Amateur Radio User, Ham

joejoney
post Dec 4 2008, 08:17 PM

248 posts

many scanners sell in msia..

just refer to any online ham radio shopping to choose..

or u visit www.rigpix.com, choose any brand, then u'll know which one.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by joejoney: Dec 4 2008, 08:20 PM
joejoney
post Dec 4 2008, 08:21 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(earl-ku @ Dec 4 2008, 03:09 PM)
Paul my friend ... welcome to the thread ...

wow been sometime since i have been in here ...

everyone is fine and all charged up?

yes masterji... hehe biggrin.gif
SeanConnery
post Dec 4 2008, 09:46 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(Paul VDSR @ Dec 4 2008, 02:49 AM)
The TX mod is easy to do, and the service menu one is reversable to default if you mess up the settings.
Hi Paul,

With PCs should one mess up, just do a format and everything is fine again, but with radios, I wouldn't want to send it to Japan for repairs should I muck up. Anyway, since you mentioned the words 'easy' and 'reversible', I might possibly rethink my phobia regarding the radio hack. Good pics by the way. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(Jusb @ Dec 4 2008, 07:16 PM)
Hey guys, sorry to bump into the topic out of sudden
Would like to know do they sell scanners which just receive in Msia? Would like to listen to some Air traffic communications.
I believe stand-alone scanners are illegal in Malaysia, civilians in no way could get a licence for it. I could be wrong though. Ham radios however, are a wonderful pieces of equipment with multiple uses. smile.gif

QUOTE(kkho @ Dec 4 2008, 08:31 AM)
wow!! i already receive the letter from SKMM (MCMC). And now i preparing for the RAE....a lot of note haven't read yet.....sigh.....
Don't play play aaa. You wouldn't want to waste your time and take the exams again.

QUOTE(earl-ku @ Dec 4 2008, 02:09 PM)
Paul my friend ... welcome to the thread ...

wow been sometime since i have been in here ...
everyone is fine and all charged up?
Hey earl-ku,

Weren't you the one who said you were resigned to the fact that you'll be a pirate station forever? Can't resist the magic eh?

Sean C.

This post has been edited by SeanConnery: Dec 4 2008, 09:56 PM
Jusb
post Dec 5 2008, 01:27 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(joejoney @ Dec 4 2008, 08:17 PM)
many scanners sell in msia..

just refer to any online ham radio shopping to choose..

or u visit www.rigpix.com, choose any brand, then u'll know which one.. biggrin.gif
Sell in Msia? May I know which shop/place ? tongue.gif
kkho
post Dec 5 2008, 08:40 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(someone_stupid @ Dec 4 2008, 10:14 AM)
oh great! when and where is the rae?
btw paul, the map with the callsign prefix...where did u get that?
this time is at off jln duta menara maltrade. by the way i also dun know where is that place ... blink.gif

polini
post Dec 5 2008, 02:15 PM

27 posts

hi..

i'm new at this and planning to start this intresting hobby.
where should i start first?
where can i get the set...?

elafyf
post Dec 5 2008, 06:57 PM

41 posts

I just learnt 'bout amateur radio in a scout jamboree..
really interesting lolx.

wanna ask something,
what is
Nine mike one charlie sierra foxtrot this is Nine mike one charlie sierra yankee.

how could u know that you are
Nine mike one charlie sierra yankee.?

hope that senior can help me.
SeanConnery
post Dec 5 2008, 07:32 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(polini @ Dec 5 2008, 02:15 PM)
hi..

i'm new at this and planning to start this intresting hobby.
where should i start first?
where can i get the set...?
QUOTE(elafyf @ Dec 5 2008, 06:57 PM)
really interesting lolx.

wanna ask something,
what is
Nine mike one charlie sierra foxtrot this is Nine mike one charlie sierra yankee.

Hi polini and elafyf,

In my opinion there are two ways to learn this hobby, 1. the quick way 2. the kura-kura way

Myself, I used the quick way. To do this join a pre-amateur radio clubs among the many namely:-

1. SCS Communications and Sport Website
2. Pradas Website

Once you join these clubs, you are already authorised to transmit with your allocated callsign ie. Pradas PR-XXX or SCS SCX-XXX and you will have the clubs' Apparatus Assignment (AA). Then you can buy you own rig or handy (handheld) radio. A radio costs from RM400 - RM2000, which would be enough for a start. Sure, you can buy one without the necessary AA but should you get arrested at any roadblock etc. then say bye-bye.

However, let me remind you legal transmit frequency are only the pre-amateur clubs' frequency and not others. The get the licence to transmit on the larger collection of frequencies you must get a Class B licence by taking the RAE exam held twice yearly by the MCMC. Courses will be held by various amateur radio groups like Mares or Marts, do attend if you want to pass the exam. If you pass you can choose your callsign depending on location for example Peninsular 9W2XXX.

