QUOTE(johnchew91 @ Aug 6 2017, 02:41 PM)
Wax/sealants might cause wiper judderingCar Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance
Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance
Aug 6 2017, 03:34 PM
135 posts Joined: Feb 2011 From: Penang |
Aug 6 2017, 09:22 PM
QUOTE(blurcase @ Aug 6 2017, 06:04 PM) Based on my former detailing shop experience, I come to conclusion that everyone's practice, preference and expectation can be different when it comes to car care. I have met ppl that come to my shop expecting a fast and cheap wash, complaining that wash price expensive even though they drive expensive car. I also met ppl that drive cheap cars that voice appreciation when I use different towels to wipe different areas, and even open up engine area just to give a simple wipedown. I have seen ppl who send their cars to cheap polish only to come to my shop to ask to rectify swirls a month later. I have also met ppl who prefer to send their cars to body spray shops just for polishing because they respray there before and got great polish out of it too. Couldn't agree more. Once accustomed, we share what we all do personally. Isn't what this forum is about? Sharing?I have experienced enough to know that best practice comes with knowledge and also convenience. Till today, I am still guilty at personal level of just doing a single bucket wash rather than 2 buckets because I find very minimal difference between both of them despite what is rationalized in best practices and I want to save abit of time and effort. Would I advocate my method over best practice? No I wont, I'd rather advocate best practice for newbies, then once they are accustomed to best practice, they start fine-tuning their own practice as they see fit. Better that than ppl accusing me of teaching wrong method end up causing their car scratches. So I would say, each to his/her own methods. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion and creation of own methods. Some works, some dont, some debatable. Let us keep the thread alive and active with constructive discussion on this passion we love, cuz that's what brought us here to begin with. Happy detailing everybody. P/s: I still wash my hair using shampoo though. Pun intended |
Aug 6 2017, 09:25 PM
QUOTE(ultra.m.a.n @ Aug 6 2017, 08:03 PM) Just got a new car (white color) and did the coating on the car... My shampoos comparison: http://carporchdetailer.blogspot.my/2016/0...sh-shampoo.htmlAnd now plan to get the car washing shampoo, choosing between Meguiar's NXT Car Wash and Meguiar's Gold class Car Wash.. which one is better one to go for which will provide cleanliness, glossy look and no harm to my car coating? |
Aug 7 2017, 09:11 AM
Aug 7 2017, 03:45 PM
Aug 21 2017, 07:53 AM
QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Aug 18 2017, 06:32 PM) Wax, after this spray wax every time after wash, even after 1 year stil will be show room condition hehe Well, except for stone-chips. With the lack of enforcements, many lorries on the road are very dirty and are potential hazards. Stones, sands, rocks are common enemies to our cars. Poor roads conditions do not help either. Loose gravels are almost on every road. So no matter how much we care, how much we polish, we could not avoid stone chips. Not even coating. Some said clear bra might help but I don't find it very popular here. Here is more of a coating hype craze. Almost every tom. dick, harry (no offense) is offering coating here... |
Aug 24 2017, 11:13 AM
QUOTE(blurcase @ Aug 24 2017, 01:18 AM) I have Carpro Reload, but havent started using. It was recommended by douglas_tong. I did some research and comparison and found that Carpro Hydro2 have some issues. Numerous ppl reported that the rinse-spray-rinse sometimes creates streaks on the surface, and its abit difficult to remove. Reload is safer cuz can spray on cloth and buff surface then buff off. I think Carpro Hydro can be spray on wipe off too. Maybe after dilution. Carpro Malaysia sells the Lite version (diluted) that they claim can be used as spray on wipe off. Usually carnauba wax is the last layer as it is the glossiest but also weakest wax in the market. Curious how Hydro performs vs Reload. I've used Reload many years ago and was quite impressed. It's really slick and almost feels oily but not sticky. Sadly, now that the price has increase so much, it is become a bit difficult for me to fork out that high for a 500ml spray sealant This post has been edited by gfwong: Aug 24 2017, 11:16 AM |
Aug 24 2017, 09:33 PM
QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Aug 24 2017, 03:40 PM) reload and hydro/hydro2 have undergone several batches with tweaked formulas. 6 weeks for Reload sounds really tempting.... But I still have 2 gallons of Meg Xpress and half a gallon of Autoglym pro express wax to finish off.... So maybe I'll wait. When I'm lazy I used Autoglym because it can be used on wet surface, after rinsing, as a drying aid. When I'm a bit diligent 2014 streak 99 2015 improved with more silica heard 2016/2017 has less silica but longer lasting. at least i read in autogeek. My way of application is to apply after washing. meaning while the car is still wet. it also doubles as drying aid. i find it to streak less. but i shake it before spraying every panel. I believe mine is a 2015. And it really takes long time to finish it. (i bought 1 litre 2016 during cny) still got 350ml to go. I've used the 2014 version as well..i prefer the 2015. longevity wise. our weather can easily last 6 weeks with me trying out 8 weeks on a less bizarre weather unlike what we are experiencing today. pretty good for spray wax There's another product that I'd like to try for a long time, Ultima Paint Guard Plus. It's a wipe on walk away stuff. I've been seeing a lot of good comments about it. But can only get through Amazon and Lazada/11Street but the price is sky high. Rm200-300 for 12 oz or 350ml. If any one used it before, please share your experience. |
Aug 25 2017, 10:40 AM
Aug 25 2017, 02:12 PM
Aug 28 2017, 10:01 AM
Just sharing... Detailing the Details
Most of you all might have your methods. This post has been edited by gfwong: Aug 28 2017, 10:01 AM |
Aug 29 2017, 01:58 PM
QUOTE(Remnant_T @ Aug 28 2017, 03:25 PM) Hi sifus, I did some write-up about interior care some time ago. If you are interested you can find it here.I am planning to buy some interior protectant for my car ( dashboard, leather seat, windows and door panel ) My car will be parked under hot condition daily. Which product and brand would you recommend ya? Besides, does these interior protectant attract more dust and difficult to be clean after applying it? Thanks in advance Just stay away from those cap-palang plastic shines. They would fog-up and create an oily stain on your interior glass. QUOTE(blurcase @ Aug 29 2017, 01:41 PM) CLR is acid based, just like Bar Keeper's Friend. I researched this product before when I wanted to clean my bathroom shower glass door and wall. Works decently, but I am not sure I would use it for cars. Just my 2 sen. How about Larry's method of scraping the glass with a sharp tool?Yes, acid based. These products would be featured more if u google search for cleaning hard water spots from shower doors. Actually if not mistaken it takes a specific acid to breakdown water deposits, also known as water marks/spots. Home based remedies do recommend stuff like vinegar to try. However, personally I find acid not safe to use for car glass, especially windshields with wipers. |
Aug 30 2017, 08:32 AM
QUOTE(blurcase @ Aug 29 2017, 03:02 PM) I saw that method before, I think it is similar to the idea of using superfine #0000 steel wool, just that in this case there is a directional scraping from a blade instead of random scraping of steel wool. Both methods also never tried before (the only razor blade I have is my Gillette Mach 3 blade, and never found #0000 steel wool here before, only best is #000 steel wool found in ACE Hardware). Personally, I prefer not to try these methods as they both carry risk of permanently scratching the glass, and AFAIK glass is very difficult to impossible to polish off scratches. Even using Bar Keeper's Friend I actually created micro-marring in my shower glass wall and door. Nope. Too scared to try Having said that, I would not dispute Larry's recommendation. However, now I am home detailer so if any issue I have to pay for myself to repair the damage, for Larry he is a professional and probably has insurance coverage. Just my 2 sen. gfwong u tried before the razor scraping method? |
Aug 30 2017, 08:35 AM
QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Aug 30 2017, 12:20 AM) Seen like ur windshield condition is really bad AG not really that great but does the job decently. I've tried to Soft99 glass refresh and I am quite impressed. It's able to remove most watermarks by hand. As what @blurcase mentioned, glass polish with cerium oxide might be better. How about trying Ceriglass from CarPro?Previously im using soft99 glass cleaner to polish, it work for me as my car is new car , not sure those heavy water mark and stain will work or not, maybe u can try autoglym as gfwong mention that it work better than any other product in market This post has been edited by gfwong: Aug 30 2017, 08:35 AM |
Sep 4 2017, 08:51 AM
