May i know what is this all about ? What is Amateur radio user ? i read till this page still cant get the big picture. i only know need liecene and got A and B type. thx
Amateur Radio User, Ham
Jan 6 2007, 03:16 AM
750 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: Interior Design World ! |
May i know what is this all about ? What is Amateur radio user ? i read till this page still cant get the big picture. i only know need liecene and got A and B type. thx
Jan 8 2007, 10:05 PM
4,587 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Golden Meadow |
Jan 8 2007, 10:51 PM
2,475 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: kopitiam |
heard before, dual bander HAM thing. when i was at simlim singapore i suppose. price ranging rm1.5k > . wut can we really do with it? is it like the fbi toy that can hear a target's conversation from inside a van?
Jan 9 2007, 04:03 AM
1,201 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(dgrebel @ Jan 8 2007, 10:51 PM) heard before, dual bander HAM thing. when i was at simlim singapore i suppose. price ranging rm1.5k > . wut can we really do with it? is it like the fbi toy that can hear a target's conversation from inside a van? Your FBI toy is not part of ham radio thingy. Those are different kind of radio which operate on different spectrum.Dual bander means you can monitor switch to few bands with the same set. Usually common dual bander are 70cm (400Mhz) and 2meter (144 Mhz). I got my license way back in 1999 the last Jabatan Telekomunikasi Malaysia still running the RAE (Radio Amateur Examination) when MCMC not even exist yet. Some dual bander capable of doing cross linking whereby you can setup repeater and etc. If any of you really wanna take exam feel free to PM me and I will give you some guidance on how to obtain the exam including club membership as well whereby they will run some RAE classes to prepare yourself for the examination. 9W2JW << that's my callsign. |
Jan 12 2007, 07:22 AM
yayaya, u the fella la i talked to last time ... damn so long time edy snce we last talked bout it ...
and i have delayed till now only started ... hahaha eh ur location is near me rite? eh come we simplex ... pirate ... hahaha can ar? planning to take the may exam band ... |
Jan 12 2007, 01:27 PM
Haha nice try.. I will lose my license just for this. So, better not. But if you interested let me know yeah. Will let intro you to those ppl who will run some class to assist you in preparing for the exam.
Jan 12 2007, 02:47 PM
haha i met with this 9W2TKC, nice fella, he is gonna gimme some books, see how la, normally how much they charge these course all ar?
what model u using? handie or mobile? me using handie v82, but plan to get a yaesu ft60r ... and getting this antenna from thailand, slimjim - made with those tv antenna wan, very nice, made to be used as base antenna, not those homebrew wan ... getting it next week .... but dunno they got supply with RG58 cable or not ar, or else i can get those in Jalan Pasar by metre rite? |
Jan 12 2007, 08:41 PM
113 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
earl-ku. how long does ur v8 range? where to get it?
Jan 12 2007, 11:17 PM
range? its a 7w tranceiver, i think clear line of sight is somewhere 20km kua or more, with a repeater whole klang valley(with a good antenna), if its a linked repeater ... the whole peninsula la ...
pm me if u are interested in amateur radio ... This post has been edited by earl-ku: Jan 12 2007, 11:18 PM |
Jan 13 2007, 04:33 AM
I dont know where I put all the books that I had. Hopefully I manage to find it and pass it to you all for photocopy. I am using a Icom V8 but yet not really active with it compare to last time. Planning to get Yaesu FT8900R
If you guys really interested, let Earl or myself know maybe you guys can group together and study for the exam. I dont think I can remember much on those formulas but for those who in E&E field should face no problem on answer questions in RAE. It's good to see more and more ppl are interesting in this hobby as Asian country like our neighbour Indonesia and Japan have quite high ratio number of ppl enjoying ham radio. BTW RG58 in Pasar Rd is about RM1.50 last time (2004) but not sure the current price. This post has been edited by bioweapon83: Jan 13 2007, 04:39 AM |
Jan 13 2007, 08:36 AM
2,851 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KuAlA LuMpUr |
eh , bioweapon , licensed also ah ?