And a year later you are allowed the Morse Code exam which upgrades your licence to Class A with a new callsign 9M2XXX. This allows you to transmit to the whole world, with the right equipment of course.

If you are observant you'll see that I mentioned transmit frequencies multiple times and its restrictions, but there is no restriction on the frequencies that you can receive (listen).

I won't even mention the kura-kura way smile.gif Hope that helps! Oh one thing, don't try to be 'eksyen' and try to con people by waving your radio everywhere and act as if you are a special branch police officer. There have been people arrested for this trangress.

This post has been edited by SeanConnery: Dec 5 2008, 07:47 PM
Paul VDSR
post Dec 5 2008, 10:54 PM

QUOTE(elafyf @ Dec 5 2008, 05:57 PM)
really interesting lolx.

wanna ask something,
what is

This is Paul in Cambodia.
Looks like no-one has replied, so I'll try to help. hmm.gif

9M1CSY is:
Centennial Scouting in Malaysia 2008
SMK Cyberjaya
Selangor
MALAYSIA

9M1CSF is:
Centennial Scouting in Malaysia 2008
Muar
Johor
MALAYSIA

The 9 Mike one etc, you quoted is the callsign allocated to what looks like a special event station, and is given in PHONETICS; alpha, bravo, charlie etc.
Nine Mike One is written 9M1, and is a callsign prefix used for Malaysia.

Hope that clears it up for you.
Cheers;
Paul
thumbup.gif

Ps. To all the others, I've added a couple more photos I took today, when I flew with the Aeronautical Radio of Thailand plane, which we're using to check our VHF VOR range and accuracy.
Had a two and a half hour flight, up to the border with Thailand, and down across the Tonle Sap lake.
Great flight, and I'm getting paid for it!! rclxm9.gif icon_idea.gif
http://www.flickr.com/photos/33007541@N04/?saved=1

Added on December 5, 2008, 10:55 pmBy the way 'ELAFYF', many callsigns are easily found on QRZ.COM

This post has been edited by Paul VDSR: Dec 5 2008, 10:55 PM
SeanConnery
post Dec 5 2008, 11:54 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(Paul VDSR @ Dec 5 2008, 10:54 PM)
Ps. To all the others, I've added a couple more photos I took today, when I flew with the Aeronautical Radio of Thailand plane, which we're using to check our VHF VOR range and accuracy.
Had a two and a half hour flight, up to the border with Thailand, and down across the Tonle Sap lake.
Great flight, and I'm getting paid for it!! rclxm9.gif  icon_idea.gif

Lucky you Paul! Just wondering, how safe is the area you flew through? Any rebels of any sort?
someone_stupid
post Dec 6 2008, 12:32 AM

1,205 posts

wow!!.. so fun getting paid to do ur hobby that is 1 of the best thing
SeanConnery
post Dec 7 2008, 12:03 AM

236 posts

Anyone on standy duty at the lanslide disaster area in Bukit Antarabangsa?
Paul VDSR
post Dec 7 2008, 12:19 AM

QUOTE(SeanConnery @ Dec 5 2008, 10:54 PM)
Lucky you Paul! Just wondering, how safe is the area you flew through? Any rebels of any sort?
laugh.gif Rebels in Cambodia?
There are no mad groups or anything like that, and the Khmer Rouge have all gone now.
I think it's probably one of the most peaceful and easy going countries I've ever been to!
That's why I now make it my home, and have no intention of ever returning to my own country.
Totally safe to fly, with no fear of some crazy dude with a SAM missile shooting you down. thumbup.gif

Having read some of the posts on here, I assume that radio is strictly controlled in Malaysia?
Its also the same in Thailand, where the government check EVERY amateur radio, and give it an approval sticker if it meets the strict requirements!
When I was in Thailand, a friend of mine asked where the sticker was on my IC-706, and was amazed when I told him I didn't have one!
He said that I could be sent to prison for OWNING a radio without a sticker - Yikes!! bye.gif
Cambodia is VERY different, with very little legistlation regarding radio equipment, and almost everyone has an "Icom" (the name for any make of hand-held rig).
40m (7MHz) USB is used for businesses to contact their family in other provinces, and 147.000 is the "icom" calling channel (Cambodian CB?).
It's all good fun, and I don't mind that I spent six months at college to pass my RAE, and others are using it without a 'ticket'.
No harm done, as long as they stay off our band (108-136MHz AM)

Cheers
Paul
cheers.gif
polini
post Dec 7 2008, 01:37 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(SeanConnery @ Dec 5 2008, 07:32 PM)
Hi polini and elafyf,

In my opinion there are two ways to learn this hobby, 1. the quick way 2. the kura-kura way

Myself, I used the quick way. To do this join a pre-amateur radio clubs among the many namely:-

1. SCS Communications and Sport Website 
2. Pradas Website

Once you join these clubs, you are already authorised to transmit with your allocated callsign ie. Pradas PR-XXX or SCS SCX-XXX and you will have the clubs' Apparatus Assignment (AA). Then you can buy you own rig or handy (handheld) radio. A radio costs from RM400 - RM2000, which would be enough for a start. Sure, you can buy one without the necessary AA but should you get arrested at any roadblock etc. then say bye-bye.

