes longer than 15mins....
douglas_tong
post Jun 1 2017, 02:22 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Jun 1 2017, 01:59 PM)
I watched his video also. I kinda think the message is subject to individual interpretation. He mentioned his car has not been clayed in years, but for us who use our cars as daily drivers and with our tropical climate conditions, it can be quite different.

Personally I have had situations where I may not clay my car but go straight to paste wax. This is quite possible if I apply my paste wax more regularly (like once every 2-3 months). I believe wax helps the car in the sense that less contaminants have the chance to stick onto the paint and unable to remove via wash and requiring to clay to remove.

For situations where the car is very well taken care off (means regular wash and protection maintenance and also minimal driving in rain and parked indoors), it is possible to quickly clay the car around 10 minutes or so. But again, given many of us are probably regular working folks that require our car to go out and park where required and convenient, the reality is more likely that our cars will pickup more contaminants which longer claying time to remove everything.

After detailing my own and family cars for over 15 years, I now "close 1 eye" abit more when it comes to regular detailing. My own car only gets clayed 1-2 times a year, other cars may get at most 1 time a year. Dont do the plastic bag test and close 1 eye, can pass lor. But when the semangat strikes, then extreme mode comes in and claying alone takes 2-3 hours, compound/polishing takes 2-4 days, hehehe...
I've tried that before with liquid wax, without claying. End up the yellow pad got black from the dirts....safe Kah? Scare the stain will scratch the car

douglas_tong
post Jun 1 2017, 06:40 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Jun 1 2017, 03:59 PM)
u using the yellow pad is the small pad , or the 5inch pad?
Small...
Only use the machine if I'm claying. Cause the liquid wax I have is meguiars gold carnauba wax and it contains a little abrasive in it.

douglas_tong
post Jun 2 2017, 10:43 AM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(gfwong @ Jun 2 2017, 08:38 AM)
rclxms.gif Well said. After a while, most of us tends to close one eye d.

I think the message Larry is trying to deliver is clay+compound+polish if necessary. If the new car condition is okay, straight away coat it. I think in some of his older vids (or maybe some other guy), it is stressed that clay will mar the paint as it contains abrasives. So I guess, if you are planning to compound and polish the car, claying is advisable. But if you are just planning to wax/ coat the car without compounding and polishing, then try not to clay.

For me, if I need to clay, I will polish after claying. If I don't need to polish, I won't clay. That's just me tongue.gif. That is why I prefer to apply sealant/wax by hand. Also claying normally only takes 10-15 minutes for me.
Claying with a clay bar under 15 mins...
What you guys do it? With clay cloth it is faster...but knowing larry, he prefers clay bar.
Claying kerbau ?

douglas_tong
post Jun 4 2017, 10:39 AM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Jun 3 2017, 10:12 PM)
Haha, i think that the question for newbie like us for the first time using DA 

I even PM gfwong / blurcase / slk for this problem , DA tend to easily STALL !!!  And as i have same machine as sifu gfwong, so asking is that i got faulty DA from clover

After this i understand that DA mostly wont spin if the panel is curve even how i tilt and adjust the angle and it will only stall , so now i understand using 1 machine actually cant be done for whole car especiall modern car with alot of special curve

https://youtu.be/aJPZmUlAdAw

I recently love to see white detail jim video, now i understand and found that the Large throw DA is for when u using for large flat area , while if u are picky for the edge area , the Mini DA which have 3 inch pad come in very handly,  especially Pillar , lower bumper and tight area (rear panel near the car plate)  do check out how White detail Jim do paint correct, he mostly use small machine doing edge, then only move to large DA for middle correction,  he make me feel wanna get the Mini DA in future because the 3inch pad really really come in handly , from he video i mostly see he use the mini DA more than the large DA

Another option can come handly is the Rotary machine with extension (save cost , else u need buy rupes idris which cost a bomb) , the extension can fit from 1inch to 7inch pad, there is a small rotary machine from shinemate too that slk recommend to me with weight 2kg+ only , can fit 1-3 inch pad with extention, but i stil not so pro in polishing, wait i familiar and pratice more with 15mm DA, then i will only figure out what i need and what i want
Just stick with one da, one rotary.
The rotary can switch between 6,5,3,1 inch. For 1 inch, get the extension , safer.

Buy so many machine better I structure an investment with capital appreciation for you
douglas_tong
post Jun 5 2017, 11:30 AM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

Makita po5000c

The only polisher you need. If they bring it to Malaysia la.

Dual action or rotary with a flick of a switch.
I hope they bring this.

No need rupes liao
douglas_tong
post Jun 5 2017, 01:31 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Jun 5 2017, 12:27 PM)
Erm, I dont think its dual action that way. From Autogeek and Makita official website description, its actually “random orbit with forced rotation” (aka forced-rotation DA like Flex XC3401) or “random orbit with free rotation” (typical DA like Porter Cable or Rupes). So, technically there is no rotary function.

5.5mm throw isnt alot of cutting power though, as Flex XC3401 and Porter Cable 7424xp have 8mm throw and Rupes has 12mm-21mm depending on machine. Just my 2 sen.
I see. Always thought that it's a 2in1 that way.

But doesn't forced rotation gives more cutting power? Larger throw means better covfefe, but does larger throw gives more cutting power?
douglas_tong
post Jun 10 2017, 12:25 AM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(~C.W.S~ @ Jun 9 2017, 05:43 PM)
Any alternative for Meguiar's Hot Rims All Wheel & Tire Cleaner? Nice product but a bit costly to use with regular wash...
regular shampoo would actually do the job as well.

for better cleaning, osren degreaser.
for something in between, osren fabric cleaner.

douglas_tong
post Jun 10 2017, 06:08 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Jun 10 2017, 05:34 PM)
me too after i finish the osren degrease , i will just put shampoo mix with sprayer foam gun , i feel degrease work almost same haha , maybe i never meet very dirty rim as i wash my car every week
but what impress me is Carpro IronX (sold by Cquartz malaysia) , no need scrub the rim , all dirt will get over?
Ironx is for metal particles.
Don't think it is much for cleaning.
Safe for car body too.

Smells horrible.
Antirain has a similar product and sells for rm25 only
douglas_tong
post Jun 10 2017, 07:40 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(BumberBee @ Jun 9 2017, 06:20 PM)
any of you guys using dirt trap when using bucket to wash car? where can I buy this item from?
I just bought grit guards from aliexpress.
Budget constraints so got the China one instead.

It's much cheaper than the original grit guard.
And the price is with the washboard. Something I'm used to already.

Plus the seller is quite a reputable seller as well.
You may consider this

douglas_tong
post Jun 11 2017, 12:03 AM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Jun 10 2017, 10:49 PM)
Erm, fabric cleaner for rims? U sure? Starting to sound like Meguiars APC and Super Degreaser, cuz APC is recommended for interior cleaning and Super Degreaser for exterior. Hehe...
Erm, as far as I know D handles for polisher machines are designed specifically for the machine. Maybe u wanna ask the seller if they sell it?
Can use, long time dy.
Hahaha yes, boleh. Cause pH balanced and quite mild compared to degreaser.

I've seen people using degreaser for leather also. Think the guy name is Milan. Rich kid with his own garage.

26 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.7058sec    1.02    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:32 AM