QUOTE(lkoky @ Sep 2 2017, 10:55 AM) anyone tried Meguiar's Ultimate Fast Finish yet? also, after watching video from this guy, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P_SEPVn_uOk It seem like those wax friendly car shampoo is really a bad idea. QUOTE(blurcase @ Sep 2 2017, 03:04 PM) Yup, personally the more I watch the videos from Dallas Auto Paint Correction, the more I take a pinch of salt to what he says. I understand he has alot of professional experience with detailing, so I wont dispute his experience and expertise, but I dont like the idea that ppl try to trash talk or disprove of everything the detailing industry norm has on almost every recent video. It makes me feel more like they are doing it just to get more ppl viewing their videos and make money from Youtube rather than being honest about things. I believe everything in detailing has its pros and cons, and to only tell one side of the story most of the time isnt a balanced view. Haven't watch the video but kepo a bit since I got an idea about it after reading most of the sifu-sifu replies.I have not tried Meguiar's Ultimate Fast Finish, but from reviews and how it works, it looks like a liquid wax put in aerosol can. From my personal experience with aerosol cans, there can be disadvantages such as the compressed air finish before the product finish. In this case the remaining product becomes wasted. Another disadvantage is nozzle clogging, but this only commonly occurs in spray paint, hopefully it doesnt happen to this product. I also will stick to my current regime. I am currently using Meguiars NXT Ultimate Wash, and I find it effective in cleaning the car even though it is pH neutral. My ratio of concentrate to water is higher than recommended in the label description, as it gives me more effective cleaning of visible contaminants. For non-visible and below surface contaminants, I continue to use clay, tar remover, and polish when necessary. For protection I wax or coat, but now trying out spray sealants as well. Just my 2 sen. AFAIK, removing oil has nothing to do with pH. The emulsification properties of a cleaner are much important. pH is more like a side effect. How soap works This post has been edited by gfwong: Sep 4 2017, 08:51 AM |
Sep 4 2017, 11:25 AM
QUOTE(jyane @ Sep 4 2017, 10:42 AM) can someone help me? i did some AIO yesterday. i found out after i apply it and clean it. there a lot of swirl mark. i think is due to the AIO? because before i apply it, there no swirl mark on it. after apply it. my spoiler is full of swirl mark and it look like no protection on the spoiler. it wont shine. can someone help me? how to un-do this? It is unlikely that AIO would cause swirl marks.I wash my car. after that apply the AIO on my spoiler. Lucky i didnt apply the whole day. but im not very sure is it due to the AIO as i found out after i apply it. The brand i used is orsen paint restore51. How to restore back to my shining car? i dont have picture as cant take a clearly picture with the swirl mark.. please help me.. What applicator did you use? Did you clay the car first? Contaminants stuck on the paint might be one of the causes. |
Sep 4 2017, 02:13 PM
QUOTE(jyane @ Sep 4 2017, 11:26 AM) Hard to say but could be a suspect.Not sure how bad the damage is. If it is superficial, just compound and polish it. QUOTE(blurcase @ Sep 4 2017, 12:50 PM) Mmm, I am not a chemistry expert (form 5 Chemistry also barely pass, that also knowledge all give back teacher liao), so wouldnt be able to say for sure the justification of pH towards cleaning purposes. As not all dirt, grime and contaminants are created equal, so perhaps pH can play a role in breaking contaminants down for easy clean off before the emulsifier lifts the oil layer. This is what I see from toilet floor cleaners, as hardware shops sells acids for cleaning dirty floors and tell u to just pour on the floor, watch all the stubborn dirt bubble up, then wash away with plenty water to neutralize the acid. I think the acid is used to "eat" or corrode away the dirt and some surface layer.This is just my 2 sen layman theory. |
Sep 5 2017, 08:12 AM
QUOTE(jyane @ Sep 4 2017, 10:48 PM) Ok i try to get a clay and re-do. but how to make it shine again? the paint look like without any glossy look. no crack or anything. just look like plain white without any glossy look. Try posting a picture.What year is your Myvi. I once had an 2006 Myvi. The clear coat out from factory was uneven on the rear bumper. The right butt is shinny but the left butt is not. When I tried to polish it, the paint koyak from the bumper |
Sep 5 2017, 03:01 PM
QUOTE(jfcheong @ Sep 5 2017, 10:13 AM) Hi fellows, am looking for car shampoo, seeking for u guys advice. I did some comparison a some time ago. See here.All the while using Meguairs product, now thinking to try on Autoglym. Hows u guys' comment on the comparison of these 2? Hope it helps. |
Sep 7 2017, 07:57 AM
QUOTE(jyane @ Sep 6 2017, 03:43 PM) As mentioned by others, i think the clear coat is still there. As for the cause, it's really hard to tell. Below is what I suspect but might not be right. The scratches could be due to improper washing or not claying before polishing. Did you always send your car outside to wash? Or the scratches could have been there for quite some time already. Just that the wax/sealant that you have been using have fillers that minimizes the appearance of the scratches. I think it is still rectifiable. Compound and polish with something like Meg Ult. compound or polish. Use a proper polishing pad. Start by polishing. If the scratches are still there go for compounding. Good luck. |
| Change to: | 0.0319sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:48 AM |