However, let me remind you legal transmit frequency are only the pre-amateur clubs' frequency and not others. The get the licence to transmit on the larger collection of frequencies you must get a Class B licence by taking the RAE exam held twice yearly by the MCMC. Courses will be held by various amateur radio groups like Mares or Marts, do attend if you want to pass the exam. If you pass you can choose your callsign depending on location for example Peninsular 9W2XXX.

And a year later you are allowed the Morse Code exam which upgrades your licence to Class A with a new callsign 9M2XXX. This allows you to transmit to the whole world, with the right equipment of course.

If you are observant you'll see that I mentioned transmit frequencies multiple times and its restrictions, but there is no restriction on the frequencies that you can receive (listen).

I won't even mention the kura-kura way smile.gif Hope that helps! Oh one thing, don't try to be 'eksyen' and try to con people by waving your radio everywhere and act as if you are a special branch police officer. There have been people arrested for this trangress.
i'm in melaka but the clubs are all in kuala lumpur and selangor. any active clubs in melaka?

CraZyGhOst
post Dec 7 2008, 10:20 PM

121 posts

try this club in malacca MERACC

for the Bukit Antarabangsa landslide, i was on duty under MARES today

This post has been edited by CraZyGhOst: Dec 7 2008, 11:10 PM
SeanConnery
post Dec 7 2008, 11:28 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(CraZyGhOst @ Dec 7 2008, 10:20 PM)

Mares on standby duty? Aiseh, myself Mares member but did not hear any calls on the usual frequencies.. thought Mares not on standby duty. Who's the team leader? 9M2AU?

Added on December 7, 2008, 11:40 pm
QUOTE(Paul VDSR @ Dec 7 2008, 12:19 AM)
laugh.gif  Rebels in Cambodia?
There are no mad groups or anything like that, and the Khmer Rouge have all gone now.
I think it's probably one of the most peaceful and easy going countries I've ever been to!
That's why I now make it my home, and have no intention of ever returning to my own country.
Totally safe to fly, with no fear of some crazy dude with a SAM missile shooting you down. thumbup.gif

Having read some of the posts on here, I assume that radio is strictly controlled in Malaysia?
Its also the same in Thailand, where the government check EVERY amateur radio, and give it an approval sticker if it meets the strict requirements!
When I was in Thailand, a friend of mine asked where the sticker was on my IC-706, and was amazed when I told him I didn't have one!
He said that I could be sent to prison for OWNING a radio without a sticker - Yikes!! bye.gif
Cambodia is VERY different, with very little legistlation regarding radio equipment, and almost everyone has an "Icom" (the name for any make of hand-held rig).
40m (7MHz) USB is used for businesses to contact their family in other provinces, and 147.000 is the "icom" calling channel (Cambodian CB?).
It's all good fun, and I don't mind that I spent six months at college to pass my RAE, and others are using it without a 'ticket'.
No harm done, as long as they stay off our band (108-136MHz AM)

Cheers
Paul
cheers.gif
Haha, sorry if my knowledge of Cambodia seemed severely lacking. Wasn't Khieu Samphan or some baddy running the land several years back? tongue.gif The Malaysian government is not as strict as Thailand I suppose, but here I think we practice "better safe than sorry" slogan. Eh just wondering Paul, should us be itching to visit your country, how much would it cost inclusive of lodging, food etc for say a 5 day visit?

This post has been edited by SeanConnery: Dec 7 2008, 11:41 PM
CraZyGhOst
post Dec 7 2008, 11:47 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(SeanConnery @ Dec 7 2008, 11:28 PM)

Mares on standby duty? Aiseh, myself Mares member but did not hear any calls on the usual frequencies.. thought Mares not on standby duty. Who's the team leader? 9M2AU?
On the calls stuff, I don't know, that 1 u have to ask the higher person. Team leader as usual 9m2au, he is really dedicate to assist disaster like this, you can see him from morning to now at present time 2347, he is still at the site there with the rest of the MARES team there
polini
post Dec 8 2008, 08:40 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(CraZyGhOst @ Dec 7 2008, 10:20 PM)

i don't think this club offers something like pradas & scs for pre amatur right?

someone_stupid
post Dec 9 2008, 01:12 AM

1,205 posts

more like a club for hams in malacca
joejoney
post Dec 9 2008, 09:29 PM

248 posts

polini.. if u at melaka.. just pm me ur phone number, then i'll introduce u to Ham's at melaka..

145 Pages « < 72 73 74 75 76 > » Top

0.1193sec    0.90    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 09:14 AM