can teach ah ? pandan jaya very near , i belanja mcD jom |
Jan 19 2007, 09:04 PM
QUOTE(bioweapon83 @ Jan 13 2007, 04:33 AM) I dont know where I put all the books that I had. Hopefully I manage to find it and pass it to you all for photocopy. I am using a Icom V8 but yet not really active with it compare to last time. Planning to get Yaesu FT8900R hahaha i met up with this 9w2 fella the other day, he was using the 8900, seems that a lot of people seem sto like this model very much ... dual bander with crossband repeater, another 9w2 from Segamat was using it and another dualbander as a repeter around the Segamat area during the flood ... his own repeater ...If you guys really interested, let Earl or myself know maybe you guys can group together and study for the exam. I dont think I can remember much on those formulas but for those who in E&E field should face no problem on answer questions in RAE. It's good to see more and more ppl are interesting in this hobby as Asian country like our neighbour Indonesia and Japan have quite high ratio number of ppl enjoying ham radio. BTW RG58 in Pasar Rd is about RM1.50 last time (2004) but not sure the current price. haha like that one day we come out yumcha la ... see how la ... This post has been edited by earl-ku: Jan 19 2007, 09:05 PM |
Jan 19 2007, 09:09 PM
QUOTE(masterackn @ Jan 12 2007, 08:41 PM) mine is a v82 ... 7whiskey ... err so far i can hit the genting repeater on the commercial club freq la ... and during the trip down to Segamat last week, it was operated by another 9w2, seems to be good on the simplex also, but was using an external diamond antenna la with a magmount on the pickup ... very much depends on the power u are transmitting and the propagation ... the area you are in ... but the best wan this fella in Muar, he is using this vx700(if i remembered correctly la) one of the highest range diamond outdoor antenna ... the fella was able to simplex with another fella which was from Muar to Linggi near Seremban ... with a 5/9 ... |
Jan 21 2007, 12:55 AM
QUOTE(zx7177 @ Jan 13 2007, 08:36 AM) I scared I cant help much coz so long didnt mingle with those electonics circuit and calculation formula anymore. QUOTE(earl-ku @ Jan 19 2007, 09:04 PM) hahaha i met up with this 9w2 fella the other day, he was using the 8900, seems that a lot of people seem sto like this model very much ... dual bander with crossband repeater, another 9w2 from Segamat was using it and another dualbander as a repeter around the Segamat area during the flood ... his own repeater ... You did went to Segamat to help on the ResQ ops? Heard quite number of 4WD guys went down there. I didnt own any 4WD and cant make anytime to there as for me stop working means stop income already haha like that one day we come out yumcha la ... see how la ... QUOTE(earl-ku @ Jan 19 2007, 09:09 PM) mine is a v82 ... 7whiskey ... err so far i can hit the genting repeater on the commercial club freq la ... and during the trip down to Segamat last week, it was operated by another 9w2, seems to be good on the simplex also, but was using an external diamond antenna la with a magmount on the pickup ... yup VX7000 is no doubt a good for simplex operation due to the high power output but also depends on your antenna setup then only you can achieve good DX quality.very much depends on the power u are transmitting and the propagation ... the area you are in ... but the best wan this fella in Muar, he is using this vx700(if i remembered correctly la) one of the highest range diamond outdoor antenna ... the fella was able to simplex with another fella which was from Muar to Linggi near Seremban ... with a 5/9 ... This post has been edited by bioweapon83: Jan 21 2007, 12:56 AM |
Jan 21 2007, 09:37 AM
2,851 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KuAlA LuMpUr |
QUOTE(bioweapon83 @ Jan 21 2007, 12:55 AM) I scared I cant help much coz so long didnt mingle with those electonics circuit and owh ..calculation formula anymore. You did went to Segamat to help on the ResQ ops? Heard quite number of 4WD guys went down there. I didnt own any 4WD and cant make anytime to there as for me stop working means stop income already yup VX7000 is no doubt a good for simplex operation due to the high power output but also depends on your antenna setup then only you can achieve good DX quality. but now just curious on how is the RAE test like , what kinda questions they're gonna ask and all |
Jan 22 2007, 01:08 PM
bioweapon, yeah went down there last two week, got some friends together and passed the hat along, we managed to get about RM1.5k, so we bought some stuff and sent it down, was actually suppose to follow the convoy of 17 jalopy down ...
but then we had quite a lot of stuff(gas stoves, materess, blanket, foods) ... then i contacted 9W2TKC, he got another friend's jalopy and we went on separate ways, they went on to kampung peta and some orang asli settlements, i went over to kampung jawa and passed the stuff to 9W2PCK, it was raining when we arrived, was suppose to pass out the stuff on that day, but it was raining and everyone was packing and evacuating .. so we elft the stuff to be distributed by PCK... the fellas vx7000 is on a ... i think at least 15feet pole, on the roof which is more or less 3 storey high ... |
Jan 22 2007, 01:09 PM
yeah forgot to mention its was almost all MARTS member ...
Jan 22 2007, 01:15 PM
QUOTE(zx7177 @ Jan 21 2007, 09:37 AM) owh .. i heard they are all multiple choices questions ... some technical, some general knowledge questions on Amaterur Radio, some Rules and Regulation ... but now just curious on how is the RAE test like , what kinda questions they're gonna ask and all ask bioweapon ... and bioweapons callsign ar, is those blardy old callsign lo ... u see those nowdays QSO wan ar, those with 2 alphabets wan ar, are all blardy veteran wan ... Added on January 29, 2007, 10:08 amMy Icom V82 is for sale, those who are interested, please let me know ... http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f=11&t=405457 This post has been edited by earl-ku: Feb 5 2007, 10:26 AM |
Feb 5 2007, 10:27 AM
Have just got the YAESU FT60R last nite ... very nice radio ... a dual bander, wideband scanner, after i mod it la ... haha
this morning got to tune in to a few airband frequencies ... |
Feb 5 2007, 11:34 AM
963 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
I've got a lot of radios here.. which frequency r u guys using?
| Change to: | 0.0321sec
5 queries
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 04:27 AM |